Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Astell&Kern Users Club

views
     
TSE1 - AKG
post Mar 19 2014, 09:34 AM

Your personal audio store!
*******
Senior Member
6,360 posts

Joined: Aug 2009
From: Kuala Lumpur


QUOTE(joshuachew @ Mar 19 2014, 08:23 AM)
Today is the day cool2.gif

user posted image
*
A/B it with the AK240 this weekend sweat.gif
joshuachew
post Mar 19 2014, 09:39 AM

Portable Master Race
******
Senior Member
1,828 posts

Joined: Nov 2011
From: KL-Singapore-London



QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Mar 19 2014, 09:34 AM)
A/B it with the AK240 this weekend  sweat.gif
*
Will try to make it this weekend. wink.gif
I think I am the first one in Malaysia to have the RWAK120 and also the Sony ZX1. LOL. Feel so much like a stringfellow. So this is what it feels like huh to be pertamax.


This post has been edited by joshuachew: Mar 19 2014, 09:44 AM
TSE1 - AKG
post Mar 19 2014, 10:08 AM

Your personal audio store!
*******
Senior Member
6,360 posts

Joined: Aug 2009
From: Kuala Lumpur


QUOTE(joshuachew @ Mar 19 2014, 09:39 AM)
Will try to make it this weekend. wink.gif
I think I am the first one in Malaysia to have the RWAK120 and also the Sony ZX1. LOL. Feel so much like a stringfellow. So this is what it feels like huh to be pertamax.
*
Hahaha sweat.gif
joshuachew
post Mar 20 2014, 10:14 AM

Portable Master Race
******
Senior Member
1,828 posts

Joined: Nov 2011
From: KL-Singapore-London



user posted image

More pics to follow
joshuachew
post Mar 21 2014, 06:42 AM

Portable Master Race
******
Senior Member
1,828 posts

Joined: Nov 2011
From: KL-Singapore-London



user posted image
user posted image
user posted image

Pleminary impressions, its a whole new player on a whole new level with the mod. The lush mids are addictive............................
yang2910
post Apr 10 2014, 12:30 AM

Audiophilic Member
*****
Senior Member
761 posts

Joined: Oct 2011
Hi, a new AK100 User reporting in. Was enjoying it together with my E12DiY amp. It sounds decent with the muses01. However,when using the AK100 alone pairing with my low independence JH5, felt that it sounds kind weird and lacking of low mid until low part, like so hollow. Is it something to do with the 22ohm independence of it? Should I go for RWAK100? Was considering about it and dunno whether it will bring a big difference or not. How long would it take for the mod?
TSE1 - AKG
post Apr 10 2014, 05:53 AM

Your personal audio store!
*******
Senior Member
6,360 posts

Joined: Aug 2009
From: Kuala Lumpur


QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 10 2014, 12:30 AM)
Hi, a new AK100 User reporting in. Was enjoying it together with my E12DiY amp. It sounds decent with the muses01. However,when using the AK100 alone pairing with my low independence JH5, felt that it sounds kind weird and lacking of low mid until low part, like so hollow. Is it something to do with the 22ohm independence of it? Should I go for RWAK100? Was considering about it and dunno whether it will bring a big difference or not. How long would it take for the mod?
*
Personally, rather go for AK120 instead of the RWAK mod on the AK100 sweat.gif

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Apr 10 2014, 05:55 AM
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 06:30 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 10 2014, 12:30 AM)
Hi, a new AK100 User reporting in. Was enjoying it together with my E12DiY amp. It sounds decent with the muses01. However,when using the AK100 alone pairing with my low independence JH5, felt that it sounds kind weird and lacking of low mid until low part, like so hollow. Is it something to do with the 22ohm independence of it? Should I go for RWAK100? Was considering about it and dunno whether it will bring a big difference or not. How long would it take for the mod?
*
You got the older AK100 and not the Mk2 version that comes with 3 ohm output impedance (same with AK120)?
yang2910
post Apr 10 2014, 08:17 AM

Audiophilic Member
*****
Senior Member
761 posts

Joined: Oct 2011
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 10 2014, 06:30 AM)
You got the older AK100 and not the Mk2 version that comes with 3 ohm output impedance (same with AK120)?
*
Yea sweat.gif
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 08:53 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 10 2014, 08:17 AM)
Yea sweat.gif
*
How much did you get it for? If you got it cheap than I guess ok. There's relatively not so much price difference between the Mk1 and Mk2.
yang2910
post Apr 10 2014, 09:37 AM

Audiophilic Member
*****
Senior Member
761 posts

Joined: Oct 2011
How much does a new mkII might cost?
Lego Warfare
post Apr 10 2014, 11:23 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
3,627 posts

