Working in Singapore V14

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Jul 29 2013, 03:59 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jul 29 2013, 03:57 PM)
I am very happy to receive the HDB approval letter for my purchase of a resale unit. Finally I can have my own place! the expected handover date is in mid September smile.gif

And tomorrow I will be registering P1 for my son under Phase 2C.

Will be more than happy to share the process (both HDB resale and P1 registration) when they are complete smile.gif
Congrats!!! smile.gif
HenDa
post Jul 29 2013, 03:59 PM

178 posts

I am very happy to receive the HDB approval letter for my purchase of a resale unit. Finally I can have my own place! the expected handover date is in mid September smile.gif

Will be more than happy to share the process (both HDB resale and P1 registration) when they are complete smile.gif
wow... congratz....
crazy25kid
post Jul 29 2013, 04:29 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

congrats
looking forward to the process sharing icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jul 29 2013, 04:41 PM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 27 2013, 10:24 AM)
Well, tayhaithian got 7k offer as fresh grad, so to some people it is apparently very easy. I believe toughnut seantang and Fiona Chin are other high earners pulling in above 10k (or close to that) so you could ask them for their experiences too.
What 10k eh later IRAS come after me, have to cook most of my meals to save money on food, stay back late at office just to claim money for dinner. cry.gif
Fiona Chin
post Jul 29 2013, 04:56 PM

1,172 posts

Your son is a PR sponsored by you? You ok with the NS later?
r1v3r
post Jul 29 2013, 05:50 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 29 2013, 04:56 PM)
I think all are 2nd generation PR. How can a P1 Boy apply his own PR?

NS experience is not a bad thing as it help to build the kid. If you have money then send your boys to internation school as foreinger also a good experience.

Dark NT
post Jul 29 2013, 06:58 PM

1,006 posts

Thanks Guys smile.gif

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 29 2013, 04:56 PM)
Ya, he is sponsored by me.
I think 2 years NS is a bit long... i will have to wait 2 years longer before I can ask for allowance from him hmm.gif
megadisc
post Jul 29 2013, 08:54 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jul 29 2013, 06:58 PM)
Thanks Guys smile.gif
Ya, he is sponsored by me.
I think 2 years NS is a bit long... i will have to wait 2 years longer before I can ask for allowance from him  hmm.gif
yup ...2 yars longer and get an older gf some more ....
keelim
post Jul 29 2013, 09:45 PM

941 posts

So the total stamp duty paid is 3% (at progressive) and 5% (ABSD @ total purchase price - inclusive of CoV) ?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 29 2013, 09:50 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 29 2013, 06:33 AM)
I am pr, can I still.convert my driving license ?
yes, you can... doh.gif why so lazy didnt go search... zzzz

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ Jul 29 2013, 10:08 AM)
hmm, when you fill in white card sure u need to fill in the address, i think normally they will ask whose unit is that, maybe you can say is friend house, last time when i come interview, i also say like that, no issue for me. Your gf landlord charges you is consider off book one so is untraceable, so i think is ok, just your owner want to take pre-caution step to prevent any legal issue happen, but this is just my 2 cent
address just put mariba bay sands ler.. they would be eppi to let you in

did you face any prob enrolling your kid into school?
megadisc
post Jul 29 2013, 09:56 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Jul 29 2013, 09:50 PM)
yes, you can...  doh.gif  why so lazy didnt go search... zzzz
address just put mariba bay sands ler.. they would be eppi to let you in
did you face any prob enrolling your kid into school?
oko k

i did but kinda of confusing coz my fren said cannot aisay ...

plan to get motor licesnse

then start converting ...

@cdc/com.sg

good idea ...

is that ok ???

or just convert then add motor license ???
Dark NT
post Jul 29 2013, 10:50 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(keelim @ Jul 29 2013, 09:45 PM)
So the total stamp duty paid is 3% (at progressive) and 5% (ABSD @ total purchase price - inclusive of CoV) ?
Yup..in total ~8% paid right after the hdb approval.
The Absd really kills.
Fiona Chin
post Jul 30 2013, 12:11 AM

1,172 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Jul 29 2013, 05:50 PM)
I think all are 2nd generation PR. How can a P1 Boy apply his own PR?

