140 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Bottom

University AIMST University Unofficial LYN Thread, New life. New beat. New Campus.

lordblood
post Jul 1 2009, 11:17 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(wds @ Jul 1 2009, 06:33 PM)
lordblood, can u state any examples? or ur experience wit anyone.... country n uni's name.... thanz...
i know a few doctors who graduated back in the 70s & 80s in local unis and managed to do their specialist courses in countries like australia, UK and singapore.. maybe the time line is different now and getting into specialist course might not be easy.. so that's why i was just inquiring...

Added on July 1, 2009, 11:23 pm
QUOTE(joyce_limyp @ Jul 1 2009, 10:44 PM)
the weekend at AIMST is fri and sat or sat and sun?
i think AIMST weekend is like any normal weekend rite? cuz i called them on Friday and they work.. although the state is friday and saturday i think.. am i correct???

This post has been edited by lordblood: Jul 1 2009, 11:23 PM
limeuu
post Jul 1 2009, 11:40 PM

12,292 posts

QUOTE(lordblood @ Jul 1 2009, 11:17 PM)
i know a few doctors who graduated back in the 70s & 80s in local unis and managed to do their specialist courses in countries like australia, UK and singapore.. maybe the time line is different now and getting into specialist course might not be easy.. so that's why i was just inquiring...

the um mbbs was fully recognised by the gmc of uk till the graduating batch of 1989. Subsequent batches are not recognised due to the fact that bm is the 'official' language of the course........and the deterioration of standards......

ukm was never recognised......

spore now recognise only um and ukm.....before that, they will accept um graduates on a case by case basis.....

australia does NOT recognise any msia med degree at all.........neither does the us (but then the us recognised none out of usa and canada anyway).......

however, although you may not be able to work overseas, you can sit for postgraduate exams like mrcp, mrcog, and become specialists after completing the required training locally.......whether the royal colleges will recognise aimst basic degree for the purpose of sitting for the exams is unknown......
wds
post Jul 2 2009, 11:39 AM

24 posts

jus time will tell... hope tat, by d time of 5-8years later, recognition of aimst r wider...
limeuu
post Jul 2 2009, 12:41 PM

12,292 posts

i think you all have to be realistic here, no msia medical degree has been recognised by any other country after ukm is recognised by spore.......even usm which is >20 years old has no recognition outside msia........

the good news is, local postgraduate opportunities have improved in msia over the last decade or so.......subject to the usual nep restrictions of course.....and mrcp remains an open exam and open pathway to medical disciplines.......for surgery, the only option left is the local masters.....frcs is closed to most msians now.......
flo30rence
post Jul 3 2009, 03:30 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(joyce_limyp @ Jul 1 2009, 11:44 PM)
the weekend at AIMST is fri and sat or sat and sun?
office close nod.gif nod.gif at sat and sun...
wds
post Jul 3 2009, 04:28 PM

24 posts

jus wanna ask... do aimst hav transfer credit 4 med course?

firedemon
post Jul 4 2009, 09:15 AM

235 posts

hi there guys... i need some help over here...i gonna go for AIMST in two weeks for foundation studies.. so those who are stayin/studyin over there could u help me how to get there by public transport? where shud i get down and how i suppose to proceed to AIMST?

pls help me in this!!

agape_rulz
post Jul 4 2009, 10:32 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(firedemon @ Jul 4 2009, 09:15 AM)
hi there guys... i need some help over here...i gonna go for AIMST in two weeks for foundation studies.. so those who are stayin/studyin over there could u help me how to get there by public transport? where shud i get down and how i suppose to proceed to AIMST?

pls help me in this!!
where are u from? u can come by taxi
guiyu_elgy
post Jul 4 2009, 12:11 PM

Hmm.. If I study in AIMST, how do i get to town? Is there like a shuttle bus system or I have to call a taxi to come to AIMST n pick me up?

And is it possible for me to get my academic calendar now? Or do I have to wait until the orientation begins?

This post has been edited by guiyu_elgy: Jul 4 2009, 12:28 PM
flo30rence
post Jul 4 2009, 12:15 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(guiyu_elgy @ Jul 4 2009, 01:11 PM)
Hmm.. If I study in AIMST, how do i get to town? Is there like a shuttle bus system or I have to call a taxi to come to AIMST n pick me up?
both also can...
for taxi.. it might costs around rm 12-16

TScsrulez
post Jul 4 2009, 02:32 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

QUOTE(wds @ Jul 3 2009, 04:28 PM)
jus wanna ask... do aimst hav transfer credit 4 med course?
Nope, no credit transfer. It's a one-time-finish-all 5 year course.

QUOTE(guiyu_elgy @ Jul 4 2009, 12:11 PM)

And is it possible for me to get my academic calendar now? Or do I have to wait until the orientation begins?
You could get to town either by taxi or your friend's car if you have any. They'll pick you up from AIMST, normally up to 4 students will share for one taxi, cost effective.

