1306 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Bottom

EPF DIVIDEND, EPF

kyone
post Apr 4 2016, 12:39 PM

245 posts

Is it a good idea to pay epf on your own(working in sg now)? But I scare rm just droppppp or gomen simply go wrong and my epf just burn(is this possible:-S )?
MeToo
post Apr 4 2016, 12:44 PM

9,333 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Mar 31 2016, 06:18 PM)
I think children will press the moneyflies.gif and bye.gif
not all.

i wouldnt dream of touching my parents retirement fund.

Hansel
post Apr 4 2016, 05:26 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(kyone @ Apr 4 2016, 12:39 PM)
Is it a good idea to pay epf on your own(working in sg now)? But I scare rm just droppppp or gomen simply go wrong and my epf just burn(is this possible:-S )?
It's good to diversify,... compared to many pension funds worldwide, the EPF has a very good yield, and they always desire to maintain their yield...So, build-up some MYR holdings, since your natural currency is in the SGD.
nexona88
post Apr 4 2016, 06:29 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

yes. why not.

better to have some in EPF.

ikanbilis
post Apr 4 2016, 08:21 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,542 posts

Max self contribution amount a year only rm60k. That's about sgd20 k only. Worhwhile to put for div above 6% a year.

kinggerrard
post Apr 5 2016, 12:17 PM

198 posts

The dividend payout by EPF certainly would be better than Sg's CPF.

FYI, Singapore’s CPF still earned only 2.5% to 4% – one of the lowest returns on pension funds in the world. And it has been 2.5% to 4% since 1999 – for nearly 20 years.
Ramjade
post Apr 5 2016, 12:25 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Apr 5 2016, 12:17 PM)

FYI, Singapore’s CPF still earned only 2.5% to 4% – one of the lowest returns on pension funds in the world. And it has been 2.5% to 4% since 1999 – for nearly 20 years.
It is Singapore CPF policy saying we don't need to give so high for such a safe investment. If they want more the consumers have to invest themselves. Which is kind of bad

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 5 2016, 12:28 PM
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 12:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kinggerrard @ Apr 5 2016, 12:17 PM)

Comparing to their bank's FD rate, consider not bad already.
We are getting 6%, but for the same food(forget about currency) we are buying, like chicken rice in Malaysia need rm6 while at SG, SGD3.
For the same travel distance of 20km from house to work, every month we need to spend rm200 while they only need to spend SGD100.
An engineer using donation to secure the job gets rm4000 a month, while in SG, can easily get SGD3000.
For the same job, in Malaysia the same guy can save rm500 while in SG he can save SGD1000.
Now back to dividend yield, rm500's 6% is rm30 while SG's 1000 is SGD40.