NS experience is not a bad thing as it help to build the kid. If you have money then send your boys to internation school as foreinger also a good experience.
The children's parents can chose to let them be a foreigner or a PR. Both can go to public schools, but the foreigner child has less priority in choosing the school and the fees are (a lot) more expensive than a PR. Some pro and cons for both the children and the parents.
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 30 2013, 12:44 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 29 2013, 09:56 PM)
oko k

@cdc/com.sg

good idea ...

is that ok ???

you trust you friend or me now? flex.gif

eh, you got msian license before working in sg or not? if not then you cannot take in msia after coming in sg then convert... have to take from scratch... only those that got it before coming can convert...
babycry123
post Jul 30 2013, 01:54 AM

Nothing~
1,223 posts

hi... I just got an appointment letter from my company. the first 6 months they'll cut 15% of my salary. that's a part of my income tax and after 6 months they won't cut any of my salary and that's also because they are afraid that I'll leave without saying anything. is there a lae suh like mine? and also is 15 percent quite high?
SUSalaskanbunny
post Jul 30 2013, 08:00 AM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(babycry123 @ Jul 30 2013, 01:54 AM)
hi... I just got an appointment letter from my company. the first 6 months they'll cut 15% of my salary. that's a part of my income tax and after 6 months they won't cut any of my salary and that's also because they are afraid that I'll leave without saying anything. is there a lae suh like mine? and also is 15 percent quite high?
15% is on a witholding basis... either it will be use to knock of your income tax or returned to you, they have no rights to hold your $ unless they put it in a way whereby your basic will start 15% less then they give you a 15% raise but this 15%less amount must be in the employment letter and not cut off what's agreed
Sky_Q
post Jul 30 2013, 09:44 AM

243 posts

http://www.todayonline.com/business/ringgi...gapore-dollar-0

On Monday, the ringgit hit 2.5485 against the Singapore dollar, its weakest point in 15 years.
crazy25kid
post Jul 30 2013, 09:49 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 29 2013, 09:56 PM)
oko k

@cdc/com.sg

good idea ...

is that ok ???

ur existing license does not allow u to ride a motor?
so if you get your motor license now in m'sia, i do not think it is applicable for conversion
iinm, u need to get the license 6 months prior to your long term pass/visa (your PR...or probably EP)
that is why they require the slip from JPJ

r1v3r
post Jul 30 2013, 09:52 AM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Jul 30 2013, 12:11 AM)
The children's parents can chose to let them be a foreigner or a PR. Both can go to public schools, but the foreigner child has less priority in choosing the school and the fees are (a lot) more expensive than a PR. Some pro and cons for both the children and the parents.
Yes that is Phase 3 for P1 registration (foreigner). His son in under Phase 2C which only open for SG and PR.

Other than public education, you have home schooling (cant take PSLE as private candidate), IB and international school to choice from. The only system that you cant find in SG is the Malaysian International School.

No much of advantage of choosing school for PR too. Most good school have ballot among SG student under phase 2C, PR dont even get a chance if there are SG on waiting list. Alternative is just send your kids to any nearby school for P1, then transfer to better school next year if your kids can make it.

The amount/depth of homework among school can be VERY different.

adam.tan
post Jul 30 2013, 10:35 AM

Guys, I have few questions in mind. I'm now staying in Malaysia being that I've stay in Sg for 60days/90days. However my WP has already approved and I've already done my medical checkup and passed it on to my employer . The thing is my company has not buy an insurance package for me and yet my WP has not been officially being approved by MoM. I can only enter Sg on the 1st August 2013 to continue with the application.

Now if I were to resign from my company, is there any procedures I need to be aware of? I still haven't got my WP yet.

126 Pages « < 57 58 59 60 61 > » Top

0.0352sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:38 PM