Buying Advice nikon D50 vs D70s?

basSist
post Apr 22 2006, 06:14 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Apr 22 2006, 04:13 PM)
i went to boeing ask for d50 price just now, how come they quote me rm2500?? unsure.gif
Did u find Lilian?
k3v1n
post Apr 22 2006, 08:02 PM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 22 2006, 06:14 PM)
Did u find Lilian?
I didnt find lilian...the sales guy talk to me called parin, quite nice also, i ask him can nego the price or not he said no problem, just make sure i come back to buy, anything can be nego...oh ya, D50 no stock at the moment, kena wait until next week.
mr lappy
post Apr 22 2006, 08:14 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(elb @ Apr 22 2006, 07:23 AM)
get your camera from here; body warranties are local to the country of purchase
u saying that i should get the lense in london?
my d50 was bought at kl during 2005 summer...
it retails about 500 puonds here...
elb
post Apr 22 2006, 08:59 PM

514 posts

Oh the lens; I thought you were referring to body. You should have just bought it (the body) here! Hopefully it would not break down on you anytime you're around here, otherwise shipping + time delays to get it repaired under warranty will be a major, major inconvinience. For that reason alone it would have been worth it to purchase the body here.

Lenses are cheaper in Malaysia but you might have problems with availability, especially if you're trying to look for the better (read: more expensive and less likely to be stocked due to low demand) lenses. Expect some long lead times especially if they have to import from Japan.

By the way, £500 for the d50? I'm seeing quotes of around £350.

This post has been edited by elb: Apr 22 2006, 09:13 PM
mr lappy
post Apr 22 2006, 11:26 PM

398 posts

erm.. not the body... the 18-200 vr lense is about 500 quid in uk. if u look at ebay its even worse....

i asked around in tottenham court rd and its varies around 490-510 (lense)

which shops do u know that doesnt rip u off ? any1 know? (malaysia)
im planig to get:
18-200 VR (nikon)
shoulder strap (neck not liking the weight of cam)
uv filter for lense
tripod(maybe)

can some1 tell me roughly how long is the waiting list for the lense?

This post has been edited by mr lappy: Apr 22 2006, 11:28 PM
syahirax
post Apr 23 2006, 02:34 AM

anomie!
562 posts

2500 or less for set with local warranty(nikon malaysia)?
ferox
post Apr 23 2006, 03:08 AM

331 posts

I just bought my d50 at photoshang today. Last unit. Hmm... everywhere no stock. This thing selling like hotcake?
elb
post Apr 23 2006, 04:19 AM

514 posts

QUOTE(mr lappy @ Apr 22 2006, 04:26 PM)
erm.. not the body... the 18-200 vr lense is about 500 quid in uk. if u look at ebay its even worse....

Ah alright, I apologize for misreading. Well you can't always depend on Ebay for something cheaper I'm afraid.
cyberkid
post Apr 23 2006, 10:57 AM

1,274 posts

Congrats to cfyung85 and ferox for ur newly bought cameras .. rclxm9.gif
k3v1n
post Apr 23 2006, 11:10 AM

Camouflage Artist
1,232 posts

QUOTE(ferox @ Apr 23 2006, 03:08 AM)
I just bought my d50 at photoshang today. Last unit. Hmm... everywhere no stock. This thing selling like hotcake?
how much??
ferox
post Apr 23 2006, 11:25 AM

331 posts

RM2400 lo. Keep telling you all this price already. As for boeing, yeah, I went there first. Spoke to staff - RM2500, Lilian - RM2450.
ferox
post Apr 23 2006, 11:50 AM

331 posts

QUOTE(cyberkid @ Apr 23 2006, 10:57 AM)
Congrats to cfyung85 and ferox for ur newly bought cameras ..  rclxm9.gif
Kamsiah Kamsiah....
Congrats to you too cyberkid on your d70s purchase.

