128 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

Cycling V5 aka 8888 CNY HUAT ah!, General talks on Racing/road bikes

mrjgx
post Feb 28 2013, 01:27 PM

59 posts

Is it hard to built your own wheels? I mean doing it myself. My technical bike know-how is somewhat limited to the basic stuff only. Wheelbuilding seems interesting yet complicated.

This post has been edited by mrjgx: Feb 28 2013, 01:28 PM
miaopurr
post Feb 28 2013, 01:32 PM

587 posts

it takes experience i guess. the first time i tried truing a wheel (lateral and hoop) properly, it took me 3 hours!
Oblivon
post Feb 28 2013, 02:24 PM

138 posts

Had my road bike excess steerer tube on top cut off and replaced new chain (own chain), got charged for 40 ringgit.

Just wanna ask sifus' here, am i kena slaughtered or the price is normal ?

butthead
post Feb 28 2013, 02:26 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(mrjgx @ Feb 28 2013, 01:27 PM)
Is it hard to built your own wheels? I mean doing it myself. My technical bike know-how is somewhat limited to the basic stuff only. Wheelbuilding seems interesting yet complicated.
lacing is not hard unless you want super complicated crossing or mix crossing on the rear wheel...

you can read this... easiest to understand among the couple of books i read...you can DL an illegal copy if you google hard enough...

http://www.wheelpro.co.uk/wheelbuilding/book.php

truing is another thing... getting the wheel arrow straight is not hard... but getting all the spokes tensioned properly and the same is hard and requires experience...

with new wheels like zipp... i don't suggest you true it yourself as over tensioning might crack the rim even though it has nipple washers in..
butthead
post Feb 28 2013, 02:27 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Feb 28 2013, 12:01 PM)
that's sooooo cool
the milf?
butthead
post Feb 28 2013, 02:45 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Oblivon @ Feb 28 2013, 02:24 PM)
Had my road bike excess steerer tube on top cut off and replaced new chain (own chain), got charged for 40 ringgit.

Just wanna ask sifus' here, am i kena slaughtered or the price is normal ?
the shop you bought your bike from???

else, i think it is more or less there especially when you didn't buy your replacement chain from there.,..

different shops might charge differently but there is no set way on how to charge especially when you are asking them to work on more than 1 item...

usually, some shops might have a chart to say how they charge for each type of service.. but when you combine a few items, they might charge in one lump sump instead of combining all the items as it would result in too high a cost...
Oblivon
post Feb 28 2013, 03:42 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Feb 28 2013, 02:45 PM)
the shop you bought your bike from???

else, i think it is more or less there especially when you didn't buy your replacement chain from there.,..

different shops might charge differently but there is no set way on how to charge especially when you are asking them to work on more than 1 item...

usually, some shops might have a chart to say how they charge for each type of service.. but when you combine a few items, they might charge in one lump sump instead of combining all the items as it would result in too high a cost...
not from the shop i got the bike from though, a newly made friend's shop doh.gif kinda shocked when he mentioned the price. should have gotten myself 10 ringgit chain tool and do it myself. Not sure why he doesnt follow the length of the old chain then transfer that measurement to the new one but instead he started it from scratch.
butthead
post Feb 28 2013, 04:15 PM

593 posts

i think the question is how much did you expect to be charged? RM10 for both things or RM20... i think RM30 would be acceptable by my standard and RM40 frankly, maybe a bit on the high side but not yet considered over-charging...furthermore, it is not the shop that you bought it from or it would have been free most likely if it is still within a certain period of time...

i haven't seen an RM10 chain tool before...

there are many things that i guess we can do for a whole lot lesser amount if you are to scrutinize the amount they charge... but something as simple as doing a good job on cutting the steerer tube will require a saw guide, a saw, a file to smoothen the edges which would have costed more than RM20 if you consider to buy it...and that would be for a one off use...

that is not accounting on if you know how to gauge where to saw as you have to take into the account the stem stack and cut it lower so the stem cap can sit in and yet not too low that your upper bolt (if you have a 2 bolt stem) could not clamp on...

chain tool on the other hand arguably can be re-used as your tool on the road...

i don't know why he didn't used back the same length as previous chain but i speculate it is most likely due to the fact that the previous chain might be too long or too short...

there is a standard way to measure how many links you need on a new chain

http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-help/chain-length-sizing

usually bike shops will do this rather than follow back the amount of links you have on the old chain as you could have shorten it because some links got broken and you took it off during a chain snap or other factors...

