Feb 25 2013, 10:16 AM
6,160 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(razorboy @ Feb 25 2013, 12:06 AM) Going to failure as in? Do you mean that by deloading that we shy away from failure? A clear cut deload would be imo a 50% cut with lesser sets or skipping the gym altogether. Your version I would think is what I would do if I had a long day and still force myself to the gym. Or changing workout objectives from power to hypertrophy.Yeah, sorry I missed out on that. Let me clear up my pov of a deloading, Back off the usual weights by 20 - 30 % , slightly higher rep ranges ( I mean from moving from 4 - 6 to 6 - 8 etc ), ending a set with 2 - 4 reps left in the tank. I personally no longer go to failure, I might get really close to failure with single joint movements but not to the point of an all out set. Going to failure, deloading or not, hits the CNS really hard that it's just harder to recover. If you arent going to failure in the first place what difference does it make from a deload workout to a normal workout? And I dont think your cns is all that fragile. We got workout programs which include squats 5 days a week, heavy pr breaking ones at that. You should probably look into your recovery period and see what yyou could improve. |
Feb 25 2013, 10:55 AM
2,634 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(Nama saya Amad @ Feb 25 2013, 12:24 AM) Every 2 months sounds about right. QUOTE(mikehuan @ Feb 25 2013, 10:16 AM) A clear cut deload would be imo a 50% cut with lesser sets or skipping the gym altogether. Your version I would think is what I would do if I had a long day and still force myself to the gym. Or changing workout objectives from power to hypertrophy. Going to failure or not will still put a stress on one's CNS. The difference between a deload workout vs a normal workout is pretty clear cut (i.e : 85-95% of 1RM vs 70-80% of 1RM, Increased repetitions but NOT 20-30 rep sets, at least 2 - 3 reps left in the tank with each set). Going to failure stresses your body like mad, I'm not saying not going to failure doesn't. Yes, there are numerous high frequency, high volume training protocols out there, but deloading is a part of that protocol, the methods of deloading might be different but they're there. Either they do it every 8 - 10 workouts or 6 - 8 workouts. If you arent going to failure in the first place what difference does it make from a deload workout to a normal workout? And I dont think your cns is all that fragile. We got workout programs which include squats 5 days a week, heavy pr breaking ones at that. You should probably look into your recovery period and see what yyou could improve. The thing is, there's only so much your body can take, unless we're talking about inducing anabolic hormones, we're pretty limited in terms of recovery and progress over time. I'm not against skipping the gym altogether if you feel like horseshit for that day, I'm just saying, for every certain period of time of training, have a planned deload week. It wouldn't stress your CNS like you normally would but you'd still put your muscular system to work. An active recovery of sorts. Or we can skip the gym for the whole week. Nothing wrong with either. |
Feb 25 2013, 11:18 AM
QUOTE(razorboy @ Feb 25 2013, 10:55 AM) Every 2 months sounds about right. when did i say you shouldnt deload? what i was pointing out was that if you wanna deload, dont do so heavy, even if its active deload. you're pretty much saying that your normal workouts also leaves 2-4 reps in the tank. so whats the difference with a deload workout, aside from the lighter weights and more reps?Going to failure or not will still put a stress on one's CNS. The difference between a deload workout vs a normal workout is pretty clear cut (i.e : 85-95% of 1RM vs 70-80% of 1RM, Increased repetitions but NOT 20-30 rep sets, at least 2 - 3 reps left in the tank with each set). Going to failure stresses your body like mad, I'm not saying not going to failure doesn't. Yes, there are numerous high frequency, high volume training protocols out there, but deloading is a part of that protocol, the methods of deloading might be different but they're there. Either they do it every 8 - 10 workouts or 6 - 8 workouts. The thing is, there's only so much your body can take, unless we're talking about inducing anabolic hormones, we're pretty limited in terms of recovery and progress over time. I'm not against skipping the gym altogether if you feel like horseshit for that day, I'm just saying, for every certain period of time of training, have a planned deload week. It wouldn't stress your CNS like you normally would but you'd still put your muscular system to work. An active recovery of sorts. Or we can skip the gym for the whole week. Nothing wrong with either. |
