Bodybuilding Thread V12, Bodybuilding Q&A

low yat 82
post Dec 16 2016, 08:28 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Dec 15 2016, 12:42 PM)
Wendler 531
ini maciam more to strength onli which defeat d purpose...

QUOTE(champlaos11 @ Dec 15 2016, 05:18 PM)
Layne Norton's PHAT or PH3. But it ain't 3 days though.
3days is all i had sweat.gif

QUOTE(Amedion @ Dec 15 2016, 05:23 PM)
Usually i just go for heaviest weight or AMRAP on compound followed by assistant work. No programs needed.

Quite happy la able to maintain it even with inconsistency.
hoho. but nowadays i prefer more structured schedule.

QUOTE(champlaos11 @ Dec 15 2016, 05:32 PM)
Or you could try Juggernaut (Chad Wesley Smith) - the Cowboy Method
Lol he said he wanted more towards hypertrophy  tongue.gif
can show links? d 1 i see is all ab squats ONLI. 3 days in a week of squats
low yat 82
post Dec 16 2016, 08:33 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

after some googling, m gonna go wit Jason Blaha's ICF 5x5 Novice Program. lets see how it goes.
Armesh
post Dec 17 2016, 03:22 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 16 2016, 08:33 AM)
after some googling, m gonna go wit Jason Blaha's ICF 5x5 Novice Program. lets see how it goes.
Rubbish. Pls write your own.
low yat 82
post Dec 17 2016, 11:31 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 17 2016, 03:22 PM)
Rubbish. Pls write your own.
lol. no time to think n tweak here n there. sweat.gif

or else u write 1 for me. need 3days program. main criteria is minimal works but optimal muscle growth.
degraw1993
post Dec 17 2016, 11:33 PM

1,892 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 17 2016, 11:31 PM)
lol. no time to think n tweak here n there.  sweat.gif

or else u write 1 for me. need 3days program. main criteria is minimal works but optimal muscle growth.
You serious troll or what bro? U want that guy to write for your own program? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Armesh
post Dec 17 2016, 11:57 PM

1,493 posts

QUOTE(low yat 82 @ Dec 17 2016, 11:31 PM)
lol. no time to think n tweak here n there.  sweat.gif

Oh no prob I got a few good templates in hand anyway. Btw the more sets you do (up to a optional point of course), the more/faster you will grow. So the "minimal" thing is not gonna be that good lol.
Check PM.

http://strengtheory.com/more-is-more/

http://strengtheory.com/the-new-approach-to-training-volume/

This post has been edited by Armesh: Dec 18 2016, 12:03 AM
low yat 82
post Dec 18 2016, 12:22 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(degraw1993 @ Dec 17 2016, 11:33 PM)
You serious troll or what bro? U want that guy to write for your own program?  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
hoho. y not. i also gib jason ICF a chance tongue.gif

QUOTE(Armesh @ Dec 17 2016, 11:57 PM)
Oh no prob I got a few good templates in hand anyway. Btw the more sets you do (up to a optional point of course), the more/faster you will grow. So the "minimal" thing is not gonna be that good lol.
Check PM.

http://strengtheory.com/more-is-more/

http://strengtheory.com/the-new-approach-to-training-volume/
i wish to hav dat amount of time to do more. but i dun hav. hmm.gif
fnoobcake
post Dec 18 2016, 04:39 PM

15 posts

Hi guys, want some advice - a summary of starting and current lifts :

Stats (5 sets x 5 reps)
Beginning (1st Workout) - 16th September 2015
Bodyweight : 73kg
Squats : 20kg (Empty bar)
Bench press : 20kg (Empty bar)
Deadlift : 40kg
Overhead Press : 15kg (Couldn't lift empty bar)
Barbell Row : 30kg

18 December 2016
5 X 5 reps, deadlift is 1x5
Squat :97.5 KG
Bench press : 67.5 KG
Overhead press : 47.5 KG
Deadlift : 120kg
Barbell rows : 62.5kg
Body weight : 72.5 kg, 176cm

Was on stronglifts for about 5 months, followed by metallidcadpa PPL for next 7 months.

I'm looking to hit that 1,2,3,4 plates (OHP, bench, squat, deadlift) for reps of 5 by end of 2017 (ie. 60,100,140,180 kg respectively). Im a bit conflicted on how to reach those goals - am looking for powerbuilding instead of pure bodybuiding/powerlifting.

Should i remain on PPL (linear progression for compounds) since my weights are still so low, or should i switch to another program as i think im plateuing slightly. Am considering between gzcl, 5/3/1 BBB, PHAT, or texas method? Any input from the sifus for a beginner like me?