This post has been edited by supersound: Apr 5 2016, 12:44 PM
Hansel
post Apr 5 2016, 01:34 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 5 2016, 12:39 PM)
Comparing to their bank's FD rate, consider not bad already.
We are getting 6%, but for the same food(forget about currency) we are buying, like chicken rice in Malaysia need rm6 while at SG, SGD3.
For the same travel distance of 20km from house to work, every month we need to spend rm200 while they only need to spend SGD100.
An engineer using donation to secure the job gets rm4000 a month, while in SG, can easily get SGD3000.
For the same job, in Malaysia the same guy can save rm500 while in SG he can save SGD1000.
Now back to dividend yield, rm500's 6% is rm30 while SG's 1000 is SGD40.
Wow,... I never looked at things to such details, bro,... thumbsup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 02:11 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 5 2016, 01:34 PM)
Wow,... I never looked at things to such details, bro,...  thumbsup.gif
Different country, different policies, there's no right or wrong. If you decided to stay in Malaysia, have to consider Malaysia's lifestyle.
In Middle East even worst, saving money in banks as foreign labor get close to 0%. But yet my friend is still making money. When USD are weak, he keep that money, when it strengthens, he convert it all back to rm. Since he is earning USD(in Middle East, you can choose either their local currency or USD), so when it touches rm4.20 from rm3.20, just imagine how many % he makes for every USD he sending back as rm.
Hansel
post Apr 5 2016, 02:31 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 5 2016, 02:11 PM)
Different country, different policies, there's no right or wrong. If you decided to stay in Malaysia, have to consider Malaysia's lifestyle.
In Middle East even worst, saving money in banks as foreign labor get close to 0%. But yet my friend is still making money. When USD are weak, he keep that money, when it strengthens, he convert it all back to rm. Since he is earning USD(in Middle East, you can choose either their local currency or USD), so when it touches rm4.20 from rm3.20, just imagine how many % he makes for every USD he sending back as rm.
Instead of saving money n the bank as FD, can you no invest in properties or in the stock exchange in a Mid-East Country ? How is their dividend policy ? Any withholding tax against the payout, or internal taxes against div payouts ?
Ramjade
post Apr 5 2016, 02:35 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 5 2016, 02:31 PM)
Instead of saving money n the bank as FD, can you no invest in properties or in the stock exchange in a Mid-East Country ? How is their dividend policy ? Any withholding tax against the payout, or internal taxes against div payouts ?
I wouldn't invest in middle east if I were you. Is a very unstable region. One scuffle can spread to the entire middle east. Take the Arab spring as an example. Less headache to monitor investment in the middle east if you never put any money in there.

Mediterranean area might be different.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 5 2016, 02:36 PM
Hansel
post Apr 5 2016, 02:55 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 5 2016, 02:35 PM)
I wouldn't invest in middle east if I were you. Is a very unstable region. One scuffle can spread to the entire middle east. Take the Arab  spring as an example. Less headache to monitor investment in the middle east if you never put any money in there.

Mediterranean area might be different.
Tks bro,.... smile.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 06:31 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 5 2016, 02:31 PM)
Nope, is not allowed. So just keep the cash and change when USD is strong.
Hansel
post Apr 5 2016, 09:13 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 5 2016, 06:31 PM)
Nope, is not allowed. So just keep the cash and change when USD is strong.
I see,... okay, tq,...
nexona88
post Apr 5 2016, 09:19 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 5 2016, 02:11 PM)
good strategy thumbsup.gif

but I read in news paper today. Saudi gomen is considering to have "green card" policy for those foreigner. hmm.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 09:49 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 5 2016, 09:19 PM)
good strategy  thumbsup.gif

but I read in news paper today. Saudi gomen is considering to have "green card" policy for those foreigner.  hmm.gif
Saudi has no money to spend, so they are looking ways to get money from foreign workers.
nexona88
post Apr 5 2016, 09:51 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,441 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Apr 5 2016, 09:49 PM)
Saudi has no money to spend, so they are looking ways to get money from foreign workers.
yeah..
they even planning for VAT @ GST tongue.gif
SUSsupersound
post Apr 5 2016, 09:52 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Apr 5 2016, 09:51 PM)
yeah..
they even planning for VAT @ GST  tongue.gif
Very soon and fast, next in the pipeline will be Qatar.
kinggerrard
post Apr 6 2016, 10:38 AM

198 posts

I don't think there are many people working in Sg can save SGD1000 every month. Don't forget recently they have just gained the fame as the most expensive city in the world.

If you're talking about food maybe yes.. Working there as a middle class isn't easy at all same as here. Look at the accommodation they're paying for only HDB flat (forget about private housing in Sg!).. the car comes with the hefty cost of COE.. no doubt in term of GDP as promoted by PAP is one of the richest countries in the world but if you have zoomed into the actual individual income, it is not the figure translated by GDP. Due to the sky high living cost in Sg, not many people could save $1k net every month. All of them are fighting for survival. This is no.2 of HK!

1306 Pages « < 76 77 78 79 80 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:57 PM