Skinny Arm. How to make it big?

TSIrresistible
post Mar 11 2006, 11:49 AM, updated 20y ago

3,278 posts

I have very genetically skinny arm. What exercises can make my arm bigger.

I have try pull ups & push up for many months. My arm is more muscular, however it is still skinny, especially the wrist part. Therefore, I seldom wear sleeveless shirts.

Any suggestions?Thanks.
Shooterz
post Mar 11 2006, 11:53 AM

abcdefaiz
2,538 posts

eat moar ?
WaCKy-Angel
post Mar 11 2006, 11:54 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

are u a guy or a girl?
Anyway...push up wont help much...and whats pull up?
Did u do dumb-bell?
And ofcourse eat more carbohydrate...meats...
Is your whole body skinny too?
liquid_ooze
post Mar 11 2006, 12:07 PM

My name is Iman, and I'm Malaysian
1,385 posts

try that weight-gain milk, i think that'll work. after that focus on doing exercises regularly...
Thrust
post Mar 11 2006, 12:10 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,760 posts

Lift more weights and drink more protein
mai-k
post Mar 11 2006, 12:24 PM

362 posts

Some ppl have smaller bone structure.
TSIrresistible
post Mar 11 2006, 12:29 PM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(mai-k @ Mar 11 2006, 12:24 PM)
Some ppl have smaller bone structure.
Yes, u r correct. I have small bone structure.

I Don't think I m skinny though some people said I m.
I m 173cm, around 60.5 kg. I have skinny arms only, other parts in upper body I think is quite fine OK.
Yess, I do Dumbbell. But, my arm is skinny but averagely muscular, looks like a girl arm. cry.gif
I don't think dumbell helps much.

This post has been edited by Irresistible: Mar 11 2006, 12:32 PM
Xero
post Mar 11 2006, 01:30 PM

937 posts

lol. u need to go to the gym and the personal trainer will tell u how to build mass on ur arm or something. RM200-300 first month at fitness first. Unless u have a friend who is a body builder or something who can give u tips
Fields
post Mar 11 2006, 01:53 PM

570 posts

Chin-ups would be good. And I heard you can remove one side of the dumbell and hold the empty part and move it like a metronome. It's for the wrist tension or something like that.
SUSAcey
post Mar 11 2006, 02:02 PM

หมัด เท้า เข่า ศอก
3,622 posts

"Hit aeroplane" laugh.gif
washabushi
post Mar 11 2006, 07:08 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

california fitness
nezzy
post Mar 11 2006, 07:12 PM

844 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Mar 11 2006, 12:29 PM)

I m 173cm, around 60.5 kg. I have skinny arms only, other parts in upper body I think is quite  fine OK.
Yess, I do Dumbbell. But, my arm is skinny but averagely muscular, looks like a girl arm. cry.gif
same problem lol

firewire
post Mar 11 2006, 07:54 PM

785 posts

Push up, chin up, carry gas tank, carry encylopedias or anything you can think of smile.gif
thefryingfox
post Mar 11 2006, 07:56 PM

Lonely Maharajah
5,165 posts

eat pork or cow

how those mat salleh look humongous
they eat alot of cow like burger
JackX
post Mar 11 2006, 10:34 PM

2,732 posts

hey Does Cheese make you fat?
Hackezkk
post Mar 11 2006, 10:36 PM

~::CiPan'S LovEr::~
1,959 posts

ask KELLY CLARKSON!!!
allenultra
post Mar 12 2006, 12:10 AM

9,027 posts

Go read darklight79 post.

I remember what he said b4...when u gain 10kg pure mass, ur arm get 1inch bigger.

Dumbbell won't help much?
What weight u holding?
Try hammer curl.
Peisqo
post Mar 12 2006, 07:57 AM

5 Star Member !!
900 posts

QUOTE(Acey @ Mar 11 2006, 02:02 PM)
"Hit aeroplane" laugh.gif
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
I_AM_THE_CHOOSEN_ONE
post Mar 12 2006, 07:08 PM

387 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Mar 11 2006, 07:08 PM)
california fitness
yes..and sign up 48 personal trainee session thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif ...

sure working...but $$$... tongue.gif
pizzaboy
post Mar 12 2006, 07:32 PM

9,495 posts

Lol~
Seriously, it's difficult as hell to gain on the arms for me.
It's more toned now, but hardly even bigger. I think it's about 0.5" bigger AT MOST.

