126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Bottom

Photography The Official Nikon Discussion Thread Ver.18, D5200 announced, what next? D400?

little ice
post Jan 29 2013, 12:17 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

home prepared yee sang... biggrin.gif

Nikon V1
Mr. Loh Yee Sang by Little Ice LYN, on Flickr
freddy manson
post Jan 29 2013, 12:28 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 29 2013, 11:36 AM)
stick with ur d40 until u get the D600 biggrin.gif the bigger jump will make u feel more happy haha
also correct..

but after buy D5100 and sooooo much happy with it then i think can save more if use the d5100 and wqit more for the D600 or the next predecessor
shinchan^^
post Jan 29 2013, 01:38 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jan 29 2013, 12:17 PM)
home prepared yee sang... biggrin.gif

Nikon V1
y the fish is dark colored one ?
tongweng
post Jan 29 2013, 01:53 PM

127 posts

marinated yee sang XD
ongdennis
post Jan 29 2013, 01:56 PM

762 posts

new AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED

http://www.cameraegg.org/af-s-nikkor-18-35...ures-and-specs/
gnome
post Jan 29 2013, 01:56 PM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Today only i know its actually hard to pose infront of camera, especially in studio environment sweat.gif laugh.gif

Me look like such a dork doh.gif
shinchan^^
post Jan 29 2013, 02:01 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(ongdennis @ Jan 29 2013, 01:56 PM)
just a remade of the AF-D version

QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 29 2013, 01:56 PM)
Today only i know its actually hard to pose infront of camera, especially in studio environment sweat.gif  laugh.gif

its ok. unless you have a S curve
little ice
post Jan 29 2013, 02:15 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 29 2013, 01:38 PM)
y the fish is dark colored one ?

QUOTE(tongweng @ Jan 29 2013, 01:53 PM)
marinated yee sang XD
it's raw fish but mackerel type, japanese mackerel "Aji". doesn't seems to go well with yee sang though. hmm.gif best one still maguro sashimi (raw tuna) or the more popular salmon sashimi or smoked salmon. they're more expensive so i bought the Aji instead but seem i get what i pay for. sweat.gif
Victor3010
post Jan 29 2013, 02:30 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Jan 29 2013, 04:36 AM)
stick with ur d40 until u get the D600 biggrin.gif the bigger jump will make u feel more happy haha
QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jan 29 2013, 05:28 AM)
also correct..

but after buy D5100 and sooooo much happy with it then i think can save more if use the d5100 and wqit more for the D600 or the next predecessor
I went ahead and bought the Nikon D5100 rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif . Digitalrev provides a worldwide local service centre warranty, feel good to have my 5 years old baby changed
Decky
post Jan 29 2013, 02:50 PM

1,190 posts

Hi guys, I have a question (and need some advice as well).

Nikon is most likely launching a D7k replacement this year right? I'm planning to come back to the DSLR world from a mirrorless system. I was originally intending to get the d600 + a prime (I plan to only shoot primes unless I suddenly can afford one of the super zooms). My budget isn't that big, but optimally I was hoping to get a 28mm f1.8 coupled with the d600 body.

I chose that focal length because I'm shooting 35mm on an APS-C sensory currently and I feel like it's just a *little* too tight for my uses of it.

Then when I thought about it, if Nikons new d7k successor is good enough, then the 28mm prime would be 42mm; Just a little less tighter compared to 52mm view if I used a 35mm prime on a crop sensor body. Going this route will save me alot of cash too.

But after reading some reviews on the lens, I found (from photozone.de), that the 28mm f1.8 performs differently on an FX and DX body in terms of MTF readings. On FX, the lens performs statistically better compared to the DX. Why?

I learned from past experience that relying on MTF readings aren't really helpful all the time, so I usually try to look for picture samples of the lens. But if the sharpness does differ on FX and DX, then it might be irrelevant for me to do so.

Any advice?

