144 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Nokia Lumia 920 V3

Emery
post Mar 19 2013, 05:28 PM

94 posts

Hey guys, was just wondering how fast do ya lumias heat up?
I've just been browsing the web for app 20-30mins and it heats up like a BBQ grill. Even when I play games it heats up really fast.

For example, just last night I managed to play 2-3 matches of RealSoccer and my phone was heating up like crazy. Had to shut it down for awhile in order for it to cool off.
EXkurogane
post Mar 19 2013, 05:30 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Emery @ Mar 19 2013, 05:28 PM)
I've just been browsing the web for app 20-30mins and it heats up like a BBQ grill. Even when I play games it heats up really fast.

For example, just last night I managed to play 2-3 matches of RealSoccer and my phone was heating up like crazy. Had to shut it down for awhile in order for it to cool off.
Depends on your surroundings also. True that it heats up fast on 3G and gaming, like, in 10-15 minutes, but the heating up is less significant when im in an aircond room. When play Asphalt, only 10 minutes heat up like crazy...
On wifi it is only mildly warm.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Mar 19 2013, 05:30 PM
Emery
post Mar 19 2013, 05:33 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Mar 19 2013, 05:30 PM)
Depends on your surroundings also. True that it heats up fast on 3G and gaming, like, in 10-15 minutes, but the heating up is less significant when im in an aircond room. When play Asphalt, only 10 minutes heat up like crazy...
On wifi it is only mildly warm.
Thanks for the info mate smile.gif
Btw, does the portico update improves this heating issue?
evilpuppy
post Mar 19 2013, 05:35 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Emery @ Mar 19 2013, 05:28 PM)

beware, shutdown let it cool. last time my CPU heat toasted the radio (network signal all gone).

now, i will turn to flight mode while playing games (max can go up to 30min) my previous smartphone can let me play about 1hr games still doesn't overheat.

evilpuppy
post Mar 19 2013, 05:37 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(Emery @ Mar 19 2013, 05:33 PM)
Thanks for the info mate  smile.gif 
no wonder, no rebate 200 for this lumia 920 bceause not a smartphone. its a overheat phone!! sweat.gif sweat.gif

EXkurogane
post Mar 19 2013, 05:44 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(Emery @ Mar 19 2013, 05:33 PM)
Thanks for the info mate  smile.gif 
Havent heard of that regarding portico and heat production.

Nowadays overheating is common - even laptops. There manufacturers dont care because the country of origin, like Dell is USA, HTC is taiwan, Nokia is finland, etc, this overheating issue isnt that bad there because their weather is cool, but the main blame goes to the manufacturer of the internals and chips like Qualcomm. Phone getting hot is common in most flagship smartphones, and i believe Samsung using 'cheap, weak, thin' plastic is one of their mehods to improve heat expulsion. My laptop heat up like crazy in a room with no aircond in the afternoon, now i go for aluminium build ones by Asus.

This post has been edited by EXkurogane: Mar 19 2013, 05:44 PM
TSaspire2oo6
post Mar 19 2013, 06:13 PM

Banned
35,468 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Mar 19 2013, 05:44 PM)
Havent heard of that regarding portico and heat production.

Nowadays overheating is common - even laptops. There manufacturers dont care because the country of origin, like Dell is USA, HTC is taiwan, Nokia is finland, etc, this overheating issue isnt that bad there because their weather is cool, but the main blame goes to the manufacturer of the internals and chips like Qualcomm. Phone getting hot is common in most flagship smartphones, and i believe Samsung using 'cheap, weak, thin' plastic is one of their mehods to improve heat expulsion. My laptop heat up like crazy in a room with no aircond in the afternoon, now i go for aluminium build ones by Asus.
shouldnt overheat.

I have few dell no such issue.
Asus Zenbook no such issue
Even samsung Note 2 with quad core processor no such issue.

maybe could be the material windows phone is using strong polycarbonate get the heat trapped
ainuddin
post Mar 19 2013, 06:29 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

from youtube reports, the heatsink of the cpu is too thin, thus not able to dissipate heat quick enough.

adding another extra layer of heatsink solved this issue as what has been seen in numerous D.I.Y. by users.
yongjieyu
post Mar 19 2013, 06:32 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Mar 19 2013, 06:29 PM)
from youtube reports, the heatsink of the cpu is too thin, thus not able to dissipate heat quick enough.

adding another extra layer of heatsink solved this issue as what has been seen in numerous D.I.Y. by users.
any link for the youtube reports?
Emery
post Mar 19 2013, 06:50 PM

94 posts

I've got quite a bunch of friends who uses the S3 & Note 2 and no complains regarding heat at all. My gf uses an S3 and she plays candy crush non-stop and still her phone's able to avoid coming up with a fever.

However, on the other hand, besides the plastic material, it should also be because of the game, since its graphics & all ain't on the same level as those 3D xbox games I'm playing on my lumia. Hence, tends to heat the phone up faster.
EXkurogane
post Mar 19 2013, 07:12 PM

1,715 posts

The only game that makes my phone heat up like crazy so far is asphalt; other games in my phone, only slight warm
ainuddin
post Mar 19 2013, 07:18 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(yongjieyu @ Mar 19 2013, 06:32 PM)
any link for the youtube reports?
cant remember them, it was a while ago, but here is one clip where the user replace the heat sink;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gU6soZi61GQ
solution2u
post Mar 19 2013, 07:23 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(EXkurogane @ Mar 19 2013, 04:15 PM)
Eh, i add the words into the keyboard if it doesnt exist; nowdays i type halfway for words like 'imouto' (younger sister), 'kusotare' (you piece of sh!t, or d!ckhead) also it will suggest it as the first one. Godly word suggestion, very accurate...
How to add words into keyboard ?

QUOTE(thesun @ Mar 19 2013, 04:26 PM)
my car holder..
i mod the two kaki down there so that the lower right hand doesnt cover one of the speaker grill.
this brand quite good, very sturdy. Less goyang
Got link to purchase? OR what is the product name ?

evilpuppy
post Mar 19 2013, 07:29 PM

4,092 posts

sometime heat is good too.. can help you stop playing for too long. laugh.gif

solution2u
post Mar 19 2013, 08:23 PM

403 posts

Does anyone manage to get Camera360 ? Looks awesome

http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/ap...35-cebbaa23be1b

But I can't install it now, not sure why.

ainuddin
post Mar 19 2013, 08:25 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(solution2u @ Mar 19 2013, 08:23 PM)
Does anyone manage to get Camera360 ? Looks awesome

http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/ap...35-cebbaa23be1b

But I can't install it now, not sure why.
it says 'This app is no longer published'.
yongjieyu
post Mar 19 2013, 08:50 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Mar 19 2013, 08:25 PM)
it says 'This app is no longer published'.
i jz finish install at afternoon...
ainuddin
post Mar 19 2013, 09:13 PM

September 11th, 2001
1,957 posts

QUOTE(yongjieyu @ Mar 19 2013, 08:50 PM)
i jz finish install at afternoon...
now dah tadak. just search it at nokia market but US region, no matching apps.
evilpuppy
post Mar 19 2013, 09:17 PM

4,092 posts

maybe they withdrew for some fix?? wait for another day or 2.

Wogarious
post Mar 19 2013, 09:48 PM

98 posts

Guys i just receive my phone from nokia care. They take 1 month to repair my phone. Is there any way to restore my data from skydrive without restoring it on hard reset as it uses mobile data.

And oso is there any nokia store in penang that accept the rm150 pre order voucher.

Thx in advance

144 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0336sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:51 PM