Planted Aquarium V11

varialmctwist
post Feb 20 2013, 10:44 PM

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 20 2013, 09:30 PM)
Ohhh oto aaa...
I bought a Golden Algae Eater.
Than next day I bought a Chinese Algae Eater.

In the end I took back a Chinese loach from my gf's aquarium lol~~~

All very hardworking in cleaning algae.
My tank got 9 Neon Tetra but 1 died today.
2 Cherry Barbs
4 X-ray Tetra
and 2 Zebra Danio.

Hehe... I wanted Cardinal Tetra but can't find in a lot LFS.
The one I know got sell not yet open yet.

I will upload my tank photo once the plants starts to grow more.
Still to little now.

previous got 2 GAE...it so agressive..eat one of my neon tetras..this fellow quite active also..one time he jumped outside the tank...luckily i did notice..one crazy GAE...
TSqz4eva
post Feb 20 2013, 11:04 PM

743 posts

Ya I heard GAE kinda risky.

But my GAE very scared one... Always hiding and run away...
LOL...
-kytz-
post Feb 20 2013, 11:14 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 09:39 PM)
Dear kytz,

If you are serious about fish keeping, may i ask if you are intending to have planted aquarium since this is planted aquarium thread, but of course, we would love to answer anything about fish keeping if we can help.

may I suggest you something, totally tear off your tank first.

1) do you want to have a planted tank? with soil? with holland sand? or just some "easy to take care" type of plants tied to driftwood, or mosses on wood or rocks?

2) then identify what kind of set up you would like to have in your tank? for example, iwagumi, island type setup or what?

3) after identifying your potential setup, gather the necessary to start off, i.e. driftwood, rocks, or any other hardscape.

4) after all hardscape are ready, start putting them into your tank in an organizing way as close to your potential scape as possible.

5) fill water, if you want crystal clear water, do "water-in, water-out" method.

6) run filter, fan 24hrs. lighting, co2 system as per schedule, about 4 hours during the initial week, increase lighting and co2 period for an extra hour subsequently during the next 3 weeks or so, being 7-8 hours the max photoperiod for your tank.

7) let your tank cycle completely first. previous, i think arrow has posted a few links about tank cycling... this is so so so so IMPORTANT!

8) after about 2 weeks, clean up crew may go in to the tank first (Otto, SAE etc...)

9) after about 3 weeks or a month, you may start stocking livestocks already.... (Guppy, tetra, angel fish, or even arowana but definitely not goldfish)  rclxub.gif
usually, your tank would have been properly cycled for this period, you must have the patience during the initial stage, for you to see a relatively stable tank for near future.

this is why you always see a family happily buy tank,a cheap rm1 anti-chlorine, lights, filter and fish, then come back few days later complaining all fishes died... a classic example is your cute little pearscale gold fish.

explanation for the above is for planted tank setup, but even i do the same for my non planted tank setup.

In my opinion, I dont think there's a need for those test kits, it's a luxury to have of course, but i think the RM100 spend on test kits would have been better spent elsewhere. As for my case, I have never use any test kit before except for the co2 indicator which comes together during my purchase of my co2 system. My tank has a very low death rate of fishes except for those jumped out, maybe due to stress, non stable water condition/parameter or maybe my tank water was too high, about 0.5cm from the tank top.

a food for thought for newbie, pls select nice edged tank, not those curved tank that usually comes with filter/lighting, those lighting is not sufficient most of the time. preferably white colour or almost transparent colour glass glue, black colour are not so nice, IMO. like the one bought buy a forumer for RM25 from xian leng or somewhere.

feel free to ask more question, we would love to help!

just for sharing.
initial setup of my tank.

close to 3 months down the road.
I can't tell how much I thank you for knocking some sense into me thumbup.gif

I've just cleaned off my entire aquarium and it's empty now. Yeah, I would love to have a nice planted aquarium, the Iwagumi style of aquascapping is pretty damn nice. I think usually more suited for bigger tanks right? Mine's a 3 gallon only, I did google, and this person came up with a nice setup for it:

http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumap...ic-iwagumi.html

1) I might plan to get some tetras or zebra fish for my 3 gallon tank (if I do not plan to upgrade to a bigger one), I hear that fish needs some kind of "hiding" spot to "rest"? Like maybe a under a log of wood, or a fish house of some sort? I'm not sure too, cuz I see the iwagumi concept don't seem to have much hiding spots hmm.gif

2) And also can advise on what type of grass/plants which are easier to grow/maintain? Totally no clue here.