And the academic calendar will only be finalized when you enroll, so most probably you'll only be having the exact calendar when you're in. Since the calendar changes from batch to batch. smile.gif
wds
post Jul 4 2009, 04:36 PM

24 posts

erm... wat bout d nearest supermarkets?... in terms of walking distance la... are they?.... biggrin.gif

thanz, csrulez rclxms.gif
paigedark
post Jul 4 2009, 05:21 PM

71 posts

wds ,
haha...
walking distance i know one...
the convenience shop inside aimst loh....
see them selling lots of roti recently...

heard the july intake about 400 people....
(wow, more than april batch...well....==)

and heard 2 students infected by AH1N1 already....(sweat..)
yesterday ambulance zoom in and take away 1 of the girl...
(haiz....long long time dun dare to go to study area....)
is that weird if i wear mask ah?==
agape_rulz
post Jul 4 2009, 05:56 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(paigedark @ Jul 4 2009, 05:21 PM)
wds ,
haha...
walking distance i know one...
the convenience shop inside aimst loh....
see them selling lots of roti recently...

heard the july intake about 400 people....
(wow, more than april batch...well....==)

and heard 2 students infected by AH1N1 already....(sweat..)
yesterday ambulance zoom in and take away 1 of the girl...
(haiz....long long time dun dare to go to study area....)
is that weird if i wear mask ah?==
heard that the new batch ppl may reach 500......

quarantine onli.. not infected la...
firedemon
post Jul 4 2009, 06:15 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(agape_rulz @ Jul 4 2009, 11:32 AM)
where are u from? u can come by taxi
I'm From rawang, sumwhere around KL area ....so.. how to get there...? i wana book train to sg petani ...then how i travel frm there??
guiyu_elgy
post Jul 4 2009, 06:22 PM

Out of curiosity, how many STPMers are joining AIMST MBBS for Aug 09 intake?

I myself took STPM last year and AIMST seems to be the only place i could get a medical degree for a non-throat-slicing price (since I could not get it in any local university). The other private medical schools in Malaysia are really charging a steep price in the name of 'quality education'. I'm wondering why AIMST can offer MBBS at a relatively cheap price. Is the quality of lecturers and facilities compromised?

I'm sorry if I offended anyone but anyone with a reasonably analytical mind would've thought of these questions. I do not wish to spend a small fortune on my education only to realise I've been short-changed. wink.gif

Shalom
limeuu
post Jul 4 2009, 06:38 PM

12,292 posts

the difference in the fees is likely the profit margin.......most ipts exist to make money for shareholders........

also, running costs defers, depending on quality and quantity of staffing, location and of course efficiency......

there is also a premium on the perceived quality of the degree and recognition elsewhere......that is how monash charge what they charge, on the basis of being an amc recognised degree......
agape_rulz
post Jul 4 2009, 06:39 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(firedemon @ Jul 4 2009, 06:15 PM)
I'm From rawang, sumwhere around KL area ....so.. how to get there...? i wana book train to sg petani ...then how i travel frm there??
erm.. u can take langkawi express... its a night train that leaves KL at 8.00pm then reach in the morning about 6.30 in sungai petani station. then u can rent a kereta sewa which cost between 15-20 bucks.

another option is bus service to SP town. depart from pudu bus station and duta. 4 and a half hours journey. then arrive at SP then take taxi. also around 15-20 bucks.
TScsrulez
post Jul 4 2009, 07:03 PM

Life is short, play hard.
1,114 posts

QUOTE(wds @ Jul 4 2009, 04:36 PM)
erm... wat bout d nearest supermarkets?... in terms of walking distance la... are they?.... biggrin.gif
thanz, csrulez rclxms.gif
Yup, there's a convenience shop inside the campus itself. Else, Tesco is just 15 minutes away (driving distance).

QUOTE(guiyu_elgy @ Jul 4 2009, 06:22 PM)
Out of curiosity, how many STPMers are joining AIMST MBBS for Aug 09 intake?

I myself took STPM last year and AIMST seems to be the only place i could get a medical degree for a non-throat-slicing price (since I could not get it in any local university). The other private medical schools in Malaysia are really charging a steep price in the name of 'quality education'. I'm wondering why AIMST can offer MBBS at a relatively cheap price. Is the quality of lecturers and facilities compromised?

I'm sorry if I offended anyone but anyone with a reasonably analytical mind would've thought of these questions. I do not wish to spend a small fortune on my education only to realise I've been short-changed. wink.gif

Shalom
No one will be sure on how many STPMers will be joining Batch 15 MBBS untill the day you're enrolling.

So far i can say that AIMST offers value for money degree, i'm not sure about other courses but the MBBS is definitely up to standard. No quality is being compromised here, that's all i can say at the moment. It's very subjective. But as a senior student, i'd say that you wouldn't regret making the decision to read medicine here. Like what i said previously, the only downside is that your batch will be the biggest in the history and i believe that will be the only problem in the future. Anyhow, failure rates will be really high i believe (could be up to 70 students out of 230 from your batch accounting the average failure rate as 30%) as 1st year medicine in AIMST is always the year where the school eliminates people who're not capable/interested in doing medicine. smile.gif The professional exams are totally up to standard.

This post has been edited by csrulez: Jul 4 2009, 07:08 PM
firedemon
post Jul 4 2009, 08:01 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(agape_rulz @ Jul 4 2009, 07:39 PM)
erm..  u can take langkawi express...  its a night train that leaves KL at 8.00pm then reach in the morning about 6.30 in sungai petani station.   then u can rent a kereta sewa which cost between 15-20 bucks.

another option is bus service to SP town. depart from pudu bus station and duta. 4 and a half hours journey. then arrive at SP then take taxi. also around 15-20 bucks.
so it will take almost 10hrs to get to Sg. petani station izzit? thanks for the info!!

Added on July 4, 2009, 8:03 pm
QUOTE(agape_rulz @ Jul 4 2009, 07:39 PM)
erm..  u can take langkawi express...  its a night train that leaves KL at 8.00pm then reach in the morning about 6.30 in sungai petani station.  then u can rent a kereta sewa which cost between 15-20 bucks.

so it will take almost 10hrs to get to Sg. petani station izzit? thanks for the info!!

This post has been edited by firedemon: Jul 4 2009, 08:03 PM

140 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Top

0.0396sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:10 PM