6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

[WTS] HIMEDIA Q5 Pro Quad Core 4K Smart Android TV, preload with Android 7 Nougat

AVFAN
post Feb 2 2014, 02:18 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(jojoes @ Jan 30 2014, 11:08 PM)
hi bro. want to ask regarding hypptv. since im unifi, how to get username and password?
if u r trying to run hypptv on q5ii, here's wat i know...

yr unifi came with the hypptv box, rite? if u have forgotten id/pw for the hypptv box, u can call unifi, they will give to u again.

but.... alto q5ii has hypptv app from playstore, the same id/pw will not work. i tried.

think it's because hypptv which is probably old tech, is not supported by the q5ii's chip.
AVFAN
post Feb 6 2014, 11:13 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(bruce07 @ Feb 6 2014, 10:01 AM)
hi guys... i'm new to q5ii... so far my device only have ppstream, cloudtv, hitv, livetv... any other good apps that can view movies??? will appreciate ur sharing...
if you like chinese stuff,check if this works for u:
hitv - only vqq.com works well,the rest no good, lag, etc...
in histore, get the pptv app - this one works better than the pptv within hitv.
for chinese movies and tv series, hitv and histore has everything - u can check one by one see which one like, which one works well for u.

english and others - u need to get xbmc - this is the mother of all apps. but i need to say xbmc can be a b**** to make it work the way u want.
can be very confusing, can keep crashing if u install bad, cant get the apps u want if u dun know which repository to install.
u need to spend time to watch the how-to videos available on utube. google xbmc to read n understand first.

all the best!
AVFAN
post Feb 6 2014, 11:15 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(neooren @ Feb 6 2014, 10:45 AM)
New Q5II owner here.
My Q5II cannot play youtube got sound but the video just blank.
I download it from Play Store.
Any help?

Thanks in advance.
the one from playstore wun work, for now.

3 ways to get u tube:

. himedia browser
. dolphin browser
. xbmc

first 2, u can find in histore. then tag it, paste it onto main page like an app icon.
AVFAN
post Feb 28 2014, 03:06 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Feb 25 2014, 05:56 PM)
Bro, have you added advancedsetting.xml?
bro, thanks to your prompting, i have done that, how to article:
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=HOW-T...the_video_cache
from the article, only one of the ways mentioned will work for frodo 12.x.
the other ways are for frodo 13.x.

my results for q5ii non emmc wired and emmc wireless lan, after a couple of days testing:

.. 720 aac2.0/mp3 - very good, no problems
.. 720 dd5.1 - good, usually ok
.. 720 dts5.1 - not good, jerky
.. 1080 any audio - no good, very jerky

overall, i am quite satisfied with the improvement. less crashing also.

i just watched frozen 2013, 720 aac 2.0 - all smooth:
xbmc->istream->search->frozen 2103->movreel hd

there has been a lot of comment on himedia's performance with xbmc. i agree we all hope the new firmware or xbmc gotham will allow 720p/dts and 1080p to stream nicely.

meanwhile, i must also say himedia's hitv (and mangotv i guess) are very good for chinese stuff - sd and hd. this part, i do not know if other androidtv boxes offer equivalent or better. but for sure xbmc is helpless here - has some similar links like pptv, pps, vqq but they don't work at all.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Feb 28 2014, 03:16 PM
AVFAN
post Apr 5 2014, 06:06 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Apr 5 2014, 01:38 AM)
Bro, this already mentioned in the FAQ in this thread, pls check. Pls get the HiMedia customized XBMC from the seller you bought. If you are my customers you can direct download from my skydrive.
nicety, think u can help me with this question...

i never understood... why does one want to play files from usd/hdd via xbmc?

it's good as it is playing via media center, all perfect. hmm.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 5 2014, 06:10 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Apr 5 2014, 10:36 AM)
Sorry bro, I have to be honest that there is no free Discovery Channel, NatGeo. If this is your key requirement then you have to the CloudTV service which monthly subscription is USD5.
http://CloudTV.bz
actually, there is... limited and temperamental...

the free contents in cloudtv change all the time. discovery hd world is usually there - good, i like it. other discovery channels, none.

natgeo people hd, nat geo music hd... sometimes get, sometimes not there. free ma... tongue.gif

but yes, agree with u... just pay a bit, get all the goodies... cheap for now...
AVFAN
post Jun 17 2014, 02:21 PM

24,471 posts

just to share my experience with q5ii on worldcup2014 live so far:

1... best is mangotv/timeshift/cctv1 hd - the hd video is superb! occasionally runs into buffering issue but not much. commentary in mandarin. i use this channel mostly.

