134 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Bottom

[WTS] HIMEDIA Q5 Pro Quad Core 4K Smart Android TV, preload with Android 7 Nougat

AVFAN
post Jan 7 2015, 11:26 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Jan 7 2015, 11:56 AM)
Just goto popcorn time setting, click the cache path. Then it prompt you for the path.
think i mentioned this before.

that does not work for q5ii. think same for q5iii or q3.

after specifying path to usb ext hdd, it appears to dwnld n play but the speed/seeds/peers very quickly goes to zero.

somewhere in this thread, i remember another user while exchanging comments with me said he tried with ext sd card - doesn't work as well.

reading about this issue with other devices in other forums, it seems popcorn dwnld/play only works with the flash, not ext memory.

if u find otherwise, i'll be surprised.

i actually tried ext hdd on q16, same result, won't work. works only with flash memory. but for q16, that is good enough for almost everything popcorn has to offer.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 7 2015, 11:54 PM
pengembara
post Jan 8 2015, 01:30 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 7 2015, 11:26 PM)

after specifying path to usb ext hdd, it appears to dwnld n play but the speed/seeds/peers very quickly goes to zero.

somewhere in this thread, i remember another user while exchanging comments with me said he tried with ext sd card - doesn't work as well.

reading about this issue with other devices in other forums, it seems popcorn dwnld/play only works with the flash, not ext memory.

i actually tried ext hdd on q16, same result, won't work. works only with flash memory. but for q16, that is good enough for almost everything popcorn has to offer.
AVFAN

You are right about not been able to change the cache path - atleast on Q3. Nothing happen when you click on it.

cheers

This post has been edited by pengembara: Jan 8 2015, 01:30 AM
TSnicety
post Jan 8 2015, 01:58 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 7 2015, 11:26 PM)

Tested with Q5II None EMMC, the cache path works without any problem with external drive.

However, using external drive as cache path will be much troublesome because USB drive mount point dynamically change between sda, sdb, sdc,..., the cache path need to change according to the mount point from time to time. Secondly, the external drive I/O is much slower then internal flash.

This post has been edited by nicety: Jan 8 2015, 02:08 AM
AVFAN
post Jan 8 2015, 09:19 AM

24,453 posts

i just installed n tried kodi 14.0 helix (official, not beta or rc).
http://kodi.tv/download/

interesting... my findings so far:

.. this version, setting with mediacodec acceleration on for himedia q16 (should be same for q5iii, q5ii) was fine, unlike previous versions. so, that's very good! nb: this aspect is irrelevant for for other brand devices.
.. works better for bbts - skysports
.. works good with ilive-livestreams - skysports, skynews, cnn, bloomberg
.. works fine with abemin's livestreamspro - supersports, foxsports
.. works good with xbmctorrent - eztv, kickass, yify
.. no good with genesis - think genesis is down or got clipped like mashup?

so, all is good, well done kodi! thumbup.gif will see what they come up with for kodi 14.1.

actually, for me, kodi is now more for live tv streams - news and sports. vod movies n tv series, i m better off with popcorn and showbox. wink.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 8 2015, 07:12 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 8 2015, 07:41 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Jan 8 2015, 01:58 AM)
Tested with Q5II None EMMC, the cache path works without any problem with external drive.
However, using external drive as cache path will be much troublesome because USB drive mount point dynamically change between sda, sdb, sdc,..., the cache path need to change according to the mount point from time to time. Secondly, the external drive I/O is much slower then internal flash.
did u do it all the way, it plays nicely?

maybe possible for small files?

my experience... the bar will show, then it all goes to zero, nothing happens...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 8 2015, 07:42 PM
TSnicety
post Jan 9 2015, 12:53 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 8 2015, 07:41 PM)
did u do it all the way, it plays nicely?

maybe possible for small files?

my experience... the bar will show, then it all goes to zero, nothing happens...
Yes, tested all the way until the movie play.

menghua84
post Jan 9 2015, 03:16 PM

462 posts

wanna ask.. can we use q16 as NAS server? I would like to connect my PC external HDD on the q16 and make it as NAS so that can access or save files to it from my laptop, phone etc.. possible?
TSnicety
post Jan 9 2015, 07:14 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(menghua84 @ Jan 9 2015, 03:16 PM)
wanna ask.. can we use q16 as NAS server? I would like to connect my PC external HDD  on the q16 and make it as NAS so that can access or save files to it from my laptop, phone etc.. possible?
Just goto Setting -> Samba -> tick the Start, get familiar with the Android mount point naming convention when you search the path from you PC, /mnt/sda/sda1 or /mnt/sdb/sdb1, ....
AVFAN
post Jan 9 2015, 07:54 PM

24,453 posts

QUOTE(menghua84 @ Jan 9 2015, 03:16 PM)
wanna ask.. can we use q16 as NAS server? I would like to connect my PC external HDD  on the q16 and make it as NAS so that can access or save files to it from my laptop, phone etc.. possible?
and dun forget to change the settings on yr pc to allow access.

i had trouble doing that with old vista but a breeze with windows 8.1. biggrin.gif
ciaran75
post Jan 14 2015, 07:52 AM

Hi all, noob here.

