QUOTE(kimsim @ May 8 2013, 09:01 AM)
For me I'm living in m'sia.
For my own car still can last until died.
For my petrol price still can keep remain as Rm1.9 per litre it is very good new to me.
Once the car price to be when down, but the petrol price to be increase as double up, that's really worst to be life's with exp paying the petrol price, that is my big concern.
How bout your? Imported car like Toyota Wish 1.8L brand new and sell here for Rm80k and the petrol price per litre as Rm3.80 it is worth to have a car?
Best solution, no car tax, but continue petrol subsidy. However, it this happens, Malaysians will go buy cars, extra cars. Put all those cars on the road. Jam like Brazil-11 hour commute. The gomen go devalue currency so that our goods laku abroad. The problem with this is that the public need to pay more for cars. When £ was highest to RM, just before crisis, VW Golf GTI cost about £18k new. Now it cost £25-28k. Inflation alone is not enough to make the price jump £7k. This is the £ jatuh value. At current rate, people will not buy hybrids, because the lifespan of the car is not enough to justify the fuel cost. Even Accord 2.0 vs 2.4 same. Why pay RM30k extra, what basically is the same car. Might as well use as petrol. That is why that Inspira tagline, 2smart drivers get it" or something like that is true. RM20k is good amount of petrol for 5 years. For my own car still can last until died.
For my petrol price still can keep remain as Rm1.9 per litre it is very good new to me.
Once the car price to be when down, but the petrol price to be increase as double up, that's really worst to be life's with exp paying the petrol price, that is my big concern.
How bout your? Imported car like Toyota Wish 1.8L brand new and sell here for Rm80k and the petrol price per litre as Rm3.80 it is worth to have a car?
Example: If you make one baju cap ayam at RM10, you sell it RM 20 Malaysia. Cost to sell it overseas is RM25 (for mass produced item). That baju comes to UK is £5+. That same baju to be made in UK is £10 (why £10? Because they have to pay local labour rate), come here, cost of shipping and selling overseas is £12. Come to Malaysia, that £12 is about RM60.
Frugal buyer will choose the RM20 shirt. Unless super rich or idiot, no one will want to buy a RM60 shirt just because "Made in the UK". In order to be good, UK needs to make stuff people want. Jaguars, Aston Martin, LandRover, these are stuff people want to buy.
QUOTE(Alan @ May 8 2013, 09:12 AM)
About proton : Need to partner with others to survive and develop. Malaysia is too small to fund the it. Suck money in instead of circulate within country/leak out of the country.
About gov : why heavy tax then subsidise petrol? Like put money inside gov pocket (for invest/earn interest) then only vomit back to buyer through pertrol subsidy. Those who travel less, get less. Also safety features are compromised.
About currency : US/china has less impact as they can survive without import, their agriculture/food supply is strong enough to supply their own. Malaysia now seems neither importer nor exporter, rice/vegetables/or even fish import from asean countries. The best exporting goods are still palm oil/petrol (which direct beneficial to cooperation/stake holders). Now vietnam coming up with "cheaper labour". So need to further devalue the currency for "cheaper labour"? There left only 7y to 2020.. lets see how the curreny and "transformasi" work out.
Every country exploits something in order to stay competitive. UK = £ value (highest currency currently in the world). China = cheap labour (not really now. They also go subcon Myanmar, Vietnam people to do the job). China controls 95% of rare earth material prices. US = Political strategy and the fact that trading internationally needs to be in USD even though not between US unless got MOU between countries. Malaysia exploits labour market. Those Bangla Nasional and co are willing to do jobs Malaysians don't want. Malaysia is a net exporter of semiconductor products. We are a net importer of food products. Currently, Intel CPU worth more than rice the same amount weight to weight with uncooked rice. Even though the effort to tanam and tuai padi is actually more compared to just pressing buttons at Intel factory. As long as what we produce is wanted overseas, Malaysia will remain solvent. About gov : why heavy tax then subsidise petrol? Like put money inside gov pocket (for invest/earn interest) then only vomit back to buyer through pertrol subsidy. Those who travel less, get less. Also safety features are compromised.
About currency : US/china has less impact as they can survive without import, their agriculture/food supply is strong enough to supply their own. Malaysia now seems neither importer nor exporter, rice/vegetables/or even fish import from asean countries. The best exporting goods are still palm oil/petrol (which direct beneficial to cooperation/stake holders). Now vietnam coming up with "cheaper labour". So need to further devalue the currency for "cheaper labour"? There left only 7y to 2020.. lets see how the curreny and "transformasi" work out.