It didn't grow, but it did maintain it's size-fat, so it's not too bad la.
My deltroids grow like mushrooms though. Verli the unproportionate.
zeist
post Mar 12 2006, 08:15 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

I'm huge, but I have two small fist. sad.gif , but my arms are huge.

This post has been edited by zeist: Mar 12 2006, 08:16 PM
darklight79
post Mar 12 2006, 10:43 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Focus on compound movements. They key to big arms is NOT to do direct arm work. My arms hit the 16.5 inch barrier 3 weeks ago. wink.gif

+ eat more.
noelmc
post Mar 28 2006, 12:42 PM

search online for tips la.. or there's this malaysian site at www.dailymuscle.com. I remember seeing an article on arms there.. not sure of the exact link though

love-angel
post Mar 28 2006, 12:45 PM

ANGELS
778 posts

Swim regularly... icon_rolleyes.gif
TSIrresistible
post Mar 28 2006, 04:06 PM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(love-angel @ Mar 28 2006, 12:45 PM)
Swim regularly... icon_rolleyes.gif
I do swim though not regularly. Don't think it help much
love-angel
post Mar 28 2006, 06:05 PM

ANGELS
778 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Mar 28 2006, 04:06 PM)
I do swim though not regularly. Don't think it help much
If u wan to build ur arms and therefore ur arms strenght, use the 'span' that they normally use when swimming, kepit it between ur thighs and use ur arms to swim. Wanna have bigger arms of coz wont happen in a month or two la, nid constant practice mah..good luck! thumbup.gif
otherwise
post Mar 28 2006, 06:21 PM

496 posts

i suggest you to train your triceps..
Baldrick
post Mar 29 2006, 07:12 AM

25 posts

Go to a gym and try to eat 5-6 meals a day(quality food)

*In four months my arms grew from a scrawny 11 inches to 14.5 inches...*
TSIrresistible
post Mar 29 2006, 10:00 AM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(Baldrick @ Mar 29 2006, 07:12 AM)

Wow, amazing!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
How much weight u gain (kg) in order to get that result??

what exercises do u do in gym?? Frankly speaking, I do not want to gain more than 5 kg in weight, that s the problem here
allenultra
post Mar 29 2006, 04:41 PM

9,027 posts

huh?
want to gain in arm size but not in mass?

what theory is that
gsdfan
post Mar 30 2006, 01:00 AM

418 posts

Silicon transplant also can what...
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Mar 30 2006, 10:48 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Mar 11 2006, 12:29 PM)

I m 173cm, around 60.5 kg. I have skinny arms only, other parts in upper body I think is quite  fine OK.
huh dumbell not help much??
u jk o wat
btw here's my advice
if im nt wrong u consume very little protein like fish n meat rite??
if nt ur arm wont b skinny unless i dunno wats wrong wit ur body
consume more protein like soya bean milk not those u buy from supermarket those thy add so much sugar
consume more lean meat like chicken not meat with fats all around it
eat more fish n stay a healthy diet
wat food did i miss?? cz im not so gud in protein section laugh.gif
dun take those high protein pills or in milk form bruce.gif
n also do weightlifting 3 times a week at least
work out ur biceps n triceps with 10 reps for 3 sets (starting)
wen ur arms grow bigger n more muscle form
go for 12,14,16,18,20 reps n increase to 4,5,6 sets if can smile.gif

This post has been edited by [W]HIT3_@NG3L: Mar 30 2006, 10:50 AM
[W]HIT3_@NG3L
post Mar 30 2006, 10:54 AM

2,104 posts

QUOTE(firewire @ Mar 11 2006, 07:54 PM)
Push up, chin up, carry gas tank, carry encylopedias or anything you can think of  smile.gif
carry gas tank wil hurt ur upper arm n structure of bone might move
cz d movement is not correct plus d gas tank is bulky why not use a dumbell??
its smaller in size?? smile.gif
TSIrresistible
post Mar 30 2006, 01:19 PM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(allenultra @ Mar 29 2006, 04:41 PM)
huh?
want to gain in arm size but not in mass?

what theory is that
............I m not tall, don't want a bulky body...
darthvadersidious
post Mar 30 2006, 01:22 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Baldrick @ Mar 29 2006, 07:12 AM)

hey, can list down wat u ear dailly...

i also doing gym...but i not sure how a good meal is...

tx
darklight79
post Mar 30 2006, 02:00 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Sigh.... How many times do i have to say this. You can try whatever gym routine you want, but if the diet sucks, forget about gaining mass.

Do NOT do direct arm work until after maybe 2 to 3 year of SERIOUS training. How many people do you see at the gym who keep doing curls and pressdowns for biceps and triceps respectively buit still stay the same size all the time? Do you see a connection here?

