130 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

lee0525
post Jun 25 2013, 05:31 AM

24 posts

I'm wondering how much the maximum discount can get by bargaining with dell online sales assistant?
newbiz2010
post Jun 25 2013, 08:08 AM

32 posts

Brand asus, hp, lenovo
Weight less than 2kg
Battery life more than 4 hours
Budget any
Screen size 14
For gaming and microsoft office

nexus2238
post Jun 25 2013, 09:09 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(lee0525 @ Jun 25 2013, 05:31 AM)
I'm wondering how much the maximum discount can get by bargaining with dell online sales assistant?
depends on how fat the margin of the laptop models laugh.gif For models in the RM4k range, we have seen report of up to RM600 successful reduction easily.
For budget models, like those < RM2k range, 5% is good, 10% is very good.
nexus2238
post Jun 25 2013, 09:18 AM

4,195 posts

QUOTE(newbiz2010 @ Jun 25 2013, 08:08 AM)
Brand asus, hp, lenovo
Weight less than 2kg
Battery life more than 4 hours
Budget any
Screen size 14
For gaming and microsoft office
What game titles?
You want low weight, which normally means smaller size, but you want 14", which mean have to be thin, and those thin laptop don't have good ventilation or very powerful GPU.

Anyway:

Asus
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

HP
Envy4-1204TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M + 32GB mSATA +500GB(5400rpm)@RM2399[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, W8
Envy4-1238TX, i5-3337U + AMD HD8750M@RM2099[Beats][1.75kg], 2GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8
Touchsmart 14-k028TX Sleekbook, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch)@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, ext OD
Touchsmart 14-k029TX Sleekbook, i5-4500U + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768;touch) + 128GB mSATA SSD@RM3299, 4GB, 500GB, W8, ext OD

Lenovo
Z400, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty
Z400 touch, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M + (1366x768, touch)@RM2399, 4GB, 1TB, W8; 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Jun 25 2013, 09:51 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 24 2013, 10:29 PM)
but the laptop doesn't come with backpack, need to add others RM 79 from normal price, RM 1749 for Targus backpack. so Total will be RM1828. So i think they give me student discount right. i think better if i order from garage sales.
you can keep bargain with the agent if it is not your desired price. they will still loose to you if you are strong at insisting. i have seen some peoples able to bargain as less as RM1599 for Vostro 5460. if you get it from garage sales, you might probably get around RM1690 and hard to bargain even if you are a student.

like i said before in my post, you need to have a desired price. you can increase a little if agent is not willing to do so.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jun 25 2013, 11:44 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 24 2013, 10:29 PM)
but the laptop doesn't come with backpack, need to add others RM 79 from normal price, RM 1749 for Targus backpack. so Total will be RM1828. So i think they give me student discount right. i think better if i order from garage sales.
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 25 2013, 09:51 AM)
you can keep bargain with the agent if it is not your desired price. they will still loose to you if you are strong at insisting. i have seen some peoples able to bargain as less as RM1599 for Vostro 5460. if you get it from garage sales, you might probably get around RM1690 and hard to bargain even if you are a student.

like i said before in my post, you need to have a desired price. you can increase a little if agent is not willing to do so.
Yeah, agreed with what the sifus have mentioned
The trick is to bargain, and also to bargain with multiple sales agents since different ones will give different offers icon_rolleyes.gif
And as nexus sifu has said, the margin of discounts for a sub Rm2k notebook will definitely be lower than a say, RM4k one
Skinny01010
post Jun 25 2013, 12:00 PM

38 posts

Hello all, please advise me!

I'm going to the US during August to further my studies in civil engineering. But plan to get it here so that I can keep in touch with my family when I'm in transit etc.

1. Preferred brand - None. But hopefully something with good customer support in M'sia and US.
2. Budget - rm4k
3. Usage - Civil engineering student, don't know what kind of software I'll need to use, but maybe the sifus would know. Also, would like to use it for playing games like crysis 3 once in awhile.
4. Preferred screen size - 14 or 15.6 inch.

Thank you!
ps, I do plan to get an extra monitor at US, so portability is more important than screen size to me.

Edit: interested in the Lenovo y500, but the battery life is a serious concern to me.

This post has been edited by Skinny01010: Jun 25 2013, 12:00 PM
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jun 25 2013, 12:15 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Skinny01010 @ Jun 25 2013, 12:00 PM)
Hello all, please advise me!

I'm going to the US during August to further my studies in civil engineering. But plan to get it here so that I can keep in touch with my family when I'm in transit etc.

1. Preferred brand - None. But hopefully something with good customer support in M'sia and US.
2. Budget - rm4k
3. Usage - Civil engineering student, don't know what kind of software I'll need to use, but maybe the sifus would know. Also, would like to use it for playing games like crysis 3 once in awhile.
4. Preferred screen size - 14 or 15.6 inch.

Thank you!
ps, I do plan to get an extra monitor at US, so portability is more important than screen size to me.

