PROTON SAGA BLM, FL, FLX CLUB v41, GaGa The Crap Car

lhwj
post Mar 19 2013, 09:25 PM

QUOTE(dares @ Mar 19 2013, 09:17 PM)
QUOTE(Wikipedia)
Because available friction at a given moment depends on many factors including road surface material, temperature, tire rubber compound and wear, threshold braking is difficult to consistently achieve during normal driving.

cry.gif

Meanwhile I'll stick to leaving a good space between myself and the kar in front whistling.gif

I almost never get into situations where I have to brake really hard anyway.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Mar 19 2013, 11:58 PM
Noobdao
post Mar 19 2013, 09:43 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Mar 19 2013, 06:26 PM)
Today drove a client's FLX exec nearly accident! Its my fault I was rushing through Jln Istana doing like 120kmh, didn't really pay attention to the meters. It was a curve & suddenly saw a car broke down at fast lane! Instant reflect look for escape on the middle lane but got traffic, the next thing I can remember to do is hard brake! The brake force from soft to turn hard can be felt instantaneously. I remember my right foot was feeling the brake pedal rejecting/vibrating like a warp disc rotor. I release my thumb from the inner diameter of the steering wheel to avoid injury, and was anticipating a full frontal collision.

In split second, the right foot vibrating sensation stopped. The car was fully stopped. By visual judgement I saw the distance between the FLX ayam driving was about a feet close to the broke down vehicle infront. Now only I realized the car infront is a Carens. I engage R shift, release my right foot but the car aint move. Only I realized my left foot also on the brake pedal laugh.gif

Phew!
Luckily no accident happen and no one injure...Thanks god....Btw, FLX EXEC brake geng leh...hehe...
billy520
post Mar 19 2013, 09:46 PM

200 posts

if ayam not wrong, ABS function like u press on the brake 50% then increase to 80% then reduce again to 50%?

so by right if u can control these via right foot should have the same effect as ABS?

anyway, i remember reading that some cars will actually have brakes applied on all 4 tyres where the front have full force brake and rear have something like 25% to 50% of brake force?
outsider
post Mar 19 2013, 10:05 PM

~ get out ~
1,270 posts

today bad luck

my new flx kena hit by mat rempit vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

lucky kena cermin only and no broken or calar, that pokai rempit drive 1++km in jln kuching...after kena speed up and gone...#@$@#^$!#@$

This post has been edited by outsider: Mar 19 2013, 10:06 PM
lhwj
post Mar 19 2013, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(billy520 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:46 PM)
if ayam not wrong, ABS function like u press on the brake 50% then increase to 80% then reduce again to 50%?

so by right if u can control these via right foot should have the same effect as ABS?

ABS doesn't kick in unless you brake hard enough for the wheel to slip. Then it will decrease the brake force until the wheel has grip again, increase brake force until the wheel starts to slip and the cycle repeats itself a few times a second. In an emergency it's doubtful that even the best driver can do the same thing.

anyway, i remember reading that some cars will actually have brakes applied on all 4 tyres where the front have full force brake and rear have something like 25% to 50% of brake force?
Electronic brake force distribution. Keeps the appropriate braking force on each wheel so that the car goes straight and doesn't pull to one side, for example if only your right wheels hit a puddle, if you brake then your car will pull towards the left, because the right wheels have a lot less friction. EBD should prevent this. Don't confuse this with ESC. ESC can kick in even without touching the brakes.

Even on non-ABS cars the front brakes are already designed to have more force than the rear, because when you brake the weight distribution moves forward.

This post has been edited by lhwj: Mar 19 2013, 10:13 PM
wanfauzan
post Mar 19 2013, 10:16 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(lhwj @ Mar 19 2013, 10:10 PM)
ABS doesn't kick in unless you brake hard enough for the wheel to slip. Then it will decrease the brake force until the wheel has grip again, increase brake force until the wheel starts to slip and the cycle repeats itself a few times a second. In an emergency it's doubtful that even the best driver can do the same thing.
Electronic brake force distribution. Keeps the appropriate braking force on each wheel so that the car goes straight and doesn't pull to one side, but don't confuse this with ESC. ESC can kick in even without touching the brakes.

Even on non-ABS cars the front brakes are already designed to have more force than the rear, because when you brake the weight distribution moves forward.
Front brake has more force than rear is a safety feature, so that if you were to lock your wheel during emergency braking, you will lock your front wheels first.

