Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Astell&Kern Users Club

views
     
jchue73
post Feb 18 2014, 03:13 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(joshuachew @ Feb 15 2014, 10:04 AM)
Any recommendation for an amp to pair with the AK120?
*
Your ALO Mk3-B?

QUOTE(widget @ Feb 15 2014, 02:00 PM)
Size-wise, the RSA SR-71B is almost the same dimension as AK120.
So if you stack it, still looks quite nice. The Intruder is a bit longish though.
The Vorzuge on the other hand is a bit short, but almost the same width.

If size is not priority, Centrance M8 is a good choice
*
Yeah, M8 is goo if not the size. I like that they use the 4 pin XLR.

QUOTE(joshuachew @ Feb 16 2014, 08:58 AM)
Paid for the Red Wine Audio mod. Still looking around for amps to pair with the AK120 Titan besides the amps that I currently own. Anymore suggestions? And any one got any experience with the RWA mod?
*
Whoa. Which one? S or B?

If B can make use of the balance input of the ALO Mk3-B. Fully balanced input to output.
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 06:30 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 10 2014, 12:30 AM)
Hi, a new AK100 User reporting in. Was enjoying it together with my E12DiY amp. It sounds decent with the muses01. However,when using the AK100 alone pairing with my low independence JH5, felt that it sounds kind weird and lacking of low mid until low part, like so hollow. Is it something to do with the 22ohm independence of it? Should I go for RWAK100? Was considering about it and dunno whether it will bring a big difference or not. How long would it take for the mod?
*
You got the older AK100 and not the Mk2 version that comes with 3 ohm output impedance (same with AK120)?
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 08:53 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 10 2014, 08:17 AM)
Yea sweat.gif
*
How much did you get it for? If you got it cheap than I guess ok. There's relatively not so much price difference between the Mk1 and Mk2.
jchue73
post Apr 10 2014, 11:52 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Apr 10 2014, 11:23 AM)
Actually price difference btw Mk1 and Mk2 is quite big. Usually Mk2 retails around USD799 without the shipping and tax cost. You can get it cheaper if going direct from Japan around 650USD before tax.
Mk1 you can get it around RM1.4k ish if direct from Japan before shipping and tax.
*
Officially, AK100 is USD 699 while AK100 Mk2 is USD 799.

In audio world, both are relatively small difference in price.
jchue73
post Apr 11 2014, 03:05 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 11 2014, 01:02 AM)
Man...Discovered another annoying problem with my AK100...The USB DAC doesnt work with a USB 3.0 port?  mad.gif  My Laptop that loaded with all my collections only have USB 3.0 ports.....This is going to be a very sad case. Anyone has experience on how to fix this? Like....umm...changing one of the port of my laptop into 2.0? Or maybe there are some kind of adapter or cable or conveter  cry.gif
*
Are you using 64bit OS? The driver would not be installed when you connect it to a 64bit OS via USB 3.

With 64bit OS, you need USB 2.0 to make the USB DAC work. Apparently if you connect your USB 3 port to a USB 2 hub and connect the AK100 to the USB 2 hub, it would not work too.

Else, downgrade OS from 64bit to 32bit but that would mean maximum addressable memory on the laptop is limited to 4GB.
jchue73
post Apr 11 2014, 04:49 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 11 2014, 04:33 PM)
You mean if i downgrade to 32bit windows, i can only access maximum of 4gb songs from ak100? Wad do u meant addresable memory is limited to 4gb?
If pass thru usb hub also cannot~Should i mod one of my usb 3.0 into 2.0 den? That would solve most of the problem. Hopefully its possible.
*
Mod by desoldering the USB 3 to USB 2 on the motherboard? Is that possible? rclxub.gif

32bit vs 64bit
jchue73
post Apr 14 2014, 12:30 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(yang2910 @ Apr 11 2014, 05:44 PM)
Oo~now i understands...den it will sacrifice the performance of my 8gb RAM~==....really.....frustrating...maybe i should try dual boot os...dunno will work anot...i see some headfi members also have the same problem as mine...since last year till now, no solution had been found...sad.gif guess will have to buy a cheap DAC to use with my comp
*
Dual boot would work. Although it sounds very cumbersome to boot into your 32bit OS for music, that would be the cheapest solution.
jchue73
post Apr 14 2014, 05:30 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(joshuachew @ Apr 14 2014, 02:09 AM)
Honestly, between doing that and carrying around another DAC when I know that it will be used besides only my DAP's I would rather do that. Like on trips where I know that I will be stationary in the hotel room etc. But if you wanna go back to your computer cause not all your music can fit onto the AK100 and the SD card, you can do either that, or just keep copying the music that I wanna listen to onto the SD Card, I get transfer speeds of up to 60mbps anyway. But I wouldn't need to cause my RWAK120 can fit all my music with the 128x3.
*
Copying out files to SD card as and when required is crazy. 60Mbps will take you 4 hours 51 minutes for just 1 x 128GB card. sweat.gif

Fastest and easiest is to dual boot.
jchue73
post Apr 28 2014, 07:37 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
Anybody heard about the AKR02 IEM? How are they? They priced it very expensive. Curious if they sound nice.
jchue73
post Jun 9 2014, 01:24 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(birdoffice @ Jun 8 2014, 11:30 PM)
If anyone would like to try MS Ak120 and MS ak100 mod wm8741 in software mode with digital filter, we can meet during lunch time near by Menara Maybank or after work (19.00) at Swiss Garden Resident betwen 9 -12 Jun 14

my Line ID is birdoffice or you can sent me sms at +601123075236
*
Very kind of you. Wish I am available around that time but very busy these few days. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(RowanPaladin @ Jun 9 2014, 11:19 AM)
For anyone looking for a complete upgrade for your portable rig, AK and UE are having a bundle promo for AK240/120 and UE RM/18. Very tempting prices.

