[Official] Rig Suggestion Thread V3, Hardware Q&A RRG™

cressalve
post Jun 3 2013, 09:51 PM

289 posts

Hello guys,

My mobo and 1 of my graphic card has finally given up on me and I need replacement soon. I'm planning to reuse my hardware excluding the cpu, mobo & gpu. If possible i want to have an upgraded system than i originally have within the budget of 2k-2.5k, lesser the better. Intel cpu and nvidia gpu preferred. Or anything better in your opinion.

Please give me some suggestions. Thanks guys.

EDIT: forgot to mention, my pc spec is as per my sig below.

This post has been edited by cressalve: Jun 3 2013, 09:53 PM
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 3 2013, 09:57 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(cressalve @ Jun 3 2013, 09:51 PM)
Hello guys,

My mobo and 1 of my graphic card has finally given up on me and I need replacement soon. I'm planning to reuse my hardware excluding the cpu, mobo & gpu. If possible i want to have an upgraded system than i originally have within the budget of 2k-2.5k, lesser the better. Intel cpu and nvidia gpu preferred. Or anything better in your opinion.

Please give me some suggestions. Thanks guys.

EDIT: forgot to mention, my pc spec is as per my sig below.
Can you sell the CPU/GPU and board? brows.gif
Haswell in da house yo~ brows.gif
i5 4670K-RM719 (Idealtech@Garage Sales)
MSI Z87A-G45 Gaming-RM553 (GBros@Garage Sales)
Palit GTX770 reference-RM1499 (CyntrixTech)
Total: RM2771
Overclockable build yo~ brows.gif

hmwgbworld
post Jun 3 2013, 10:05 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 3 2013, 09:57 PM)
edit: sorry i made a mistake and i found out his psu is not bad.
http://www.kitguru.net/components/power-su...upply-review/6/

GBros is still a new forumer, I'm not sure can be trusted or not since I didn't deal with him before.

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Jun 3 2013, 10:08 PM
cressalve
post Jun 3 2013, 10:13 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 3 2013, 09:57 PM)
Haswell? New architecture I suppose? Not following much of current tech haha last I know is Ivy Bridge luls How does 3570k compares to that chip u suggested? And phew... 770? also new tech rite? how does 660ti compares to that?

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jun 3 2013, 10:05 PM)
edit: sorry i made a mistake and i found out his psu is not bad.
http://www.kitguru.net/components/power-su...upply-review/6/

GBros is still a new forumer, I'm not sure can be trusted or not since I didn't deal with him before.
Hmm, my PSU is doing great till now *touchwood* well, until my gpu blew anyways haha
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 3 2013, 10:15 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(cressalve @ Jun 3 2013, 10:13 PM)
Haswell? New architecture I suppose? Not following much of current tech haha last I know is Ivy Bridge luls How does 3570k compares to that chip u suggested? And phew... 770? also new tech rite? how does 660ti compares to that? 
Hmm, my PSU is doing great till now *touchwood* well, until my gpu blew anyways haha
Slightly faster than the 3570K. tongue.gif
But it comes with a new socket. icon_idea.gif

The 770 is basically an overclocked 680 in disguise, but cheaper. tongue.gif
cressalve
post Jun 3 2013, 10:34 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 3 2013, 10:15 PM)
Slightly faster than the 3570K. tongue.gif
But it comes with a new socket. icon_idea.gif

The 770 is basically an overclocked 680 in disguise, but cheaper. tongue.gif
Ah ok, will look into your suggestion. Will research more on this. Thanks ^^
RowanPaladin
post Jun 3 2013, 10:35 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(w0rmee @ Jun 3 2013, 07:00 PM)
Please clarify what you meant by "tick version of the Haswell" . And when ? next year?
Here's an explanation on Intel's tick-tock model:
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Tick-Tock

As for Haswell's succersor, it will probably be announced next year, yes. Currently the next gen chipset is codenamed Broadwell.
notfair
post Jun 4 2013, 12:10 PM

117 posts

hello, wanna ask which casing is better between these?