3) For the water in-water out method and also by looking at the pictures you posted, are you referring to an internal filter? I saw that you're using an internal one, with the output connected to a hose and directed further away from the water intake? hmm.gif

I currently have 1 good hang on filter and 2 other unused ones laugh.gif
tehoice
post Feb 20 2013, 11:28 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 20 2013, 09:59 PM)
Nice post bro.
I totally agree with what you say but I do have 2 questions.

1. Why not curved tank? I know their lighting all its not that good but I was wondering bout the curve edges vs normal edges.
2. How did you plant your HC until it grew so well? I using amazonia and n too loose my HC so hard to root.

Thanks bro~
er well, this is for photo taking purposes, we're not saying you cant do it in a curved edges tank, but for photoshooting wise, normal edges are always better, those that you see on the internet, IAPLC or etc, are all normal edges.

my HC? i thought they grow so slow in my tank, but they are starting to blossom already... yeah, i'm also re-using my 1yr old new amazonia, hc takes a lot of time to root...

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 10:16 PM)
yellow indicator? is it good for the fishes?
well, many aqua hobbyist that i know also try to achieve a slightly yellowish indicator, this is obviously a good sign for plants, however, for fishes? well, as long as you don't see them gasping for oxygen on the surface, that would suffice, and you must have a very well circulated tank, so both the oxygen and carbon dioxide can circulate well in every corners of your tank.

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 10:22 PM)
so the first 3 weeks only 4 hours max is it? after 3 weeks go for 7-8 hours. do you use fertilizers? liquid or dry?
no, what i did was, first week about 4 hours... 2nd week about 5 hours, 3rd week about 6 hours, then i now capped at 8 hours or less for photo period.

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 20 2013, 10:25 PM)
Bro I am using the one with waterfall filter and light.
All one set one...

So far so good for me ...
bro, did you have any co2? just a reminder, if you are using a HOB filter for those co2 tank, pls top up your water as much as you can until it reaches the outflow of the filter. this way, your co2 pumped into your tank will not be wasted. why? because co2 itself is very hard to dissolved in the water, and if you have a gap between water outflow and the surface, this will create some bubbles into your tank? and these oxygen brought into your tank will even make your co2 harder to be dissolved in your tank.

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 20 2013, 10:28 PM)
i always buy otto from SS19 NA. rm4.50 never one failed on me.. all healthy..
the only one that didnt make it is because it got eaten by my crayfish last time. lol
NA otto so expensive meh? i last bought was about rm4 per piece, but 1 died and 1 jumped out from my tank sad.gif

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 20 2013, 10:33 PM)
found this today.. anyone tried this before? any reviews?
well, i have friend used this before, but it creates some noise after a while... and it's not so cheap though... but the cooling was quite ok though. but nothing beat a cheap diy pc fan =)

EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 11:30 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 11:28 PM)
er well, this is for photo taking purposes, we're not saying you cant do it in a curved edges tank, but for photoshooting wise, normal edges are always better, those that you see on the internet, IAPLC or etc, are all normal edges.

