THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

rattan
post Oct 17 2006, 08:52 PM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Hi sifu's, I am also a part of the team now. I just got my WRT54GL V5, could not find V4 so decided to get the V5 which is way better then the WRT54G V5.

Got it in Lowyatt at RM 240 (Robust Network 3rd floor 03-2142 5213) after a small bargain. The baby comes with 3 years warranty. The sad part is the friendly sales man told me that the warranty will be avoided if flashed with a 3rd party firmware such as DD-WRT or etc.

Im so sad and according to him, Linksys can actually check if the firmware was flashed with a 3rd party previously.

Do you guys dun care about the warranty when flashing ?
OKLY
post Oct 17 2006, 09:27 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

It was meant for users to mod it with 3rd party firmware actually. Well, from my experience, I did send my WRT54G for RMA before and it was flashed with DD-WRT but they still accepted it.
wilson88
post Oct 17 2006, 10:23 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Oct 17 2006, 09:27 PM)
It was meant for users to mod it with 3rd party firmware actually. Well, from my experience, I did send my WRT54G for RMA before and it was flashed with DD-WRT but they still accepted it.
I second that , I screwed my router when I update my firmware to latest DD-WRT . It came back from warranty after 5 days tongue.gif
osxchd
post Oct 17 2006, 10:34 PM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

remember GL = Gv4, there's no GLv5, only GLv1 and GLv1.1
tong1774
post Oct 17 2006, 11:43 PM

1,065 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Oct 17 2006, 10:23 PM)
I second that , I screwed my router when I update my firmware to latest DD-WRT . It came back from warranty after 5 days tongue.gif
I think they wont bother to check, thats Malaysian style. I once screwed up my Aztech dsl600E and go directly to the Aztech service center in Kelana Jaya, even without any reciept and the warranty period had already expired. But the technician just inspect it and found out that i screwed up the firmware, and he just change the board for me FREE OF CHARGE"! Thats the only good thing about Aztech here, other than the lower price tag than any other brand here in Malaysia.
rattan
post Oct 18 2006, 12:02 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

Cool, I just hooked up my spanking new WRT54GL, wanna use the original firmware for a while then ill flash it, so ill feel the difference. smile.gif

Anyone can teach me to port forward for torrent downloads ? Heard it can increase speed ?
OKLY
post Oct 18 2006, 08:59 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Oct 18 2006, 12:02 AM)
Cool, I just hooked up my spanking new WRT54GL, wanna use the original firmware for a while then ill flash it, so ill feel the difference. smile.gif

Anyone can teach me to port forward for torrent downloads ? Heard it can increase speed ?
There is no such thing as increased speed actually. When you do port forwarding, it makes it easier/faster to transfer as the router knows where should the data be sent too. You asked for help on port forwarding, is it for Linksys' firmware or DD-WRT's ?

This post has been edited by hardyboyz888: Oct 18 2006, 08:59 AM
osxchd
post Oct 18 2006, 09:24 AM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

should b original fw, go to www.portforward.com to check out specific model... if GL is not available, check out G/GS... should b almost the same... gd luck on original fw smile.gif
wilson88
post Oct 18 2006, 06:32 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Oct 17 2006, 07:19 PM)
DD-WRT ROCKS!  thumbup.gif
Wah u open what bussiness ar rclxub.gif so many wireless client ??

It rox all the way tongue.gif

prasys
post Oct 18 2006, 08:58 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

thats good. Anyway , I had no choice but to void the warranty. I opened it up , ground the pin 16 [to recover the router back] , and installed a heatsink to keep the router cool !
rattan
post Oct 19 2006, 12:19 AM

Droid
Trade Dispute
3,379 posts

WOW u are sifu notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(prasys @ Oct 18 2006, 08:58 PM)
thats good. Anyway , I had no choice but to void the warranty. I opened it up , ground the pin 16 [to recover the router back] , and installed a heatsink to keep the router cool !
ExCrIpT
post Oct 19 2006, 07:30 AM

1,672 posts

any idea what's causing my WRT54 G to Disconnect after nearely 24 hours of using?
Found that its my router that is the culprit because i have to restart the router in order to connect back

will flashing it solve the problem?

OKLY
post Oct 19 2006, 08:28 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 19 2006, 07:30 AM)
any idea what's causing my WRT54 G to Disconnect after nearely 24 hours of using?
Found that its my router that is the culprit because i have to restart the router in order to connect back

will flashing it solve the problem?
Do state your firmware and hardware revision model too.
calvin
post Oct 19 2006, 10:34 AM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

anyone knows where to get a v5 and below GS ? my wrt54g just bricked and the WLAN led just doesn't come up..the power LED just keeps on blinking forever
osxchd
post Oct 19 2006, 10:36 AM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

u might b in luck, using a smaller firmware, such as mini to tftp back to the router if u can ping it... do a reset and tftp direct...

if really briked, then i am sorry, go get a GL, u cant get any < GSv5 nowadays...
calvin
post Oct 19 2006, 10:44 AM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

couldn't even ping into it...tried all the methods except opening the case and short the circuit..

This post has been edited by calvin: Oct 19 2006, 10:57 AM
osxchd
post Oct 19 2006, 11:00 AM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

yeah... prasys did the same as well, well... if u r out of warranty, juz open it up and do it... u hav nothin to lose...
ExCrIpT
post Oct 19 2006, 11:06 AM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Oct 19 2006, 08:28 AM)
Do state your firmware and hardware revision model too.
mine's v5 and using its original firmware
osxchd
post Oct 19 2006, 11:07 AM

Am I a Freak?
1,083 posts

r u a heavy bt user?
calvin
post Oct 19 2006, 11:44 AM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

QUOTE(osxchd @ Oct 19 2006, 11:00 AM)
yeah... prasys did the same as well, well... if u r out of warranty, juz open it up and do it... u hav nothin to lose...
u have any idea how to short the pins ? or are there any guides for doing this ?

126 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:41 PM