This post has been edited by ferox: Apr 23 2006, 11:50 AM
scorgio
post Apr 23 2006, 02:48 PM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(ferox @ Apr 23 2006, 03:08 AM)
For the price & the picture quality, it's better than buying prosumer loh.
TScfyung85
post Apr 23 2006, 05:16 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(basSist @ Apr 22 2006, 02:24 AM)
wow cfyung85 finally got ur d70s aldi..
congrats man..

btw u got ur CF card a little bit expensive  sweat.gif
actually its not that i wanted to buy there sad.gif i went to low yat first to buy the CF card. the cheapest i saw is RM135 in thudermatch but the salesman say no more stock liao. i asked him when ada stock he said normal sandisk CF tarak enter liao. the rest of other shops in low yat all oso didnt sell sandisk normal CF card. viewnet got sell but RM209. all other shops oso only sell the highspeed n the extreme III which cost a total nuclear bomb sweat.gif well i dun wanna buy kingston since it is not recommended by nikon. nikon recommends sandisk, toshiba n another brand forgot liao...

for now i'm very happy with my D70s. luckily it has 2 dials. i'm so happy with flicking aperture n shutter speed fast. photo quality wise...magnificent even at ISO1000 rclxms.gif used 1600 several times in the dark concert n still cant c any visible noise rclxms.gif small minute minute ones can c la when zoom at full size sweat.gif about the DOF preview...dunno where the button is so not so care bout that 1 tongue.gif burst 3 fps is not bad...the built in flash kinda sux a bit doh.gif plan to get SB600/800 soon. 18-70mm lens not bad but preferably can zoom further more blush.gif planning to get an "all-rounder" like 18-200mm VR if got $$$ tongue.gif

anyway i'm back from my genting trip smile.gif what should i say bout my D70s...well, 1 gb is really not enough for me doh.gif i use the JPEG fine n the camera shows can take >280 photos. i was so shocked to c it can take so many photos but to my disappointment...NOT ENOUGH...oledi maxed out doh.gif have to delete some in order to take more photos blush.gif

another thing...i attended the concert about the myFM annual anniversary thingy in the arena of all stars tongue.gif took a lot of photos n still wanna take but another disappointment...BATTERY KONG LIAO... doh.gif got so many artist singing oso unable to take cry.gif

anyway i'll post some examples of photos (resized) here icon_rolleyes.gif enjoy! smile.gif

daniel lee n a "dunno who" girl in concert in arena of all stars, genting highland smile.gif
ferox
post Apr 23 2006, 05:34 PM

331 posts

From your photos, looks like you can use a little more zoom range at the tele end. Haha. Anyway, If you lower your Jpeg settings to normal instead of fine, you can take almost double I believe with no perceivable loss in quality. But test for yourself first la...
scorgio
post Apr 23 2006, 06:24 PM

4,695 posts

Nonsense. Who said Kingston CF not compatible with Nikon.
I'm using Kingston Elite Pro 1GB with D70.
It can store 293 shots for JPEG large fine.
And it's only RM125 @ PC Fair.

Sandisk CF is way too expensive. But yeah, if you're buying Nikon Digicam which bundles memory card, it's either Sandisk or Toshiba (normal speed). And I find the former is faster than the latter.
nles
post Apr 23 2006, 06:51 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 23 2006, 06:24 PM)

Sandisk CF is way too expensive. But yeah, if you're buying Nikon Digicam which bundles memory card, it's either Sandisk or Toshiba (normal speed). And I find the former is faster than the latter.
Well he din said is not compatible. Just that maybe nikon site doesn't have kingston in their recommended memory card list ba.
basSist
post Apr 23 2006, 06:57 PM

Don't look at my stars
3,567 posts

QUOTE(cfyung85 @ Apr 23 2006, 05:16 PM)
well i dun wanna buy kingston since it is not recommended by nikon. nikon recommends sandisk, toshiba n another brand forgot liao...
QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 23 2006, 06:24 PM)

doh.gif

Additional link given here to the first statement.
http://nikonasia-en.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/n...li=&p_topview=1

This post has been edited by basSist: Apr 23 2006, 06:58 PM
scorgio
post Apr 23 2006, 07:10 PM

4,695 posts

Proton recommend only lubricant from Petronas.
Anyone followed that recommendation?
TScfyung85
post Apr 23 2006, 08:53 PM

383 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Apr 23 2006, 06:51 PM)
Well he din said is not compatible. Just that maybe nikon site doesn't have kingston in their recommended memory card list ba.
yeah. i just say it is not recommended (nikon oso), not completely useless doh.gif

sigh u r just being far too sensitive n hot headed scorgio sweat.gif

19 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:20 AM