2... astro-on-the-go - its started ok one day1, now... while no crashing, the video is poor most of the time, buffers often for 0000 and 0300 matches. it becomes good again at 0600 match, which means trouble when the traffic is high, insufficient bandwidth, bottlenecks at peak times...??

3... cloudtv, go to sports category, many channels but.. look for supersportworldcupbrazil - this brazilian 2hd channel is stable, video good enough. commentary in portugese.

4... xbmc, go to navi-x, lots of channel in various languages. best one i found is a brazilian feed in one of the "worldcup live" links.

i am happy with what i can get! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jun 17 2014, 02:32 PM
AVFAN
post Jun 23 2014, 05:30 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(kino318 @ Jun 23 2014, 09:35 AM)
Hi, thk for sharing?
May I know what type Internet line speed used? stremayx 4mbs or unifi?
Thks
unifi 10mbps. i think unifi 5mbps does it well too.
AVFAN
post Jul 21 2014, 11:21 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Jul 20 2014, 04:30 PM)
To backup the apps, it is very straight forward, just run the ppreinstalled backup App in your box, copy the entire folder App_Backup_Restore to external drive. For xbmc, copy the sub folder as mentioned in the "5 steps quick restore xbmc.pdf".
i just tried this appbackuprestore app. simple but very useful and quick.
much easier now with this than the many steps directly using esfile explorer.
AVFAN
post Jul 30 2014, 11:20 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Jul 29 2014, 11:28 AM)
recently i realized the apps that i've used to watch 综艺episodes such as Togic, VST, iQiyi (especially if the content provider is iQiyi/PPS) all failed to playback the episodes....even if the apps can playback, it will always hang/buffering very often.

no such issues if i watch movies/chinese dramas/live telecast channels.

anyone has such issues before? I'm sing 1.0.7 non EMMC firmware.
my experience is whether firmware 104, 105, 106 or 107, qiyi, youku and some others never work well. can't rely on them.

the most reliable are vqq and pptv within hitv, and standalone pptv and ppstv.

imgotv (mangotv) and live tv - a bit egdy - some very smooth, some lagging, depending on time of the day/night as well.

for improvement u can try using different dns and/or china proxy ip but that may render other apps like cloudtv and xbmc unworkable.

lastly, we know certain things are happening to some sites like qvod - wont work for some/long time...?

but overall, there is enough to watch, whether chinese or english, no complaints for now. smile.gif
AVFAN
post Aug 10 2014, 01:08 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Jul 25 2014, 11:04 PM)
Yes, I noticed smAll border for Mango TV movies, the border is different according to different TV. Unfortunately there is no setting in mangpTV to maximise the screen.
about this black border thing...

i also notice in livetv, some tv channels have it, some dun. e.g. 18 eastern has it, 19 beijing doesn't.

for those that have the border, press the menu button on remote, it will stretch, but not fill screen.

possible the same will apply in imgotv.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 10 2014, 01:09 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 17 2014, 07:06 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(klboy @ Aug 15 2014, 10:42 AM)
Hi..   Can i watch CCTV channels with this Himedia 5Q ii box?  Tq.
with live tv, u get 460 national, provincial n city channels, of which 17 are cctv.

not all of them work, but if u have good broadband and a good router, u can easily get 100 of them smoothly, plus some movie/tv series channels in hitv in full hd. wink.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 17 2014, 07:41 PM
AVFAN
post Aug 19 2014, 09:50 AM

24,471 posts

nicety,

need a little help here...

my unit is now running with only 2xx mb free storage.

1. deleted all unwanted apps at settings-apps
2. manually deleted some files using es file explorer in "flash" and "sd" folders.

but seem not to get more space back in storage. not sure if there are more unwanted files/folders hiding somewhere...?

can you advise where are the right places to delete "remnant" files?

each time i use App_Backup_Restore, i empty it onto usd drive, so it is empty.

tq!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 19 2014, 09:51 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 20 2014, 10:58 AM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(nicety @ Aug 19 2014, 09:17 PM)
I would like to suggest to get the storage cleaner apps to clean the space.  Just go to Google play store,  you could find few storage cleaner apps.
thank you again.

i installed avg cleaner, able to recover 1xx mb in the end.

can see that these cleaner apps basically remove caches and history.

do u know if they remove redudant or duplicate files n folders, backups, etc?
AVFAN
post Sep 1 2014, 12:11 PM

24,471 posts

for unifi vip5/10 users, just to share...

i watch mangotv and hitv quite a bit besides xbmc.
i used to find many shows in mangotv lagging and couldn't get hitv hd stuff smoothly consistently even on ethernet.
recently i changed from orig dlink router to this asus rt n12hp router (rm199):
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2764213/+100

result has been excellent. ethernet and wifi both improve a lot, very pleased.
on ethernet, i can get most stuff on mangtov smoothly, incl hd stuff.
on hitv, u can select from 3 options: "clear", "high", "super" definition. i can now get them in "super hd" (=1080, i think) smoothly. can see from the yellow buffer bar it is good. nice!
on wifi, results quite close to that on ethernet.

