132 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Proton Exora Bold Owners and Fans Thread V2, Calling all owner and future one...

gier
post Apr 16 2013, 11:14 PM

Hiya guys,

Ok, I'll just combine all the replies here.

1. The cost

RM 2,400.00 "siap pasang".

2. The DVD Player, aka the roof monitor

It's still the standard DVD player, with the AUX input to it connected to the Vid out of the Head Unit. Because the connector is situated at a rather dumb place, I asked the install guys to make that hole on the mount bracket, and run the video cable through the roof so that the awkwardness is kept at a minimum.

There is no video out from the DVD player, in so far as I bothered to check.

As for routing the audio out back into the head unit, I considered it, but felt that having one cable protruding out was already annoying enough.

Also, using the FM connection meant that I could use, for example, Google Maps on the HU, while the ankle biters are watching whatever on the player with sound routed through the radio running in the background.

3. The infernal rattling

Airbag? No ... I think it's somewhere at the A/C vents. When the installers opened up the console to put in the HU, I forgot to really check! So, will have to do it another time.

Also, THE CAVEATS:

The HU is NOT a perfect fit to the console. The installers had to shave off about 1mm around the sides. They messed up a bit, and the fake carbon-look overlay got stripped a little. So, they put on another type of fake carbon-look sticker to cover up. The fler who messed it up said to me that at least now he knows not to make the same mistake!

It's a Gingerbread Android, with a resistive touch-screen. This means that it's a rather old implementation of the OS, and the touch experience can sometimes be challenging.

Some software are "not compatible" according to Google Play, including Waze ... which is stupid. I'm going to try and sideload the latest version tomorrow and see how that goes.

There are other little niggles here and there too, but it's late and I can't really remember.

--

Having said that, I still like it.

However, I would love to be able to root the thing, and to install, at the very least, ICS. Then, it'll be really cool! drool.gif

akchang
post Apr 16 2013, 11:24 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(kelvink78 @ Apr 15 2013, 10:20 AM)
i'm wondering if all these modifications made to the bold will void the warrenty or not... u guys seem to do alot of modifications.
Changing to a better lightbulb void warranty. I'll risk it for safety concern.

Changing to bigger rims, void warranty. I'll risk it for safety concern.

Pumping autofoam to your car chasis void warranty (i assume cause it touches the chasis). I'll do it for safety concern.

Changing to aftermarket performance absorber void warranty. I'll risk it for safety concern.

Changing after market air filter void warranty. I'll do it for better pickup response.

Puttimg a racechip void warranty. I'll do it for more torque and better FC

and there are lots more...
mandrew
post Apr 17 2013, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(gier @ Apr 16 2013, 11:14 PM)
Hiya guys,

Ok, I'll just combine all the replies here.

1. The cost

RM 2,400.00 "siap pasang".

2. The DVD Player, aka the roof monitor

It's still the standard DVD player, with the AUX input to it connected to the Vid out of the Head Unit. Because the connector is situated at a rather dumb place, I asked the install guys to make that hole on the mount bracket, and run the video cable through the roof so that the awkwardness is kept at a minimum.

There is no video out from the DVD player, in so far as I bothered to check.

As for routing the audio out back into the head unit, I considered it, but felt that having one cable protruding out was already annoying enough.

Also, using the FM connection meant that I could use, for example, Google Maps on the HU, while the ankle biters are watching whatever on the player with sound routed through the radio running in the background.

3. The infernal rattling

Airbag? No ... I think it's somewhere at the A/C vents. When the installers opened up the console to put in the HU, I forgot to really check! So, will have to do it another time.
Also, THE CAVEATS:

The HU is NOT a perfect fit to the console. The installers had to shave off about 1mm around the sides. They messed up a bit, and the fake carbon-look overlay got stripped a little. So, they put on another type of fake carbon-look sticker to cover up. The fler who messed it up said to me that at least now he knows not to make the same mistake!

It's a Gingerbread Android, with a resistive touch-screen. This means that it's a rather old implementation of the OS, and the touch experience can sometimes be challenging.