Joined: Sep 2012
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 10 2014, 08:53 AM)
How much did you get it for? If you got it cheap than I guess ok. There's relatively not so much price difference between the Mk1 and Mk2.
*
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 10 2014, 09:37 AM)
How much does a new mkII might cost?
*
Actually price difference btw Mk1 and Mk2 is quite big. Usually Mk2 retails around USD799 without the shipping and tax cost. You can get it cheaper if going direct from Japan around 650USD before tax.
Mk1 you can get it around RM1.4k ish if direct from Japan before shipping and tax.
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 11:52 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 10 2014, 11:23 AM)
Actually price difference btw Mk1 and Mk2 is quite big. Usually Mk2 retails around USD799 without the shipping and tax cost. You can get it cheaper if going direct from Japan around 650USD before tax.
Mk1 you can get it around RM1.4k ish if direct from Japan before shipping and tax.
*
Officially, AK100 is USD 699 while AK100 Mk2 is USD 799.

In audio world, both are relatively small difference in price.
Lego Warfare
post Apr 10 2014, 12:11 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
3,627 posts

Joined: Sep 2012
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 10 2014, 11:52 AM)
Officially, AK100 is USD 699 while AK100 Mk2 is USD 799.

In audio world, both are relatively small difference in price.
*
I doubt he was asking on the official price. Audio world is separated into 2 segments, the headfi and home system. If you are making reference to home system then yes. Difference is negligible.
yang2910
post Apr 10 2014, 01:37 PM

Audiophilic Member
*****
Senior Member
761 posts

Joined: Oct 2011
Seems the price is so close~100usd difference~shouldve got a mkII earlier sad.gif But the trigger has been pulled laugh.gif sell it den chg mkII or rwak100? Anyone has any experience on RWAK100? Will kena custom or not wan? When posting to RWaudio
yang2910
post Apr 11 2014, 01:02 AM

Audiophilic Member
*****
Senior Member
761 posts

Joined: Oct 2011
Man...Discovered another annoying problem with my AK100...The USB DAC doesnt work with a USB 3.0 port? mad.gif My Laptop that loaded with all my collections only have USB 3.0 ports.....This is going to be a very sad case. Anyone has experience on how to fix this? Like....umm...changing one of the port of my laptop into 2.0? Or maybe there are some kind of adapter or cable or conveter cry.gif
jchue73
post Apr 11 2014, 03:05 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 11 2014, 01:02 AM)
Man...Discovered another annoying problem with my AK100...The USB DAC doesnt work with a USB 3.0 port?  mad.gif  My Laptop that loaded with all my collections only have USB 3.0 ports.....This is going to be a very sad case. Anyone has experience on how to fix this? Like....umm...changing one of the port of my laptop into 2.0? Or maybe there are some kind of adapter or cable or conveter  cry.gif
*
Are you using 64bit OS? The driver would not be installed when you connect it to a 64bit OS via USB 3.

With 64bit OS, you need USB 2.0 to make the USB DAC work. Apparently if you connect your USB 3 port to a USB 2 hub and connect the AK100 to the USB 2 hub, it would not work too.

Else, downgrade OS from 64bit to 32bit but that would mean maximum addressable memory on the laptop is limited to 4GB.
yang2910
post Apr 11 2014, 04:33 PM

Audiophilic Member
*****
Senior Member
761 posts

Joined: Oct 2011
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Apr 11 2014, 03:05 PM)
Are you using 64bit OS? The driver would not be installed when you connect it to a 64bit OS via USB 3.

With 64bit OS, you need USB 2.0 to make the USB DAC work. Apparently if you connect your USB 3 port to a USB 2 hub and connect the AK100 to the USB 2 hub, it would not work too.

Else, downgrade OS from 64bit to 32bit but that would mean maximum addressable memory on the laptop is limited to 4GB.
*
You mean if i downgrade to 32bit windows, i can only access maximum of 4gb songs from ak100? Wad do u meant addresable memory is limited to 4gb?
If pass thru usb hub also cannot~Should i mod one of my usb 3.0 into 2.0 den? That would solve most of the problem. Hopefully its possible.
jchue73
post Apr 11 2014, 04:49 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 11 2014, 04:33 PM)
You mean if i downgrade to 32bit windows, i can only access maximum of 4gb songs from ak100? Wad do u meant addresable memory is limited to 4gb?
If pass thru usb hub also cannot~Should i mod one of my usb 3.0 into 2.0 den? That would solve most of the problem. Hopefully its possible.
*
Mod by desoldering the USB 3 to USB 2 on the motherboard? Is that possible? rclxub.gif

32bit vs 64bit
yang2910
post Apr 11 2014, 05:44 PM

Audiophilic Member
*****
Senior Member
761 posts

Joined: Oct 2011
Oo~now i understands...den it will sacrifice the performance of my 8gb RAM~==....really.....frustrating...maybe i should try dual boot os...dunno will work anot...i see some headfi members also have the same problem as mine...since last year till now, no solution had been found...sad.gif guess will have to buy a cheap DAC to use with my comp

17 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0567sec    1.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2019 - 08:47 AM