Hardware MacBook/MacBook Pro Users Thread, For all your MB/MBP Needs

SUSMike3300
post Jul 18 2006, 10:09 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 18 2006, 09:15 PM)
i still dont understand why is mac giving out white adapters instead of black ones.........
White is the symbolic colour...and you know why Apple made iPod white and black, but the earphone still white... it's because... black is to common for the earphone..same with the cable..

Saw white earphones on the street..means you saw a dude with an iPod..

So many company made black earphones...too common and boring liao..

so use white stuff for pc and MP3's means you got Apple'ed! thumbup.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jul 18 2006, 10:10 PM
Shanks
post Jul 20 2006, 01:08 AM

182 posts

Has the low end Macbook arrived in Malaysia yet? Anyone know where they might be readily available?
nazeemshah82
post Jul 20 2006, 03:39 AM

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 4 2006, 11:12 PM)
what apple does might save a bit of money......

coz if we were to upgrade the rams ourselves....we are wasting perfectly good rams......coz we have to take the 2x256 out and replace it with 2x512.......
actually the ram which we buy in other stores than mac is just the same. I've used a powerpc g4 dual processor and a powerbook g4 and switch the rams. It worked perfectly.
hairol83
post Jul 20 2006, 08:42 AM

344 posts

QUOTE(Shanks @ Jul 20 2006, 01:08 AM)
Has the low end Macbook arrived in Malaysia yet? Anyone know where they might be readily available?
oredi maa... sweat.gif
nazeemshah82
post Jul 20 2006, 02:35 PM

HAS ANYONE RUN THE FINAL CUT PRO ON THE MACBOOK??

I JUST NEED AN APPLE FOR MY WORK WHICH NEEDS FCP.

SO IF IT AINT COMPATIBLE I WONT BUY A MAC.

PLZ ANYONE HELP ME.
wei
post Jul 20 2006, 02:43 PM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

QUOTE(nazeemshah82 @ Jul 20 2006, 02:35 PM)

PLZ ANYONE HELP ME.
yes you can: http://www.appleinsider.com/article.php?id=1634
lokgotz
post Jul 20 2006, 03:20 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(nazeemshah82 @ Jul 20 2006, 02:35 PM)

PLZ ANYONE HELP ME.
i quote vandetta's post

QUOTE(vandetta @ Jul 16 2006, 03:19 PM)
I try to install Final Cut Studio / HD in MacBook, it installed properly but when open any of the apps in FCP (Soundtrack/Compressor/FC) it will stated the MacBook is lack of a hardware - AGP Graphic Card  blink.gif
so i think u cant install it on the MB...only MBP........

p.s. please dont use capital letters for your posts........it looks liek you are screaming and it is rude.....thanks.....

wei
post Jul 20 2006, 03:26 PM

6,496 posts

ah, my mistake, i tot he's asking about MBP.
here's what apple says: http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=303782
vandetta
post Jul 21 2006, 01:04 AM

658 posts

If want to use pro apps go for MBP lor.. or you can get 1.83ghz iMac at the same price of 2.0 white MB dude.. biggrin.gif I think MB will suit for average user only, not for pro user. BTW, gudluck to you smile.gif
ychwang
post Jul 23 2006, 04:32 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

Can Mac Book with Intel CPU run Windows XP directly withtout using Virtual PC/Under MacOS ?
how's the speed?
lokgotz
post Jul 23 2006, 06:03 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 23 2006, 04:32 AM)
Can Mac Book with Intel CPU run Windows XP directly withtout using Virtual PC/Under MacOS ?
how's the speed?
yes it can.....via BootCamp.....

for the speed...just imagine windows is running on a 2ghz machine.....

it's the same as the other machines.....the only difference is the apple logo on the macbook.....
lokgotz
post Jul 23 2006, 06:03 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(ychwang @ Jul 23 2006, 04:32 AM)
how's the speed?

it's the same as the other machines.....the only difference is the apple logo on the macbook.....
ychwang
post Jul 24 2006, 01:15 AM

Little *
4,607 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 23 2006, 06:03 AM)

so the speed will be faster than dell core dual 1.83mhz cpu?
can the ram user upgradable? Buy from apple is very expensive.
Macbook got 3year warrantee?

Do you think it's worth to get macbook @4.4k over dell/other brand if my Main purpose is want to use Window xp?

vandetta
post Jul 24 2006, 04:45 AM

658 posts

ychwang i don't want to give a comment on a speed but yes you can extend your 1 year waranty to 3 years waranty, and you can use compatible rams, dell or macbook? of course macbook you get 2 in 1 dude smile.gif

oh yes, there's a software called paralels as the other options other than BootCamp tongue.gif
wei
post Jul 24 2006, 08:47 AM

6,496 posts

Hey, after some reading, there's actually some hack that enable you to run Pro Apps on Macbook (even apple say "no"). And the result are pretty stunning too...
http://www.tuaw.com/2006/05/23/macbook-fin...dio-benchmarks/
lokgotz
post Jul 24 2006, 02:38 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

this is my ram usage

can anyone explain the terms to me please....what is wired....differece between active and inactive....

my free ram usually goes down to about 4-5mb after opening entourage, safari, microsoft office.....

ChopSuey
post Jul 24 2006, 02:50 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Jul 24 2006, 02:38 PM)

can anyone explain the terms to me please....what is wired....differece between active and inactive....

Wired ram is used by kernel. It is not often given
up to run other programs.

Active is currently being used by your programs

Inactive memory can be allocated to any program
that needs it. I guess it was previously used by a
program and maintained for a while in case it was
needed again.

Free ram is of course untouched by any application.

Hope I got it right sweat.gif
vandetta
post Jul 25 2006, 03:20 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Jul 24 2006, 08:47 AM)
Hey, after some reading, there's actually some hack that enable you to run Pro Apps on Macbook (even apple say "no"). And the result are pretty stunning too...
http://www.tuaw.com/2006/05/23/macbook-fin...dio-benchmarks/
When i try to instal, they warned me and after that it continue, after finished installing, when i open the apps, it shows the 'AGP Warning' then it quit biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ijatz @ Jul 25 2006, 01:26 AM)
hahahaha got my black macbook already... bought at ikano... hey, do u guys know there is keyboard rubber guard for macbook already? the same like ibook and powerbook b4
Congratulation to you, i saw the display black macbook at ikano on sunday, they wraped it with plastic and it makes me wonder, how if user want to test drive? this is what they call display only tongue.gif
wei
post Jul 25 2006, 09:51 AM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(vandetta @ Jul 25 2006, 03:20 AM)
When i try to instal, they warned me and after that it continue, after finished installing, when i open the apps, it shows the 'AGP Warning' then it quit  biggrin.gif
Like i meantioned, you need to do some hacking.
supafreak
post Jul 25 2006, 10:45 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(ijatz @ Jul 25 2006, 10:06 AM)
hahahaha... yeah they wraped it... but nevermind... this macbook is great.. thanks got they have stock for it... later i upgrade it to 2gig ram... this computer much better than my previous imac g4 1.0ghz...
ijatz... look for hanzi_o in this LYP forum... he gives pretty good price... much much less for 2gb than any mac retailers...

btw, the stock 512 is juz not enough man... i made a dvd tat day and it took me more than 4 hrs to complete... and that oso only the burning & encoding process...

98 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0164sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:38 AM