I might just end up getting the D600 with the 50mm 1.8G. But I kinda like slightly wider focal lengths. But aih, FF got good dynamic range and ISO performance.

This post has been edited by Decky: Jan 29 2013, 02:57 PM
freddy manson
post Jan 29 2013, 02:58 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(gnome @ Jan 29 2013, 01:56 PM)
Today only i know its actually hard to pose infront of camera, especially in studio environment sweat.gif  laugh.gif

hahaha thumbup.gif
it's a good experience kan?
shinchan^^
post Jan 29 2013, 03:14 PM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jan 29 2013, 02:50 PM)

Nikon is most likely launching a D7k replacement this year right? I'm planning to come back to the DSLR world from a mirrorless system. I was originally intending to get the d600 + a prime (I plan to only shoot primes unless I suddenly can afford one of the super zooms). My budget isn't that big, but optimally I was hoping to get a 28mm f1.8 coupled with the d600 body.

I chose that focal length because I'm shooting 35mm on an APS-C sensory currently and I feel like it's just a *little* too tight for my uses of it.

Then when I thought about it, if Nikons new d7k successor is good enough, then the 28mm prime would be 42mm; Just a little less tighter compared to 52mm view if I used a 35mm prime on a crop sensor body. Going this route will save me alot of cash too.

But after reading some reviews on the lens, I found (from photozone.de), that the 28mm f1.8 performs differently on an FX and DX body in terms of MTF readings. On FX, the lens performs statistically better compared to the DX. Why?

I learned from past experience that relying on MTF readings aren't really helpful all the time, so I usually try to look for picture samples of the lens. But if the sharpness does differ on FX and DX, then it might be irrelevant for me to do so.
Any advice?

I might just end up getting the D600 with the 50mm 1.8G. But I kinda like slightly wider focal lengths. But aih, FF got good dynamic range and ISO performance.
get the FX.
in image size for FX you can use back DX crop factor if u needed
BeckhamSoccerTips
post Jan 29 2013, 03:17 PM

250 posts

must try FX...dun have the budget yet..
Everdying
post Jan 29 2013, 05:52 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Jan 29 2013, 02:50 PM)

Any advice?

i dont think u noticed the disclaimer or read the review properly on photozone.
Please note that the tests results are not comparable across the different systems!

if want to compare somewhat tho, the FX test is using a D3x which has lesser pixel density than the D7000...so usually the D3x will also appear 'sharper'...and again which photozone explained in the review.
a more accurate comparison would be to compare the lens on D7000 and D800 which both have basically similar pixel density.

Pro3363
post Jan 29 2013, 07:14 PM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

Plese CnC drool.gif

Moon by Pro3363, on Flickr
Silverfire
post Jan 29 2013, 07:15 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jan 29 2013, 07:14 PM)
Plese CnC drool.gif

Moon by Pro3363, on Flickr
Cannot see detail on the moon flex.gif

My moon, blurred the clouds notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Silverfire: Jan 29 2013, 07:37 PM
Pro3363
post Jan 29 2013, 07:43 PM

Aiming high to stay flying
1,193 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Jan 29 2013, 07:15 PM)
Cannot see detail on the moon flex.gif

My moon, blurred the clouds notworthy.gif
Nice photo u have there....... icon_rolleyes.gif What the settings u used for this photo.......? hmm.gif
Silverfire
post Jan 29 2013, 07:51 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(Pro3363 @ Jan 29 2013, 07:43 PM)
Nice photo u have there....... icon_rolleyes.gif  What the settings u used for this photo.......? hmm.gif
1/250 ISO100 F4 200mm

The clouds weren't really visible so I just bumped up the Shadows.
amduser
post Jan 29 2013, 08:25 PM

5,542 posts

i wonder why nikkor dont have wide angle G series prime lens hmm.gif

no market demand?
Silverfire
post Jan 29 2013, 08:31 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(amduser @ Jan 29 2013, 08:25 PM)
i wonder why nikkor dont have wide angle G series prime lens hmm.gif