Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

TSGen-X
post Sep 7 2013, 12:37 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 6 2013, 10:57 PM)
When I was in OCBC this afternoon, an OCBC customer service trainee in lobby pissed me off  when he insisted to sell me Builder saving plan that I had no free time for it.

Here is the brief conversation between me and him:

Trainee: Oh..why don't you put money in our saving account that can give your more profits and convenience?

Me: Builder saving account? I knew about it. But I am in a hurry, can you help me to proceed my things first?

Trainee: Let me explain this to you first before you place your new FD

Me: How long do you need to take to explain this?

Trainee: about 20 minutes

Me: hah..I cannot wait that long..

Trainee: Anyway it will take the same 20 minutes for us to prepare the check for you.

Me: If like this, then I go to premier room  mad.gif

Trainee: ok ...

Then inside the premier room, while my FD was in the middle of processing, one male RM and three young female staffs tried to persuade me quite nicely (including some light flirting..) to buy their FRNID.  biggrin.gif .under this nice and harmony moment coupled with the romantic soft yellow lighting atmosphere in the premier room..  drool.gif  I suddenly had this imagination.. I felt I was in a massage palace and these three young female massage for me..of course..this imagination excluded the male RM.. I quite enjoyed this moment and I had a good time there even I did not buy the FRNID..
I bet if the Trainee was a sweet pretty curvy young girl, you wouldn't mind wasting 20 minutes with her like you did with the 3 young female staff on NID tongue.gif

And give me the 3 young girls name, I want to experience the same sensation of 3 young females massaging me at the same time (in my mind).

OCBC PB center like massage palace? PM me which massage palace(s) you go to, I want to be treated like a king notworthy.gif bbgoat and magika, you are welcome to join me biggrin.gif

And Bro, how long did it take for them to process your FD in the PB room?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 7 2013, 12:40 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 7 2013, 12:21 AM)
I made 10% return on Aus$ FD. Was told that the additional 5% on foreign FD will end on 10 Sept. will open Mega Saver next week before promotion ends.
Ocbc staffs also try to sell FRNID to me. But since I was burnt by Public Bank capital guarantee structured fund before, I am not interested in investing into any simialr product...on the surface, it sounds attractive but I am sure there are T and C unmentioned...

my other 5 years structured product is performing at 118% after 3 plus year. A wiser choice is to capture the gain now instead of waiting for maturity (5 years ) as it will dilute the return. But to stop now, there is a penalty clause..the person who sold me the product is no longer working...the current colleague also not much helpful in answering questions.... My points is they are only interested to sell to get the commission and 5 years is a long period, it is better to stick to the FD..
10% return is pretty good lo.. steady.. thumbup.gif

Mega Saver is 3 months FD at 4.5% bundled with Smart Savers, right?
I just placed it yesterday (Friday).

Will you place another Foreign Currency Times Deposit Deal again next week..?

I was wondering for those RMs if sold the investment products that were not profitable,
how would they face to their customers..? hmm.gif

Nowadays RMs does not make much different from car salesmen..

BoomChaCha
post Sep 7 2013, 12:43 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 7 2013, 12:28 AM)
guys, do I need to open a savings acc with BR before I can place my FD? Same for KFH? Sorry, new here.
No, not necessary to open a saving account.
Unless if you want the monthly earned interest to be paid into your saving account,
then you will need to open a saving account. But this requires a minimum of RM 20K FD deposit.

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 12:30 AM)
I think the small tool box is a manicure set. Include ear wax removal etc.  biggrin.gif
Yes, those small tools are made from stainless steel material with black color box

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 12:30 AM)
Wa, so now you go short term already ??  hmm.gif  Did you get higher than the normal 3 month rate ?
Since I have some long term FD, I need some short term FD as well..
Maybe need money to buy expensive and good quality stretcher le.. biggrin.gif

No, I could not get a better rate.
I tried to ask for a better rate than 3.65% (board rate), but BR said cannot,
because due to only 3 months terms..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 7 2013, 12:49 AM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 7 2013, 01:02 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 7 2013, 12:37 AM)
I bet if the Trainee was a sweet pretty curvy young girl, you wouldn't mind wasting 20 minutes with her like you did with the 3 young female staff on NID  tongue.gif

And give me the 3 young girls name, I want to experience the same sensation of 3 young females massaging me at the same time (in my mind).

OCBC PB center like massage palace? PM me which massage palace(s) you go to, I want to be treated like a king  notworthy.gif  bbgoat and magika, you are welcome to join me  biggrin.gif

Ha.. ha.. Captain...

The trainee was a man. He had a tendency to convert my check to Builder saving plan which I was not interested.
I did not have the time to listen to his lecture as I needed to rush to BR.

