130 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Lenovo IdeaPad Y Series Thread v2, When Y480/580 meet Y400/500

tennytyy
post Jan 2 2013, 05:28 PM

1,916 posts

QUOTE(Stefan How @ Jan 2 2013, 02:55 PM)
sad.gif Anyone have problem installing the latest Nvidia driver 310.70? It seems im having trouble updating it,i tried clean install and typical too..still no luck..=( any idea?
Make sure you download the notebook version instead of desktop version of driver
ysumeng7
post Jan 2 2013, 07:32 PM

Hey guys, lenovo y400 user reporting for duty here biggrin.gif
But when i tried play LoL in this laptop, got sudden lag spikes sometimes like when skilling, or even opening the shop tab. :/ any tips?

Insanity_Jerr
post Jan 2 2013, 07:46 PM

64 posts

Hi guys, I just wanted to ask where to get the Y480? Not many sellers at LYP and Digital Mall have it.
TSkuroneko0509
post Jan 2 2013, 07:49 PM

~~sleeping anywhere, anytime, anyplace~~
969 posts

QUOTE(Insanity_Jerr @ Jan 2 2013, 07:46 PM)
Hi guys, I just wanted to ask where to get the Y480? Not many sellers at LYP and Digital Mall have it.
try check at LYN garage sales... there are some sellers that may still sell em... i believe many already switched to Y400 unsure.gif unsure.gif
mrl
post Jan 2 2013, 11:27 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(kujiro @ Jan 2 2013, 02:27 PM)
It seems like the lenovo had set to throttle down the CPU speed to 2.4ghz after reaching 90C, attached is the testing using throttlestop to maintain the speed after 90C and max the CPU temp reach 98C without cooler.
I believe the throttle temp comes from the CPU itself... not Lenovo...

QUOTE(Stefan How @ Jan 2 2013, 02:55 PM)
sad.gif Anyone have problem installing the latest Nvidia driver 310.70? It seems im having trouble updating it,i tried clean install and typical too..still no luck..=( any idea?
If you still having trouble with the correct version for Notebook, try uninstall current drivers first and restart your system... I think I used to have this kind of problem with my desktop before and restart does fix it...
sss2sssss
post Jan 3 2013, 12:17 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(kujiro @ Jan 2 2013, 02:27 PM)
It seems like the lenovo had set to throttle down the CPU speed to 2.4ghz after reaching 90C, attached is the testing using throttlestop to maintain the speed after 90C and max the CPU temp reach 98C without cooler.
every cpu will also do the same thing
Stefan How
post Jan 3 2013, 12:17 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Jan 2 2013, 05:28 PM)
Make sure you download the notebook version instead of desktop version of driver
i did,i download the notebook version..but still..cant update =/ cry.gif
shadowzephyr
post Jan 3 2013, 12:40 AM

133 posts

Hello guys, proud Y480 user here. thumbup.gif Can TS add my name to the list? tongue.gif

Bought this rig for RM2479 @4GB FreeDOS (11 Aug 2012).
Upgraded to 8GB, original Win 7 Pro x64 and Mushkin Atlas mSATA SSD 240GB few months ago, shipped from US. smile.gif
Mainly used for work, anime and games.

WEI:

Restart time:

Atto Benchmark:
unclewebb
post Jan 3 2013, 05:53 AM

http://ark.intel.com/products/71459/Intel-...3_40-GHz?q=3630

The Intel specified thermal throttling temperature for a Core i7-3630QM is 105C. Any throttling before the CPU reaches this temperature has nothing to do with Intel.

98C is a high temperature but it is still within the Intel spec.

Make sure the ThrottleStop Set Multiplier is set to Turbo to get maximum performance out of your CPU.

This post has been edited by unclewebb: Jan 3 2013, 05:56 AM
mrl
post Jan 3 2013, 06:30 AM

977 posts

QUOTE(unclewebb @ Jan 3 2013, 05:53 AM)

The Intel specified thermal throttling temperature for a Core i7-3630QM is 105C.  Any throttling before the CPU reaches this temperature has nothing to do with Intel. 