This post has been edited by fnoobcake: Dec 18 2016, 04:40 PM
Npad
post Dec 20 2016, 03:36 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(fnoobcake @ Dec 18 2016, 04:39 PM)

Stats (5 sets x 5 reps)

18 December 2016

Was on stronglifts for about 5 months, followed by metallidcadpa PPL for next 7 months.

I'm looking to hit that 1,2,3,4 plates (OHP, bench, squat, deadlift) for reps of 5  by end of 2017 (ie. 60,100,140,180 kg respectively). Im a bit conflicted on how to reach those goals - am looking for powerbuilding instead of pure bodybuiding/powerlifting.

Should i remain on PPL (linear progression for compounds) since my weights are still so low, or should i switch to another program as i think im plateuing slightly. Am considering between gzcl, 5/3/1 BBB, PHAT, or texas method? Any input from the sifus for a beginner like me?
Hey man, I have some suggestion and I'll outline each one below:

2-suns 5/3/1 LP
- I have never run this program but the man himself claimed that he gained a lot of strength and size doing this program. It's linear progression and meant to help you milk your newbie gain for as long as you can. A lot of positive reviews in reddit.

5/3/1 BBB
- I highly suggest 5/3/1 BBB if you're looking to get big. It's simple to follow and really combines the best of both worlds, both in size and strength. However for this program you gotta bulk. Trying to cut on this program is a bit counterproductive. IMHO you should bulk. You're tall abut you're a bit lightweight. I think being in the 80+kg range would suit you a lot better in aesthetics and strength department.

GZCL
- GZCL is better if you're more versed in making your own program, i.e. you know what kind of movement your body reacts best to, you know your Maximum Recoverable Volume, you know your percentages and 1RM, etc. The training principle was inspired by 5/3/1 and Cody's style of programming focuses on the total number of reps per week. It would be best if you try one of the few free programs Cody has released recently. Check out his site here, he has a shit ton of program you can use to torture yourself with.

Another program you can consider is Hepburn method. I like the simplicity of it but to be honest I've never ran it before and I haven't read a lot of reviews about it so run at your own risk.

I'd recommend my own program if your goal didn't concentrate much on shoulders. I hate OHP and I don't like to train them. It impedes my recovery for bench so I avoid them. But if you'd like to try it out you can find them over at my log. I ran it twice already for 12 weeks and gotten stronger in the bench press and deadlift. As of the writing of this comment I haven't tested my squat so I can't tell if it worked well for my squat or not. These tests I did were done without a peaking phase so I'm sure if I did a proper peak and deload they would've been a bit higher. But yeah, here my current lifts:
Deadlift 153kg ----> 166kg
Bench press 82.5kg ----> 90kg
champlaos11
post Dec 21 2016, 08:16 AM

312 posts

Stats (5 sets x 5 reps)
18 December 2016

I'm looking to hit that 1,2,3,4 plates (OHP, bench, squat, deadlift) for reps of 5  by end of 2017 (ie. 60,100,140,180 kg respectively). Im a bit conflicted on how to reach those goals - am looking for powerbuilding instead of pure bodybuiding/powerlifting.

Everyone reacts differently to the program given. Some reacts better to hypertrophy but some not. So I think you can give those program a try yourself. There is no harm in trying and finding which program works best for you. Also it still depends on your time. How many days can you train in a week or so. So choose a program that is most convenient for you. I think most of them works as long as you have proper rest and nutrition.
henry1203
post Dec 27 2016, 10:37 PM

25 posts

Stats (5 sets x 5 reps)
18 December 2016

Hey! What is your training routine be like? confused.gif I mean like weekly and phases

How do you do in PPL for linear progression? Is PPL mean Push Pull Leg?

wavezard
post Dec 31 2016, 12:52 AM

394 posts

Hello guys, I recently started doing some workout (few days) to get a normal body shape, not those with big bicep etc, just regular body, or in a simple word a man's body. Medium biceps etc

It hard for me to do it as I lack discipline, so what I currently do is I integrate the workout with my hobby.

What I do is
I love to watch anime, So everytime before I stream a new 30minutes episode, I will

10 push up
15 squat
45 seconds plank
Sometimes at the morning I do HIIT, where I run as fast as I can for 20seconds and followed by slow run and repeat

My bodyweight is 72kg and my height is 1.75m
Does my routine works well? Everyday i watch 15+episodes average

Not to mention I only eat one big meal a day, and that big meal is rice (one fist size) and other dishes. If I hungry, either I just drink water or eat biscuits with milo

Lionel90
post Jan 4 2017, 04:11 PM

I lift! Or so I think..
2,239 posts

When I do pendlay rows, i feel more strain in my rear deltoids than i do on my lats/back, almost none in biceps..