This post has been edited by butthead: Feb 28 2013, 04:20 PM
butthead
post Feb 28 2013, 04:22 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(Oblivon @ Feb 28 2013, 03:42 PM)
not from the shop i got the bike from though, a newly made friend's shop doh.gif  kinda shocked when he mentioned the price.
this teaches you to ask price first before doing or else don't regret how much they charge you...

even car service centers also will give the car owner a black and white form on the agreed price to sign off before they begin work to prevent disputes after the service has been completed...
hianboy
post Feb 28 2013, 06:21 PM

364 posts

recent hot topic... i came out mine...

This post has been edited by hianboy: Feb 28 2013, 06:23 PM
butthead
post Feb 28 2013, 06:30 PM

593 posts

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 28 2013, 06:21 PM)

go gundam thread lar... here only allow leg powered 2 wheelers and MILF topic...
miaopurr
post Feb 28 2013, 07:55 PM

587 posts

i think jensie crashed into that bridge la... causing it to collapse

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Feb 28 2013, 07:55 PM
butthead
post Mar 1 2013, 01:42 AM

593 posts

jensie vs. gundam??? no way!!!
miaopurr
post Mar 1 2013, 08:24 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(butthead @ Mar 1 2013, 01:42 AM)
jensie vs. gundam??? no way!!!
and chuck norris joined in and did a roundhouse kick. d n

This post has been edited by miaopurr: Mar 1 2013, 08:25 AM
lot101
post Mar 1 2013, 09:46 AM

Apa got sing sing one......
603 posts

The state of service of Malaysian businesses is in disrepair.......to the many 'sikal shop I have been to, only one manage to piss me off by providing good service. After paying more then rm600 for a fork the owner told me 'RM$50 to fit the fork', I am sure Samy wouldnt rape my wallet like that.

Plus I saw the XX1 grouppo. The size of the cassette, almost dinner plate besar. The drop from 11th gear to 10th is cliff hanging tall. Granted i am inexperienced.

QUOTE(hianboy @ Feb 28 2013, 06:21 PM)

sweet

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 1 2013, 08:24 AM)
and chuck norris joined in and did a roundhouse kick. d n
I see your Chuck Norris and raise you one Serkan Yilmaz
butthead
post Mar 1 2013, 09:50 AM

593 posts

where is John McClane???

the mother of all bad asses...

he told terminator that "you've been back enough, i'll be back"

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 1 2013, 09:56 AM
butthead
post Mar 1 2013, 10:13 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(lot101 @ Mar 1 2013, 09:46 AM)
The state of service of Malaysian businesses is in disrepair.......to the many 'sikal shop I have been to, only one manage to piss me off by providing good service. After paying more then rm600 for a fork the owner told me 'RM$50 to fit the fork', I am sure Samy wouldnt rape my wallet like that.
piss you off by providing good service??? good service or "good service"

haiyah... tats why you have to choose your shop properly and stick to them... when comes the time, you use your loyalty to threaten them for things... like let's say you bought a fork that they don't sell from shop B and you went to shop A that you have stayed loyal to for a long time... i believe you can threaten them for free service...

miaopurr
post Mar 1 2013, 10:20 AM

587 posts

no way... u guys can't be serious. nobody tops chuck norris!
hianboy
post Mar 1 2013, 10:41 AM

364 posts

Now i only aware that Chuck Norris sounds like Chicken Little...
butthead
post Mar 1 2013, 11:07 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(miaopurr @ Mar 1 2013, 10:20 AM)
no way... u guys can't be serious. nobody tops chuck norris!
chuck norris didn't say "yipee ki yay muthaf@cka"

that alone warrants the "bad ass" title of the century...

and in the 4th installment of the series... he said it while firing a gun onto himself...

TOTAL BADASS....

and to re-inforce my statement about John McClane... he blew up a tower in the first installment of the series, an airport on the 2nd, blew up streets and city blocks on the 3rd and the 4th an entire city...

chucks norris on fly kicked a couple of buggers around and he got whooped by none other than bruce lee...and bruce did not say yipee ki tat muthaflippa either...

JOHN MCCLANE... receives my vote forever and ever...as a badass

and you know wat... he married Demi Moore who is still a hottie now which he divorced many years ago and re-married Ashton Kutcher which he attended their wedding... would a sobbing bald man do that??? NO!!! would chuck norris lived up to a divorce and attended his ex-wife's wedding like she was his BFF??? NO!!!

JOHN MCCLANE Did just that... BAR NONE!!!

This post has been edited by butthead: Mar 1 2013, 11:11 AM

128 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:05 PM