Bodybuilding Thread V12, Bodybuilding Q&A

Kaffatsum
post Mar 16 2013, 10:49 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Mar 16 2013, 11:11 AM)
so i just read about this in Men's Health mag.

don't take carbs before lifting as your body will use carbs as energy rather than fat.. hmm.. if dont eat an hour before gym feel so weak eh?
sometimes i really hate these magazines. they over-complicate small things to such a degree that people begin to question 'when should i do that? is this good? should i eat now or later?'

just eat alot, lift heavy, and sleep well.

unless youre cutting, then there is not reason to ask this question. just eat something before you go to the gym so you can train at your best.
TSjanson_kaniaz
post Mar 16 2013, 11:03 PM

6,955 posts

magazines like Men's Health target only fat loss and not so much on muscle building if you ask me, thus, most advice is rather towards people who want to get 6 packs and mainly 6 packs...
afieQ
post Mar 17 2013, 12:58 PM

411 posts

Tumpang thread.

How many calories in kcal and protein is in a typical serving of white rice?

The other food I can count the calories because its mentioned in the packaging but not for rice.

I just assume my normal nasi campur calories is 500kcal all this while.
law1777
post Mar 17 2013, 01:54 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(afieQ @ Mar 17 2013, 12:58 PM)
Tumpang thread.

How many calories in kcal and protein is in a typical serving of white rice?

The other food I can count the calories because its mentioned in the packaging but not for rice.

I just assume my normal nasi campur calories is 500kcal all this while.
a bowl of plain white rice is around 300-350calories, veggies maybe 100 after fried with oil n stuffs. grilled meat maybe few hundreds im not sure
GameFr3ak
post Mar 20 2013, 01:09 AM

3,849 posts

Alright, heavy day for me yesterday. While benching, I tried hitting my 11 reps on my last working set, to my surprise, this last rep is my failure. I tried resting the bar on my chest then tried to rack it, nop can't lift no more.

There's a guy there who often gym here as well. So I asked him for help to rack up the bar. I told him "woah, that was my failure!". He then told me that barbell is very dangerous and I should try the smith instead. He further explained that his friend have an uneven shoulder cause one side is stronger cause of barbell. He then point out what's good with the smith and it's safer. Though I've done my reading and barbell activates more muscle fibers compared to smith. So I'll still continue my barbell benches, and probably move on to DB.

I mostly agreed on the safety points but about the uneven shoulders, I thought it's normal? So I did some reading and it's indeed normal as most people wrote.

So guys, what's your opinion on this?
darklight79
post Mar 20 2013, 01:49 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 20 2013, 01:09 AM)
Alright, heavy day for me yesterday. While benching, I tried hitting my 11 reps on my last working set, to my surprise, this last rep is my failure. I tried resting the bar on my chest then tried to rack it, nop can't lift no more.

There's a guy there who often gym here as well. So I asked him for help to rack up the bar. I told him "woah, that was my failure!". He then told me that barbell is very dangerous and I should try the smith instead. He further explained that his friend have an uneven shoulder cause one side is stronger cause of barbell. He then point out what's good with the smith and it's safer. Though I've done my reading and barbell activates more muscle fibers compared to smith. So I'll still continue my barbell benches, and probably move on to DB.

I mostly agreed on the safety points but about the uneven shoulders, I thought it's normal? So I did some reading and it's indeed normal as most people wrote.

Dumbbells, Smith, barbells. They all work. They're all tools as a means to an end. Do what works for you. It's not rocket science.
law1777
post Mar 20 2013, 11:47 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ Mar 20 2013, 01:09 AM)

its ok u learnt the lesson. next time dont force yourself too much if u dont have a spotter/gym partner with you. now u know resting the bar on your chest is not gonna work, in fact its not good/correct to do so. if u lift heavy.. even 6-8reps r enough to 'kaboom' your muscles
wts6819
post Mar 21 2013, 10:20 PM

875 posts

I hate this. Seem that acne come out again at the back. sweat.gif
McDBigMaC
post Mar 22 2013, 11:08 PM

479 posts

Omg, cutting for 2 weeks, so low carbs i felt so weak and furious at the same time lol
law1777
post Mar 23 2013, 01:22 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Mar 22 2013, 11:08 PM)
Omg, cutting for 2 weeks, so low carbs i felt so weak and furious at the same time lol
u can have ONE bite of those rubbish food.. haha
shankar_dass93
post Mar 23 2013, 01:25 PM

2,955 posts

QUOTE(McDBigMaC @ Mar 22 2013, 11:08 PM)
Play around with your carbs but dont decrease it too much.