Some software are "not compatible" according to Google Play, including Waze ... which is stupid. I'm going to try and sideload the latest version tomorrow and see how that goes.

There are other little niggles here and there too, but it's late and I can't really remember.

--

Having said that, I still like it.

However, I would love to be able to root the thing, and to install, at the very least, ICS. Then, it'll be really cool!   drool.gif
True, the cables are seen outside and it is annoying....
I actually saw a Off white color L type cable somewhere so went around atleast about 20 shops but couldn't find.
So finally ended up buying whats available. But since it is L shape it does not project much and I only made 2 small slots for the Cable to pass through.
You are right there is no video out, but I'm trying to do some expedition smile.gif. Waiting for 1 year to be over before I open up the DVD smile.gif.
Will share the outcome in June.

3. The infernal rattling
It should be due to something loose or not properly cabled during the installation. So just get it checked.
After I opened up my Set I also had the same issue and upon opening found that the issue was, I didn't cable the Steering Remote Control properly and it was hitting the Dashboard.

Enjoy your Android Player.
Get a OBDII Scanner and install the Torque Software.....
Wow... you can enjoy a lot.....
I'm using that in my Small Galaxy S3....

This post has been edited by mandrew: Apr 17 2013, 12:33 AM
gier
post Apr 17 2013, 09:17 AM

QUOTE(mandrew @ Apr 17 2013, 12:30 AM)
True, the cables are seen outside and it is annoying....
I actually saw a Off white color L type cable somewhere so went around atleast about 20 shops but couldn't find.
So finally ended up buying whats available. But since it is L shape it does not project much and I only made 2 small slots for the Cable to pass through.
You are right there is no video out, but I'm trying to do some expedition smile.gif. Waiting for 1 year to be over before I open up the DVD smile.gif.
Will share the outcome in June.

3. The infernal rattling
It should be due to something loose or not properly cabled during the installation. So just get it checked.
After I opened up my Set I also had the same issue and upon opening found that the issue was, I didn't cable the Steering Remote Control properly and it was hitting the Dashboard.

Enjoy your Android Player.
Get a OBDII Scanner and install the Torque Software.....
Wow... you can enjoy a lot.....
I'm using that in my Small Galaxy S3....
Your cabling arrangement looks much better than mine, bro! I didn't quite think about using alternatives other than the one supplied by default.

I got the OBDII scanner, and a paid version of Torque Pro. But as mentioned in original post, I dropped the scanner into a hole on the centre console of my other car ... bit difficult to fish out ... will attempt it this weekend.

diaBoliQu3
post Apr 17 2013, 10:06 AM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

2.66% interest rate for Proton Exora and Saga is too high or not?
zakinawi
post Apr 17 2013, 10:41 AM

82 posts

ok la tu interest rate manyak rendah o
imin
post Apr 17 2013, 04:11 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Apr 17 2013, 10:06 AM)
2.66% interest rate for Proton Exora and Saga is too high or not?
try go to KFH. IINM someone got lower than that... maybe 2.6 or 2.5
diaBoliQu3
post Apr 17 2013, 04:18 PM

☆ Untitled ☆
5,631 posts

QUOTE(imin @ Apr 17 2013, 04:11 PM)
try go to KFH. IINM someone got lower than that... maybe 2.6 or 2.5
Kuwait Finance House? Forget to mention that I'm at Miri.
intrexpo
post Apr 17 2013, 10:01 PM

354 posts

Dear All.

My i know any owner Install this back cover?

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/207/newca...fortbackcov.jpg

If yes,Please recommend where can get it and price also..

Thanks !