My arms are nearing 17 inches and i still do not do direct arm work but do heavy compound pulling and pushing movements. You won't get big arms if you don't increase your overall lean body mass. And when i say lean body mass, i don't mean pure muscle but some fat too. When bulking, gaining a bit of fat with muscle is inevitable. That's why there are bulking and cutting cycles in bodybuilding.

What's the point of trying to shape your biceps or get a peak when your arms are a skinny 14 or 15 inches?? Get them bigger first, get overall muscle mass by doing compounds, then think about specializing an arm routine.

That enough?

This post has been edited by darklight79: Mar 30 2006, 02:03 PM
gsdfan
post Mar 30 2006, 04:44 PM

418 posts

I got a fren only 160cm, but his arm is bigger than minea few inches... because his house got chin up bar .. like monkey so he can train his arm(fore arm). His arm is as big as his thigh.

do you know that an orangutan have the strength or four adults?

Anyway, may I know how to make mucle hard(keras)? because big does not mean it's tough...
otherwise
post Mar 30 2006, 06:33 PM

496 posts

Just my oppinion based on what i did before

everyday i will pushup for about 50 in the morning and 50 in evening..

plus some dumbell curl

now im gain the size...
otherwise
post Mar 30 2006, 06:34 PM

496 posts

maybe this article going to help you

http://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/xrep6.htm
Hean
post Mar 30 2006, 11:29 PM

646 posts

no need worry 1. build ur arms and chest muscle. those should cover up..
TSIrresistible
post Mar 31 2006, 02:32 PM

3,278 posts

I have Chest muscle, my Chest (36") is not small, but my hand is small & skinny!!
TSIrresistible
post Apr 1 2006, 01:37 PM

3,278 posts

Maybe some of u is asking how skinny my arm is?
My arm is 12" skinny arm, much skinner that what darklight quoted as skinny 14-15".
darklight79
post Apr 3 2006, 08:20 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Mar 31 2006, 02:32 PM)
I have Chest muscle, my Chest (36") is not small, but my hand is small & skinny!!
Don't worry about it. I'm talking skinny in relation to more hardcore bodybuilding standards. smile.gif
jetyap
post Apr 4 2006, 07:31 AM

168 posts

12" you call skinny....mine also 12" only ma.....14-15" is like as big as your calves already..that's more like the average bodybuilder's biceps!

Irrisistable, you can't compare to darklight79's "skinny" definition. To him anything less than 15" is skinny! tongue.gif
iDk
post Apr 4 2006, 05:06 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(Irresistible @ Apr 1 2006, 01:37 PM)
Maybe some of u is asking how skinny my arm is?
My arm is 12" skinny arm, much skinner that what darklight quoted as skinny 14-15".
you talking your forearm or upper arm 12"? Actually how big you wish your arm to be? 20"?

This post has been edited by iDk: Apr 4 2006, 05:08 PM
darklight79
post Apr 5 2006, 02:36 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Apr 4 2006, 05:06 PM)
you talking your forearm or upper arm 12"? Actually how big you wish your arm to be? 20"?
20 inches for upper arms are well nigh impossible for the genetically average people and without any drug assistance. It is the illusion of size that matters sometimes.
TSIrresistible
post Apr 5 2006, 04:55 PM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(jetyap @ Apr 4 2006, 07:31 AM)
12" you call skinny....mine also 12" only ma.....14-15" is like as big as your calves already..that's more like the average bodybuilder's biceps!

Irrisistable, you can't compare to darklight79's "skinny" definition. To him anything less than 15" is skinny! tongue.gif
My measurement is on BICEPS!! Is about 12"+-, skinny!! (12" is right hand, left hand is slightly less than 12"). My 12" biceps is the result after doing push up, pull up, chin up .... Anyway, I cope I can get a litle bigger, maybe 1 more inche!!
Sorry, I didn't mention earlier!!

