240 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

Malaysia Airline Enrich Miles, Get the best bang from your CC points :)

corad
post Dec 26 2015, 09:53 AM

Hard to see, the dark side is.
2,403 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 26 2015, 07:33 AM)
Malaysia Airlines Tentatively Schedules Last Boeing 777 Service in late-Mar 2016

On 26MAR16, the 777 operates last flight on Kuala Lumpur – Guangzhou route, which will switch to 737-800 from 27MAR16.

737 for KUL-CAN? Seriously?

http://airlineroute.net/2015/12/23/mh-777-s16update1/
MH already uses B738 for KUL-TPE which is 4h40m vs KUL-CAN 4h5m

just be prepared for unending lines for the toilet sad.gif
minthiam
post Dec 26 2015, 10:00 AM

698 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Dec 26 2015, 09:53 AM)

just be prepared for unending lines for the toilet  sad.gif
Damn right, i don't know what MH is doing these days. What they plan to do with all their B777? Sell them off to boost their 'profit'?
dctravels
post Dec 26 2015, 11:25 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(corad @ Dec 26 2015, 09:53 AM)
ohmy.gif didn't know that!

Hope MH will come out leaner, stronger and better after these trying times. It's a matter of survival now but hopefully the correct man is at the helm.
cheahcw2003
post Dec 26 2015, 11:34 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 26 2015, 11:25 AM)
ohmy.gif didn't know that!

Hope MH will come out leaner, stronger and better after these trying times. It's a matter of survival now but hopefully the correct man is at the helm.
they hire foreign consultant for cost saving, perhaps this is the suggestion.
smaller flight, easy to fill up, and improve the load factors
Yippie123
post Dec 26 2015, 11:36 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(minthiam @ Dec 26 2015, 10:00 AM)
Damn right, i don't know what MH is doing these days. What they plan to do with all their B777? Sell them off to boost their 'profit'?
No more 777 for MH. They are retiring entire 777 fleet. Eventually 380 will be replaced too by 350
JC_jun
post Dec 26 2015, 11:36 AM

705 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Dec 26 2015, 11:34 AM)
they hire foreign consultant for cost saving, perhaps this is the suggestion.
smaller flight, easy to fill up, and improve the load factors
maybe the fuel consumption is lower too.

Now MH planning to replace their A380 by A350 for KUL-LHR route.
cheahcw2003
post Dec 26 2015, 11:39 AM

5,379 posts

QUOTE(JC_jun @ Dec 26 2015, 11:36 AM)
maybe the fuel consumption is lower too.

Now MH planning to replace their A380 by A350 for KUL-LHR route.
A350 is the newer model right?
ngiing
post Dec 28 2015, 03:29 PM

38 posts

For Enrich Gold member, if you are not travel on MAS or oneworld airlines, are they still allow you into Golden Lounge or other oneworld lounge?
JC_jun
post Dec 28 2015, 03:41 PM

705 posts

QUOTE(ngiing @ Dec 28 2015, 03:29 PM)
For Enrich Gold member, if you are not travel on MAS or oneworld airlines, are they still allow you into Golden Lounge or other oneworld lounge?
MH golden lounge maybe allow you to access, but probably not for other oneworld partner lounge

read
https://www.oneworld.com/ffp/lounge-access
bearbear
post Dec 28 2015, 07:49 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Dec 26 2015, 11:39 AM)
yes latest model from Airbus but i read MAS is leasing like 4x A350. How to replace 12x 777?

not many airlines can fill up the load i guess with A380, only the likes of emirates can do it. Somemore can order A380 in 2 class with 600+ seats sweat.gif

EDIT: apparently they already started retiring the 777, only 6 left in use now.

This post has been edited by bearbear: Dec 28 2015, 07:54 PM
Yippie123
post Dec 28 2015, 08:03 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 28 2015, 07:49 PM)
yes latest model from Airbus but i read MAS is leasing like 4x A350. How to replace 12x 777?

not many airlines can fill up the load i guess with A380, only the likes of emirates can do it. Somemore can order A380 in 2 class with 600+ seats sweat.gif

All 777 will be retired very soon. 380 is ppl carrier and most airlines need to utilized cargo also in order to make profits. 380 is not so profotable.