Make sure the ThrottleStop Set Multiplier is set to Turbo to get maximum performance out of your CPU.
yeah, you're right... it's from Lenovo... nod.gif after reading here and there, the limit looks like can be adjusted from BIOS... probably already hardcoded by Lenovo?

and this suddenly reminds me why my BF3 crashed, I remembers the temp is more than 100'C (104'C iinm) and now I wonder how come BF3 used a lot of CPU resources...
xyz_cityhunter
post Jan 3 2013, 08:47 AM

238 posts

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Jan 3 2013, 12:40 AM)
Hello guys, proud Y480 user here.  thumbup.gif  Can TS add my name to the list?  tongue.gif

Bought this rig for RM2479 @4GB FreeDOS (11 Aug 2012).
Upgraded to 8GB, original Win 7 Pro x64 and Mushkin Atlas mSATA SSD 240GB few months ago, shipped from US. smile.gif
Mainly used for work, anime and games.

What software you used to time the restart time?
sss2sssss
post Jan 3 2013, 10:31 AM

I'm Abra
1,329 posts

QUOTE(unclewebb @ Jan 3 2013, 05:53 AM)

The Intel specified thermal throttling temperature for a Core i7-3630QM is 105C.  Any throttling before the CPU reaches this temperature has nothing to do with Intel. 

Well in 105'c I'm sure almost all the lappy will ady auto shut down
What Intel state the highest temp does not mean that u can reach on that level
mozane
post Jan 3 2013, 10:39 AM

160 posts

Anyone resized your partition and Windows 8 having problem on logging in? How do you resolve that if you did?

** OKR definitely won't work anymore, another issue :/
wookp
post Jan 3 2013, 02:26 PM

497 posts

Any Y580 users playing Sleeping Dogs? When you guys run the in game benchmark, does it show running on Intel Hd4000 instead of GTX660M? Mine does though. However, under the Nvidia GPU usage it states that they are running Sleeping Dogs. Confusing...
Stefan How
post Jan 3 2013, 02:48 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Jan 3 2013, 02:26 PM)
Any Y580 users playing Sleeping Dogs? When you guys run the in game benchmark, does it show running on Intel Hd4000 instead of GTX660M? Mine does though. However, under the Nvidia GPU usage it states that they are running Sleeping Dogs. Confusing...
I think Ur y580 show the intel as the primary,but gaming usually it runs on nvidia..this is wat i think..like lets say im using my y480 play some graphic intensive game on battery..i guess it use intel all the time as to save battery..Its my point of view =/ just telling/ smile.gif
tennytyy
post Jan 3 2013, 03:38 PM

1,916 posts

QUOTE(wookp @ Jan 3 2013, 02:26 PM)
I'm sure Sleeping Dogs is running under GTX660M.
Don't think so Intel HD4000 can handle such graphic intensive game.

This post has been edited by tennytyy: Jan 3 2013, 03:39 PM
Stefan How
post Jan 3 2013, 03:41 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(tennytyy @ Jan 3 2013, 03:38 PM)
I'm sure Sleeping Dogs is running under GTX660M.
Don't think so Intel HD4000 can handle such graphic intensive game.
Im saying that the gtx does the job =.= impossible it would be intel..as intel would have been lagging all the way... sweat.gif

Added on January 3, 2013, 3:43 pmcrab i wrongly see it..srry for that post doh.gif

This post has been edited by Stefan How: Jan 3 2013, 03:43 PM
gigugigu90
post Jan 3 2013, 04:43 PM

31 posts

Y580 user report in, bought few unit for office, the laptop is truely nice, no regret, plan to change to ssd, any brand suggest? and how to migrate OS, thanks guy:-)
shadowzephyr
post Jan 3 2013, 08:08 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Jan 3 2013, 08:47 AM)
What software you used to time the restart time?
Well just a simple vbscript, created by guys from Sevenforums website. You can get the script here: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/720-restart-time.html.

Also, as stated from the page above, you guys can post your restart time there, for fun. Here's the link (registration is needed).
xyz_cityhunter
post Jan 3 2013, 08:30 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Jan 3 2013, 08:08 PM)
Well just a simple vbscript, created by guys from Sevenforums website. You can get the script here: http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials/720-restart-time.html.

Also, as stated from the page above, you guys can post your restart time there, for fun. Here's the link (registration is needed).
Thanks, my time same with you... guess this is the limit on Win7... yawn.gif

130 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:17 AM