221 Pages « < 205 206 207 208 209 > » Bottom

Perfumes for Guys v3

marver
post Sep 24 2014, 03:38 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 24 2014, 03:06 PM)
Just tried the Dior Homme Parfum in Sephora. A darker, less sweet and Arabian version of DHI. The sandalwood incensy note is very prominent here. Nice and smooth.
Thanks bro for ur sharing,
What's ur personal rate / review take on this? DHI or DHP better?
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 24 2014, 03:47 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Sep 24 2014, 03:38 PM)
Thanks bro for ur sharing,
What's ur personal rate / review take on this? DHI or DHP better?
Personally I prefer DHI as my untrained nose is not advance enough to enjoy arabian scent tongue.gif
Both are great high quality scents but DHI is more wearable and versatile, and I can see DHP won't get as much compliments as DHI. DHP is too 'serious'
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 24 2014, 05:57 PM

3,832 posts

The dry down of DHP is my favourite part. Some coco comes out and sandalwood toned down quite a bit. Kinda remind me of A Men (bitter coco) rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Sep 24 2014, 06:02 PM
t0n3
post Sep 24 2014, 06:23 PM

1,528 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 24 2014, 05:57 PM)
The dry down of DHP is my favourite part. Some coco comes out and sandalwood toned down quite a bit. Kinda remind me of A Men (bitter coco)  rclxub.gif
Thanks for sharing bro. Being a fan of DH, I'm curious how it smells like. Not sure if it's available at my local Sephora.
marver
post Sep 24 2014, 06:43 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

The dry down of DHP is my favourite part. Some coco comes out and sandalwood toned down quite a bit. Kinda remind me of A Men (bitter coco)  rclxub.gif
Nice input bro.. Maybe i'll like it. rolleyes.gif
While for me,Bitter Cacao are quite nice compared to sweet cloying cacao scent wink.gif smile.gif
Remind me of Nasomatto Pardon ; Oud + Dark chocolate combo & one of my fav Valentino UOMO thumbup.gif

edwardleong
post Sep 24 2014, 06:45 PM

1,163 posts

Bro which sephora u went to? I'm very itchy d.. Price wise?
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 24 2014, 06:49 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 24 2014, 06:45 PM)
Starhill Bukit Bintang. RM370 for 75ml iirc...
edwardleong
post Sep 24 2014, 07:33 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 24 2014, 06:49 PM)
Starhill Bukit Bintang. RM370 for 75ml iirc...
Nice.. really appreciate your input bro... will drop by sephora tml during lunch as it is just beside my office lol to pick up a bottle and i collect enough points to redeem a 10% discount from Sephora drool.gif . Hopefully the iris will not turn plasticky like DH, as DHI to me is far superior

Still im waiting for the elusive Fahrenheit le Parfum and Dior Eau for Men....

On the other hand, i have tried Bleu de Chanel Edp... i can fairly say this is a sweeter and deeper version of the edt. i dont get the grapefruit incense trademark combo, instead i got a sweet citrus fruity opening and slowly mellow to the edt drydown.

Projection is subtle if compare to the edt, longevity same... however the price diff is marginal lol... i would go for the edp version if i dun have the edt, but if u already have the edt, the edp is redundant...

poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 24 2014, 08:46 PM

3,832 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 24 2014, 07:33 PM)
Nice.. really appreciate your input bro... will drop by sephora tml during lunch as it is just beside my office lol to pick up a bottle and i collect enough points to redeem a 10% discount from Sephora  drool.gif . Hopefully the iris will not turn plasticky like DH, as DHI to me is far superior
Looking forward to your review bro!
marver
post Sep 24 2014, 09:18 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 24 2014, 06:45 PM)
Aiseh... bullet full reloaded..
Gatal for new fragrance nowadays rclxms.gif
Happy hunting bro smile.gif

edwardleong
post Sep 24 2014, 10:38 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Sep 24 2014, 09:18 PM)
Aiseh... bullet full reloaded..
Gatal for new fragrance nowadays  rclxms.gif
Happy hunting bro smile.gif
haha credit purchase la bang... thinking to add this and Bleu de Chanel Edp then tutup kedai edi... wait next year liao

more edp from designers edi and i found they are getting better and promising since these past few years...

Gucci Oud
Bvlgari Man in Black,
Dior Homme Intense,
Bleu de Chanel Edp,
Dior Homme Parfum,
Terre d'hermes Parfum,
Voyage d'Hermes Parfum,
Versace PH Oud Noir,

edwardleong
post Sep 25 2014, 02:36 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 24 2014, 08:46 PM)
Looking forward to your review bro!
Haha went sephora during lunch... Man it is love at first sniff...

Full review tonight.. For the time being... I can say is that it share the DNA with dhi but it is a diff beast... This is my second purchase from them after bvlgari man in black

Dhp is perfect substitute for nasommato pardon
marver
post Sep 25 2014, 03:23 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 25 2014, 02:36 PM)

Full review tonight.. For the time being... I can say is that it share the DNA with dhi but it is a diff beast... This is my second purchase from them after bvlgari man in black

Thanks for ur info buddie.
nasommato pardon, that worth every penny..
As every fraghead know Nasommato price are supreme sky-rocket with barely 30ml EDP - Extract,Cost like hell.
ha ha ha
t0n3
post Sep 25 2014, 05:30 PM

1,528 posts

Looking forward to your review of DHP. Unfortunately, my nose has been thinking of cerai-ing with my DHI lately biggrin.gif
marver
post Sep 25 2014, 06:50 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