MAB 380 will be replaced by 350.
cheahcw2003
post Dec 28 2015, 08:30 PM

5,379 posts

Both the missing flight and the "shot down" flight are 777.
Good decision to change the model
athlon
post Dec 29 2015, 02:28 AM

126 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Dec 26 2015, 11:39 AM)
A350 is newer but not A380 direct replacement... A350 usually compare with B787 coz both are single deck...
tishaban
post Dec 29 2015, 03:56 PM

3,615 posts

I think MAB is moving towards a short/medium haul model, with the A350 focusing primarily on their selected long haul destinations eg. LHR and SYD hence the need for only 4 A350. They apparently have options for 2 more A350s plus a pair of A330 to add to their existing soon to be refurbished A330 fleet as well. It is a huge downgrade, from roughly 2 dozen long haul 772 + A380 to about 4-6 A350 but that's what they've decided on.

bearbear
post Dec 29 2015, 06:19 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 29 2015, 03:56 PM)
I think MAB is moving towards a short/medium haul model, with the A350 focusing primarily on their selected long haul destinations eg. LHR and SYD hence the need for only 4 A350. They apparently have options for 2 more A350s plus a pair of A330 to add to their existing soon to be refurbished A330 fleet as well. It is a huge downgrade, from roughly 2 dozen long haul 772 + A380 to about 4-6 A350 but that's what they've decided on.
And news coming out 250 pilots been offered 2 years unpaid leave

With so limited promo nowadays, better focus on other FFP

This post has been edited by bearbear: Dec 29 2015, 06:20 PM
Yippie123
post Dec 29 2015, 06:26 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Dec 29 2015, 06:19 PM)
And news coming out 250 pilots been offered 2 years unpaid leave

With so limited promo nowadays, better focus on other FFP
Finally someone made a wise move.
dctravels
post Dec 29 2015, 09:49 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 29 2015, 03:56 PM)
Agreed. They are and should rightly focus on being a top-notch regional airline, good enough to give AK a real fight. Forget about SQ and other full-fledged airlines, not even in the same league. Similarly, I echo the sentiments of others with regards to Enrich Miles: why even bother?
tishaban
post Dec 29 2015, 11:24 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(dctravels @ Dec 29 2015, 09:49 PM)
Agreed. They are and should rightly focus on being a top-notch regional airline, good enough to give AK a real fight. Forget about SQ and other full-fledged airlines, not even in the same league. Similarly, I echo the sentiments of others with regards to Enrich Miles: why even bother?
I don't agree with their strategy, that MH should leave the international long haul market to SQ/CX/EK/EY/QR, they can have a better differentiator compared to competing with AK in the domestic/regional market, plus MH could potentially complement AK. But then again they have to start somewhere so the regional market makes sense in the short term.

While I agree that Enrich as a FFP is dead, it does have its benefits, particularly for short haul/domestic flights during busy seasons. For example a KUL-BKI return trip today for the first week of Feb is roughly RM1,200+ on AK/MH but only between 17-22k miles which yields roughly 5.5 sen or better per Enrich mile.

dctravels
post Dec 30 2015, 06:40 AM

222 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Dec 29 2015, 11:24 PM)
But then again they have to start somewhere so the regional market makes sense in the short term.

For example a KUL-BKI return trip today for the first week of Feb is roughly RM1,200+ on AK/MH but only between 17-22k miles which yields roughly 5.5 sen or better per Enrich mile.
Don't get me wrong, I for one would love to see MH go back to its glory days as one of the top-notch airlines in the world. Just don't see them surviving if they don't scale down, lean up and innovate.

I had a look at KUL-BKI, highest was around RM750++ return for economy first week Feb. I have never used miles for Y seats to be honest. For MH, I rely on MHUpgrade and have been successful nearly all the time. biggrin.gif
cheahcw2003
post Dec 31 2015, 05:10 AM

5,379 posts

i have been very supportive to MH, being a Malaysian.
Want to see it grow, but .... the airline is going South...Too many cronies involved to take a pie of the biz procurement & sourcing.

Not sure the Bramin catering still got its RM50 nasi lemak contract with MH for the next 50 years? The nasi Lemak I had few days ago with MH tasted awful, when reheating, the coconut oil change taste already. and taste very bad. The nasi lemak that I bought from the roadside for RM1.50 taste better.
No wonder Chef Wan also cannot tahan and complain about it.

240 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0226sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 08:02 PM