If you lock your front wheels, your car can still go straight. If your rear wheels are locked first, the car will go anywhere but straight forward. It has to do with force and moment exerted on The car's body.
billy520
post Mar 19 2013, 10:18 PM

200 posts

hmm...too bad BLM has NONE of these goodies cry.gif
nvm practice human ABS next... rclxms.gif
lhwj
post Mar 19 2013, 10:24 PM

QUOTE(wanfauzan @ Mar 19 2013, 10:16 PM)
Front brake has more force than rear is a safety feature, so that if you were to lock your wheel during emergency braking, you will lock your front wheels first.

If you lock your front wheels, your car can still go straight. If your rear wheels are locked first, the car will go anywhere but straight forward. It has to do with force and moment exerted on The car's body.
Locked rear wheels = fishtailing. Scary stuff sweat.gif

On the same note, I hear a lot of people say always use the rear brake on a bicycle, because if you pull the front brake you'll fly over the handlebars. What rubbish, I have clocked a few thousand km of road riding and the front brake always work better. In fact I only use the rear brake when I want to pull the bike vertical on its rear wheel and at one point, my bike didn't have rear brakes at all thumbup.gif

QUOTE(billy520 @ Mar 19 2013, 10:18 PM)
hmm...too bad BLM has NONE of these goodies  cry.gif
nvm practice human ABS next... rclxms.gif
That's why I told you last night, the FLX is everything the BLM should have been in the first place. Just too bad we missed it by being a year too early.
wanfauzan
post Mar 19 2013, 10:42 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(lhwj @ Mar 19 2013, 10:24 PM)

On the same note, I hear a lot of people say always use the rear brake on a bicycle, because if you pull the front brake you'll fly over the handlebars. What rubbish, I have clocked a few thousand km of road riding and the front brake always work better. In fact I only use the rear brake when I want to pull the bike vertical on its rear wheel and at one point, my bike didn't have rear brakes at all thumbup.gif
That's why I told you last night, the FLX is everything the BLM should have been in the first place. Just too bad we missed it by being a year too early.
I distribute brake between rear And Front on my bike.

Btw off topic, currently looking for budget roadbike. Any Suggestion?
V12Kompressor
post Mar 19 2013, 10:44 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

Hongda Cub laugh.gif
+Newbie+
post Mar 19 2013, 10:55 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

QUOTE(billy520 @ Mar 19 2013, 09:46 PM)

Basically, something like that. Brake, let go, regain grip, brake. In an emergency, the average joe would just be panicking and slamming the brakes. Hence ABS is better.

If you have v-brakes, and I mean the real v-brakes, that flipping can happen really easily. sweat.gif

For a majority of brakes, they don't bite hard enough to flip you. And you have to be moving at enough momentum to flip yourself in the first place.
s@ni
post Mar 19 2013, 10:57 PM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Mar 19 2013, 10:05 PM)
today bad luck

my new flx kena hit by mat rempit  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif 
lucky kena cermin only and no broken or calar, that pokai rempit drive 1++km in jln kuching...after kena speed up and gone...#@$@#^$!#@$
Jalan kuching...terrible yo
TSdavidke20
post Mar 19 2013, 11:00 PM

Just got enough time to compose myself, sitting down at mamaks enjoy my "so called MILO but it's not" malt chocolate drink. My hands are still shivering, my right feet still have the Dejavu everytime I step on the brake pedal. I've been holding my phone typing, erasing, type again, erase again, trying to think, what can I contribute at this event. Finally I've made up my mind to follow my many years driving experience, forget about all theory I've learned but boil it down to HABIT. It's my personal driving habit.

Chain of events that may contribute to a possible disaster
  • I'm a hardcore manual driver. All my life I have never experience much of ABS braking even back in the old days when I was driving 260kph in my E36 328i
  • May be some of the time when I experienced the ABS, but I didn't realized it
  • Just because I'm so used to manual, as the car speed reduced, my left foot will automatically hit on the clutch
  • As there's no clutch pedal for a CVT(or AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION), automatically my left foot was jammed on the brake pedal together with my right foot
  • If I realized my left foot should remain at the foot rest, I supposed my right foot may not have apply enough force to stop the car and or trigger the ABS function
  • I've lost control countless time in different cars, be it intentional or unintentional. I even crashed my car before in accident, but this kind of full brake near miss event is 1st time, especially in an auto car
  • I've always driving in the middle lane at Jln Istana. Somehow or rather I was on the right lane today, may be I was in a rush and thus subconsciously picked the fast lane. I've totally omitted the fact that I can't see the traffic infront.

