128 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V2, Nokia Lumias / HTC 8x,s / Samsung ATIVS

KelvBlue
post Jan 9 2013, 02:05 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(crest91 @ Jan 5 2013, 08:55 PM)
All the sifus that r using lumia 920, I wanted to ask hows the battery life of ur lumia? I dunno isit just me or everyone coz mine drains the battery pretty fast ..
Moderate usage of whatsapp and some web browsing on 3G(umobile), the battery lvl drops pretty fast (90% to 60% in like 2~3 hours).. background task, NFC, wifi, email push all off except data and location were left on but it still can drain more than 10% per hour..
I heard Portico updates help but it isn't available in msia yet, has anyone done the update n see improvement on battery life?
Whatsapp is the culprit. For some reason Whatsapp want to cater to those people without data plan and hack into the Music Streaming API to keep the Wifi connection on after the phone is locked. The side effect is it chew up the battery like a camel and make the phone hot.
lastlion
post Jan 9 2013, 07:32 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(crest91 @ Jan 5 2013, 08:55 PM)
All the sifus that r using lumia 920, I wanted to ask hows the battery life of ur lumia? I dunno isit just me or everyone coz mine drains the battery pretty fast ..
Moderate usage of whatsapp and some web browsing on 3G(umobile), the battery lvl drops pretty fast (90% to 60% in like 2~3 hours).. background task, NFC, wifi, email push all off except data and location were left on but it still can drain more than 10% per hour..
I heard Portico updates help but it isn't available in msia yet, has anyone done the update n see improvement on battery life?
Yup..mine also the battery drained up fast. And I do also believe that the culprit is the whatsapp apps. Might trying turn it off and see how it goes.
btw... Any of you experience WP8 as a bit buggy. I've encountered cases where when pushing back button to go to previous opened programs...it'll stuck at the same program. The flipping animation is there but its still in the same program I'm at.
another thing is that the setting sometimes seem to be resetting automatically. It happened to me when setting volume..it'll sometimes go to 20/30. Though previously I've set it to full. And when setting vibrate only..it'll go ring+vibrate automatically.
-ahtiang-
post Jan 9 2013, 07:59 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 8 2013, 03:38 PM)
cheng cheng cheng !!! the three mustketeer!!!
congrats! evilpuppy... rclxms.gif
jonchai
post Jan 9 2013, 09:43 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(lastlion @ Jan 9 2013, 07:32 AM)
Yup..mine also the battery drained up fast. And I do also believe that the culprit is the whatsapp apps. Might trying turn it off and see how it goes.
btw... Any of you experience WP8 as a bit buggy. I've encountered cases where when pushing back button to go to previous opened programs...it'll stuck at the same program. The flipping animation is there but its still in the same program I'm at.
another thing is that the setting sometimes seem to be resetting automatically. It happened to me when setting volume..it'll sometimes go to 20/30. Though previously I've set it to full. And when setting vibrate only..it'll go ring+vibrate automatically.
While this is not to rule out that WP8 is buggy, most things you mentioned seem to point to a faulty phone rather than a buggy OS.
jonchai
post Jan 9 2013, 09:44 AM

Ask me anything
1,568 posts

QUOTE(KelvBlue @ Jan 9 2013, 02:05 AM)
Whatsapp is the culprit. For some reason Whatsapp want to cater to those people without data plan and hack into the Music Streaming API to keep the Wifi connection on after the phone is locked. The side effect is it chew up the battery like a camel and make the phone hot.
Not exactly. Even prior to that, Whatsapp is known to kill batteries
crest91
post Jan 9 2013, 10:15 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(KelvBlue @ Jan 9 2013, 02:05 AM)
Yeah I noticed that as well, especially people in whatsapp group are spamming when u're on data, the phone can get really hot on the back..
But no choice, have to stick with whatsapp coz most of my contacts are using whatsapp
lastlion
post Jan 9 2013, 10:20 AM

151 posts

QUOTE(jonchai @ Jan 9 2013, 09:43 AM)
While this is not to rule out that WP8 is buggy, most things you mentioned seem to point to a faulty phone rather than a buggy OS.
is it so....so no one has experienced the same? and if its coz of faulty phone. How to send it for replacement? coz it only occurs sometimes. most of the time it seems working fine.
crest91
post Jan 9 2013, 10:20 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(lastlion @ Jan 9 2013, 07:32 AM)
Did not have the problems u're facing so far, but I have experienced upon launching app and the animations happen but the app doesn't launch, it just flips and then return back to the home page.