Just got my latest acquisition,
Oh mai... This really awesome rose scent,A fresh citruses rose scent.
Compared to other rose scent,I really luv this..
let me fully test drive and share some info with all fraghead here thumbup.gif

SOTD : Acqua Di Parma - Rosa Nobile.

poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 25 2014, 07:14 PM

3,832 posts

rclxms.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(marver @ Sep 25 2014, 06:50 PM)

Nice~ Seems like you really dig this house recently.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by poweredbydiscuz: Sep 25 2014, 07:24 PM
marver
post Sep 25 2014, 07:26 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 25 2014, 07:14 PM)
Nice~ Seems like you really dig this house recently..  thumbup.gif
Thanks bro,Not really dig all fragrance from this house,Just part of it are simply nice...
I feel ADP produce really good juice and they are really underrated. shakehead.gif

edwardleong
post Sep 25 2014, 08:29 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Sep 25 2014, 06:50 PM)

Nice one la bro

The following dialogue took place at Dior lab at grasse one fine day under my imaginary

Demachy: My fellow team members, we need to come out with something new to capture the market as well as take care our bonus

Staff A: why boss? The new releases no good?

Demachy: basenotes and fragrantica no hype kaw kaw also... Anyway who don't fancy kaw kaw bonus... We need a flanker how

Staff B: how abt commercialise the prive line well u know kan our oud ispahan and leather oud are outstanding but yet garners feedback on both extreme end. and Our DH line has always been say it is not man enough as long as we continue to develop our Tuscany Iris the lipstick way, and our DHI has been the milk cow of the company... how about more masculine version of it?

Demachy: Sounds interesting... How abt we pick the one with has the best fan base such as dhi and incorporate these two u mention. But then don't forget we reserve the best ingredient for prive line.

And such Dior homme parfum has been born. Enough of the corporate joke, let go to the main point the review of this baby../

They change the wording on the box to gold colour lol and I did compare the ingredient of this and dhi... The arrangement of ingredient is diff... Dhi: alcohol, aqua then parfum
Dhp: alcohol, parfum then water
So we can safely say dhp has a higher concentration than dhi... The flacon is nicely done... 75ml in 100ml size as u see the juice is darker and so do the scent...

I did a comparison, dhi on my left forearm, dhp on my right forearm... Before I go on, the note listed for DHP is not complete, it has more than that lol

now what do i get? opening is similar due to the DH backbone. DHI has this waxy lipstick vibe which is toned down from DH whereas DHP experienced this stage for like less than 5 mins then got this Pardon vibe ozzing out... it is drier and warmer than DHI.... then DHI continues to develop to the signature iris, cacao vanilla bomb which is very sensual.

Now as for DHP it develops into something darker... here is wat i get for DHP.... Iris, Cacao, Sandalwood, Leather, Oud and Rose.... dont worry it wont turn into the rose/oud combo.... DHP now is dark floral gourmand leather for the next 9hrs and counting lol.... everything here is dry and dark and well-blended..... no single note try to be outstanding and act like a mature pimple lol

Everyone play supporting role... the leather here is amazing... smoky par with the oud used in OI which give out a very masculine vibe. The dry iris, cacao and sandalwood moist and sweeten the leather and oud so u got this rich dark iris cacao leather...

No need to worry projection and longevity.... after 6hrs on my forearm, it still projecting 2 inch lol

Now the verdict... if u got DH/DHI, will this redundant? Sure NO!!! it is a beast of it own... easily best release of the year out winning Bvlgari Men in Black...

This post has been edited by edwardleong: Sep 25 2014, 09:07 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
marver
post Sep 25 2014, 09:00 PM

Fragrance Enthusiast
688 posts

QUOTE(edwardleong @ Sep 25 2014, 08:29 PM)
Nice one la bro

The following dialogue took place at Dior lab at grasse one fine day under my imaginary

Demachy: My fellow team members, we need to come out with something new to capture the market as well as take care our bonus

Staff A: why boss? The new releases no good?

Demachy: basenotes and fragrantica no hype kaw kaw also... Anyway who don't fancy kaw kaw bonus... We need a flanker how

Staff B: how abt commercialise the prive line well u know kan our oud ispahan and leather oud are outstanding but yet garners feedback on both extreme end.

Demachy: Sounds interesting... How abt we pick the one with has the best fan base such as dhi and incorporate these two u mention. But then don't forget we reserve the best ingredient for prive line

And such Dior homme parfum has been born. Enough of the corporate joke, let go to the main point the review of this baby../

They change the wording on the box to gold colour lol and I did compare the ingredient of this and dhi... The arrangement of ingredient is diff... Dhi: alcohol, aqua then parfum
Dhp: alcohol, parfum then water
So we can safely say dhp has a higher concentration than dhi... The flacon is nicely done... 75ml in 100ml size as u see the juice is darker and so do the scent...

I did a comparison, dhi on my left forearm, dhp on my right forearm... Before I go on
Oh.. boy,this really poisoning.. lightning fast..
Baru je one of forumer just input,You ady finish haul rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Well,How this compare with Nasomatto Pardon? I don't mind if DHP is lighter,As price per ml for sure much lower than Pardon..

edwardleong
post Sep 25 2014, 09:11 PM

1,163 posts

QUOTE(marver @ Sep 25 2014, 09:00 PM)
Oh.. boy,this really poisoning.. lightning fast..
Baru je one of forumer just input,You ady finish haul  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Well,How this compare with Nasomatto Pardon? I don't mind if DHP is lighter,As price per ml for sure much lower than Pardon..
no la... i already eyeing this for very long edi.... mid stage is pardon then drydown is where the magic is....

221 Pages « < 205 206 207 208 209 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:35 PM