130 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

nexus2238
post Jun 23 2013, 06:57 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Jun 23 2013, 10:03 AM)
Some Android app programming. Number of lines of codes that I usually debug is 500+. Sometimes 1k+ -.- Have to load the emulator before debugging some more. I also suspect maybe the main problem comes from Eclipse itself. Will check out the setting. Ram usage about 50-60 % usually.
Will be doin a clean format on my laptop soon. Hope the problem can be solved.  rclxms.gif
look at the task manager, CPU usage when the Eclipse debugging is running (try to shut down the other apps to isolate the issue). The CPU usage graph should be split into 2 pane, see if work load are working on multi-core. (if you see the usage is high on 1 core, but not on the other, then it is not set to use multi-core. If both are running fine, but Eclipse is still lagging, then the bottleneck could be somewhere else).
The 50-60% RAM usage is just after boot? With all the apps launch but no activities? Then you may want to consider increasing RAM. 4G RAM stick ~ RM90, 8G stick ~ RM170+ now.

Good luck. If the current laptop is working, don't waste money on new laptop yet. Haswell come out already (but models with Haswell is still rare), and Broadwell next year could be even more fun smile.gif )
nexus2238
post Jun 23 2013, 06:59 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(MrPikachu @ Jun 23 2013, 05:00 PM)
Heard that these Lenovo models have problems regarding Wi-Fi, trackpad and keyboard (Unable to use Wi-Fi, No mute sound / lower volume / increase volume on keyboard). Can anyone confirm this? Thank you so much sifus.  biggrin.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2851949
check with owners on this thread smile.gif
nexus2238
post Jun 23 2013, 07:02 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Jun 23 2013, 03:23 PM)
1. Anything
2. 2.5k
3. Gaming
4. Any size
Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

The Y410p is a better model as it support Nvidia optimus and solve a bit of other smaller issues as well.
Prices are RSP, negotiable.
nexus2238
post Jun 23 2013, 07:09 PM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lee0525 @ Jun 23 2013, 06:15 PM)
i think maybe i'll upgrade with ssd.
so are these model is available for upgrade?
what do mean by upgrade?
Do you mean you want to replace the HDD with SSD? Of course you can do this with all these models. It's a matter of accessing the HDD bay. Envy 4 is easy, Vostro 5460 is still easy enough, Z400 you better get a (patient) technician to help laugh.gif

Do you mean you want to add a mSATA SSD to the laptop? The short answer is yes you can with all these models. The issue is in the details though. Vostro 5460 use a half size mSATA port. Z400, not easy to access the port. Envy 4 should be easy enough.

For all cases, make sure you get the (SATA or mSATA) SSD with the correct thickness (z-height).
Etolen
post Jun 23 2013, 07:53 PM

438 posts

1. Known brands
2. not more than 2.3k
3. student and some online gaming
4. more than 14inch screen
lee0525
post Jun 23 2013, 09:15 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Jun 23 2013, 12:14 AM)
Dell vostro 5460 , Lenovo Z400, Hp envy 4
Btw,which hp envy 4 model u seggest?

gxthelord
post Jun 23 2013, 11:47 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

Hi I'm looking for a new replacement laptop now, but couldn't figure out which I should get soo much to choose from.
1. Preferred Brand : Any Brand Would Do
2. Budget : Below 2k
3. Usage : MS Office, Watch Video, Mild Video/Audio Converting, Mild Gaming(DMC5, L4D2)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Actually Size Dosen't matter to me but prefer it light actually.

My Prefered Specs would be the following
At Least i5 3rd Gen, Nvidia GT 7xx Series.
I've recently heard about AMD Dual Graphics Technology and heard some good reviews on it, hope u guys can enlighten me.