CM K380 or Thermaltake V3 (with dockker) or THERMALTAKE COMMANDER MS-III?

thank you.
Hilmax
post Jun 4 2013, 07:44 PM

4,042 posts

QUOTE(notfair @ Jun 4 2013, 12:10 PM)
hello, wanna ask which casing is better between these?

CM K380 or Thermaltake V3 (with dockker)  or THERMALTAKE COMMANDER MS-III?

thank you.
Your budget less than RM200? You can consider Xigmatek Asgard 382 as well.
cressalve
post Jun 4 2013, 08:33 PM

289 posts

After further inspection, my mobo is still functioning and operational lol Now only the gpu needs to be replaced.

But, still have some inquiries about them cpu and gpu.

1. Does migrating from my current cpu setup to Haswell worth it? In terms of gaming of course. If, let say, I opted to GTX770. Will it be bottlenecked by my i5 760?

2. My current gpu setup is GTX460 1gb x2 SLi, if I'm going for GTX660, will it be an increase of performance or should I splurge more and go for 770?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: scratch that, the pc died again lol

This post has been edited by cressalve: Jun 4 2013, 09:37 PM
notfair
post Jun 4 2013, 09:28 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Hilmax @ Jun 4 2013, 07:44 PM)
Your budget less than RM200? You can consider Xigmatek Asgard 382 as well.
ya, my budget is below RM200
hmwgbworld
post Jun 4 2013, 09:29 PM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(GBros @ Jun 4 2013, 08:43 PM)
Then faster pick something to deal with me F2F! mad.gif
Lol chill, just a precaution for safe trading.
Because recently many bad news regarding online scamming matters, so just warm reminder no offense.
Cable707
post Jun 4 2013, 10:52 PM

I'm On My Journey
5,263 posts

QUOTE(GBros @ Jun 4 2013, 10:45 PM)
No worries. tongue.gif

Trying to get all my things done ASAP then will start selling. Too many great stuffs to list besides not even enough time to complete my sales thread. icon_question.gif
Hire me,then.. tongue.gif

Anyway,please bring in EVGA,Fractal Design & Rosewill cases..will ya? brows.gif
king8888
post Jun 4 2013, 11:03 PM

22 posts

Hi , I plan to build a top of the edge gaming rig for gaming purposes .
I have some budget so I plan to build 10-12k gaming rig .
I plan to get the best graphics cards , solid state drive , and a cool casing .
Can someone please give some good recommendations ?

Thanks in advance everybody !
CheaTeRz
post Jun 4 2013, 11:04 PM

They can't beat me so they call me Cheater. oh silly
1,400 posts

QUOTE(Cable707 @ Jun 4 2013, 10:52 PM)
Hire me,then.. tongue.gif

Anyway,please bring in EVGA,Fractal Design & Rosewill cases..will ya? brows.gif
oh yeasss.. please bring in EVGA, im gonna jizz for that XD
hmwgbworld
post Jun 5 2013, 01:14 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(king8888 @ Jun 4 2013, 11:03 PM)
Hi , I plan to build a top of the edge gaming rig for gaming purposes .
I have some budget so I plan to build 10-12k gaming rig .
I plan to get the best graphics cards , solid state drive , and a cool casing .
Can someone please give some good recommendations ?

Thanks in advance everybody !
How about a small form factor theme rig brows.gif ?

Intel i7 4770K RM1049
ASUS Z87 Maximus VI Gene RM799
Corsair Dominator Platinum 16gb RM749
Intel 520 series 240gb SSD RM759
WD Red 3TB HDD RM459
2x Leadtek GTX780 (SLI) RM4798
Seasonic P 860W RM729
Swiftech H220 CPU Cooler RM489
Corsair Obsidian 350D RM400 [estimated]

Total RM10231

It may look similar to this:

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Jun 5 2013, 01:15 AM
thxxht
post Jun 5 2013, 11:35 AM

368 posts

Hey all,

I think it's time for me to jump back into PC gaming, it's been more than 10 years since I last built my own PC and times have changed so much.

