estage9
post Feb 21 2013, 01:16 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 20 2013, 09:30 PM)
Ohhh oto aaa...
I bought a Golden Algae Eater.
Than next day I bought a Chinese Algae Eater.

In the end I took back a Chinese loach from my gf's aquarium lol~~~

All very hardworking in cleaning algae.
My tank got 9 Neon Tetra but 1 died today.
2 Cherry Barbs
4 X-ray Tetra
and 2 Zebra Danio.

Hehe... I wanted Cardinal Tetra but can't find in a lot LFS.
The one I know got sell not yet open yet.

I will upload my tank photo once the plants starts to grow more.
Still to little now.

You can pay a visit to Xien Leng Aquarium, Shah Alam.
Currently they sell them with RM2/each.
kkwjustin
post Feb 21 2013, 01:21 AM

QUOTE(estage9 @ Feb 21 2013, 12:01 AM)
Sifus,

I need icon_question.gif , I got algae intrusion on top of my newly planted Riccia!!!  doh.gif

1) What kind of algae is this?
2) How do I get rid of it? Should I just remove the net?
3) What cause this happened, too much light or CO2? (Or is this normal since the age of the tank just 3weeks old)

Thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
Green Hair Algae, i think its caused by unstable co2 and overly long lighting period because I've had that on my riccia too. I am using a manual co2 regulator and when i got my co2 output right the algae didnt return.

I could be wrong, but it worked for me smile.gif Hope this helps!

Im on a 45cm aquarium, 2bps and 7hrs of lighting smile.gif
varialmctwist
post Feb 21 2013, 01:41 AM

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 11:28 PM)
well, many aqua hobbyist that i know also try to achieve a slightly yellowish indicator, this is obviously a good sign for plants, however, for fishes? well, as long as you don't see them gasping for oxygen on the surface, that would suffice, and you must have a very well circulated tank, so both the oxygen and carbon dioxide can circulate well in every corners of your tank.
where can i get 4dkh solution?any LFS sell this solution?

no, what i did was, first week about 4 hours... 2nd week about 5 hours, 3rd week about 6 hours, then i now capped at 8 hours or less for photo period.
i see...i will follow ur lighting regime..just set my timer to 4 hours..
estage9
post Feb 21 2013, 02:07 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(kkwjustin @ Feb 21 2013, 01:21 AM)
Green Hair Algae, i think its caused by unstable co2 and overly long lighting period because I've had that on my riccia too. I am using a manual co2 regulator and when i got my co2 output right the algae didnt return.

I could be wrong, but it worked for me smile.gif Hope this helps!

Im on a 45cm aquarium, 2bps and 7hrs of lighting smile.gif
Hmmm...., I was set the timer for CO2 and light from 9:00am to 7:30pm with 1bps and my CO2 indicator was shown in green color.

Then I have to reduce the time duration of it. So I just leave it as it is?
Will the Otto can help?
-kytz-
post Feb 21 2013, 02:12 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 11:35 PM)
you are welcome my friend... take a bit of time, think of what you wanna achieve, dont just rush into things.... it might not turn out great...

well, small tanks can also turn out to be a world class beater tank, but it is way harder to maintain due to its low volume and very small room for error that might fatal your whole tank...

we always suggest 2ft as a starter...

iwagumi hiding spots are only behind those rocks, unless you have another tall background plants that enable them to hide, like the one in your picture. what plants are easier to grow and maintain? hmmm, i would say most of the plants are not so hard to grow when you have everything right for them, lighting, co2, temperature and etc... but maintaining? it depends on you, weekly water changes consider a must for myself, but you surely will face some algae issue... take it slow and steady....

if you are interested in iwagumi, you can try glosso, hc, mini hairgrass etc...

for the water in water out (WIWO) method, it's not in my picture, those are inlets and outlets for my filter.

WIWO simply means pumping water into the tank and meanwhile you have water being sucked out from another end, this enable you to get crystal clear water say after an hour or 2. instant result, and this is only for one time during the initial setup stage.
Thanks again buddy smile.gif

I'll try to see what I can do with my 3 gallon tank first.

I know the front grass is glosso but what about the back? Want that tall grass behind to conceal my filter water intake nozzle tongue.gif

And what soil is recommended for both type of grass ah? icon_question.gif

Thanks again notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Feb 21 2013, 04:40 AM
arrow
post Feb 21 2013, 02:33 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 20 2013, 10:33 PM)
found this today.. anyone tried this before? any reviews?
this fan is noisy and underpower, get the Dymax fan better or the UP aqua fan.
EmilyEmily
post Feb 21 2013, 03:29 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(arrow @ Feb 21 2013, 02:33 AM)
this fan is noisy and underpower, get the Dymax fan better or the UP aqua fan.
alright.. i'll look for DIY fan 1st.. if i cant get any then i'll consider those smile.gif thanks
monoeye
post Feb 21 2013, 08:06 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 21 2013, 02:12 AM)

I know the front grass is glosso but what about the back? Want that tall grass behind to conceal my filter water intake nozzle tongue.gif

Thanks again notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
japanese hairgrass i think. can try google image it.

not an expert. just trying to help.

