Bodybuilding Thread V12, Bodybuilding Q&A

VeeJay
post Feb 5 2013, 10:40 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(shadowz @ Feb 5 2013, 09:44 PM)
So long as no injuries or physical problems... *touch wood* Google Ernestine Shepherd. She started bodybuilding at 71 years old - She turned 75 in 2012 wub.gif So inspirational! Has a body most 20 year olds would be jealous of. I don't expect to live past 80 but if I can be so capable and fit until my dying day that would be awesome thumbup.gif None of this becoming makcik makcik or too old to work out rubbish for me shakehead.gif

Edited to add: Got a pic of her!

[attachmentid=3297911]
sweat.gif  I think I will retire then la~ Will cheer you on as I get fat in the afterlife laugh.gif
my inspiration! She is just awesome...salute notworthy.gif

hmmm how long...as long as possible; if you make it as your lifestyle, it aint gonna be a problem. as you age, you will have alot ( i mean tons) of admire!
VeeJay
post Feb 5 2013, 10:46 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(kubuk)
I don't really like greg plitt's approach to stuff. Sure his physique is perfect but some of the things he do sounds stupid. Working out twice a day and stuff.
whats wrong with that? serious trainees with specific goals do workout out as such.
VeeJay
post Feb 13 2013, 04:35 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Feb 13 2013, 04:25 PM)
wanted to do MRI........

Cost me thousands

whhhhhhhhhhhhyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
what happened? MRI should cost around RM800-1200
VeeJay
post Feb 27 2013, 07:05 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(DT1 @ Feb 27 2013, 04:14 PM)
I personally tend to steer towards safety. Quite a number of gov bodies do have guidelines on this. Everyday is definitely out of the safe zone.
You folks are just overthinking into it. Just eat, this part of the world, has less mercury.

ANd most of us here been taking tuna, i mean tons of it, Last year for 6 months I used to take atleast 4-6 cans a day.

Nowadays its about 2-3 cans a day. If there had been any issues, it would have been widely reported and our fellow Doctors here would have known.

Just to give you the comfort level, read http://www.ayambrand.com.sg/tuna-benefits.html

VeeJay
post Apr 7 2014, 02:35 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(manapergi @ Apr 7 2014, 12:17 AM)
home or centre can't expect significant result so fast
If one has a bench and enough weights (200-300lbs the least), you would be able to cover majority of the exercise/intensity one does in the gym.

End of the day, its dedication and discipline, if you have that, you would go a long way!
VeeJay
post Apr 24 2014, 03:11 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(jamil sumbang. @ Apr 23 2014, 05:03 PM)
kalori byk2 nntii bukan bole gemuk ke? boroi aku naik balik nanti!  ohmy.gif
thx for concern bro. cuma takut teknik salah, tunggu 2 bulan xde apa beza je nnti.  ohmy.gif
xde duit nk g gym. pakai cara calisthenetics ghetto style je xleh ke? lgpun bkn nk sado2  sgt. just nk enhance cycling power je.  flex.gif
kalau cam tu, kena tingkatkan intensity senaman tu. Jalan itik, lompat katak, sekurang kurang (100m), 3-4 set se-senaman.

From certain age onwards, its not easy to maintain such exercise with intensity. Look at Dollah Saleh or Mokthar's peha, they are huge, because of the level of physical exercise they assert on them, including proper diet.

Weight training was not part of Msian exercise program, then, even now, its not well planned and included for footballers.
VeeJay
post May 20 2014, 11:08 AM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ May 20 2014, 03:06 AM)
Alright, time to bump this thread.

I wonder, how long do you guys usually rest between sets? I did some readings and experimented on myself. From what read, some say 30-60 secs, some 60-90 sec while some go 3-5mins.

Some said 3-5 mins for Strength training.
Some said 45-60 secs for Size.
Lastly, some said as long as needed to complete the next set (but not as long as 10 mins or until muscle went cold).

I personally timed my rest for about a min+. Some of my lifts struggled (mainly big movements). So I tried resting slightly longer, about 90 secs to 2 mins. The result was pretty good on my next set having to rest slightly longer.

So I hope some of you experienced lifters could chip in with your comments. Does it matter? Or it affects hypertrophy hyperplasia? Or it's actually better to allow sufficient ATP recovery to be able to perform the up coming set with max effort and efficiency?

Let's use common compound movement like (bench press, shoulder press) with programming of 3x8 at 75-80% 1RM as an example, and training for size.
It comes with experience, knowing how your body responses. It aint cast in stone.
Variation helps, though. The importance is, maintaining the intensity

This post has been edited by VeeJay: May 20 2014, 11:08 AM
VeeJay
post May 20 2014, 08:48 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ May 20 2014, 07:58 PM)
I always do straight sets for the sake of progression. It's hard for me to track properly with drop sets or pyramid sets. And yeah, I'll have to experiment more with rest time along with more research.
I was about to reply to your question above, but you have answered it! smile.gif

BTW, you should update your profile details in your Journal. I couldnt find your weight, height, and other details, food, etc.

How long have you been doing current routine and on the same load?

BTW, if you already had 1-2 yrs lifting under your belt, dont worry too much on form, during the last couple of reps or set. Add variation

From your log...

BB Benchpress
50kg x7
50kg x7
50kg x7

Suggest; To Try

25X12
30X10
35X8
40X8
50X7
55X5
60X3
65X3
30X10
VeeJay
post May 20 2014, 09:39 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ May 20 2014, 09:04 PM)

To me the key is variation, dont be monotonous and strict on on diet or regime.
Then you wont have a life. If you had check my Journal, you would know, how long I have been on it.
I'm no where perfect or any close to it, but I'm happy with myself.

If you want to make it as part of you lifestyle be sure to it easy and slow, dont rush, because you are not going to a competition. Go as much with solid food. Mix machine and free weights to your routine.
VeeJay
post May 20 2014, 10:31 PM

3,854 posts

QUOTE(GameFr3ak @ May 20 2014, 09:59 PM)
Ah good stuff. I'm actually adapting this as a lifestyle. I'm not really all that brown rice, sweet potato, boiled chicken kinda guy. I get your point. Thanks man.
The other point I would like to add is visualize before your workput. Your muscle memory and CNS comes to play here.
Visualize your last weight was not the max, you are able to go much above that. You are gonna push one notch up from last lift. Last week (day) lift aint your max and was not difficult.

Keep your motivation up with proper discipline and learn to experiment, dont be afraid, if you put on a little weight or lost of muscle. This is one area, I would really admire DL. Over the years here, I have seen him push while being highly motivated because he was willing to break the rules, experiment and go beyond.

Many would have said its impossible or he is on ....

This post has been edited by VeeJay: May 20 2014, 10:32 PM

0.0720sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:47 PM