126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.18, D5200 announced, what next? D400?

razuryza
post Dec 5 2012, 07:44 PM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

^ go shoot something interesting please
Tony Stark
post Dec 5 2012, 07:58 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 5 2012, 01:12 PM)
But you're telling me your center AF is having issue?  hmm.gif
yes sir

QUOTE(razuryza @ Dec 5 2012, 07:44 PM)
i have to agree with razu laugh.gif
amduser
post Dec 5 2012, 08:03 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(razuryza @ Dec 5 2012, 07:44 PM)
+1 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
celciuz
post Dec 5 2012, 08:11 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Dec 5 2012, 07:58 PM)
yes sir
i have to agree with razu laugh.gif
But you said already calibrated 'correctly'? Or the range +20 to -20 is not sufficient for your calibration?
Tony Stark
post Dec 5 2012, 08:16 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 5 2012, 08:11 PM)
But you said already calibrated 'correctly'? Or the range +20 to -20 is not sufficient for your calibration?
not sufficient, and this is sometimes a prob when the subject is far.
celciuz
post Dec 5 2012, 08:20 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Dec 5 2012, 08:16 PM)
not sufficient, and this is sometimes a prob when the subject is far.
I guess that's not an issue with the center AF, but most likely the AF module is totally offset...
Tony Stark
post Dec 5 2012, 08:47 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 5 2012, 08:20 PM)
I guess that's not an issue with the center AF, but most likely the AF module is totally offset...
its really frustrating, first because i paid alot for this. 2nd is sometimes its in focus, sometimes its not. mostly far subjects dont really need the AF fine tune, but for subjects closer than 1 meter, it needs more than -20 sweat.gif

and to make it worse, i thot it was the lens. so i mounted it on my D3 and everything is is super sharp focus sad.gif

have u send urs in buddy?
celciuz
post Dec 5 2012, 08:54 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Dec 5 2012, 08:47 PM)
its really frustrating, first because i paid alot for this. 2nd is sometimes its in focus, sometimes its not. mostly far subjects dont really need the AF fine tune, but for subjects closer than 1 meter, it needs more than -20 sweat.gif

and to make it worse, i thot it was the lens. so i mounted it on my D3 and everything is is super sharp focus sad.gif

have u send urs in buddy?
Not yet, I don't stay in KL so gotta wait till the weekend before I can send it in sad.gif need to travel all the way to KL for this. I know when focusing far away even my D700 has issues at times, but close up my D800 is still alright only the left hand AF consistently back focus as per the results I have shared, totally no issues with center or right.

I'm thinking your unit has major offset in terms of AF... you probably need something like "-30" perhaps? which is why your left AF is 'in focus' while both the rest is out of focus?
Tony Stark
post Dec 5 2012, 09:01 PM

Jarvis where are you?
1,883 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 5 2012, 08:54 PM)
Not yet, I don't stay in KL so gotta wait till the weekend before I can send it in sad.gif need to travel all the way to KL for this. I know when focusing far away even my D700 has issues at times, but close up my D800 is still alright only the left hand AF consistently back focus as per the results I have shared, totally no issues with center or right.

I'm thinking your unit has major offset in terms of AF... you probably need something like "-30" perhaps? which is why your left AF is 'in focus' while both the rest is out of focus?
i dont really use my left or outer focusing points. but when this issue raises i did tried mine. yes probably -30.

btw have u tried Live View Autofocusing? with LV AF, its gonna be super sharp.

that's how i know my middle point is not good enuf. with no AF fine tune, with -20 AF fine tune, both seems to hav misfocus probs, its better with the -20, but with LV AF, its damn sharp. we're talking middle points btw

sweat.gif
celciuz
post Dec 5 2012, 09:25 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(Tony Stark @ Dec 5 2012, 09:01 PM)
i dont really use my left or outer focusing points. but when this issue raises i did tried mine. yes probably -30.

btw have u tried Live View Autofocusing? with LV AF, its gonna be super sharp.

that's how i know my middle point is not good enuf. with no AF fine tune, with -20 AF fine tune, both seems to hav misfocus probs, its better with the -20, but with LV AF, its damn sharp. we're talking middle points btw

sweat.gif
Yeap, LV focusing is my reference.

See my left focus is consistently out with 3 tries, but ok with LV. The rest LV and AF shows pretty similar results.
chongkiatz
post Dec 5 2012, 11:34 PM

6,792 posts

That terrible bad on left AF sweat.gif
PcWork
post Dec 6 2012, 02:05 AM

Audio Phreak
6,489 posts

seems like mine doesn't affected with the AF issue..
tested on 24-70@ 24mm F2.8, and 85mm @ 1.4
both oso doesn't show any different compared to live view.
i tested Left VF-AF VS Left LV-AF, center VF-AF VS center LV-AF, and Right VF-AF VS Right LV-AF.
i use timer + exposure delay 2 seconds, camera mounted on 190cxpro3. the picture is exactly 1 meter away from the front element of the lens, when 24mm picture is taken.

selected picture is LV AF, while candidate picture is VF AF for left most AF point

hopefully all newer batch has the problem settled..

celciuz
post Dec 6 2012, 07:36 AM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Dec 5 2012, 11:34 PM)

That terrible bad on left AF  sweat.gif
Its only slight OOF, but due to the lens is 35mm f/1.4 it kinda amplified the severity. Oh well, hopefully Nikon Msia able to fix in a go and getting back before 22nd December.
tongweng
post Dec 6 2012, 08:14 AM

127 posts

currently still no chance to take picture during day time.....mostly take at night one

Andy214
post Dec 6 2012, 09:28 AM

3,308 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Dec 6 2012, 07:36 AM)
Its only slight OOF, but due to the lens is 35mm f/1.4 it kinda amplified the severity. Oh well, hopefully Nikon Msia able to fix in a go and getting back before 22nd December.
Closer focusing distance will be more obvious due to the more shallow DOF, you will be able to detect even slight error; but the slight error might not be noticeable by everyone, or perhaps it's more obvious when you're the user; Hence when going to the service centre, sometimes they might not be able to see the problem of very slight error.

But your case is really obvious, hope they can fix it properly and not leaving any slight error.
KTCY
post Dec 6 2012, 09:37 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

70-200 f4 3.9k smile.gif
ongdennis
post Dec 6 2012, 09:46 AM

762 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Dec 6 2012, 09:37 AM)
70-200 f4 3.9k smile.gif
street price or the retail price from nikon?
can start to save money for this..hahaha
KTCY
post Dec 6 2012, 09:48 AM

BumbleBeeā„¢
12,505 posts

street price ! Later go try out if i rajin laugh.gif
gnome
post Dec 6 2012, 10:07 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

QUOTE(KTCY @ Dec 6 2012, 09:37 AM)
70-200 f4 3.9k smile.gif
Not bad. about the same price as canon counter part right? but then again, canon 2nd hand lens market is huuugeeee sweat.gif
TSAgito666
post Dec 6 2012, 10:09 AM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Dec 5 2012, 05:10 PM)
more...

QUOTE(little ice @ Dec 5 2012, 05:11 PM)
and more...

both post first 2 one i will rather not keep it, others is very nice for me rclxms.gif

126 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.90    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:15 AM