Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V4, Please read 1st post.

magika
post Sep 7 2013, 11:57 AM

2,612 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 11:45 AM)

Pity Grand Uncle, complaint too much, life must be tough for him and others ......  hmm.gif  tongue.gif

At least FD rate may not go down yet.  biggrin.gif
Life sure is tough for poor people like me... shakehead.gif

However I m very polite during my complains, its not about RM basically, its about challenging people who think you are a fool..
Its one of the ways I passed my time, not looking for fault, but correcting the system that is faulty. Its part of my contribution to society. I m one of the doers, that is I take action without fear.

Thats also why I m into BR, not scared meh.... shocking.gif

BoomChaCha
post Sep 7 2013, 06:56 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 6 2013, 11:15 PM)
....I am not a customer of OCBC, not sure in Pg they would have so many RM chasing a customer...
As our Captain has been mentioned and reminded, you can take the advantage of 5.5% rate for 3 months
FD promo by joining OCBC's new premier account(s).
Each premier account requires a minimum of fresh fund RM 300K to open and maintain.

You can sign-up extra joint name premier accounts if you have some people that you can trust.

But you can use only one person name as primary name to sign-up one premier account
For example:

First Premier Account
Primary name: You
Secondary name: Your wife

Second Premier Account
Primary name: Your wife
Secondary name: You

Third Premier Account
Primary name: Your 1st Junior
Secondary name: You

Fouth Premier Account
Primary name: Your 2nd Junior
Second name: You

So now, each of your four RM 300K FD can generate 5.5% p.a. interest for 3 months.

But if you open the OCBC premier account (5.5% promo will end on next Tuesday) on next Monday, you have to
sign-up at least one Wealth Management Product which I am afraid probably you do not like this clause.

Check out OCBC Premier Bank Deal here:
http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ac...moreinfo_button

The good news is, you can wait until next Wednesday (11 September) for the new premier account promo. Good Luck.. biggrin.gif

Note: Don't forget to ask for welcome gift(s) before you sign-up. Last time the RM tried to con me the welcome gift.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 8 2013, 01:26 PM
magika
post Sep 7 2013, 07:04 PM

2,612 posts

OCBC Premier Banking

1st Account - Primary with PB
1 st Account - Secondary make sure dont apply PB or else cannot open 2nd Account laugh.gif with promo rate...

This post has been edited by magika: Sep 7 2013, 07:05 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 7 2013, 07:22 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 7 2013, 04:20 AM)
Hmm, not bad ah, 3 months only but they still give you quite high rate compared with other banks who tie you down for a much longer period. And you get free gifts somemore. Did you have to put in a lot to get this rate?
3.65% is just a board rate for 3 months FD, it is nothing special:
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/ratemubeen

Minimum FD deposit is either RM 500 or RM 5000
http://www.bankrakyat.com.my/web/guest/mubeen

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 08:13 AM)
Ya, I got about 4 of the manicure set to give out. 
Super Rich Goat thumbup.gif

How kind of you to buy for me. Will you send it free also to Pg ?  brows.gif
The stretcher is for my opponents only... brows.gif

3.65% is pretty good already. Especially if FD rate goes up 3 months later. Good strategy.
Good strategy or not, it is too early to tell..

On Tuesday I have to move out UOB fund, Have to consider this also.  nod.gif
Can you ask UOB if they pay you last day of FD interest..?

Oh, this BCC is really Booming RICH, have so many FD maturing every so often, going to bank more often than a lot of us !!  thumbup.gif
Not really lah.. all small amount of money only.. sad.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 11:08 AM)
....  (Just yesterday I also complained to Philips about Harvey Norman not giving some soft pouch and got it courier to me...).
Can share what philips product did you buy? LED TV..?

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 7 2013, 11:27 AM)
OK, name the time and the place, I will fly down to meet you guys !!  drool.gif
BCC, get ready the stretcher, just in case ................ brows.gif
Say only ma.. biggrin.gif but you never come ...
Yes, will prepare a heavy duty stretcher and high grade oxygen tank as well.. brows.gif
silrave
post Sep 8 2013, 02:38 AM

5,893 posts

hi can i know
now which bank offer the highest rate for fd?
watertan88
post Sep 8 2013, 10:15 AM

22 posts

I had joined OCBC premier. But i dont see i get much benefits from it.

Welcome gift is a travel bag. They dont give free credit card like others.

Why they dont issue Visa i or world mastercard ?

May i know how can i maximize my benefits as premier ?
(The only way i know is drink more instant coffee to gain max benefits)
BoomChaCha
post Sep 8 2013, 01:21 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Sep 8 2013, 02:38 AM)
hi can i know
now which bank offer the highest rate for fd?
Please refer to the first page:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2722457

QUOTE(watertan88 @ Sep 8 2013, 10:15 AM)
I had joined OCBC premier. But i dont see i get much benefits from it.

Welcome gift is a travel bag. They dont give free credit card like others.

Why they dont issue Visa i or world mastercard ?

May i know how can i maximize my benefits as premier ?
(The only way i know is drink more instant coffee to gain max benefits)
I feel the same way.
I do not see to gain any useful benefits of being a premier customer besides can drink
more instant coffee (like what you said biggrin.gif ), read more newspaper, and also enjoy
dedicated service.

Premier customers are targeted as their main customers to buy their investment products.
The premier room is like a sales room, it is designed for RMs to make sales approaches easily to premier customers.

I also want to know how to maximize benefits as premier..?

