Anti-Virus

Andrewhajime
post Feb 14 2007, 06:30 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(klwoon @ Feb 13 2007, 11:27 AM)
can recommend av for very slow notebook? it's a pentium 3 700mhz, 196mb ram...thx
do you use the notebook to online most of the time ?
if not , just leave it without AV

if you wanna install one may be go for AVG ,
since is free , you can try it out see it will lag your com or not
super macgyver
post Feb 18 2007, 11:07 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(kcng @ Feb 13 2007, 01:59 PM)
Use McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.5 + AntiSpyware Module ?
anyone use that combo before ?
mcafee is not very good in cleaning virus, & left sum hidden files after uninstall too.
id86
post Feb 20 2007, 08:06 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(super macgyver @ Feb 18 2007, 11:07 PM)
mcafee is not very good in cleaning virus, & left sum hidden files after uninstall too.
quite agree with you...it left some hidden files after i uninstall it.need manual remove so that all of the files totally deleted sweat.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Feb 20 2007, 09:32 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

You can use McAFee Removal tool to completely remove everything. smile.gif
natakaasd
post Feb 21 2007, 02:05 PM

2,188 posts

Almost every AV has this famous problem: Leaving their Parts while they uninstall. AND There is also a unfamous method to settle it: GO TO the Vendor's site. Download the AV Removal Tool. Run it. Done. Cheers!

P.S. No point going on with this issue. Simple problem, simple answer.
TakeshirO
post Feb 27 2007, 04:29 AM

80 posts

what is the virus that stop our internet connection? (although i can ping out)
id86
post Feb 27 2007, 11:04 PM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(TakeshirO @ Feb 27 2007, 04:29 AM)
what is the virus that stop our internet connection? (although i can ping out)
how it stop the connection? if the virus in computer,try to scan it and then you can know what virus it is..
zhen^wei
post Mar 1 2007, 01:38 PM

4,057 posts

find out when i using bitdefender, my laptop become slower abit than using kaspersky. bitdefender take alot of memory ? btw, AVG best also, cas have free version
id86
post Mar 2 2007, 02:44 AM

GG
1,052 posts

QUOTE(zhen^wei @ Mar 1 2007, 01:38 PM)
find out when i using bitdefender, my laptop become slower abit than using kaspersky. bitdefender take alot of memory ? btw, AVG best also, cas have free version
some forumers also said like that...bitdefender eat quiet a lot memory.

but it is the one of best antivirus too.so, i think its logic that it consume a lot of memory due to its performance rclxms.gif
havuk
post Mar 3 2007, 03:31 AM

181 posts

Comparative tests of antivirus programs (www.virus.gr)

1. Kaspersky version 6.0.0.303 - 99.62%

2. Active Virus Shield by AOL version 6.0.0.299 - 99.62%

3. F-Secure 2006 version 6.12.90 - 96.86%

LYN pick the right AV thumbup.gif
id86
post Mar 3 2007, 10:31 AM

GG
1,052 posts

haha..yea,good choice biggrin.gif

but cannot rely on one comparison test only. there still got a lot of test which give different results.
arcaloveher
post Mar 3 2007, 02:02 PM

570 posts

Hey ppl i got a few important questions regarding AV. Hope u guys can help me out , thanks. ( Preferably answered by pros ).

1. What is the best FREE AV out there right now?
2. If i plan to subscribe an AV , which 1 should i get and WHY?
3. What is the price range for good Avs.
4. What is the lifespan of free/subscribed Avs.
5. Is there anyway to fasten an AV scan? Or is it norm to be slow.
6. HOW can i subscribe an AV? Through credit card online? or get from some software shops like LYN ?
7. Quantity or Quality? ( AVs )

p/s : i'm using windows xp proffesional btw

Thats abot all that i need to know. laugh.gif , sorry for the long list of questions. I'm kinda newbie in these kind of stuffs , got fedup reformating my comp each and every single time after being infected by trojans etc.

Off topic: Can somone kindly answer similiar sets of questions regarding on spyware/malware software too because i'm too lazy to post in another thread, please lol sweat.gif . ( Sorry mod ;P)

THANKS ALOT !

This post has been edited by arcaloveher: Mar 3 2007, 02:24 PM
tan_pang
post Mar 3 2007, 02:33 PM

3,110 posts

QUOTE(arcaloveher @ Mar 3 2007, 02:02 PM)
Hey ppl i got a few important questions regarding AV. Hope u guys can help me out , thanks. ( Preferably answered by pros ).

6. HOW can i subscribe an AV? Through credit card online? or get from some software shops like LYN ?
i assume the 'subscribe' version you said is the AV that need to pay
1. this question should not be asked again and again becoz there is no any single AV software that is 'the BEST'!!! some will said Karpasky (or Active Virus Shield), but some will tell you Avast!, and some will say "AVG" (i personally think it is most sux tongue.gif )...... there is many factor that affect a person decision on it.
2. McAfee or Panda, dun try Norton
3. price range is between Free to $29.90 (us dolar), but some of the AV will be higher
4. free AV got 'lifetime' life span tongue.gif as long as you update always, the 'subscribe' AV also same, need to update always and pay when expired
5. fasten the scan... hmm.gif select some area only to scan or file types only to scan can fasten, but not safe... The best way is scan in Safe Mode, but usually take longer time
6. credit card maybe the best way
7. most of the AV software now cannot compatible with other AV software, therefore i think you should pay higher priority on 'Quality'

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Mar 3 2007, 02:35 PM
natakaasd
post Mar 3 2007, 06:59 PM

2,188 posts

QUOTE(arcaloveher @ Mar 3 2007, 02:02 PM)

p/s : i'm using windows xp proffesional btw

Thats abot all that i need to know.  laugh.gif , sorry for the long list of questions. I'm kinda newbie in these kind of stuffs , got fedup reformating my comp each and every single time after being infected by trojans etc.
Off topic: Can somone kindly answer similiar sets of questions regarding on spyware/malware software too because i'm too lazy to post in another thread, please lol  sweat.gif . ( Sorry mod ;P)

THANKS ALOT !
Replying your questions is going to be a very simple thing. That is: Please read most of the articles/topics/discussions made in this Subforum. All the questions has been asked, and has been answered accordingly. Google. Search. Period. Cheers!
zeist
post Mar 3 2007, 11:03 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Yo,

What was the name of the application, the one similar to Kaspersky engine. unsure.gif

It's a FREEWARE.
Skylinestar
post Mar 4 2007, 09:16 AM

Mega Duck
10,472 posts

QUOTE(zeist @ Mar 3 2007, 11:03 PM)
Yo,

What was the name of the application, the one similar to Kaspersky engine.  unsure.gif

It's a FREEWARE.
AOL active virus shield
natakaasd
post Mar 4 2007, 02:35 PM

2,188 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 4 2007, 09:16 AM)
AOL active virus shield
AVS in short. Cheers!
id86
post Mar 5 2007, 05:24 AM

GG
1,052 posts

i have used Sophos anti virus before...quite good

but nowadays, never heard about it. is that AV has change name?
zeist
post Mar 5 2007, 10:51 AM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Skylinestar & Natakaasd: Thanks very muchie. hands.gif

This post has been edited by zeist: Mar 5 2007, 10:52 AM
natakaasd
post Mar 5 2007, 04:21 PM

2,188 posts

Welcome. smile.gif