So far I only found Acer Aspire V5 that suit my budget :/

Most Important to me is more to reliability, dun want keep rosak here and there. smile.gif

This post has been edited by gxthelord: Jun 23 2013, 11:47 PM
l4nc3k
post Jun 23 2013, 11:54 PM

Nerd
968 posts

Asking for myself and on behalf of 2 more friends (edited a few times to suit my friends' needs tongue.gif )

A:
1. Dell/Lenovo
2. 3.5~4k
3. Casual use. Mainly office work and maybe some AutoCAD/Engineering software simulating. Also some quite-often gaming (not those graphic breakers game, just some mid-end games like dota2, COD, etc.)
4. What does preferred laptop means? Screen size 15" / 15.6" (14" too small 17" too big)

B:
1. Acer (or any cheaper brands)
2. 3.5~4k
3. Hardcore Gaming + Multimedia (Aren't they the same? o_O)
4. 15"/15.6"

C:
1. Any
2. 3.5~4k
3. light weight + thin (keep carrying around), can also consider tablet.
4. 15"/15.6"

if possible let the minimum price be 3.5k (we are sort of sponsored, so we don't want to waste the quota given)

thanks to all sifus smile.gif

This post has been edited by l4nc3k: Jun 24 2013, 12:00 AM
otaiboyz91
post Jun 23 2013, 11:54 PM

43 posts

Budget = max RM1700
screen size : 15.6
Usage = gaming, assgmnt , movie.

currently want to buy this :

DELL INSPIRON 15(3521) LAPTOP
Intel Core i5-3337U processor(3M Cache,up to 2.7 GHz,with 2GB Discrete base)
N-SERIES(FreeDOS)
1TB 5400RPM Hard Drive
4GB 1 DIMM(4GBx1) DDR3 1600Mhz
Tray load DVD Drive(Reads and Writes DVD)
Stereo Speakers with Waves MaxxAudio 4.0
AMD Radeon HD 8730M with 2G DDR3 VRAM
Internal 10/100 Fast Ethernet
8-in-1 Memory Card Reader:SD,SDHC,SDXC,MMC,MMC+,xD,MS,MS Pro
Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b/g/n with Bluetooth v4.0
LCD Back Cover-Black
15.6 inch LED Backlit Display with True Life and HD resolution(1366x768)
Integrated 1.0 mega pixel widescreen HD webcam(1280x720)
Integrated single digital microphone
6-cell Lithium Ion(65WHr) Battery
1 Year Warranty

is it ok?
SUSNed_Fromthenorth
post Jun 24 2013, 01:09 AM

Tezos till you Bezos
640 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jun 22 2013, 06:32 PM)
Skyrim need powerful GPU to run smoothly. The best bang for your buck right now is this (up your budget a little bit):

Lenovo
Y410p, i7-4700MQ + GT750M(GDDR5)@RM2899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, 120w psu, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

Price is RSP, negotiable.
Thanks for the info.

how different is this y410p compared to this:

-INTEL COREi5-3230QM 2.6GHZ
-6GB DDR3 RAM
-1TB HARDDISK (1000GB)
-WINDOWS8
-NVIDIA GRAPHIC CARD GT650M+GT650M (4GB)

dual graphic card is better?
imin
post Jun 24 2013, 01:23 AM

818 posts

hi... hope you guys don't mind me asking here.. after browsing through the price list thread.. i'm thinking of getting a "Eee PC 1225B, E-450 + AMD HD6320M + (1366x768)@RM949[1.45kg], W7S; colors: Red/Silver/Black, 1 year warranty"

but any idea where can I get it?

aristotletan
post Jun 24 2013, 05:21 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Etolen @ Jun 23 2013, 07:53 PM)
1. Known brands
2. not more than 2.3k
3. student and some online gaming
4. more than 14 inch screen
Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty , 4-cell

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD 7670M@RM1779,[2.25kg] , 4GB , 500GB , 4-cell , W8
Inspiron 15R, i5-3337U + AMD HD8730M@RM1949[2.22kg] , 4GB, 750GB , 4-cell, W8
Inspiron 15R, i7-3537U + AMD HD8730M@RM2349[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux

Lenovo give you best hardware configuration, but Dell laptop with ULV processors which gives you slightly lower performance but better battery life, even better if the laptop equipped with 6 cell battery.

aristotletan
post Jun 24 2013, 05:45 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Jun 23 2013, 11:47 PM)
Hi I'm looking for a new replacement laptop now, but couldn't figure out which I should get soo much to choose from.
1. Preferred Brand : Any Brand Would Do
2. Budget : Below 2k
3. Usage : MS Office, Watch Video, Mild Video/Audio Converting, Mild Gaming(DMC5, L4D2)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : Actually Size Dosen't matter to me but prefer it light actually.