my HC? i thought they grow so slow in my tank, but they are starting to blossom already... yeah, i'm also re-using my 1yr old new amazonia, hc takes a lot of time to root...
well, many aqua hobbyist that i know also try to achieve a slightly yellowish indicator, this is obviously a good sign for plants, however, for fishes? well, as long as you don't see them gasping for oxygen on the surface, that would suffice, and you must have a very well circulated tank, so both the oxygen and carbon dioxide can circulate well in every corners of your tank.
no, what i did was, first week about 4 hours... 2nd week about 5 hours, 3rd week about 6 hours, then i now capped at 8 hours or less for photo period.
bro, did you have any co2? just a reminder, if you are using a HOB filter for those co2 tank, pls top up your water as much as you can until it reaches the outflow of the filter. this way, your co2 pumped into your tank will not be wasted. why? because co2 itself is very hard to dissolved in the water, and if you have a gap between water outflow and the surface, this will create some bubbles into your tank? and these oxygen brought into your tank will even make your co2 harder to be dissolved in your tank.
NA otto so expensive meh? i last bought was about rm4 per piece, but 1 died and 1 jumped out from my tank  sad.gif
well, i have friend used this before, but it creates some noise after a while... and it's not so cheap though... but the cooling was quite ok though. but nothing beat a cheap diy pc fan =)
dont know who to buy from.. cause i dont know how to DIY anything that deals with wires. lol
tehoice
post Feb 20 2013, 11:35 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 20 2013, 11:14 PM)
I can't tell how much I thank you for knocking some sense into me thumbup.gif

I've just cleaned off my entire aquarium and it's empty now. Yeah, I would love to have a nice planted aquarium, the Iwagumi style of aquascapping is pretty damn nice. I think usually more suited for bigger tanks right? Mine's a 3 gallon only, I did google, and this person came up with a nice setup for it:

http://www.aquaticplantcentral.com/forumap...ic-iwagumi.html

1) I might plan to get some tetras or zebra fish for my 3 gallon tank (if I do not plan to upgrade to a bigger one), I hear that fish needs some kind of "hiding" spot to "rest"? Like maybe a under a log of wood, or a fish house of some sort? I'm not sure too, cuz I see the iwagumi concept don't seem to have much hiding spots hmm.gif

2) And also can advise on what type of grass/plants which are easier to grow/maintain? Totally no clue here.

3) For the water in-water out method and also by looking at the pictures you posted, are you referring to an internal filter? I saw that you're using an internal one, with the output  connected to a hose and directed further away from the water intake? hmm.gif

I currently have 1 good hang on filter and 2 other unused ones laugh.gif
you are welcome my friend... take a bit of time, think of what you wanna achieve, dont just rush into things.... it might not turn out great...

well, small tanks can also turn out to be a world class beater tank, but it is way harder to maintain due to its low volume and very small room for error that might fatal your whole tank...

we always suggest 2ft as a starter...

iwagumi hiding spots are only behind those rocks, unless you have another tall background plants that enable them to hide, like the one in your picture. what plants are easier to grow and maintain? hmmm, i would say most of the plants are not so hard to grow when you have everything right for them, lighting, co2, temperature and etc... but maintaining? it depends on you, weekly water changes consider a must for myself, but you surely will face some algae issue... take it slow and steady....

if you are interested in iwagumi, you can try glosso, hc, mini hairgrass etc...

for the water in water out (WIWO) method, it's not in my picture, those are inlets and outlets for my filter.

WIWO simply means pumping water into the tank and meanwhile you have water being sucked out from another end, this enable you to get crystal clear water say after an hour or 2. instant result, and this is only for one time during the initial setup stage.
tehoice
post Feb 20 2013, 11:37 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 20 2013, 11:30 PM)
dont know who to buy from.. cause i dont know how to DIY anything that deals with wires. lol
how big is your tank? if you have 4ft and above, maybe you can try derick as he sells industrial type of ac fans which could be really useful.
if not just search up for a DIY fan online, it's kinda easy to do it if you follow the instruction carefully... =)
EmilyEmily
post Feb 20 2013, 11:50 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 11:37 PM)
how big is your tank? if you have 4ft and above, maybe you can try derick as he sells industrial type of ac fans which could be really useful.
if not just search up for a DIY fan online, it's kinda easy to do it if you follow the instruction carefully... =)
mine is just a extremely nano tank lol. i use it to experiment with moss growth
25cm tank. about 4.5-5 litres only.
really really need to find a fan.. sad.gif

night time no problem with temp but afternoon sucks lol
estage9
post Feb 21 2013, 12:01 AM

73 posts

Sifus,

I need icon_question.gif , I got algae intrusion on top of my newly planted Riccia!!! doh.gif

1) What kind of algae is this?
2) How do I get rid of it? Should I just remove the net?
3) What cause this happened, too much light or CO2? (Or is this normal since the age of the tank just 3weeks old)

Thanks in advance notworthy.gif
TSqz4eva
post Feb 21 2013, 12:08 AM

743 posts

Damm I think I wont win anything from IAPLC with my curved tank.
Oh wander I see nobody using it!

