8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Home Networking ASUS Malaysia Networking User & Technical Support, Managed by ASUS Malaysia Representative

AVFAN
post May 24 2018, 03:54 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(seichirosano @ May 24 2018, 03:47 PM)
guys, i need recommendation for a wireless router. budget is round  rm-/1k
currently using unifi 50mbps  and dir-850l router
currently interested in these 3 model : ac1300uhp (rm4xx), rt-ac58 (rm4xx)and rt-ac68 (rm8xx)

will the difference in speed / coverage big if i upgrade from dir-850l? whats the different between ac1300uhp and ac-rt58 and do i really need rt-ac68 for really huge improvement?
describe your home, what uses, what devices.

no need to overspend if u dun need/use some features.

AVFAN
post May 29 2018, 07:18 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 25 2018, 11:12 AM)
dear asusmy:

been using rtac1300uhp for 1/2 year now.
just updated firmware 3004.380.8228, all ok.

i am also using usb-ac55 as wifi adaptor for my pc.
the driver installed from the disc is 5.1.22.0 as shown in pc wifi settings.
i was trying to check if there is an update to firmware or driver, but saw:
v.1.0.0.9 dated 2016/01/11.
https://www.asus.com/my/Networking/USBAC55/...pDesk_Download/

it does not look right to me... can u advise?
which is the right file i should get, how to update the usb adaptor?

TQ.
AVFAN
post May 30 2018, 02:53 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 30 2018, 11:37 AM)
Hi AVFAN,

I believe the 1.0.0.9 is the software version, you can still install it, if the current driver is newer than the one you wish to install, normally windows will ask your permission first.

Thank you
ok, will check.

AVFAN
post May 31 2018, 01:00 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(KcX35 @ May 30 2018, 08:20 PM)
can any1 here recommend me which asus model to go for my unifi ? my current router, the room next door using via wifi, phone also slow

budget = RM 400-600, is the setup easy & will effect the hypptv ? and if can i hope 2nd floor also can get the wifi signal, current situation, certain area of the 2nd floor cant get signal
that budget, and if yr house is a typical double storey, go for rtac1300uhp.

works v gud for me, 100mbps.

simple setup, unifitv works.
AVFAN
post Jun 1 2018, 12:35 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(97fangkhai97 @ Jun 1 2018, 12:28 PM)
Wireless laptop . Less than 2 meters away from the router.
what speed u get with same test, same router, same spot with another device, say a handphone?

u must first determine if it is router or device problem.

for 30mbps, even cheap routers can get full speed at 2m using 2.4ghz.
AVFAN
post Jun 27 2018, 05:37 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(littlelite @ Jun 27 2018, 05:34 PM)
I only have Macbook Pro (no LAN port) at home. But I did try to connect my CCTV LAN cable as well, same problem, no LAN connection from the router (but LED turn on), not working too.

And both the PRINTER and the CCTV, when I tried the same cables with my OLD router, everything is fine, all working.
any other device u can connect to test - smart tv, android box?
AVFAN
post Jun 28 2018, 02:30 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(rusty27 @ Jun 28 2018, 02:07 PM)
Hi Sifus,
Currently using OEM TM router(Unifi50mb package) which placed at my 1st floor back room. I always get slow n on n off wifi connection for my Phone n Smart tv. I planned to buy Asus AC1300UHP. Is that a good choice or over range? Daily usage is 2 phones and Smart tv for NEtflix. PC connected to LAN for download n DOta.

Can recommend any page for detailed review for this router? read the blacktubi review but its too general (No offend Blacktubi bro). Im just noob and need to understand all things bout this router such as the Qos,Dual-band(how to utilize n so on),guest network setup and extc.
good router, will be fine for your purposes.

maybe my post #7680 can help a bit:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2651405/+7660#bottom

also:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4603771/+20
AVFAN
post Jul 1 2018, 02:46 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 1 2018, 12:36 PM)
Just installed Time internet which came with a TP Link Archer  AC1200 which gave much higher download and upload speeds (up to 150mbps) compared to like only 50-60mbps for my current Asus RT AC68U???