Feb 25 2013, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Feb 25 2013, 11:18 AM) when did i say you shouldnt deload? what i was pointing out was that if you wanna deload, dont do so heavy, even if its active deload. you're pretty much saying that your normal workouts also leaves 2-4 reps in the tank. so whats the difference with a deload workout, aside from the lighter weights and more reps? QUOTE(razorboy @ Feb 25 2013, 10:55 AM) Every 2 months sounds about right. 1) 70 - 80% of 1RM instead of your usual 90% stuff.Going to failure or not will still put a stress on one's CNS. The difference between a deload workout vs a normal workout is pretty clear cut (i.e : 85-95% of 1RM vs 70-80% of 1RM, Increased repetitions but NOT 20-30 rep sets, at least 2 - 3 reps left in the tank with each set). Going to failure stresses your body like mad, I'm not saying not going to failure doesn't. Yes, there are numerous high frequency, high volume training protocols out there, but deloading is a part of that protocol, the methods of deloading might be different but they're there. Either they do it every 8 - 10 workouts or 6 - 8 workouts. The thing is, there's only so much your body can take, unless we're talking about inducing anabolic hormones, we're pretty limited in terms of recovery and progress over time. I'm not against skipping the gym altogether if you feel like horseshit for that day, I'm just saying, for every certain period of time of training, have a planned deload week. It wouldn't stress your CNS like you normally would but you'd still put your muscular system to work. An active recovery of sorts. Or we can skip the gym for the whole week. Nothing wrong with either. 2) higher rep ranges 3) 2 - 3 reps left in the tank with (1) and (2) -> no where close to failure That's a deload. 1) 80 - 95% of 1RM 2) Rep ranges slightly lower 3) 1 - 2 reps left in the tank. -> not hitting failure but very near to failure. The usual Bolded of your statement is also what I'm trying to say This post has been edited by razorboy: Feb 25 2013, 11:27 AM |
Feb 25 2013, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(razorboy @ Feb 25 2013, 11:27 AM) 1) 70 - 80% of 1RM instead of your usual 90% stuff. dude imo your deload is pretty heavy haha, for me at least. but meh i deload by avoiding the gym altogether so it doesnt really matter to me anyways. if it works, it works amirite2) higher rep ranges 3) 2 - 3 reps left in the tank with (1) and (2) -> no where close to failure That's a deload. 1) 80 - 95% of 1RM 2) Rep ranges slightly lower 3) 1 - 2 reps left in the tank. -> not hitting failure but very near to failure. The usual Bolded of your statement is also what I'm trying to say |
Feb 25 2013, 11:37 AM
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Feb 25 2013, 11:34 AM) dude imo your deload is pretty heavy haha, for me at least. but meh i deload by avoiding the gym altogether so it doesnt really matter to me anyways. if it works, it works amirite right on. not really heavy. I mean my numbers are pretty low so it's all right. And besides, my schedule suck ass, I only get to train every friday to sunday. I've got 4 days rest every week, in a row. |
Feb 25 2013, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(razorboy @ Feb 25 2013, 11:37 AM) right on. not really heavy. I mean my numbers are pretty low so it's all right. And besides, my schedule suck ass, I only get to train every friday to sunday. I've got 4 days rest every week, in a row. what kinda routine are you on? 3 days in a row sucks big time weih |
Feb 25 2013, 11:50 AM
QUOTE(mikehuan @ Feb 25 2013, 11:48 AM) legs, chest shoulder triceps, back and bis.i was on 4 day thing and that was tight, now it's even tighter, i literally have to cramp in everything, my workouts are bare minimum 90 minutes long. I'm usually so gassed half way through i chew on a granola bar or have a sugar drink half way through. |
Feb 25 2013, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(razorboy @ Feb 25 2013, 11:50 AM) legs, chest shoulder triceps, back and bis. yea would have probably split it the same way myself. heres an idea though, since you have a 4 day rest, you could do i was on 4 day thing and that was tight, now it's even tighter, i literally have to cramp in everything, my workouts are bare minimum 90 minutes long. I'm usually so gassed half way through i chew on a granola bar or have a sugar drink half way through. Week A usual workout Week B legs chest back shoulder arms ya know, just to give it a variety abit. however i myself would do legs on sunday so i wont kill myself doing deadlifts haha. |