I noticed syncing gmail acc drains the battery as well (not too noticeable), so I linked it with my outlook email and get the msg forwarded although its gonna take a while to retrieve the email everytime someone email to my google acc.
crest91
post Jan 9 2013, 10:26 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(lastlion @ Jan 9 2013, 10:20 AM)
is it so....so no one has experienced the same? and if its coz of faulty phone. How to send it for replacement? coz it only occurs sometimes. most of the time it seems working fine.
Try sending it back to nokia care centre, I heard they have a 1 to 1 exchange policy but sometimes the particular color you request might not be available due to high demand on the market now.
But no harm for calling them to check
crest91
post Jan 9 2013, 10:28 AM

76 posts

I did alot of research and went thru alot of articles in WP8 forums for past few days and have not seen anything like u're experiencing now. Anyway, http://www.nokia.com/my-en/support/care-point-finder
prash
post Jan 9 2013, 11:16 AM

247 posts

i am also getting the volume reset to 20/30 as well even though i set to 30/30. happens many time a day and have to manually set back. seems ok with the call volume. remains 10/10
TSevilpuppy
post Jan 9 2013, 12:10 PM

4,092 posts

i've been using htc device the power button on top , L920 kinda not used to the power button at right side sweat.gif sometime i miss press the camera button.
ashwin988
post Jan 9 2013, 12:42 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(prash @ Jan 9 2013, 11:16 AM)
i am also getting the volume reset to 20/30 as well even though i set to 30/30. happens many time a day and have to manually set back. seems ok with the call volume. remains 10/10
yup, i have faced this issue as well.. not all the time, but I have faced it la.
lastlion
post Jan 9 2013, 12:59 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Jan 9 2013, 12:42 PM)
yup, i have faced this issue as well.. not all the time, but I have faced it la.
are you by any chance using lumia 920 red colour?
maybe its just my own tought...but last monday when I went to lowyat that morning for the roadshow. All Red Lumia 920 demo set all got problem and unable to start.
ashwin988
post Jan 9 2013, 01:03 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(lastlion @ Jan 9 2013, 12:59 PM)
are you by any chance using lumia 920 red colour?
maybe its just my own tought...but last monday when I went to lowyat that morning for the roadshow. All Red Lumia 920 demo set all got problem and unable to start.
LOl.. yes!!..
TSevilpuppy
post Jan 9 2013, 01:13 PM

4,092 posts

920 doesn't have flip to mute feature??!!!

** pressing the volume button will mute the phone!!! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by evilpuppy: Jan 9 2013, 01:22 PM
JasonWilton
post Jan 9 2013, 01:31 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 9 2013, 01:13 PM)
920 doesn't have flip to mute feature??!!!

** pressing the volume button will mute the phone!!!  laugh.gif
I wanna ask whether the phone will automatically turn on or not after you take out the phone from your pocket when there is a text message like our HTC phones do.. drool.gif
TSevilpuppy
post Jan 9 2013, 01:44 PM

4,092 posts

QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Jan 9 2013, 01:31 PM)
I wanna ask whether the phone will automatically turn on or not after you take out the phone from your pocket when there is a text message like our HTC phones do..  drool.gif
well, L920 incoming message screen will on then fade off 1sec, htc incoming message no screen, within 1~2sec user can pickup to on the screen.

JasonWilton
post Jan 9 2013, 01:48 PM

1,068 posts

QUOTE(evilpuppy @ Jan 9 2013, 01:44 PM)
well, L920 incoming message screen will on then fade off 1sec, htc incoming message no screen, within 1~2sec user can pickup to on the screen.
the only advantage of having a HTC windows phone cry.gif
lastlion
post Jan 9 2013, 01:48 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Jan 9 2013, 01:03 PM)
LOl.. yes!!..
hurm... sweat.gif maybe red got problem. will see how for a week. if this thing still occurs I'll go service centre.

128 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0406sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:38 AM