This post has been edited by monoeye: Feb 21 2013, 08:06 AM
sisaiko
post Feb 21 2013, 09:29 AM

QUOTE(estage9 @ Feb 21 2013, 02:07 AM)
Hmmm...., I was set the timer for CO2 and light from 9:00am to 7:30pm with 1bps and my CO2 indicator was shown in green color.

Will the Otto can help?
otto will not eat this algae, they dont have teeth huhu...yamato/malaya or sae will help

ur lighting period too long...try reduce to 6hrs at this moment...increase ur co2 2bps....until the algae gone
make sure ur turn on co2 1hour b4 light on, offf co2 1/2 before light off

This post has been edited by sisaiko: Feb 21 2013, 09:30 AM
sisaiko
post Feb 21 2013, 09:33 AM

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 21 2013, 02:12 AM)

Thanks again notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
are u sure its glosso?
looks like mini pellia....

behind u can use normal hair grass...let it grow tall....since the tank is not too high
forgot how to spell normal hair grass e. acicularis
varialmctwist
post Feb 21 2013, 09:45 AM

anyone using taiyo canister filters? want to get one lah...no money to get eheim...hahaha
sisaiko
post Feb 21 2013, 11:08 AM

taiyo, jebo, ejet most same quality...
but jebo come with 3mths warranty at least
syafiq_lomotech
post Feb 21 2013, 11:18 AM

my anubias have chocolate/brown at the tip of the leaf. why? but my pegaga green well.
sisaiko
post Feb 21 2013, 11:25 AM

many leave or 1 leaf?
syafiq_lomotech
post Feb 21 2013, 11:26 AM

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Feb 21 2013, 11:25 AM)
many leave or 1 leaf?
many leaf. but anubias only. moss/pegaga ok
macam lack of something.

ps ur shop have fert tak bro?
kkwjustin
post Feb 21 2013, 11:31 AM

QUOTE(estage9 @ Feb 21 2013, 02:07 AM)

Will the Otto can help?
Lighting period too long le, increase ur co2 bps or, reduce lighting period. Lighting period and co2 bps need to match. Ottos, won't eat this algae. They just sleep on it lol. tongue.gif Maybe other sorts of shrimps.. im not too sure myself.
kkwjustin
post Feb 21 2013, 11:37 AM

QUOTE(sisaiko @ Feb 21 2013, 09:33 AM)
are u sure its glosso?
looks like mini pellia....

behind u can use normal hair grass...let it grow tall....since the tank is not too high
forgot how to spell normal hair grass e. acicularis
Haha, are u sure its mini pelia?
looks like dwarf riccia on stones biggrin.gif

"I've attached my portions of Riccia sp. "Dwarf" to 8 x ADA Riccia Stones." pg8, post #76
Dwarf Riccia

TSqz4eva
post Feb 21 2013, 12:40 PM

743 posts

Guys...
N not forgetting sis also...

Today I saw my fishes attacking something... .. .
And it was a SNAIL!

Where did the snail come from? My plants?
Dun tell me Amazonia got snails inside...
My fishes cannot eat the snail coz their mouth too small...

Here is a photo of the snail.
Please help me identify if its a good snail or bad snail.
If bad snail I gona bring to my gf house and let her puffer eat...

Anyways its a small small snail and so hard to take its photo...

LOL~~~
Thanks...

syafiq_lomotech
post Feb 21 2013, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 21 2013, 12:40 PM)
Guys...
N not forgetting sis also...

Today I saw my fishes attacking something... .. .
And it was a SNAIL!

Where did the snail come from? My plants?
Dun tell me Amazonia got snails inside...
My fishes cannot eat the snail coz their mouth too small...

Here is a photo of the snail.
Please help me identify if its a good snail or bad snail.
If bad snail I gona bring to my gf house and let her puffer eat...

Anyways its a small small snail and so hard to take its photo...

LOL~~~
Thanks...

bladder snail i think. i have pair of them in my tank. until now ok.
TSqz4eva
post Feb 21 2013, 01:33 PM

743 posts

Should I Exterminate them or let them live...

126 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.20    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:44 AM