while we discuss and agonize a lot over chipsets, firmwares, app versions, dns, proxies, nominal broadband speed, etc., don't overlook this router issue. i am convinced the orig unifi router is very poor. good news is a rm200 replacement router giving stronger and more stable signal connection will change all that to deliver much superior results.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 1 2014, 12:30 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 1 2014, 02:06 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Sep 1 2014, 01:11 PM)
where do you buy asus rt n12hp router?
they r sold in many places.

u can buy at the stores like ALL IT and similar.
it is unifi ready, get shop to preset as much as possible for u alto it is simple to diy too.
u will need yr unifi id and the router password (not the wifi one, need to call unifi to get it).
warranty 3 yrs, warranty claim, take it back to the store.

can also buy online, incl here in lyn, just search.
this way, warranty need to send to asus center in wisma sps, imbi.

asus has many models; this rt 12 is popular for 2 storey houses.
comes in rt n12hp and rt n12d1; the hp cost more due to the better twin antennae.
many other models that cost more, for 3 storeys, dual band for congested wifi areas like in high density condos, etc.

other detailed questions, best to read and ask in this section:
https://forum.lowyat.net/BroadbandUser-2-User
AVFAN
post Sep 2 2014, 03:24 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Sep 2 2014, 02:36 PM)
how to set options to clear/high/super in hitv? which hitv version do you use?
all hitv versions work the same.
when a show in play, press ok on remote (or left click on mouse).
a bar will show at the bottom.
it will display what definition u r on - in chinese, e.g. "clear"
use arrow down on remote or mouse, click on that, it will show "high" and "super" as well for you to choose, if u want to change.
just press ok or click on yr choice, it will change. will return to same spot of the show.
once it is set, it will stay like that for all hitv shows, until u change it again.
not all shows offer these 3 options, some offer 2, some only 1.

which hitv sites do you use?
i find pptv and vqq best - with "super", the video is excellent.
with youku, "super" is not as good for same show. probably some difference in upscaling tech.

note: if set on high or super, and the show starts to lag, u may need to revert to clear. how good is the streaming can be seen when you activate the bottom bar, see if u get a good yellow buffer to the right of the marker after a few seconds when the show is in play. if yellow buffer good, sure no lag, very smooth.

mangotv works differently. on the page where u click to start the episode or show, u can see if it offers "clear" and "high" or just "clear". choose one before starting the show.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 2 2014, 06:19 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 15 2014, 04:21 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(se3333 @ Sep 14 2014, 06:38 PM)
Is Unifi problem.
Unifi user can't access China website since 12th  September due to 'lack of China bandwidth quota'.
A lot of user complain all aroud on local Chinese website.
Please make a complain on SKMM website (Suruhanjaya Komunikasi & Multimedia Malaysia) to force Unifi to do something on it.

yep, we more or less knew this.
many incl me noticed since a few days ago.
unifi users all reporting same thing:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3225769/+1260
looks like they keep selling, more customers but cut back on bandwidth? shakehead.gif

mangotv totally dead.
livetv totally dead.
hitv half dead - need to try many times, slow loading, but once it loads, ok.

AVFAN
post Sep 18 2014, 10:36 AM

24,471 posts

hi all users, just to share a new app... thumbup.gif

thanks to alexlim, azdrama need not be watched from browser or xbmc.
QUOTE(alexlim12 @ Sep 17 2014, 05:14 PM)
The alternative to XBMC, work well with Q5II..
http://androidcsplayer.weebly.com/
i just tried csplayer. it is bigger than i initially thought; it is better than i expected.
bigger than cloudtv, easier to handle than xbmc.
it's leaned towards asian stuff but can find many western sites and tv channels.
video is mostly 240/360 flv or mp4, with a minority in 480/720.

not just azdrama, there r other similar asian domains - some with choice of chinese/eng subs, choice of mandarin/canto/eng audio
not all of them work, as u can expect but much easier to navigate.
i watched this 2014 movie last night, seems 720 video to me, smooth:
AVFAN
post Sep 18 2014, 12:39 PM

24,471 posts

QUOTE(h9s9h @ Sep 18 2014, 12:11 PM)
try out popcorn time as well. mostly in 1080 n 720 movies with subtitle. http://www.time4popcorn.eu/
popcorn time - the link shows app for windows xp n above.
is there an apk for himedia android?

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1511sec    0.92    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:49 PM