Damn, been ages since i visited this forun lol. rclxub.gif
mickey1991
post Mar 23 2013, 02:12 PM

XPS & Alienware Dealer
521 posts

how to play? lol
jimlim007
post Mar 23 2013, 04:40 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

did wrong on abs workout, inhale and bend body for 2 mth. does it really impact?
akiratm
post Mar 23 2013, 07:35 PM

595 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Mar 23 2013, 04:40 PM)
did wrong on abs workout, inhale and bend body for 2 mth. does it really impact?
Yes, it will make u get 10packs. Lol

The fact is NO
adix4
post Mar 23 2013, 09:47 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

ok i am still injured and this is getting frustrating

i feel like laying off all the weights and start doing pure calisthenics ( going to buy an olympic rings )

weightlifting feels useless without squats and deads

im dead serious
trainando
post Mar 25 2013, 03:22 PM

[quote=lopo90,Feb 5 2013, 10:32 PM]
Any tips on how to do squats for my quads and hamstring at home? Only have two 5kg dumbbells at home sweat.gif

you need to buy more dumbbells of higher weights..
That might be helpful
Ibrahimovic
post Mar 26 2013, 02:41 PM

*HolyHunk*
1,578 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Mar 23 2013, 09:47 PM)
ok i am still injured and this is getting frustrating

i feel like laying off all the weights and start doing pure calisthenics ( going to buy an olympic rings )

weightlifting feels useless without squats and deads

im dead serious
What happen adix? Is it your wrist? If you still can do bench and OHP you should really continue. Tapi kalau na buat calisthenic, r/bodyweightfitness/ is the best place to go.

Dont give up bro! icon_rolleyes.gif
adix4
post Mar 26 2013, 04:08 PM

ich bin eine Katze :3
1,254 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 26 2013, 02:41 PM)
What happen adix? Is it your wrist? If you still can do bench and OHP you should really continue. Tapi kalau na buat calisthenic, r/bodyweightfitness/ is the best place to go.

Dont give up bro!  icon_rolleyes.gif
lower back la bro ;_;

still tak elok

ingatkan dah hilang tingling dua minggu dah elok sekali bila squat 40kg je datang tingling doh.gif doh.gif

rasa nak bagi rest betul

rasanya nak gabung gymnastics and calisthenics, dah check dah reddit punya tu tapi most likely minat gymnastic lagi ;_;

GameFr3ak
post Mar 27 2013, 04:51 PM

3,849 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Mar 20 2013, 01:49 AM)
Dumbbells, Smith, barbells. They all work. They're all tools as a means to an end. Do what works for you. It's not rocket science.
Alright noted thanks.

QUOTE(law1777 @ Mar 20 2013, 11:47 AM)
its ok u learnt the lesson. next time dont force yourself too much if u dont have a spotter/gym partner with you. now u know resting the bar on your chest is not gonna work, in fact its not good/correct to do so. if u lift heavy.. even 6-8reps r enough to 'kaboom' your muscles
I've nvr went to the extend of going failure. But ya, learned my lesson there. I'm following Allpro's newbie routine. This includes adding reps every week. I'm on the fifth week (12 reps) and it doesn't look like I'm gonna make it.

I'm not gonna put on the clips next time, I could slide the weights off at least.
jimlim007
post Mar 27 2013, 05:31 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(akiratm @ Mar 23 2013, 07:35 PM)
Yes, it will make u get 10packs. Lol

The fact is NO
wahaha, met one of my fren (6 packs) told me abs is inhale and bend body; abs workout is opposite to chest of the sequence in/exhale. i fine tune again lol..

117 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 02:10 AM