If no more benefits, then I guess can close the premier account after enjoyed the sign-up FD rate.. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(RO Player @ Sep 8 2013, 11:13 AM)
time to collect my interest fr BR... brows.gif  bank into Affin SA high interest rates...a win win for me..rclxs0.gif
Top Cat, I do the same way.. cheers.gif
LazyKurosaki
post Sep 8 2013, 06:35 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

Jz started my fd wif rhb bank at rate of 3% tenure of 2 months..
AVFAN
post Sep 8 2013, 06:41 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Sep 8 2013, 06:35 PM)
Jz started my fd wif rhb bank at rate of 3% tenure of 2 months..
did u have deposits with rhb before?

3% for 2 mths seems low. 3.1-3.2 might be more like it.

or have rates come down across the board?
LazyKurosaki
post Sep 8 2013, 06:44 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 8 2013, 06:41 PM)
did u have deposits with rhb before?

3% for 2 mths seems low. 3.1-3.2 might be more like it.

or have rates come down across the board?
For 2 months its only 3% le.. then 3 months i think is 3.05% on third month...first time deposit wif rhb
gsc
post Sep 8 2013, 08:48 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 7 2013, 12:40 AM)
10% return is pretty good lo.. steady..  thumbup.gif

Mega Saver is 3 months FD at 4.5% bundled with Smart Savers, right?
I just placed it yesterday (Friday).

Will you place another Foreign Currency Times Deposit Deal again next week..?

I was wondering for those RMs if sold the investment products that were not profitable,
how would they face to their customers..?  hmm.gif

Nowadays RMs does not make much different from car salesmen..
Yes..mega saver...last day is 10 sept...

No Foreign Currency FD because the RM is weak against Aus$...

RM wont feel anything if you are investment is no good. To them you should read and know the risk....or they may ask you to invest in other product to cover the lost..

LazyKurosaki
post Sep 9 2013, 12:45 AM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

eh bankrakyat offers better fd rate? I dont understand about the cooperate and individual rate
pinksapphire
post Sep 9 2013, 03:59 AM

1,264 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 8 2013, 08:48 PM)

RM wont feel anything if you are investment is no good. To them you should read and know the risk....or they may ask you to invest in other product to cover the lost..
How about other currencies, not considering them?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 9 2013, 01:16 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Sep 8 2013, 08:48 PM)

Ok Thanks..

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Sep 9 2013, 12:45 AM)
eh bankrakyat offers better fd rate? I dont understand about the cooperate and individual rate
It is Corporate, not cooperate

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 9 2013, 01:20 PM
LazyKurosaki
post Sep 9 2013, 01:23 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 9 2013, 01:16 PM)
Ok Thanks..
It is Corporate, not cooperate
Whats d diffrrence between that and individual?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 9 2013, 01:29 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Sep 9 2013, 01:23 PM)
Whats d diffrrence between that and individual?
I guess corporate is for company.

For example, TOTO should put their money in
corporate FD under their company/corporate name before
the winners win the prizes.

Some companies might have extra cash that they think they will
not use the money in near future, so they place under corporate FDs.

Individual is the FD placed under person name based on IC.
Corporate is the FD placed under the company name.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 9 2013, 01:36 PM
LazyKurosaki
post Sep 9 2013, 01:36 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 9 2013, 01:29 PM)
I guess corporate is for company.

For example, TOTO should put their money in
corporate FD under their company/corporate name before
the winners win the prize.

Some companies might have extra cash that they think they will
not use the money in near future, so they place under corporate FDs.

Individual is the FD placed under person name based on IC.
Corporate is the FD placed under the company name.
Oo..so basically bankrakyat offer highest interest rate lo?
BoomChaCha
post Sep 9 2013, 02:03 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Sep 9 2013, 01:36 PM)
Oo..so basically bankrakyat offer highest interest rate lo?
If use board rates, overall yes. BR FD rates are the best.
Except 5 years FD, MBSB is slightly better than BR.

But MBSB 5 years FD rate is straightly not negotiable, regardless of the FD amount.
Meanwhile for BR 5 years FD, the rate is negotiable if the FD amount is big enough.

You have to keep in mind both Bank Rakyat and MBSB have no PIDM protections.

But sometimes, banks with PIDM offer better FD promo rates than Bank Rakyat board rates,
so we have to keep an eye on recent banks' FD promos.
That's what a Musical Chair is all about.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 9 2013, 02:17 PM
haur
post Sep 9 2013, 02:18 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 9 2013, 02:03 PM)
If use board rates, overall yes. BR FD rates are the best.
Except 5 years FD, MBSB is slightly better than BR.

But MBSB 5 years FD rate is straightly not negotiable, regardless of the FD amount.
Meanwhile for BR 5 years FD, the rate is negotiable if the FD amount is big enough.

You have to keep in mind both Bank Rakyat and MBSB have no PIDM protection.

But sometimes, banks with PIDM have better FD promo rates than Bank Rakyat board rates,
so we have to keep an eye on recent banks' FD promos.
Gonna move my 1m 3% RHB FD to BR 12m 4.01% this week! Worth the move!
BoomChaCha
post Sep 9 2013, 02:34 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(haur @ Sep 9 2013, 02:18 PM)
Gonna move my 1m 3% RHB FD to BR 12m 4.01% this week! Worth the move!
If you can wait, or your RHB FD maturity date is after this Wednesday, then just wait
until this Wednesday to see what is OCBC new FD promo.

BR's 12 months FD rate is negotiable if the amount is fair enough for BR. So you have to try
to ask for a better rate, otherwise BR will give you 4.01%.

Usually BR will give you gift(s) even if you do not ask for it, but still it is better to ask for it.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 9 2013, 02:47 PM

121 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 >Top

0.0218sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:28 AM