But I prefer curve coz when I small that time curved so expensive and no chance to buy.

Ya I know Co2 damm hard to dissolve and I am using a DIY set.
My filter outflow also come out directly to the water!

Yea hope my HC can grow la. If not very sad I bought so many HC all die.
Kekekeke...
varialmctwist

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 20 2013, 11:37 PM)
http://www.my-mac.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=6093

i diy refer to dis..easy...hahaa
TSqz4eva

743 posts

varialmctwist

What avatar ru using?
Duke Nukem isit?

Or more like Doom?
varialmctwist
post Feb 21 2013, 12:09 AM

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 21 2013, 12:08 AM)
varialmctwist

What avatar ru using?
Duke Nukem isit?

Or more like Doom?
the legendary doom guy from doom game
varialmctwist
post Feb 21 2013, 12:11 AM

QUOTE(qz4eva @ Feb 21 2013, 12:08 AM)
Damm I think I wont win anything from IAPLC with my curved tank.
Oh wander I see nobody using it!

But I prefer curve coz when I small that time curved so expensive and no chance to buy.

Ya I know Co2 damm hard to dissolve and I am using a DIY set.
My filter outflow also come out directly to the water!

Yea hope my HC can grow la. If not very sad I bought so many HC all die.
Kekekeke...
3 months ago i try DIY..got two bottles using airstones...hahha..dat time i have small nano tank..just like Emily one...cheap plant also..rm2 per pot..dunno what name...hahha
varialmctwist
post Feb 21 2013, 12:12 AM

QUOTE(estage9 @ Feb 21 2013, 12:01 AM)
Sifus,

I need icon_question.gif , I got algae intrusion on top of my newly planted Riccia!!!  doh.gif

1) What kind of algae is this?
2) How do I get rid of it? Should I just remove the net?
3) What cause this happened, too much light or CO2? (Or is this normal since the age of the tank just 3weeks old)

Thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
i m not a sifu in this.. but i guess its hair algae? (correct me if im wrong)
EmilyEmily
post Feb 21 2013, 12:13 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 21 2013, 12:08 AM)
but im a girl.. lol

i have taboo with wires.. i even got zapped once when pluging in my harddisk to my tv. LOL

i'll read it and try to understand.. which size ac/dc fan is for suitable for my tiny tank?
varialmctwist
post Feb 21 2013, 12:16 AM

QUOTE(EmilyEmily @ Feb 21 2013, 12:13 AM)
but im a girl.. lol

i have taboo with wires.. i even got zapped once when pluging in my harddisk to my tv. LOL

i'll read it and try to understand.. which size ac/dc fan is for suitable for my tiny tank?
lol....u can do it lah..easy wut...a small pc fan..i guess 90mm one..buy cheap ac source...i bought mine rm10 (0.5amp)
TSqz4eva
post Feb 21 2013, 12:16 AM

743 posts

Yea i thought so it was DOOOMMM....

LOL...
EmilyEmily
post Feb 21 2013, 12:25 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 21 2013, 12:16 AM)
lol....u can do it lah..easy wut...a small pc fan..i guess 90mm one..buy cheap ac source...i bought mine rm10 (0.5amp)
*head is currently taking a break from reading the DIY fan instructions*
estage9
post Feb 21 2013, 01:03 AM

73 posts

QUOTE(varialmctwist @ Feb 20 2013, 05:13 PM)
where can i get otto aaa? how much each? rm2-3?
Yesterday noon, I just brought 1 XL size otto which cost me about RM5. @88Petmart, Sunwaymas

This post has been edited by estage9: Feb 21 2013, 01:03 AM

126 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:05 AM