Is this normal or what've i done wrongly again?
Npad
post Jan 5 2017, 05:20 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Dec 31 2016, 12:52 AM)
Hello guys, I recently started doing some workout (few days) to get a normal body shape, not those with big bicep etc, just regular body, or in a simple word a man's body. Medium biceps etc

It hard for me to do it as I lack discipline, so what I currently do is I integrate the workout with my hobby.

What I do is
I love to watch anime, So everytime before I stream a new 30minutes episode, I will

10 push up
15 squat
45 seconds plank
Sometimes at the morning I do HIIT, where I run as fast as I can for 20seconds and followed by slow run and repeat

Not to mention I only eat one big meal a day, and that big meal is rice (one fist size) and other dishes. If I hungry, either I just drink water or eat biscuits with milo
For real? 15+ episodes? Let me do the math here:

15x30= 450 min = 7.5 hours.

Is watching anime your day job?

Either way, your routine will not work well, if at all. It doesn't work your back. If you could throw in pull ups in there it will probably be better but to put it bluntly, the plan is shit. Get on a real routine and fix up your anime habits man, sounds like an addiction the way it is now.
wavezard
post Jan 5 2017, 06:22 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(Npad @ Jan 5 2017, 05:20 PM)
For real? 15+ episodes? Let me do the math here:

15x30= 450 min = 7.5 hours.

Is watching anime your day job?

Either way, your routine will not work well, if at all. It doesn't work your back. If you could throw in pull ups in there it will probably be better but to put it bluntly, the plan is shit. Get on a real routine and fix up your anime habits man, sounds like an addiction the way it is now.
After I started using this plan, the most I can get is 10episodes, average 5-6 since my body could not take the extra set. It is not a habit as Im a spm student, nothing to do at home. And currently i wanted to finish the series so bad.

I cannot do any pull ups as there are no equipment. What should I do to improve my routine? Tq bro
helven
post Jan 5 2017, 06:33 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

What I do is

10 push up
15 squat
45 seconds plank

To grow, u need to increase ur resistant to ur training, simplest one is a pair of dumbbell.
If you eat like typical malaysian eating habbit (mostly carbs), there are only 2 outcome, skinny fat or obese. Our food is soooo lacking of protein. Get you TDEE and follow the protein intake you need for 1 week u know the problem of eating style.

Your exercise, is just insufficient to do anything. Unless you're someone that is so gifted.
ZforZebra
post Jan 5 2017, 08:45 PM

172 posts

What I do is

10 push up
15 squat
45 seconds plank

Your diet sucks. Read stickies on diet. My 1 meal protein = ur whole day

Ur training wont progress. U will stay as you are. Need incremental trainings
Npad
post Jan 5 2017, 08:48 PM

356 posts

QUOTE(wavezard @ Jan 5 2017, 06:22 PM)
After I started using this plan, the most I can get is 10episodes, average 5-6 since my body could not take the extra set. It is not a habit as Im a spm student, nothing to do at home. And currently i wanted to finish the series so bad.

I cannot do any pull ups as there are no equipment. What should I do to improve my routine? Tq bro
Go to a gym and run a program. That's what I'd suggest. Nothing to do right in the afternoon? At 4pm or 5pm go to your neighborhood ghetto gym and do Stronglifts 5x5. Shouldn't take you longer than 45 mins. Still can't go to the gym? Expensive? Google bodyweight fitness and go to your neighborhood playground and do a proper workout.
wavezard
post Jan 5 2017, 10:46 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(Npad @ Jan 5 2017, 08:48 PM)
Go to a gym and run a program. That's what I'd suggest. Nothing to do right in the afternoon? At 4pm or 5pm go to your neighborhood ghetto gym and do Stronglifts 5x5. Shouldn't take you longer than 45 mins. Still can't go to the gym? Expensive? Google bodyweight fitness and go to your neighborhood playground and do a proper workout.
Thanks, another problem is transportation. Cannot go to gym, and my neighborhood doesnt have playground, only can jog
darklight79
post Jan 6 2017, 08:36 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Gawd. Some of y'all. So many excuses. You know what? Pick one which you can be the most consistent with in the most optimal way.
Paralysis by analysis. Don't.

117 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:16 AM