Enquiries/Recommendations Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V19, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

otaiboyz91
post Jun 23 2013, 11:54 PM

43 posts

Budget = max RM1700
screen size : 15.6
Usage = gaming, assgmnt , movie.

currently want to buy this :

DELL INSPIRON 15(3521) LAPTOP
Intel Core i5-3337U processor(3M Cache,up to 2.7 GHz,with 2GB Discrete base)
N-SERIES(FreeDOS)
1TB 5400RPM Hard Drive
4GB 1 DIMM(4GBx1) DDR3 1600Mhz
Tray load DVD Drive(Reads and Writes DVD)
Stereo Speakers with Waves MaxxAudio 4.0
AMD Radeon HD 8730M with 2G DDR3 VRAM
Internal 10/100 Fast Ethernet
8-in-1 Memory Card Reader:SD,SDHC,SDXC,MMC,MMC+,xD,MS,MS Pro
Dell Wireless 1703 802.11b/g/n with Bluetooth v4.0
LCD Back Cover-Black
15.6 inch LED Backlit Display with True Life and HD resolution(1366x768)
Integrated 1.0 mega pixel widescreen HD webcam(1280x720)
Integrated single digital microphone
6-cell Lithium Ion(65WHr) Battery
1 Year Warranty

is it ok?
otaiboyz91
post Jun 24 2013, 12:17 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(aristotletan @ Jun 24 2013, 05:49 AM)
Perfect laptop for you in this budget smile.gif
Just let you know if you wanna to save more, you can contact with DELL and ask for offline discount and save around RM50~100.
Thx 4 the info, but i`m not going to get it from DELL, getting it from Garage Sales, coz the price at dell online is rm1750,(Hdd 750gb) while at Garage Sales , they sold it at Rm1650 (Hdd 1Tb ) whistling.gif

This post has been edited by otaiboyz91: Jun 24 2013, 12:18 PM
otaiboyz91
post Jun 24 2013, 12:57 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 24 2013, 12:32 PM)
Like what aristotletan had mentioned, you'll need to bargain with Dell online sales agents to get much better prices or offers brows.gif  brows.gif
Have to be hardworking if want more discounts
huh? please pm me any tips or info . I never deal with Dell before icon_question.gif
otaiboyz91
post Jun 24 2013, 04:32 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 24 2013, 01:46 PM)
you can use the online chat system provided by dell and bargain with them.

EDIT - use something like 'RMxxxx and i will buy' and see if the agents accept it or not. if they dont, try increase your quoted price a little and little. when negotiate, negotiate with the price you desired 1st before increasing the quoted price.
eh? i tot that chat system only for asking question , not for placing order =_=
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jun 24 2013, 02:03 PM)
Pay more $$$ to get more discount. From my experience, let's just say you just want to buy a RM1.7k Dell Vostro 5460, the Sales Agent would probably throw you a free bag only. If you pay RM2k, you might get RM50 off and that free bag. Last time I got my Dell laptop at RM3.6k I got like RM200+ discount and a free bag laugh.gif

Anyways, as for tips on how to bargain, you can just say you're a student and lacking $$$ as RMXXXX is the only amount you can afford, bla bla bla you get the gist laugh.gif
thx for the tips, yes i`m a student, and for sure i use that reason to get more discount whistling.gif
i dont need the bag, just the laptop , charger and battery, as long as i got better price rolleyes.gif
i cant afford more than rm1700. btw, my friend said need to use card credit to buy from dell? is it true?

otaiboyz91
post Jun 24 2013, 09:59 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 24 2013, 07:12 PM)
well, the chat system is created for assisting and sales support too. the agents have commissions for this kind of work you know.

you dont need to if you arent buying as an installment plan. you can just bank in or inter-transfer to dell's account, provide supporting documents (payment evidence is enough i think) and send it to dell. once they confirmed payment, they will confirm your order and you are good to go and wait for your delivery.
ya, i already contacted Dell via their chat system and ask for student price . From the on9 price, RM 1749, they give Rm100 discount but without backpack, if i want backpack, i need to pay RM1749, not sure they give me student discount or just minus the backpack price rclxub.gif doh.gif
otaiboyz91
post Jun 24 2013, 10:29 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 24 2013, 10:19 PM)
IMO, they just minus the backpack price. sometimes, you have to see the deals that is listed when you buy the laptop. some of the deals have freebies or cash redemption.
but the laptop doesn't come with backpack, need to add others RM 79 from normal price, RM 1749 for Targus backpack. so Total will be RM1828. So i think they give me student discount right. i think better if i order from garage sales.

This post has been edited by otaiboyz91: Jun 25 2013, 12:47 AM
otaiboyz91
post Jun 25 2013, 01:05 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jun 25 2013, 09:51 AM)
you can keep bargain with the agent if it is not your desired price. they will still loose to you if you are strong at insisting. i have seen some peoples able to bargain as less as RM1599 for Vostro 5460. if you get it from garage sales, you might probably get around RM1690 and hard to bargain even if you are a student.

like i said before in my post, you need to have a desired price. you can increase a little if agent is not willing to do so.
ya, at garage sales, most of them selling RM 1700 , got some seller sell with 1tb hdd rm 1650, but from dell, they only have 750gb version and sell it at 1749. and i afraid later Dell agents scold me bcoz keep asking for discount sweat.gif

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Jun 25 2013, 11:44 AM)
Yeah, agreed with what the sifus have mentioned
The trick is to bargain, and also to bargain with multiple sales agents since different ones will give different offers  icon_rolleyes.gif
And as nexus sifu has said, the margin of discounts for a sub Rm2k notebook will definitely be lower than a say, RM4k one
hmm. thx sifus notworthy.gif , i will try again. see what can i do . hmm.gif

This post has been edited by otaiboyz91: Jun 25 2013, 01:15 PM

0.0525sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 09:32 PM