Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V6, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

wKkaY
post Mar 29 2013, 10:24 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

Is it ok to make available too much vegetables? My RES can't seem to stop eating romaine leaves...
SAMPERTH
post Mar 30 2013, 09:02 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 29 2013, 11:24 PM)
Is it ok to make available too much vegetables? My RES can't seem to stop eating romaine leaves...
Res become more vegetarian as they age or they should in theory ( but in captivity they eat what we feed )

Cheers
mozambique
post Mar 31 2013, 12:51 AM

Hi All Sifus,

Please assist me to determine the gender of these tortoises.

Pic 1 - 4 are Leopard, and Pic 5 - 6 are Sulcata.

Thank you in advance.. thumbup.gif

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
SAMPERTH
post Mar 31 2013, 03:25 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Mar 31 2013, 01:51 AM)
Hi All Sifus,

Please assist me to determine the gender of these tortoises.

Pic 1 - 4 are Leopard, and Pic 5 - 6 are Sulcata.

Thank you in advance..  thumbup.gif
Leo - M , cant see , F , M
Sulcata looks 2 F

But these just by pictures so not 100% OK

Cheers
lianazaman
post Apr 1 2013, 03:08 AM

66 posts

What is this sickness and how to treat it?

Hi all,

Bought a pair of Red-Eared Sliders from a petshop in Seremban 2, Xia Loong Aqua Pets Centre. The petshop gave us the basic amenities in rearing pet tortoises.

Recently I saw the male was very sluggish. The water is changed daily, food provided ( floating pellets and live feeder fish). The female was agressive and active.

Toto ( male) and Toti (female), if I'm not wrong. Toti frequently like to stack ontop of Toto, which...is that normal? female ontop of male? Is there some sort of hierarchy?

Since Toto is not so active, I check his body thoroughly. Then I notice something swollen or bulging under his arms/front leg/elbow? :

My sister said cancer shocking.gif

I will try calling my vet, but the possibility is slim, as they mostly attend to cats and dogs ( living nearby Senawang, thats the most adopted pets around).

help?

This post has been edited by lianazaman: Apr 1 2013, 03:10 AM
mozambique
post Apr 1 2013, 07:58 AM

QUOTE(lianazaman @ Apr 1 2013, 03:08 AM)
What is this sickness and how to treat it?

Hi all,

Bought a pair of Red-Eared Sliders from a petshop in Seremban 2, Xia Loong Aqua Pets Centre. The petshop gave us the basic amenities in rearing pet tortoises.

Recently I saw the male was very sluggish. The water is changed daily, food provided ( floating pellets and live feeder fish). The female was agressive and active.

Toto ( male) and Toti (female), if I'm not wrong. Toti frequently like to stack ontop of Toto, which...is that normal? female ontop of male? Is there some sort of hierarchy?

Since Toto is not so active, I check his body thoroughly. Then I notice something swollen or bulging under his arms/front leg/elbow? :

My sister said cancer  shocking.gif

I will try calling my vet, but the possibility is slim, as they mostly attend to cats and dogs ( living nearby Senawang, thats the most adopted pets around).

help?
My knowledge is limited. Thus, I can't help much.
I do know of a vet who was from Zoo Negera.
Please call him before you go:
Dr.S.Vellayan (call him before you go)
Mobile: 6013-6246918
Home: 603-41085530
Add: 10, Jalan L2, Taman Melawati, KL (house + Clinic)
Cheers.. biggrin.gif
mozambique
post Apr 1 2013, 08:02 AM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Mar 31 2013, 03:25 PM)
Leo - M , cant see , F , M
Sulcata looks 2 F

But these just by pictures so not 100% OK

Cheers
Hi Sifu SAMPERTH,

Apologize but I don't really know what you mean, "Leo - M, cant see, F , M"? hmm.gif
There are 4 leopard in total (Pic 1 - 4). Do you roughly know their gender. I am thinking to get 1 male & 1 female.
Tq in advance.. smile.gif

mic_tcs
post Apr 1 2013, 12:00 PM

Bro mozambique, what SAMPERTH meant is
1 - Male
2 - can't see from the pic
3 - female
4 - Male..

mozambique
post Apr 1 2013, 02:18 PM

QUOTE(mic_tcs @ Apr 1 2013, 12:00 PM)
1 - Male
3 - female
4 - Male..

LOL.. blush.gif

How stupid can I be..