When with the 3 young girls, I could enjoy my good time there while my new FD was in the middle of processing,
so my time was not wasted.

Sorry I do not have the girls names... during that moment how to remember their names..? biggrin.gif

The massage palace was only my fantasy la... biggrin.gif

How long did it take for them to process my FD..?
I left the premier room as soon as my FD was done..

You can see how does a massage place look like on the movies la..

Option 1
Listen to the trainee's lecture first = 20 minutes
Then only processing FD after reject him = 20 minutes
Total time = 40 minutes

Option 2
Go to premier room to process FD immediately = 20 minutes while having a good time at the same time
Total time = 20 minutes

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 7 2013, 01:45 AM
pinksapphire
post Sep 7 2013, 04:20 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 7 2013, 12:09 AM)
Placed a 3 month FD at non-negotiable rate at 3.65% in Bank Rakyat.

Was given a white small towel and small tool box that contains a small scissor,
nail cutter and other small tools as gifts.

Will need to go back one more time next week to collect the FD cert, quite troublesome..

Also saw one Chinese woman placed FD there, but she did not know what a PIDM was..
Hmm, not bad ah, 3 months only but they still give you quite high rate compared with other banks who tie you down for a much longer period. And you get free gifts somemore. Did you have to put in a lot to get this rate?

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 7 2013, 12:21 AM)
I made 10% return on Aus$ FD. Was told that the additional 5% on foreign FD will end on 10 Sept. will open Mega Saver next week before promotion ends.
Ocbc staffs also try to sell FRNID to me. But since I was burnt by Public Bank capital guarantee structured fund before, I am not interested in investing into any simialr product...on the surface, it sounds attractive but I am sure there are T and C unmentioned...
Gsc, are you gonna place the foreign FD again under this promo? If yes, any recommendation on which currency to consider? I don't know the value you've set aside, but to get 10% of return is really good! And it's only for a month, right?
bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 08:13 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 7 2013, 12:43 AM)
Yes, those small tools are made from stainless steel material with black color box
Ya, I got about 4 of the manicure set to give out. biggrin.gif

Since I have some long term FD, I need some short term FD as well..
Maybe need money to buy expensive and good quality stretcher le.. biggrin.gif
How kind of you to buy for me. Will you send it free also to Pg ? brows.gif

No, I could not get a better rate.
I tried to ask for a better rate than 3.65% (board rate), but BR said cannot,
because due to only 3 months terms..
3.65% is pretty good already. Especially if FD rate goes up 3 months later. Good strategy. rclxms.gif

On Tuesday I have to move out UOB fund, Have to consider this also. nod.gif

Oh, this BCC is really Booming RICH, have so many FD maturing every so often, going to bank more often than a lot of us !! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 7 2013, 08:50 AM
haur
post Sep 7 2013, 10:36 AM

99 posts

No, not necessary to open a saving account.
Unless if you want the monthly earned interest to be paid into your saving account,
then you will need to open a saving account. But this requires a minimum of RM 20K FD deposit.
Okay thank you. Prefer to have monthly then. I know some of you guys are from Penang, can please advise which BR branch is better in terms of CS and parking availability? Thanks.
magika
post Sep 7 2013, 10:52 AM

2,612 posts

I bet if the Trainee was a sweet pretty curvy young girl, you wouldn't mind wasting 20 minutes with her like you did with the 3 young female staff on NID  tongue.gif

OCBC PB center like massage palace? PM me which massage palace(s) you go to, I want to be treated like a king  notworthy.gif  bbgoat and magika, you are welcome to join me  biggrin.gif

Oh.. the three purty girls is Joe, David and Goliath... tongue.gif Names like that I declined your invitation.. shakehead.gif

Processing time for FD placement usually takes around 20 mins and its considered fast considering the numerous documents one has to sign...

So nowadays they try to sell you structured products at the counte itself. Hope they try it on me then they will discovered how loud and rude I can be...he..he.. I remember once the RM tried to sell me some structured products..That time mood is good, just told her not interested and warned her not waste my time..

magika
post Sep 7 2013, 10:54 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 7 2013, 10:36 AM)
Okay thank you. Prefer to have monthly then. I know some of you guys are from Penang, can please advise which BR branch is better in terms of CS and parking availability? Thanks.
Pls read the standard disclaimer first... laugh.gif

magika
post Sep 7 2013, 11:05 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 08:13 AM)
Ya, I got about 4 of the manicure set to give out.  biggrin.gif

That was my line ! Got copyright, you know... doh.gif

Gifts for FD placement sometimes differ from branch to branch. Maybe we can compile the different types of gifts we received from various banks for comparision purposes.

bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:08 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 7 2013, 10:52 AM)
Oh.. the three purty girls is Joe, David and Goliath... tongue.gif  Names like that I declined your invitation.. shakehead.gif

Processing time for FD placement usually takes around 20 mins and its considered fast considering the numerous documents one has to sign...