Edit: interested in the Lenovo y500, but the battery life is a serious concern to me.
Perhaps an Illegear R-11? Or if you buy over there in the US a Clevo w110er/Sager NP6110 (referring to the same thing)?
It might be better and cheaper if you buy it over there since there no need to opt for international warranty (very expensive if you purchase it here), especially so if you are staying there for 3 years or more.

11.6"
Illegear R-11, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2999, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU options: i5-3210M-i7-3630QM]

otaiboyz91
post Jun 25 2013, 01:05 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 25 2013, 09:51 AM)

ya, at garage sales, most of them selling RM 1700 , got some seller sell with 1tb hdd rm 1650, but from dell, they only have 750gb version and sell it at 1749. and i afraid later Dell agents scold me bcoz keep asking for discount sweat.gif

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 25 2013, 11:44 AM)
Yeah, agreed with what the sifus have mentioned
The trick is to bargain, and also to bargain with multiple sales agents since different ones will give different offers  icon_rolleyes.gif
And as nexus sifu has said, the margin of discounts for a sub Rm2k notebook will definitely be lower than a say, RM4k one
hmm. thx sifus notworthy.gif , i will try again. see what can i do . hmm.gif

This post has been edited by otaiboyz91: Jun 25 2013, 01:15 PM
milky
post Jun 25 2013, 01:34 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 24 2013, 09:32 PM)
guys will all the laptop get refreshed? any ETA?
any eta?
raymondtong94
post Jun 25 2013, 02:59 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(otaiboyz91 @ Jun 25 2013, 01:05 PM)
and i afraid later Dell agents scold me bcoz keep asking for discount  sweat.gif
i dont think they will scold you directly in the chat system but perhaps they will start gossiping after work. laugh.gif
remember, as a customer, we are 95% always right.
TS[PF] T.J.
post Jun 25 2013, 03:30 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jun 25 2013, 01:34 PM)
any eta?
New notebooks come in batches, they don't get refreshed all at once..
So there is no specific ETA... but I guess its safe to say that by August- September, most brands would already have Haswell-powered notebooks
Etolen
post Jun 25 2013, 04:17 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Jun 24 2013, 05:21 AM)
Lenovo
Z500, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2299[2.2kg], 4GB, 1TB, backlit, W8; 2 years warranty , 4-cell

Dell
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD 7670M@RM1779,[2.25kg] , 4GB , 500GB , 4-cell , W8
Inspiron 15R, i5-3337U + AMD HD8730M@RM1949[2.22kg] , 4GB, 750GB , 4-cell, W8
Inspiron 15R, i7-3537U + AMD HD8730M@RM2349[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux

Lenovo give you best hardware configuration, but Dell laptop with ULV processors which gives you slightly lower performance but better battery life, even better if the laptop equipped with 6 cell battery.
hmm i saw the reviews and alot of them say that the screen not good any other models? and better if got removable battery
malowar
post Jun 25 2013, 06:10 PM

18 posts

Hi, appreciate recommendation for most value for money

Budget = RM2k
Screen = 13" or 14"
OS = W7 or W8
Purpose = AutoCAD, MS Office, Internet, MMORPG
Oblivon
post Jun 25 2013, 07:29 PM

138 posts

Would like to look for a recommendation for Ultrabook.

1. Preferred Brand: Any

2. Budget: RM2.3k and below

3. Usage: Microsoft office and some light gaming.

4. Preferred laptop/screen size: at least 13"
Deathmax
post Jun 25 2013, 07:50 PM

163 posts

Looking for a new gaming laptop.

1. Preferred Brand : None
2. Budget : 5k
3. Usage : Gaming, newer titles such as Battlefield 3, Guild Wars 2
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 14-17", preferably 1080p.
Skinny01010
post Jun 25 2013, 08:16 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 25 2013, 12:15 PM)
Perhaps an Illegear R-11? Or if you buy over there in the US a Clevo w110er/Sager NP6110 (referring to the same thing)?
It might be better and cheaper if you buy it over there since there no need to opt for international warranty (very expensive if you purchase it here), especially so if you are staying there for 3 years or more.

11.6"
Illegear R-11, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT650M@RM2999, 8GB, 500(5400rpm), FreeDOS [CPU options: i5-3210M-i7-3630QM]
Thank you very much! Will look it up.
Mr.CoMoT
post Jun 25 2013, 08:57 PM

Manchester United <3
1,504 posts

guys..wanna ask...

is lenovo will produce another g580?? or should i just buy it??

since not many seller sell this lappy..discontinued?
Lance XIII
post Jun 25 2013, 09:57 PM

161 posts

Preferred Brand: Any
Budget: around RM 2-3k
Usage: Playing games like Sims3 & hopefully 4 in the future
Preferred laptop/screen size: 14/15

*Windows8, not too heavy, and preferably detachable smile.gif
wong123
post Jun 25 2013, 10:01 PM

20 posts