Car price reduction, what can we expect?
rcracer
May 7 2013, 02:03 PM
my friend lets be realistic, how many times have you heard this same story repeated and repeated at every general election like a bloody broken record.
expect nothing, save that money if you really want and that's it.
dont' tell me you gonna wait another 5 years ??
rcracer
May 7 2013, 05:06 PM
Even with such high taxes, car sales are still record upon record year, there is no real pressure on the gomen to reduce prices, with the new MRT and LRT it's even more reason to keep it high to ensure people will use the public transport,
rcracer
May 8 2013, 09:46 AM
another point to consider, there are major assembly plants in malaysia simply because to get cheaper tax assembling cars here
but if CBU cars were as cheap, then whats the point of keeping the assembly plants operating, might as well close it. so even more people are affected, jobs, suppliers, supply chains
rcracer
May 8 2013, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(kcng @ May 8 2013, 10:19 AM) actually u can assemble the car in malaysia and still pay the same tax... assembling in malaysia don't meant u get lower tax...  yes but lower costs allow them to offer lower pricings even if taxes are the same. but if you were given a ckd and cbu at same price, knowing our local quality i will choose cbu always.
rcracer
May 9 2013, 10:33 AM
so in summary, don't hope anything change