Tks!! thumbup.gif
SAMPERTH
post Apr 1 2013, 02:37 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(mic_tcs @ Apr 1 2013, 01:00 PM)
1 - Male
3 - female
4 - Male..

Thanks for clearing !!

Cheers
ADEXXXX
post Apr 2 2013, 09:11 PM

154 posts

wow, how big is your torts?? hmm.gif
mozambique
post Apr 2 2013, 09:15 PM

QUOTE(ADEXXXX @ Apr 2 2013, 09:11 PM)

wow, how big is your torts?? hmm.gif
Not mine, just thinking to get them.

7 - 9 inch.. drool.gif
ADEXXXX
post Apr 2 2013, 09:17 PM

154 posts

ic, mine is around 5 inch (sulcata) thinking to keep leopard tort.
dont know whether issit easy like sulacata or not?
mozambique
post Apr 3 2013, 07:56 AM

QUOTE(ADEXXXX @ Apr 2 2013, 09:17 PM)
ic, mine is around 5 inch (sulcata) thinking to keep leopard tort.
dont know whether issit easy like sulacata or not?
From my read up on the internet, leopard should be quite ok (as long as we take care of the temperature, humidity, diet, etc).

Main issue is they can become quite big. Thus, we must have enough space to keep them roaming around..

Mine to post up your sulcata pic? rclxms.gif
kyox88
post Apr 3 2013, 09:36 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 1 2013, 02:37 PM)
Thanks for clearing !!

Cheers
Mr Samperth, is there any pet shop@ aquarium in tawau? i managed to find one in Kubota Square, but they only sell dogs...tq in advance
SAMPERTH
post Apr 4 2013, 05:59 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(kyox88 @ Apr 3 2013, 10:36 PM)
Mr Samperth, is there any pet shop@ aquarium in tawau? i managed to find one in Kubota Square, but they only sell dogs...tq in advance
Passing thru tawau ?
Fur pets - nicholas pet in sin onn , statepets in farjar and jalan chong thien vun

Fish - discus aquarium near eastern plaza in takada , jin jin fish and tackle in taman bintang

Cheers

-------------------------
Sandakan may be better for reptiles !!

This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Apr 4 2013, 06:00 AM
kyox88
post Apr 4 2013, 01:57 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 4 2013, 05:59 AM)
Passing thru tawau ?
Fur pets - nicholas pet in sin onn , statepets in farjar and jalan chong thien vun

Fish - discus aquarium near eastern plaza in takada , jin jin fish and tackle in taman bintang
Cheers

-------------------------
Sandakan may be better for reptiles !!
alright thank you so much for the info! smile.gif cannot go to sandakan coz quite far from semporna..I can only go to Tawau haha...
mozambique
post Apr 5 2013, 11:15 AM

Hi Sifu,

I have a question over here.

When I bought my 2 star tortoises, they were about about the same size. The difference was only about 0.5 inch with the male bigger in size.

After 8 months, the male has grown another inch (about 2.5 cm), but the female has only grown 0.4 cm. Now when I look at them, I can see the difference very obviously.. rclxub.gif

The female is actually eating fine. Only thing is she has sprayed legs. I also notice the male has a nicer shell.

What is the reason/ cause for this slow growth in the female star? icon_question.gif

Tq in advance.

SAMPERTH
post Apr 5 2013, 12:00 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(mozambique @ Apr 5 2013, 12:15 PM)
Hi Sifu,

I have a question over here.

When I bought my 2 star tortoises, they were about about the same size. The difference was only about 0.5 inch with the male bigger in size.

After 8 months, the male has grown another inch (about 2.5 cm), but the female has only grown 0.4 cm. Now when I look at them, I can see the difference very obviously..  rclxub.gif

The female is actually eating fine. Only thing is she has sprayed legs. I also notice the male has a nicer shell.

What is the reason/ cause for this slow growth in the female star?  icon_question.gif

Tq in advance.
How big are they now ? How sure are you on their sexes ?

Cheers
mozambique
post Apr 5 2013, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Apr 5 2013, 12:00 PM)
How big are they now ? How sure are you on their sexes ?

Cheers
Hi SAMPERTH,

The male is about 6 inches (15cm) and female is about slightly over 5 inches (12.8cm). Length is not the only difference. The width is very obvious as well.

I will post up the latest pic of them side by side later when I am back home.

I am not 100% sure, just based on what I read online and by the seller.

Attached is the pic I took on July 2012.

Cheers.. rclxms.gif

57 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:13 AM