I'm looking at buying q5 quad core, will it do all of below.

Using xbmc watch local media on synology nas with dtsma truehd sound passthrough in 1080p (max bitrate of bluray)and possibly 4k in future with no stuttering. It is wired connection not over wifi.

If not xbmc, is there any other app that would give all the above but with movie art etc. Not explorer layout.

Can you change skins within xbmc to aeon nox
Google play store
showbox
stream sky sports etc through xbmc

Sorry if answered already.

Thanks again,
Ciaran

This post has been edited by ciaran75: Jan 14 2015, 08:07 AM
TSnicety
post Jan 14 2015, 10:58 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(ciaran75 @ Jan 14 2015, 07:52 AM)
Hi all, noob here.

I'm looking at buying q5 quad core, will it do all of below.

Using xbmc watch local media on synology nas with dtsma truehd sound passthrough in 1080p (max bitrate of bluray)and possibly 4k in future with no stuttering. It is wired connection not over wifi.

If not xbmc, is there any other app that would give all the above but with movie art etc. Not explorer layout.

Can you change skins within xbmc to aeon nox
Google play store
showbox
stream sky sports etc through xbmc

Sorry if answered already.

Thanks again,
Ciaran
Sorry bro, if using xBMC to play back local movie is your key requirement then Himedia will not meet your requirement. Himedia is leveraging its own player to optimize the HiSilicon Processor which bundled with licensed DTS codec, 3D MVC and etc. if you use generic player such as xBMC or MX player, you will not optimize the capability of the processor. And Himedia native player is explorer layout.

Google play store, Showbox and aeon Nox skin are not an issue, Skysport and live channels are in the BBTS.

This post has been edited by nicety: Jan 14 2015, 11:05 PM
ciaran75
post Jan 15 2015, 01:47 AM

Thanks nicety, search continues
Any other Android boxes you know that do this?
Ciaran
mrag
post Jan 15 2015, 05:37 AM

74 posts

hi..pm price for himedia model that support dts audio
TSnicety
post Jan 15 2015, 08:26 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(ciaran75 @ Jan 15 2015, 01:47 AM)
Thanks nicety, search continues
Any other Android boxes you know that do this?
Ciaran
Sorry bro, so far do not see any model that meet your requirement.
TSnicety
post Jan 15 2015, 08:34 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(mrag @ Jan 15 2015, 05:37 AM)
hi..pm price for himedia model that support dts audio
Thank you for inquiry.

Both Q5 quad core and Q16 quad core are capable to support DTS and DTS HDMA and Dolby TrueHD passthru included 5.1 and 7.1.

As usual, we always advise my customers to take Q16 because of the 16GB flash memory.
menghua84
post Jan 15 2015, 12:15 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Jan 15 2015, 08:34 AM)
Thank you for inquiry.

Both Q5 quad core and Q16 quad core are capable to support DTS and DTS HDMA and Dolby TrueHD passthru included 5.1 and 7.1.

As usual, we always advise my customers to take Q16 because of the 16GB flash memory.
question.. any settings needed to enable DTS? i'm connecting my speaker to q16 via optical cable.
TSnicety
post Jan 15 2015, 12:47 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(menghua84 @ Jan 15 2015, 12:15 PM)
question.. any settings needed to enable DTS? i'm connecting my speaker to q16 via optical cable.
There is no setting required, the passthru will be auto if you use the Himedia native player. You can check from Setting -> Sound, by default the setting is Auto. Pls pm me if you need further help.

slfoong
post Jan 15 2015, 01:39 PM

what's the price of Q5III and Q16? The advantage of Q16 to Q5III is 16GB flash memory right, others are the same?
AmD_2224
post Jan 15 2015, 08:02 PM

pm price for Q16
TSnicety
post Jan 15 2015, 09:22 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(slfoong @ Jan 15 2015, 01:39 PM)
what's the price of Q5III and Q16? The advantage of Q16 to Q5III is 16GB flash memory right, others are the same?
Yes, both are the same except the 16GB flash memory.

134 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.0311sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:40 PM