My Prefered Specs would be the following
At Least i5 3rd Gen, Nvidia GT 7xx Series.
I've recently heard about AMD Dual Graphics Technology and heard some good reviews on it, hope u guys can enlighten me.

So far I only found Acer Aspire V5 that suit my budget :/

Most Important to me is more to reliability, dun want keep rosak here and there. smile.gif
Do you mean Acer V5-471G, i5-3337U + 4GB RAM + 500GB + Nvidia 710M + Win8 @RM1899 ?
I not recommended that. This is because..
-Since you doing video converting, its better go for standard processors (i5-M) instead of ULV processors (i5-U)
-Nvidia 7xx series have a wide range of graphic cards. But performance is vary for each cards. Nvidia 710M = Nvidia 620M . So 630M pawns 710M already.
-I think its hard to find something "light" in this budget which meet your requirements, but at least there is one:

Dell Vostro 5460, i5-3230M +Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[1.54kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04, 3 cell; W8SL@RM2099

One of the disadvantages of this laptop is its only have 1 RAM slot, so since you do video converting, I afraid that 4GB RAM is not enough for you if you do HD video converting, so if you upgrade into 8GB RAM with single RAM stick, its costly

Anyway, Dell provide good warranty, so even if spoil you can call them to fix it easily.

aristotletan
post Jun 24 2013, 05:49 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 23 2013, 11:54 PM)
Budget = max RM1700
screen size : 15.6
Usage = gaming, assgmnt , movie.

currently want to buy this :

DELL INSPIRON 15(3521) LAPTOP
Intel Core i5-3337U processor(3M Cache,up to 2.7 GHz,with 2GB Discrete base)
N-SERIES(FreeDOS)
1TB 5400RPM Hard Drive
4GB 1 DIMM(4GBx1) DDR3 1600Mhz
Tray load DVD Drive(Reads and Writes DVD)
Stereo Speakers with Waves MaxxAudio 4.0
AMD Radeon HD 8730M with 2G DDR3 VRAM
Internal 10/100 Fast Ethernet
8-in-1 Memory Card Reader:SD,SDHC,SDXC,MMC,MMC+,xD,MS,MS Pro
Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b/g/n with Bluetooth v4.0
LCD Back Cover-Black
15.6 inch LED Backlit Display with True Life and HD resolution(1366x768)
Integrated 1.0 mega pixel widescreen HD webcam(1280x720)
Integrated single digital microphone
6-cell Lithium Ion(65WHr) Battery
1 Year Warranty

is it ok?
Perfect laptop for you in this budget smile.gif
Just let you know if you wanna to save more, you can contact with DELL and ask for offline discount and save around RM50~100.
aristotletan
post Jun 24 2013, 05:59 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(Ned_Fromthenorth @ Jun 24 2013, 01:09 AM)
Thanks for the info.

how different is this y410p compared to this:

-INTEL COREi5-3230QM 2.6GHZ
-6GB DDR3 RAM
-1TB HARDDISK (1000GB)
-WINDOWS8
-NVIDIA GRAPHIC CARD GT650M+GT650M (4GB)

dual graphic card is better?
Theoretically, GT650M SLi is better than GT750M
But sometimes it depends. But if your games doesn't support SLi, GT750M might have better performance.
Maybe you can take a look at here before you buy to ensure the games you play support SLi.

In processors, the difference is minimal between 4th gen and 3rd gen. If graphic card is your main priority, you should consider it first.
If I not wrong new Y410p support Nvidia Optimus technology which means switchable with Intel HD graphics to provide longer battery life; maybe you can confirm this by asking Lenovo thread or seller.

aristotletan
post Jun 24 2013, 06:02 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Jun 24 2013, 01:23 AM)
hi... hope you guys don't mind me asking here.. after browsing through the price list thread.. i'm thinking of getting a "Eee PC 1225B, E-450 + AMD HD6320M + (1366x768)@RM949[1.45kg], W7S; colors: Red/Silver/Black, 1 year warranty"