So nowadays they try to sell you structured products at the counte itself. Hope they try it on me then they will discovered how loud and rude I can be...he..he.. I remember once the RM tried to sell me some structured products..That time mood is good, just told her not interested and warned her not waste my time..
For UOB Penang, I have encountered less than 10 minutes to get the FD cert. Though the longest is up to about 20 minutes. Obviously not including queuing time. UOB wise FD withdrawal no need the cert which is a plus in a way. biggrin.gif

However, I nearly scolded one of their counter girl as she tried to sell UT to me during FD withdrawal. Too persistent ! mad.gif

Bro (note not G uncle tongue.gif ) Magika is good at complaining. notworthy.gif ( Just yesterday I also complained to Philips about Harvey Norman not giving some soft pouch and got it courier to me. But still, respect bro Magika on various bank complaints).

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 7 2013, 11:19 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:13 AM

6,614 posts

Delete, duplicate post.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 7 2013, 11:15 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:13 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 7 2013, 11:05 AM)
That was my line ! Got copyright, you know... doh.gif

Gifts for FD placement sometimes differ from branch to branch. Maybe we can compile the different types of gifts we received from various banks for comparision purposes.
Oh ya, how can old man remember something 1 week ago rclxub.gif , not to mention your this copy right phrase may even be many moons ago ? rclxm9.gif

BR gift varies to certain extent from branch to branch from what was mentioned in this thread. But I only been to one branch as it is convenient location to me. biggrin.gif
magika
post Sep 7 2013, 11:14 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 11:08 AM)
For UOB Penang, I have encountered less than 10 minutes to get the FD cert. Though the longest is up to about 20 minutes. Obviously not including queuing time. UOB wise FD withdrawal no need the cert which is a plus in a way.  biggrin.gif

However, I nearly scolded one of their counter girl as she tried to sell UT to me during FD withdrawal. Too persistent !  mad.gif

Bro (note not G uncle  tongue.gif ) Magika is good at complaining.  notworthy.gif  ( Just yesterday I also complained to Philips about Harvey Norman not giving some soft pouch and got it courier to me. But still, respect bro Magika on various bank complaints).  notworthy.gif
BRO! The trick to countering their sales talk is to be loud, rude and claiming that they are trying to con you. Its very effective especially in a crowded banking hall.. nod.gif

Oh.. I just won on another complain yesterday . One of the leading home consumer electrica company, who sold me a defective spare part eventhough I know that parts purchased are without warranty.. Must know how lah... laugh.gif

Congratulation on defending your consumer rights..ur learning right...or is it ending considering your age... rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 7 2013, 11:21 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:21 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 7 2013, 10:36 AM)
I only used one branch in Jelutong. Good service. Bank Manager will invite you for golf, ABM for lunch etc etc. Parking so so, can do only. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:26 AM

6,614 posts

OK, name the time and the place, I will fly down to meet you guys !! drool.gif

(seems to be some issue, duplicate post again ?? Flood control of Lowyat ??)

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 7 2013, 11:36 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:27 AM

6,614 posts

OK, name the time and the place, I will fly down to meet you guys !! drool.gif

BCC, get ready the stretcher, just in case ................ brows.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 7 2013, 11:28 AM
bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:33 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 7 2013, 11:14 AM)
Congratulation on defending your consumer rights..ur learning right...or is it ending considering your age... rclxub.gif
What lah, you ! vmad.gif Luckily the Chinese seven month is over, if not I will sue you or visit you during midnight haunting you, Grand Uncle !! tongue.gif
magika
post Sep 7 2013, 11:37 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 11:33 AM)
What lah, you !  vmad.gif  Luckily the Chinese seven month is over, if not I will sue you or visit you during midnight haunting you, Grand Uncle !!  tongue.gif
Just remember to give 4D during your visit will do. drool.gif

So now what, with BNM maintaining 3% OPR so no changes in FD rates in sight ...

bbgoat
post Sep 7 2013, 11:45 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Sep 7 2013, 11:37 AM)
Just remember to give 4D during your visit will do.  drool.gif

So now what, with BNM maintaining 3% OPR so no changes in FD rates in sight ...
Your big fat dream tongue.gif . Will make it so that during day time, you keep on repeating xxxxxxxx ................. rclxm9.gif

Pity Grand Uncle, complaint too much, life must be tough for him and others ...... hmm.gif tongue.gif

At least FD rate may not go down yet. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Sep 7 2013, 11:48 AM

121 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 >Top

0.0289sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:09 AM