This post has been edited by intrexpo: Apr 17 2013, 10:04 PM
kelvink78
post Apr 18 2013, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(waswas @ Apr 11 2013, 09:21 PM)
my FC getting better .... ODO 220km now.
at 10km : 15.5l/100km
at 220km : 13.8l/100km
hiway 100 km urban 120km

thats all info FC from me.
Just filled up my petrol for the 2nd time. Does my calculation below correct? This is my conservative way to calculate FC.. smile.gif

Amt ODO Distance RM/liter
1st refill RM91.75 274km - -
2nd refill RM95.00 600km 326km 0.28 (RM91.75/326km)

RM0.28/liter does it consider high FC?
How accurate is the l/100km FC from the ODO?

leongsem
post Apr 18 2013, 10:25 AM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(kelvink78 @ Apr 18 2013, 09:43 AM)
Just filled up my petrol for the 2nd time. Does my calculation below correct? This is my conservative way to calculate FC.. smile.gif

Amt        ODO    Distance  RM/liter
1st refill  RM91.75  274km      -            -
2nd refill  RM95.00  600km  326km    0.28 (RM91.75/326km)

full tank only can go for 326?

u can reset the distance (got A & B) that can reset one
kelvink78
post Apr 18 2013, 10:58 AM

QUOTE(leongsem @ Apr 18 2013, 10:25 AM)
full tank only can go for 326?

u can reset the distance (got A & B) that can reset one
unfortunately yes! sad.gif sad.gif
99% urban driving so far. what is the normal RM/liter for EB?

why do i need to reset the ODO?
leongsem
post Apr 18 2013, 01:00 PM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(kelvink78 @ Apr 18 2013, 10:58 AM)
unfortunately yes!  sad.gif  sad.gif
99% urban driving so far. what is the normal RM/liter for EB?

why do i need to reset the ODO?
reset so that u no need to minus by yourself lor

there is 3 type of millages, one is ODO which cannot reset

what is l/100km show on the right display?

mine one can go to at least 400km for full tank for city drive (but mine is manual)

btw how many ppl u take?
rOnnyJustrOn
post Apr 18 2013, 01:20 PM

219 posts

Its been 2 month for my exora bold CFE and so far no problem. Can i ask what will happen to the engine if new car still under "running" period been speeding for testing purpose. For example by salesman for car delivering time.
mandrew
post Apr 18 2013, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(intrexpo @ Apr 17 2013, 10:01 PM)
Dear All.

My i know any owner Install this back cover?

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/207/newca...fortbackcov.jpg

If yes,Please recommend where can get it and price also..

Thanks !
Interesting.....
I also would like to know whether it is available in JB area...
jemmi
post Apr 18 2013, 04:24 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(kelvink78 @ Apr 18 2013, 09:43 AM)

Amt        ODO     Distance  RM/liter
1st refill   RM91.75  274km      -             -
2nd refill  RM95.00  600km  326km     0.28 (RM91.75/326km)

My 15k km Exora CFE now show 10.1L/100km, during 10k km put Cerratec & the FC drop to 9.7L/100km. Normally can get 400-480km for full tank.

This post has been edited by jemmi: Apr 18 2013, 04:25 PM
kelvink78
post Apr 18 2013, 04:46 PM

QUOTE(jemmi @ Apr 18 2013, 04:24 PM)
My 15k km Exora CFE now show 10.1L/100km, during 10k km put Cerratec & the FC drop to 9.7L/100km. Normally can get 400-480km for full tank.
Then I must get more input from new EB owners on the fuel consumption. What is the L/100KM? If I remember correctly I think mine is about 14.4L/100KM. High??...

my convervative way of calculating FC = RM/KM = RM0.28/liter.
nacier5
post Apr 19 2013, 08:37 AM

QUOTE(alpha33 @ Apr 12 2013, 01:40 PM)

*Anyone changed gearknob yet?mind posting photos?
alpha33,

FYV..

leongsem
post Apr 19 2013, 08:46 AM

3,259 posts

QUOTE(kelvink78 @ Apr 18 2013, 04:46 PM)
Then I must get more input from new EB owners on the fuel consumption. What is the L/100KM? If I remember correctly I think mine is about 14.4L/100KM. High??...

my convervative way of calculating FC = RM/KM = RM0.28/liter.
yours one is extra high, hopefully will drop soon after your 1k service
alpha33
post Apr 19 2013, 09:14 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(nacier5 @ Apr 19 2013, 08:37 AM)
alpha33,

FYV..
ah!
berapa ringgit this one?And where you find these?
thanks for the photo too!

132 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.4608sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:11 AM