I'm not into too fancy stuff but would like to have good performance, small form factor gaming pc. Can any Guru / Sifu here help suggest a rig build? here are my requirements:

Budget: RM 5k
1.) Small Form Factor Case - i live in a very cramp space >_> but i like it to be tidy as well. The size should be comparable to something like a Alienware X51
2.) i5 or i7 CPU - I do play wii games using dolphin and it's very CPU dependent
3.) 7970 or GTX 680 GPU - I'm ok with stock clocks but would be nice bonus if there are room to OC
4.) PSU 500w - i'm also looking into upgradability in the future
5.) motherboard - i'm completely clueless on this one, it should obviously be small enough to fit into the SFF case and allow CPU upgrades later on.
6.) 8 GB DDR3 1600mhz - please suggest a brand for this
7.) HDD 120GB SSD + 1TB HD - please suggest a brand for this
8.) HeatSink, Cooling, Fans - no idea what to use
9.) Optical drive - this is optional

edit: actually i looked up on the net and found some suggestion builds. Here's a sample

the price is obviously USD but are these component sourceable in lowyat / Malaysia?

This post has been edited by thxxht: Jun 5 2013, 11:43 AM
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 5 2013, 11:50 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Jun 5 2013, 11:35 AM)
Hey all,

I think it's time for me to jump back into PC gaming, it's been more than 10 years since I last built my own PC and times have changed so much.

I'm not into too fancy stuff but would like to have good performance, small form factor gaming pc. Can any Guru / Sifu here help suggest a rig build? here are my requirements:

1.) Small Form Factor Case - i live in a very cramp space >_> but i like it to be tidy as well. The size should be comparable to something like a Alienware X51
2.) i5 or i7 CPU - I do play wii games using dolphin and it's very CPU dependent
3.) 7970 or GTX 680 GPU - I'm ok with stock clocks but would be nice bonus if there are room to OC
5.) motherboard - i'm completely clueless on this one, it should obviously be small enough to fit into the SFF case and allow CPU upgrades later on.
1. The X51 is about 10 litres in volume, and a comparable case would be only the SG05. The SG05 would only fits a 10 inch card, which means your option would be:
(a) GTX670 DirectCU mini
(b) Any reference GTX770 (warning: very tight fit, and may requires modding)
(b) Any reference GTX680

2. i7 doesn't make a difference in emulation, and they are dependent on single-threaded performance.

3. Read (1).

4. You won't be able to get a >500W PSU for the SG05 since this one is a SFX unit. However, if you are willing to go bigger, take a look at the SG08 instead. That one comes with a 600W SFX unit, which is aplenty for single GPU setups, including overclocking.

5. Take a look at the ASRock Z87E-ITX for the board.

6. Any low-profile DDR3 8GB 1600 should make it fine. tongue.gif

7. You have some choices on the SSD:
(a) Plextor M5S
(b) Crucial M4
© Samsung 830/840/840 Pro (Though I cannot recommend it since warranty can be an issue)
(d) Intel 330/335/520
For HDDs, it is recommended to get a 2.5 inch drive for that. WD Scorpio Blue 1TB should be OK.

8. For CPU cooler, you would need to go closed-loop watercooling since air cooling would be too large to fit inside the case. Antec Kuhler 620 should be fine and it should be an easy fit into the case, since the tubings are quite bendable.

9. There's no need for an optical drive, since slim optical drives are expensive (cheapest one would be RM299). Use an external one instead.
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 5 2013, 11:51 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(thxxht @ Jun 5 2013, 11:35 AM)
Hey all,

edit: actually i looked up on the net and found some suggestion builds. Here's a sample

the price is obviously USD but are these component sourceable in lowyat / Malaysia?
I think you can get the z77i deluxe here IINM... Try looking at Garage Sales for that. Still, why are you looking at older CPUs where Haswell is already here. tongue.gif
Yes, those parts can be procured here, except for the CPU fan, but you can use the Antec 620 closed-loop cooler for that. brows.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jun 5 2013, 11:54 AM
TSchocobo7779
post Jun 5 2013, 11:52 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(GBros @ Jun 5 2013, 12:28 AM)
Will bring in more choices for Rosewill PSUs.

Most probably will take Zotac's GPU. hmm.gif

Phanteks is doing damn good this time for their chassis lineup but lack of marketing.
brows.gif Can't wait for new parts to come here... rclxm9.gif brows.gif

143 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0316sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:52 AM