What did I do wrong with the configuration? It's by PPOE connection and WPA 2 Personal security. I'm a newbie so some help is greatly appreciated smile.gif
what is yr time package... 100, 300, 500 mbps?
AVFAN
post Jul 8 2018, 01:04 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Jul 7 2018, 11:23 PM)
currently using Asus RT-N14UHP, does this router support speed up to 100 Mbps ?

my current ISP Verizon is providing speed as of 100 Mbps but it seem like i'm only getting around max 30 Mbps from the speed test that i conduct.

If i were to buy a new Asus router, which one is recommended  which can support speed up to 100 Mbps ?
rtn14uhp is only N, 2.4ghz, can't do 100mbps well.

to get full and stable 100mbps, better go AC, use 5ghz.

a cost effective one will be RTAC1300uhp.
AVFAN
post Jul 12 2018, 06:40 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(tomastan4134 @ Jul 12 2018, 06:20 PM)
im not sure if mesh will work good for me.  cause its similar to repeater.  .

my house has alot of concrete walls.  dont think it might help?
my plan is to get wifi solution that covers to whole house with between 200~300 mbps wifi throughout the whole house

another option is to pull lan cable to 1st floor and get ubiquiti access point.
Big big house, many walls...

I doubt there is cheap solution for wifi 300, 500or 800mbps.

I would start planning lan cables, ap.
AVFAN
post Jul 16 2018, 12:14 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Jul 16 2018, 08:54 AM)
it seem like something is wrong with my asus router RTN-14UHP wireless function, i could only get max speed up to 30mb via speed test.

but when i plug into the router via Ethernet cable, viola my test speed became 80/90Mbps.

i believe even with 2.4ghz - 40 width channel i should be able to get near to 100Mbps but something is wrong somewhere, any router recommended under budget of 150USD ?

should i downgrade the firmware to test it out ?
as said, rtn14uhp is fast ethernet N router, can't do full 100mbps.

ethernet, u get 80-90; wifi u get max 60-70 with 2.4ghz.

change to good gigbit AC router: ethernet, u get 104-105, wifi, u get 102-103 with 5ghz.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 16 2018, 12:20 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 20 2018, 08:17 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Jul 20 2018, 11:05 AM)
brought Asus RT-AC86U router, on 2.4G wireles N manage to do 80/70 which is pretty good compare to my old router.

on lan and 5G, is hitting my package max speed of 100Mbps.

awesome router i would say
good stuff. thumbup.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 22 2018, 11:48 AM

24,456 posts

i just updated rtac1300uhp firmware to latest 3004 380 8375.

anyone here using same router and recently got "unifi turbo-ed"?

like to know results with this router - what max 5ghz wifi speed u got with unifi 800mbps?
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 07:33 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ksking @ Aug 27 2018, 07:22 PM)
do u able to test ur 5ghz wifi via transferring files between pc / laptop?
i have done a bit of that... file transfer speed is slow, no good for big files.
AVFAN
post Aug 27 2018, 11:04 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Aug 27 2018, 10:29 PM)
Read here: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=89949937

Bottom line, your RT-AC1300UHP won't be able to support 800Mbps on wireless. You need at least the Asus RT-AC86U to get the best speed possible. Max that can support is 300Mbps.
no worries, i already know.

300-400mbps is good enough for me.

just haven't got turbo-ed yet to confirm.
AVFAN
post Nov 5 2018, 10:37 PM

24,456 posts

calling:
QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Oct 29 2018, 10:41 AM)

QUOTE(Hutchy @ Nov 3 2018, 03:26 PM)
Friends I have a weird experience with my Asus router. I have a Unifi Turbo 500Mbps plan and my router is Asus RT-AC55UHP and with a CAT6 ethernet cable the max speed i get is less than 250Mbps, i launched a complaint with Unifi and they sent their technicians to check and the guys who came to check the issue suggested to used my stock Unifi router which is Dlink DIR-850L and to everyones surprise i was getting 500+Mbps speed with the Dlink router.

