7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Car price reduction, what can we expect?

TSsudha
post May 7 2013, 01:50 PM, updated 13y ago

14 posts

Hello folks smile.gif

Pretty interesting days are ahead for all of us car owners and buyers. *Please, lets have a civil discussion. no rants and govt bashing replies. Thank you in advance.

Prior to elections, both Barisan and Pakatan pushed their manifesto of cheaper cars to the people. While BN took a more gradual approach PR had more drastic and immediate approach to the topic.

But now, the new government has been formed and we can definitely look forward to something. Paul Tan wrote an interesting article on car price reductions - pretty interesting look at how car pricing are structured, expecially for CKDs and how the taxes come into play. Read it here - http://paultan.org/2013/05/05/ge13-poll-da...-cars/#comments

After reading this, my thoughts would be the govt might start by reducing some of the taxes (excise or sales) and maybe push the brands to reduce their price as well. Even with a 20% reduction, it may make a lot of difference for some of us. I guess we will have to wait until Budget 2014 in the next 5 months to see what direction the govt will take.

I am also keen to see reduction in intra-city tolls - I dont know where and when this would be effected but in some serious hotspots like the LDP coming out of Puchong could use some toll reduction.

I sure would like to hear your thoughts especially some members here from and those who keep a close watch on the auto industry.

Cheers!

kadajawi
post May 7 2013, 01:52 PM

544 posts

They already spent all the money on winning the election. Now have to raise taxes tongue.gif
rcracer
post May 7 2013, 02:03 PM

?????
3,772 posts

my friend lets be realistic, how many times have you heard this same story repeated and repeated at every general election like a bloody broken record.

expect nothing, save that money if you really want and that's it.

dont' tell me you gonna wait another 5 years ??
TSsudha
post May 7 2013, 02:03 PM

14 posts

LOL.

But I am still optimistic. I know for a fact that fuel price will not go down as the govt is trying to reduce subsidies.

Their gradual reduction seems like a well thought out plan. what remains to be seen is what klind of price reduction can we expect smile.gif

dtna7
post May 7 2013, 02:12 PM

456 posts

how many 5 years you need to wake up?
ic3rock
post May 7 2013, 02:14 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

I thought BN will reduce import car price like Ferrari, Lamborghini? For Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, I don't think so...
MR_alien
post May 7 2013, 02:25 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 7 2013, 02:14 PM)
I thought BN will reduce import car price like Ferrari, Lamborghini? For Proton, Perodua, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, I don't think so...
they only announce reduce the sales tax for japanese CBU only, not ferarri or lambo
and the sales tax is only 30% and its GRADUALLY reduced from next year till 2016
lowpro
post May 7 2013, 02:29 PM

180 posts

the questions are 1) will it actually happen? and 2) if they actually do reduce, when?

like what rcracer said, it is starting to sound like a broken record already by now and if they were to actually reduce, there must also be another place where the taxes will go up to compensate for it. it could be in your income tax? your tolls? your spare parts taxation? insurance? food? GST? there will definitely be another place which has to take up the slack. ready for increases elsewhere?

so, if i may suggest, if you are in the market for a car now, there is really no point chasing rainbows or for the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow. it is an old election tactic knowing how much malaysians want more affordable non-malaysian brands.

This post has been edited by lowpro: May 7 2013, 02:30 PM
stix
post May 7 2013, 02:34 PM

276 posts

even if they do remove the tax, it is not compulsory for the dealers to lower down the prices since there so many people who are buying cars. what they would probably do is to throw in better specs, but maintain the selling price. this would prevent the depreciation of second hand value.

anyhow, if miracle happens and they sell beemers at 90k, i hope the government remove every single petrol subsidy. perhaps its time to pay for the amount you travel, not pay for the way you travel. bank loans should be capped at 5 years max, else mindless tards will all buy beemers with 9 year loans. heck these people would've applied 90 years if Banks allowed that.
ic3rock
post May 7 2013, 02:39 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 7 2013, 02:25 PM)
they only announce reduce the sales tax for japanese CBU only, not ferarri or lambo
and the sales tax is only 30% and its GRADUALLY reduced from next year till 2016
Reduce sales tax but what about import tax? No matter, we only can wait and see...
6UE5T
post May 7 2013, 02:44 PM

1,704 posts

I would not hold my breath, but gradual reduction is the right way to do, not drastic drop.
MR_alien
post May 7 2013, 02:59 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

QUOTE(ic3rock @ May 7 2013, 02:39 PM)
Reduce sales tax but what about import tax? No matter, we only can wait and see...
not gonna happen...why?
becuz this has become the gov's main income
try to imagine, when someone buy a car, they're actually paying 2 car's price for it(doesn't matter import car or proton and perodua)
but u only end up getting 1 car, the other car price u paid goes to the gov
if u are them, would u reduce?
yamato
post May 7 2013, 04:07 PM

stop calling me yameteh =.=|||
760 posts

as the car price reduces, expect to pay for expensive fuel.

This has been practicing by most of the countries for decades.
pricey car with cheaper fuel; or cheaper car with pricey fuel. its how the govt play around with the figures.

dont get hype, dont get excited just yet, at the end still us (citizens) to absorb their (govt) loses.
no one will propose or implement something which is disadvantages to themselves.

my 2cents

This post has been edited by yamato: May 7 2013, 04:53 PM
Quazacolt
post May 7 2013, 04:14 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

lain kalilah
mADmAN
post May 7 2013, 05:00 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(rcracer @ May 7 2013, 02:03 PM)
my friend lets be realistic, how many times have you heard this same story repeated and repeated at every general election like a bloody broken record.

expect nothing, save that money if you really want and that's it.

dont' tell me you gonna wait another 5 years ??
+1

the whole car price reduction thing i think has been going on for almost a decade (maybe more) with absolutely no changes watsoever..

dates upon dates for reduce taxes... cheaper cars.. etc etc were given...and still the same..

ill only believe this sh!t when it actually happens
rcracer
post May 7 2013, 05:06 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Even with such high taxes, car sales are still record upon record year, there is no real pressure on the gomen to reduce prices, with the new MRT and LRT it's even more reason to keep it high to ensure people will use the public transport,
kcng
post May 7 2013, 05:13 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

car price has been reducing...
profit margin not... but instead, profit margin is going up...

its a cartel out there like it or not....
dares
post May 7 2013, 06:09 PM

834 posts

Reduced taxes = cheaper car prices?

Can some one explain why the Prius costs RM140k here?

This post has been edited by dares: May 7 2013, 06:10 PM
mokhzaini
post May 7 2013, 07:35 PM

278 posts

no.
car prices been reduced in 2006 or 2007.
but not significant enough.
this is a fact.

pakatan version of reducing car prices hinged on reducing the tax.well, we can understand that, but they havent explain how they would replace the lost revenue. mind u running a nation isnt like minding ur piggy bank. i need to know how they would replace that. but then since they lost i guess no one will know. BN version of reducing car prices based on the talk they will be having with dealers/ manufacturers, asking them to reduce the selling price.

BN version is pretty much not clear and in ideal world, not quite cut the mustard. because u cant interfere with business people and if u do so then business people will run away. of course every tom d*** and harry knows business people like big profit margin. since 2006 tax reduction, after momentary dip, the prices been going up.
mokhzaini
post May 7 2013, 07:36 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(dares @ May 7 2013, 06:09 PM)
Reduced taxes = cheaper car prices?

Can some one explain why the Prius costs RM140k here?
holy mother. why u ask thisss?
hahahahahahahahaha notworthy.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:15 PM