Feb 25 2013, 09:05 PM
QUOTE(Narako @ Feb 25 2013, 10:00 AM) i personally don't think so, there's talk about mercury poisoning and all but IMHO everything is toxic now, even the air we're breathing. so just have your tuna and be done with it, I have it like all the time myself. not everyday but quite often.QUOTE(mikehuan @ Feb 25 2013, 11:59 AM) yea would have probably split it the same way myself. heres an idea though, since you have a 4 day rest, you could do I do my deads after my squats on leg days, usually just a whole lot of rowing on back days. I might just give your suggestion a try. I'm just hoping my schedule would clear up soon enough so I wouldn't be gassed that I have to drag myself out of the gym each time.Week A usual workout Week B legs chest back shoulder arms ya know, just to give it a variety abit. however i myself would do legs on sunday so i wont kill myself doing deadlifts haha. |
Feb 25 2013, 10:02 PM
3,849 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Your Location |
yesterday first time steppin into gym...
Bench press, pendlay row, squat now, mother of all soreness................ legs, back, chest.... jellified |
Feb 26 2013, 11:52 PM
1,190 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Ehh guys, is it viable to set a goal to dl 300lbs by say this June if my current 1RM is probably 220?
Or is it an unrealistic goal? |
Feb 27 2013, 12:14 AM
9,006 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: PJ |
Check out this asswipe.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear...sult_type=posts Pimping his products here:- http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2305051/+1140 |
Feb 27 2013, 12:09 PM
1,244 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Feb 27 2013, 01:14 AM) Check out this asswipe. http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Sear...sult_type=posts Pimping his products here:- http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2305051/+1140 |
Feb 27 2013, 03:11 PM
1,095 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Oggie Oggie Oggie!!! |
hey guys im newbie here, should i stretch myself if there is muscle sore after workout? one of my gym partner mentioned that dont do much stretching especially after workout cause it will loosen up your muscle and i was baffled by his statement. I reckon should i go for a swim for cardio during the rest period? Thanks!
Feb 27 2013, 04:14 PM
1,186 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
Feb 27 2013, 04:37 PM
14,082 posts Joined: Aug 2009 From: Malaysia |
Just a quick question to all those experienced/regular kaki here.
I've been hitting the gyms quite recently and rather satisfied with my progress. But I noticed however, the veins in my chest and arms region ( specifically pectoralis major and the region slightly below the biceps ) are beginning to appear more and more apparent. As I push on, would this veins appear as visible as they are currently? Sorry if this question had been asked before. Feel free to troll if there's anything wrong |
Feb 27 2013, 07:05 PM
3,854 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(DT1 @ Feb 27 2013, 04:14 PM) I personally tend to steer towards safety. Quite a number of gov bodies do have guidelines on this. Everyday is definitely out of the safe zone. You folks are just overthinking into it. Just eat, this part of the world, has less mercury.ANd most of us here been taking tuna, i mean tons of it, Last year for 6 months I used to take atleast 4-6 cans a day. Nowadays its about 2-3 cans a day. If there had been any issues, it would have been widely reported and our fellow Doctors here would have known. Just to give you the comfort level, read http://www.ayambrand.com.sg/tuna-benefits.html |
Feb 27 2013, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Feb 27 2013, 04:37 PM) Just a quick question to all those experienced/regular kaki here. its a good thingI've been hitting the gyms quite recently and rather satisfied with my progress. But I noticed however, the veins in my chest and arms region ( specifically pectoralis major and the region slightly below the biceps ) are beginning to appear more and more apparent. As I push on, would this veins appear as visible as they are currently? Sorry if this question had been asked before. Feel free to troll if there's anything wrong google vascularity |
| Change to: | 0.0310sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:57 PM |