I think I have a simple stupid conclusion for myself, and may be a possible good advice to others before it's too late.
  1. If your'e not familiar with the car, just drive slowly. If you're not familiar with the road, also have to drive slowly. If you're not familiar with the car and the road, better get somebody drive you to get familiar with the road
  2. For a manual car driver, suddenly changes of left foot habit can be done. But the basic instinct/reflect will not be taken away. At the above emergency event, if I continue let my right foot feel the threshold braking, I would have crashed the car and shouting at Plotong why the useless ABS was introduced.
  3. Luckily the car is ABS, I imagine if I was driving a normal 4AT car without ABS, the same event may be fatal. If I already have my right foot doing threshold braking, as the car slowdown my left foot would have accidentally "kick" on the ... pedal that I thought it's clutch ... and threshold braking gone become jam brakes.
  4. Avoid attacking blind spot corner like Jln Istana. Come to think of it, there are several spot in Mahameru, Federal highway. However Federal is safer because the guard rail wasn't as high, nor plants blocking the road.

I know you got skill. I know that kind of 100R corner is fun to attack cause the car wont turtle yes you can increase speed to feel G-Force. I know you've got the best brake in the world. The truth is, what if there's obstacle right after the blind spot. There's a very good chance that you hit the brick wall and everything stopped instantaneously, including yourself.

Cheers and drive safe, people.
lhwj
post Mar 19 2013, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(wanfauzan @ Mar 19 2013, 10:42 PM)
I distribute brake between rear And Front on my bike.

Btw off topic, currently looking for budget roadbike. Any Suggestion?
Don't have experience with road bikes, I wished I had one but I've only had hybrids.

QUOTE(+Newbie+ @ Mar 19 2013, 10:55 PM)
If you have v-brakes, and I mean the real v-brakes, that flipping can happen really easily. sweat.gif

For a majority of brakes, they don't bite hard enough to flip you. And you have to be moving at enough momentum to flip yourself in the first place.
Then I guess it's all about regulating the brake force properly.

Anyway, to avoid sign0006.gif

TSdavidke20
post Mar 19 2013, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(outsider @ Mar 19 2013, 10:05 PM)
today bad luck

my new flx kena hit by mat rempit  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif 
Today? Not a Red Shawie nor White FLX rite? sleep.gif

Atleast we have 1 thing that the FLX doesn't have whistling.gif

Wanna bet how it felt like in a Lisang Sangley?
dares
post Mar 19 2013, 11:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Mar 19 2013, 11:08 PM)
Atleast we have 1 thing that the FLX doesn't have whistling.gif

Wanna bet how it felt like in a Lisang Sangley?
apetu rclxub.gif
lhwj
post Mar 19 2013, 11:27 PM

Yeah, the GT-R Datsun gearbox doh.gif

YAB is absolutely right. There are some roads with blind corners where I imagine, what if there was a broken down car on the right lane? I myself was a victim of a blind corner, at the slip road where the Penchala Link joins Jalan Duta opposite the Agong's new Istana. Always assume there's an obstacle around the blind corner, and never exceed a speed where you can't brake in time if something happens to be there.

Driving my Gaga without ABS, I've always prepared myself that if I had to do an emergency brake, I'd step hard with my right foot but not so hard until I skid, because if I do, I'm doomed. Dunno how well that will work, but until I have an ABS equipped car, I hope I don't have to find out.
Razsus
post Mar 20 2013, 01:11 AM

Anybody here mod their Saga FLX SE or Not SE if CVT counts ( Auto )
Exhaust system? Currently thinking of hotbits biggrin.gif Price around Rm1.5k

dares
post Mar 20 2013, 01:22 AM

834 posts

On the topic of ABS, the Vios at home must have the most sensitive ever. Just now went out for supper, just slowing the car down slightly faster than usual was enough to trigger it....tak tak tak tak all the way around the corner laugh.gif
dares
post Mar 20 2013, 01:24 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Razsus @ Mar 20 2013, 01:11 AM)
Anybody here mod their Saga FLX SE or Not SE if CVT counts ( Auto )
Exhaust system? Currently thinking of hotbits biggrin.gif Price around Rm1.5k
v12kompressor swapped out his entire system from manifold to muffler tip for a lot less IINM, ask him. He drives the FLX Exec.

127 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:07 PM