Check here for more info: http://www.head-fi.org/t/721666/ultimate-e...ate-bundle-deal
*
Thanks for the heads up. Tempting indeed. Comes in balanced cables and the AKS02 dock some more.

Anybody interested to share / split the package?
jchue73
post Jun 10 2014, 10:14 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jun 10 2014, 01:29 PM)
unveiling really soon  drool.gif

user posted image
*
Some improvements over the AK120 but glad I did not buy it. sweat.gif
jchue73
post Jul 3 2014, 12:28 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(joshuachew @ Jun 11 2014, 11:25 PM)
Went over to E1's place today to collect my 1/300. Hehe. Gold AK240 Gold Limited Edition. Pictures to follow (as usual).
*
Have you updated your gold ingot yet?
jchue73
post Jul 3 2014, 07:30 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(joshuachew @ Jul 3 2014, 02:35 AM)
Yes, sometime last week. (: No audible difference though.
And I just for the AK240 and UERM bundle today! Happy days
*
My untrained ears detected a little more bottom end grunt and sub bass from the LCD-2 connected directly in SE mode after the update. sweat.gif
jchue73
post Jul 3 2014, 08:19 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jul 3 2014, 07:43 PM)
Did you get yourself an AK240 too?  rclxms.gif
*
Congrats to you too.

We should meet up and korek from Sentinel92 for his DSD collection. laugh.gif
jchue73
post Jul 3 2014, 08:32 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Jul 3 2014, 08:28 PM)
lol you korek the left side i korek the right so he can't move/run away  nod.gif
*
LOL

Sound like WW2 Japanese torture.
jchue73
post Aug 6 2014, 07:40 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(nles @ Aug 6 2014, 10:03 AM)
Saw it at BIC Camera at shibuya yesterday.

*out of topic, why everytime I post photo from iPhone also terbalik, even I rotate it in iPhone still the same.
*
Throw Iporn away. tongue.gif

Yeah, a bit expensive. HK is cheaper. Perhaps cheaper than KL/SG? brows.gif

Attached Image

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Aug 6 2014, 10:26 AM)
The AK PFE11 balanced adapter  drool.gif
*
Errr, it's called PEF11. nod.gif

Y 74,800 = RM 2400 sweat.gif

The DHC is beginning to look cheap. shakehead.gif

user posted image

jchue73
post Dec 22 2015, 11:47 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
Congrats ! rclxms.gif You must now be in audio nirvana (again). I assume you got it because the AK380 was the best DAP tested. How much better is the AK380 against the rest (just DAP alone without amps/DACs)? Does the higher price commensurate with the increase in audio fidelity? How is the stacking order from best to worst?

Just some guesswork here but I predict something like this...

AK380 > AK240 > ZX2 > X7 > AK120
jchue73
post Jan 13 2016, 04:49 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(Vape On @ Jan 13 2016, 02:43 PM)
Gone in a heartbeat sad.gif
*
Don't worry. I think they'll do a 2nd drop soon.
jchue73
post Jan 13 2016, 09:46 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(Vape On @ Jan 13 2016, 07:44 PM)
Just proves the crazy margin in selling those.
*
I think it's simple economics. Buy in bulk, cost is cheaper definitely. Sell more and take a small cut on each item but in the end the make the required margins work for them.

Smaller shops / distributors buy in smaller quantities at a higher cost price and to cover their own cost, sell them at a higher margin.

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Jan 13 2016, 08:26 PM)
for any product, there is always a need for reasonable margins to cover the cost from r&d, manufacturing, branding, distribution and retailing. 

it is a free world, anyone is free to invest in a new brand, develop new product and try going to market with it.  till then, ranting will continue over high margins  whistling.gif
*
Agree on the R&D cost. Somebody's got to make a living. That is why China companies wreck havoc when they disregard patents etc come in, cannibalise a product and reverse engineer it to try and make copy of it. sad.gif
jchue73
post Jan 14 2016, 04:39 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Senior Member
2,496 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(shin2l @ Jan 14 2016, 10:48 AM)
Haha, so precious the copper AK380~ laugh.gif

If I can choose material, I want super duplex material laugh.gif  laugh.gif
*
Super duplex material as in UNS S32760?

Are you in the O&G industry? Never come across people mention that material here. biggrin.gif

2 Pages  1 2 >Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0350sec    1.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th April 2020 - 02:18 PM