This post has been edited by Irresistible: Apr 5 2006, 04:59 PM
jetyap
post Apr 5 2006, 05:10 PM

168 posts

Eh friend...you should measure your bicep without any stimulation and not flexed.
TSIrresistible
post Apr 5 2006, 05:23 PM

3,278 posts

QUOTE(jetyap @ Apr 5 2006, 05:10 PM)
Eh friend...you should measure your bicep without any stimulation and not flexed.
So, I measure wrongly!! Bcause I flex dyring measurement!! Sorry...
darklight79
post Apr 5 2006, 06:01 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(jetyap @ Apr 5 2006, 05:10 PM)
Both measurements are feasible. Most bodybuilders measure in flexed and relaxed states.
jetyap
post Apr 5 2006, 11:49 PM

168 posts

I'm doing more triceps exercises now...just realized that a big bicep with a semi developed tricep looks like crap...Triceps give a nice shape to the arm smile.gif
darklight79
post Apr 6 2006, 01:05 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(jetyap @ Apr 5 2006, 11:49 PM)
I'm doing more triceps exercises now...just realized that a big bicep with a semi developed tricep looks like crap...Triceps give a nice shape to the arm smile.gif
Yeah, that's good. I see too many idiots doing just endless sets of curls in the gym for biceps and neglect everything else.
jetyap
post Apr 6 2006, 01:30 PM

168 posts

But bicep curl is fun though! It's quite fun to do tongue.gif

Trying for 35 pounds hammer curls this week!
otherwise
post Apr 6 2006, 02:47 PM

496 posts

1kg = ????pound
jetyap
post Apr 6 2006, 03:31 PM

168 posts

1kg = 2.2 pounds
darklight79
post Apr 6 2006, 04:30 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(jetyap @ Apr 6 2006, 01:30 PM)
But bicep curl is fun though! It's quite fun to do tongue.gif

Trying for 35 pounds hammer curls this week!
Hammer curls eh? Yeah, those are good. They work the brachialis to give illusion of peak. I've got pretty lousy genetics for bi's but hammers have helped a lot.
jetyap
post Apr 6 2006, 07:57 PM

168 posts

My forearms look damn weird for the last 2 weeks....top big bottom flat...now doing some forearm exercises for extensor. Any good exercises for the bottom part of the forearm?
darklight79
post Apr 7 2006, 06:54 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(jetyap @ Apr 6 2006, 07:57 PM)
My forearms look damn weird for the last 2 weeks....top big bottom flat...now doing some forearm exercises for extensor. Any good exercises for the bottom part of the forearm?
If you're looking to develop it for aesthetics, do wrist curls. But they won't help you much in the big compound lifts for the back like deadlifts, pull ups, chins, etc because it's not functional strength you're developing.
Go for static holds, pinch grips, Farmer's walk, etc.
Jackie-Cham
post Apr 11 2006, 04:04 PM

189 posts

hmm this is my advice lor...

normally ppl do pushup a lot a lot until like crazy but imo u just gotta stretch and stress the right places

try pulling a 5kg dumbell holding it straight (duno how to explain but pull it halfway and keep it there)

do it until ur hand want to break lol... then repeat at the other hand and keep doing it until either hands wont go any further

it works for me

in the end u will get nice arms

This post has been edited by Jackie-Cham: Apr 11 2006, 04:04 PM
porkchop
post Apr 11 2006, 05:04 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

jackie,the thing u say sounded like deadlift,

erm deadlift if i am not mistaken can go more than 5kg, preferbly heavier to strenghten your back

or it sounded like a "clean n press" thing.......
Jackie-Cham
post Apr 11 2006, 08:01 PM

189 posts

nono not strenghten ur back
err.. wait i draw something

__| | <-- ur arm lol at
____|

carry like this lol
to strain the muscles and u gonna get a nice shape

sorry but i lazy want to upload a pic sleep.gif

so this will have to do

This post has been edited by Jackie-Cham: Apr 11 2006, 08:05 PM
junster
post Apr 14 2006, 10:53 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(Jackie-Cham @ Apr 11 2006, 08:01 PM)
nono not strenghten ur back
err.. wait i draw something

|  |
        |  |
      __|  |  <-- ur arm lol at
      ____|

carry like this lol
to strain the muscles and u gonna get a nice shape

sorry but i lazy want to upload a pic sleep.gif

so this will have to do
i have no idea what is the drawing of urs.... sweat.gif
darklight79
post Apr 15 2006, 01:48 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

Lol. Jackie Chan, i guess you need to show him a pic of you doing it. I don't get it either.
iDk
post Apr 15 2006, 06:48 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(junster @ Apr 14 2006, 10:53 PM)
i have no idea what is the drawing of urs.... sweat.gif
same with you, i see already few days and still dont know what and what he showing.
FleshWound
post Apr 15 2006, 08:28 PM

76 posts

is he trying to say to stretch your arms outwards parallel to the floor while holding a dumbbell?
darklight79
post Apr 15 2006, 09:11 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(FleshWound @ Apr 15 2006, 08:28 PM)
is he trying to say to stretch your arms outwards parallel to the floor while holding a dumbbell?
Hmmm... isn't that a form of static contraction?
patrickyeo21
post Apr 15 2006, 09:13 PM