QUOTE(rcracer @ May 8 2013, 09:46 AM)
another point to consider, there are major assembly plants in malaysia simply because to get cheaper tax assembling cars here
but if CBU cars were as cheap, then whats the point of keeping the assembly plants operating, might as well close it. so even more people are affected, jobs, suppliers, supply chains
CKD cars is just a stop-gap measure because Proton not doing that well. If tomorrow, everyone decides to buy Proton and say "Tak Nak" to foreign brands then those CKD workers will be working as part of supply chain to Proton. Back to economics/world news, if you read in paper, China-Japan got fighting for some small island in the middle of ocean. Both say theirs. Problem for Japan is that, unlike the 1990's, China is the dominant player here. Japan sells cars to China. Chinese people riot (can read news), they see a Honda, they torch it. The see a Toyota they vandalise it. To the point Jap gomen need to make peace with China and say please buy back our cars. but if CBU cars were as cheap, then whats the point of keeping the assembly plants operating, might as well close it. so even more people are affected, jobs, suppliers, supply chains
Come back to Malaysia, the moment Malaysian do/say something, Malaysians will automatically say this guy tak boleh pakai and will percaya that overseas expert/product.
QUOTE(dares @ May 8 2013, 10:49 AM)
CKD provide jobs to people. Also, compared to CBU, you can import more parts in the same ship because parts are stacked closely. You cannot stack CBU cars like tetris in container ship. Each car must go in a container box. Most can fit a 40 foot box is 2 or 3 (if you are buying smart cars). If 20 container boxes = 40 CBU cars. It will be better to fit 20 containers with car parts. You will get more than 40 car parts. Also, even though you see got lots of red tape to open business in Malaysia, those are just on paper. The gomen got "gentleman's agreement" with companies. One of the reason Intel, AMD, Hybrid cars, CKD cars, AC shops, WD HDD setup shop here is that the gomen give good deal. You make kilang here, we don't tax your business 10 years or so. Janji you take local workers. Najib wants to make Malaysia Hybrid car hub. After the gomen screwed in inviting VW and making Malaysia the CKD hub like Thai/Indon. Hybrid is the only thing left. The only player still thinking to setup shop is Toyota. Honda already has started building its Hybrid factory here. Surely Honda got good deal from Gomen. Also, looking at the car market sector, Honda wants to remain a serious player in the <RM170k car category after Proton. That "agreement" is approved by Bank Negara. If not approve, they will tell MITI and MOF. Bank Negara on its own will not issue statements unless the Menteri of those two Kementerian seriously damage the Malaysia economy by issuing irresponsible statements. Hopefully someone competent remains at MITI and MOF. Dato' Pa was a good working politician previously. Not sure who will take over. Bank Negara needs to think about people's livelihood. THEY are the unsung heroes of Malaysia. It is like medcine, the surgeon gets the glory for the operation. Unknown to many people, it is actually the Anaesthetist who should be congratulated. Surgeon only know how to slice here/there, any mistake, the anaesthetist need to come in and save their ass. Then surgeon get credit. Ini memang lembu punya susu, sapi dapat nama.
Who knows why Toyota don't want to make kilang here yet. My only speculation, their more advanced hybrid system is more sensitive to our climate. That is why until now, people are still pessimistic about hybrids. Regardless of how good the battery system is, it has a operating temperature range. Too high and it will degrade. That is why some hybrids now have passive or active cooling system. Either use the car AC to cool the battery while running or the hybrid has its own cooling system. Smart car buyers will not buy Hybrid. Only reason people buy the CR-Z is for the looks. If honda makes a petrol version of that car, no one cares the hybrid version. Smart buyers will get diesel or direct force injection + turbocharger to get more power from a smaller CC engine.
The Toyota 86 is a good car, but that boxer engine is slightly flawed. After 2k rpm, the power is less between 2-3k rpm. Toyota already planning a better version engine of that car next year onwards. CVT cures this by the adjustable belt in the gears. VW/BMW on the other hand thinks that placing 9 gears in a car is the best solution. Either way, all want to maximise the best engine capacity at the given RPM. My personal view is that CVT is ultimately better as it is cheaper, lighter with fewer moving parts. The less moving parts in the car the better. Having 9 gears with auto gear jumps/skipping gears is a potential disaster for start/stop traffic. That is why you see those DSG boxes fried in traffic jams. Only problem with CVT is the rubber band effect. You tekan, nothing happens, then a lot happens. User feels disconnected unlike cars with proper gears. This is just down to not being familiar with the CVT.
May 8 2013, 12:42 PM

0.0421sec