I afraid that this laptop is obsolete.
aristotletan
post Jun 24 2013, 06:21 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Jun 23 2013, 11:54 PM)
Asking for myself and on behalf of 2 more friends (edited a few times to suit my friends' needs  tongue.gif )

A:
1. Dell/Lenovo
2. 3.5~4k
3. Casual use. Mainly office work and maybe some AutoCAD/Engineering software simulating. Also some quite-often gaming (not those graphic breakers game, just some mid-end games like dota2, COD, etc.)
4. What does preferred laptop means? Screen size 15" / 15.6" (14" too small 17" too big)

B:
1. Acer (or any cheaper brands)
2. 3.5~4k
3. Hardcore Gaming + Multimedia (Aren't they the same? o_O)
4. 15"/15.6"

C:
1. Any
2. 3.5~4k
3. light weight + thin (keep carrying around), can also consider tablet.
4. 15"/15.6"

if possible let the minimum price be 3.5k (we are sort of sponsored, so we don't want to waste the quota given)

thanks to all sifus smile.gif
For option A:
-Dell Inspiron laptop isn't "expensive" enough to satisfy your budget. Well, there's premium XPS laptop but screen size is definitely small for you.
-For Lenovo,
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs
-If still got leftover budget can upgrade mSATA SSD

For option B:
-Same with above, but can consider MSI
MSI GE60K - i7-3630QM-2.4GHz , 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1920x1080 (Anti-Glare), 128MB SSD + 1TB SATA HDD , GTX660M, Win8 @RM3999

For option C:
No laptop which is light but 15 inch in this budget. But there's a lot 13 and 14 inch ultrabook in this budget.

This post has been edited by aristotletan: Jun 24 2013, 06:29 AM
l4nc3k
post Jun 24 2013, 08:48 AM

Nerd
968 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Jun 24 2013, 06:21 AM)
For option A:
-Dell Inspiron laptop isn't "expensive" enough to satisfy your budget. Well, there's premium XPS laptop but screen size is definitely small for you.
-For Lenovo,
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM2999, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y500, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3899, 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs
-If still got leftover budget can upgrade mSATA SSD

For option B:
-Same with above, but can consider MSI
MSI GE60K - i7-3630QM-2.4GHz , 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1920x1080 (Anti-Glare), 128MB SSD + 1TB SATA HDD , GTX660M, Win8 @RM3999

For option C:
No laptop which is light but 15 inch in this budget. But there's a lot 13 and 14 inch ultrabook in this budget.
thanks for the reply biggrin.gif
so i guess for option C only 14" is available right? any recommendations for 14"?
aristotletan
post Jun 24 2013, 09:26 AM

492 posts

QUOTE(l4nc3k @ Jun 24 2013, 08:48 AM)
thanks for the reply  biggrin.gif
so i guess for option C only 14" is available right? any recommendations for 14"?
SONY VAIO T SERIES 14" (1366 x 768@touchscreen) + i7-3537U + 4GB RAM + 500GB + 24GB mSATA + Intel HD 4000, 2.1KG, W8, RM3399
HP Elitebook Folio 9470M, i5-3317U + 4GB RAM + 32GB mSATA + 500GB SATA HDD + Intel HD 4000, W8PRO, 1.63kg , 4-cell , RM3499

Both laptop are slim. Use remaining money to upgrade a SSD if you want.
Anyway hope it helps you. smile.gif

Just my two cents, if your college are confortable with 13.3 inch, its better to go for that due to ...
-even slimmer design
-more options
-usually equipped with SSD
-lighter

This post has been edited by aristotletan: Jun 24 2013, 09:29 AM
nexus2238
post Jun 24 2013, 11:57 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Jun 24 2013, 01:23 AM)

Yup, like AristotleTan mentioned, Netbook as a species is dying out laugh.gif Most brands (Acer / Asus / HP) had stop produced them, so unless you can locate some old stocks somewhere, it is getting hard to find.

Would you care to share your usage requirement so that sifus here could suggest alternative? Follow the format suggested in 1st post of this thread smile.gif

130 Pages « < 109 110 111 112 113 > » Top

0.0283sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:02 PM