Believe in yourself ~
1,335 posts

suggest u to eat more meats ... dont need to exceed the limit, just eat more and you will experience it, then do more dumbell exercise like I always do, once u satisfy then stop it ...
iDk
post Apr 15 2006, 09:30 PM

1,124 posts

I believe that if you do enough chest workout like those chest press, dips and push up, your upper arm will develop in quite a good form. Chest press will involve more on triceps. You do the pull up will develop the biceps and also forearms. I very very seldom do arm workout, but i focus more on chest, back, shoulder and with the amount of exercise that i used my arms, my arms will grow together with the rest of the muscle, especially you keep on stress you arms until you feel like want to drop it away tongue.gif

This post has been edited by iDk: Apr 16 2006, 04:20 AM
darklight79
post Apr 15 2006, 10:22 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Apr 15 2006, 09:30 PM)
I believe that if you do enough chest workout like those chest press, dips and push up, your upper arm will develop in quite a good form. Chest press will involve more on triceps. You do the pull up will develop the biceps and also forearms. I very very seldom do arm workout, but i focus more on chest, back, shoulder and with the amount of exercise that i used my arms, my arms will grow together with the rest of the muscle, especially you keep on stress you arms until you feel like want to drop away it tongue.gif
^^^^^^^^^^

Yeap. Good post. That's what i keep telling people. Everyone's looking for a magic formula for big arms but there's no such thing.
Compound pushing works tris, compound pulling works bis. It's really that simple.
silencio87
post Apr 15 2006, 10:32 PM

" Freedom is From Within"
1,546 posts

Go to the gim and workout non-stop.When there's a will,there's always a way..*lol*
darklight79
post Apr 15 2006, 10:37 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(silencio87 @ Apr 15 2006, 10:32 PM)
Go to the gim and workout  non-stop.When there's a will,there's always a way..*lol*
Actually, no. Lol. My workouts don't last more than an hour. Heh...
iDk
post Apr 16 2006, 04:26 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Apr 15 2006, 10:22 PM)
^^^^^^^^^^

Yeap. Good post. That's what i keep telling people. Everyone's looking for a magic formula for big arms but there's no such thing.
Compound pushing works tris, compound pulling works bis. It's really that simple.
Yupe.... compound work is good. biggrin.gif By the way, how do you do the dips and pull-up? increase the intensity method or increase the quatity method? For me, i feel that if i increase the intensity on chest press, my chest will grow faster than the arm. But if i increase the quatity, my chest dont really grow but the arm will grow faster than the chest. Anyway, the behind method need to take quite sometimes to see the result.
darklight79
post Apr 16 2006, 02:16 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(iDk @ Apr 16 2006, 04:26 AM)
Yupe.... compound work is good.  biggrin.gif  By the way, how do you do the dips and pull-up? increase the intensity method or increase the quatity method? For me, i feel that if i increase the intensity on chest press, my chest will grow faster than the arm. But if i increase the quatity, my chest dont really grow but the arm will grow faster than the chest. Anyway, the behind method need to take quite sometimes to see the result.
idk, for dips, if you lean forward and go lower, the chest in emphasized, but not too low because it can damage the rotator cuffs.
If you stay more upright, and do slightly less range of motion, the tris are emphasized.
I do the weighted variety, had to import this dip belt form the UK but it's worth it. See pic.

But yeah, they're a great compound exercise and far more effective than the flat bench press for building mass. It was quoted as the upper body squat by Mike Mentzer, Arnold and Dorian Yates.
Ken
post Apr 16 2006, 03:15 PM

Immigrants @ Jewish
4,457 posts

QUOTE(silencio87 @ Apr 15 2006, 10:32 PM)
Go to the gim and workout  non-stop.When there's a will,there's always a way..*lol*
yeah...24 hours a day...7 days a week... rclxub.gif
porkchop
post Apr 16 2006, 03:20 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

wah that u gonna work your muscle to death..

should every alternate days all focusing 3 different parts of your body....
1 day workout, then next day rest, then next day work out., and so on

also limite to 45min, thats what i do....
seeseng
post Apr 16 2006, 03:49 PM

Swiftlet Enthusiast
863 posts

http://www.leehayward.com/arms.htm
All inside here lah. Hope it helps. Remember to warm up before do. Normally 3 sets for each musle(bicep & tricep) then do musle stretching after exercise. It help get bigger faster.

0.0352sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:09 AM