So here is my confusion i thought the Asus RT-AC55UHP was an advanced router as compared to the DIR-850L and the technicians from unifi also agreed but none of us were able to say why the ASUS router cannot even reach 300Mbps while the Dlink obtained 500+Mbps speed consistently. Any thoughts on this? FYI i have the latest firmware, tried factory resetting the router and configured it fresh but it still cannot reach the speed above 250Mbps. One of the other forum member suggested me to do a 30 30 30 reset and after that i am now getting speeds upto 320Mbps which is better than the previous speed of less than 250 Mbps. Is it an issue with the router itself where i cannot get speeds of 500Mbps?
this is interesting... i got turbo-ed 800mbps today, using rtac1300uhp which is in same category as ac55uhp, more or less.

the router seems able to do up to 500mbps only with LAN; upload is fine, 20x mbps.

i replaced it with TPlink ac1200 stock router, it did up to 650mbps.

WIFI... the 1300uhp does better - 300 DL/100 UL vs 2xx/xx.

wifi is acceptable, but how come a supposedly gigbit router can't do 800mbps?

modem->router cable is cat5e; router->device cable cat6; using current 8375 firmware.

not satisfied with the stock router, i will complain and see what unifi say.

for now, i like to know if i am missing something about the asus.. anything i should check?

AVFAN
post Nov 6 2018, 01:42 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 5 2018, 11:31 PM)
Cuz theoretical speeds bruh... I think it's safe to say that all routers simply can't achieve the manufacturer stated speeds simply cuz our environments aren't a clean lab, as used for testing. Besides, most router's advertised speeds are a total of theoretically achievable speeds on both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz combined. Marketing trick..

Congrats on finally being turboed.. Can relax now?..?  tongue.gif
getting what they promised wasn't w/o trouble, had to make quite a bit of noise.

that was to get into a better bargaining position.

next is to downgrade to 300 at lower price - that speed is ideal to me.
AVFAN
post Nov 6 2018, 12:39 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ May 30 2018, 11:37 AM)
Hi AVFAN,

I believe the 1.0.0.9 is the software version, you can still install it, if the current driver is newer than the one you wish to install, normally windows will ask your permission first.

Thank you
like to come back to u after so long! biggrin.gif

becos i did not change firmware until now... wanted to see if it will give me improvement for new unifi 800mbps speed.

using rtac1300uhp with is AC55 adaptor.

yes, it is newer than the one i had original, installed.

it does a better job, more stable - now consistently getting 2xx mbps DL at 55ft wifi.

UL is full 200mbps.

1009 is the latest, no more.
https://www.asus.com/my/Networking/USBAC55/...pDesk_Download/

* please respond to my other post about 1300uhp's LAN speed issue, TQ.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 6 2018, 12:41 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 6 2018, 02:09 PM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(niclas @ Nov 6 2018, 12:48 PM)
Receiving devices is wired. 🤕😣
QUOTE(niclas @ Nov 6 2018, 12:49 PM)
Currently using Tri Band smart connect, been change to dual band and use 20mhz channel and still hit 650mbps 😫
i dun follow...

what has 20mhz, 80mhz, dual band got to do with WIRED or lan devices performance?
AVFAN
post Nov 7 2018, 10:39 AM

24,456 posts

QUOTE(ASUSmy @ Nov 7 2018, 10:27 AM)
Hi AVFAN,

I am checking with my RD when it will upload on the website for public download.

Will get a beta firmware from them if it going to be sometime.

Thank you
thanks for response.

new update... do u mean for rtac1300uhp or ac55?

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0394sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:02 PM