THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

wilson88
post Jul 3 2006, 02:14 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(ckwey @ Jul 3 2006, 03:50 AM)
^
Mind to tell which firmware that you flashed?
DD-WRT .. now DD-WRT can be supported by V5 WRT54G ...

I havent try to flash , but those who flash , any problem u facing ?
wilson88
post Jul 14 2006, 04:24 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

muhahahha ..... now i m official member of this thread liao ...

Thanks to Prasys who guided throughout the whole process. biggrin.gif

I m very pleased with the my WRT54G v5 now biggrin.gif
wilson88
post Jul 15 2006, 02:02 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

I would like to where to see my SNR margine using DD-WRT ???

I cant find the option on the original firmware ...

WRT54G v5 is using the micro version or the mini version?? ... I flashed using micro .. but someone told me v5 only compatible with mini .

I m confuse rclxub.gif

wilson88
post Jul 15 2006, 07:14 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

mind some one answer my question ? my question is on page 24 blush.gif
wilson88
post Jul 17 2006, 02:35 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Jul 17 2006, 02:19 PM)
http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/ddwrt.phpIts under the Wireless category - Clients. smile.gif
I cant find sweat.gif Using this firmware now DD-WRT v23 SP1 Final (06/26/06) micro , is there any latest firmware that support PPPoE ?
wilson88
post Jul 17 2006, 05:01 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

whoppps sorry for the confusion ... I m refering to DSL SNR margine
wilson88
post Jul 28 2006, 12:10 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Jul 25 2006, 04:49 PM)
When flashed to DD-WRT, it's like the LED has no use right? I tried playing it by holding the button and the color changes but nothing has been done. sweat.gif
Anyone knows how to program the button into an on/off switch for the Wi-fi? rolleyes.gif
seriously I dont know wat is that button for blush.gif

Edit : I just pressed it , and it changed to white colour ???

Wat it means ?????

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by wilson88: Jul 28 2006, 12:11 AM
wilson88
post Aug 10 2006, 10:40 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

My load always very high , I usually do alot of P2P , housemate DOTA online.

My maximum IP is already 4096 .

If I going to leave this for long run , will it affect my router ?

Anyone have any idea how to use RFlowCollector ???

I need step by step

My router's ip is 192.168.1.2

This post has been edited by wilson88: Aug 10 2006, 11:05 PM
wilson88
post Aug 11 2006, 12:38 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(azmihamzah @ Aug 10 2006, 11:51 PM)
your active ip connection is still 300+, compared to mine is around 400+ to 500+, my clients below me also are heavy p2p n online game user. Since i implementing QoS, the connection to hhtp is fine all the time - direct download can be as fast as 75 KB/s.

No, i dont think increasing max ip connection will affect your router, as long the CPU load doesn't at max point everytime, or else it may affect the CPU lifetime. One thing i realized about ur router is your load average which is at range of 1.3 -1.5, rather high compared to me just around 0.19 - 0.15. FYI, throughout a day i usually have 30+ pcs connected to my router. (5 APs to be exact - 3 WRT54GL:WDS, 1 belkin wifi router, and 1 Netgear wifi router)

RFlowCollector

Download the program - u dont need to even install it. Run RFlowCollector.exe.
On network parameter, enter range of ips of your network (local subnet) eg if your network range is 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.100 u can just enter 192.168 and on filter parameter just enter ip(s) of your router;the program wont count packet in/out from the router.

At router config. Administration > Services > RFlow / Macupid, enter those value. Server ip adress is the ip of computer that run RFlowCollector.exe Use port 2055. U may want to add static ip rules first for a long run. it can be done in DHCP parameter located at a same page. Just add the MAC, pc name (hostname) and desireable ip address.

Results will come out after a while, and u can monitor bandwith speed, ports used, which webpage (in ip form) it goes and comes etc. It is very simple program yet very helpful if u want to monitor what go on in your network... thumbup.gif
Thanks for the reply , I found out that my WRT54G v5 not supported by Rflow , it was because of the mini DD-WRT .
wilson88
post Aug 16 2006, 07:39 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(mobiusone @ Aug 16 2006, 07:11 PM)
hay guys

i'm using a WRT54G v5,is it worth flashing DD-WRT into it?
what are the chances of bricking my router?

could someone pls provide me the site that has the full tutorial on flashing v5 routers?
is freakin worth it to flash to DD-WRT !! The QoS is really nice !!! The original firmware is really ghey , not much setting u can kacau.

Just follow the steps on the DD-WRT for version 5 routers. Just follow it and u wont brick it. I did mine biggrin.gif I am very happy with DD-WRT .

chances to brick yr router : 10% if u don't follow instruction.
wilson88
post Oct 2 2006, 07:14 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

just to reconfirm , I am using WRT54G v5. So I should download the DD-WRT v23 SP2 micro generic version ? http://www.dd-wrt.com/dd-wrtv2/downloads.php (is this the correct one) ?

Does this comes with PPPoE ?

Thanks smile.gif

wilson88
post Oct 2 2006, 08:43 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Oct 2 2006, 08:09 PM)
Yes for WRT54G v5 you should be using the micro version of DD-WRT. What do you mean by comes with PPPoE ?
When DD-WRT available for v5 , at first it don't comes with PPPoE dialing. After some time only the it comes with PPPoE.

My question is : Will the latest firmware comes with PPPoE ?

Hope u understand what am I trying to say

wilson88
post Oct 3 2006, 01:09 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Oct 2 2006, 11:23 PM)
yes, SP2 micro comes with PPPOE setting. i'm using v5 now..
Thanks anyway, I will update my firmware tomorrow. Since both my housemate are playing DOTA , while I am having heavy BT session tongue.gif

Hope I don't screw anything tomorrow.
wilson88
post Oct 3 2006, 10:47 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

hey !! I just screwed up my router . I go back the same link u all mention which is correct. I try to update it , in the end it shows failed. After I restart my router , kaboommeed. My power led is blinking , while my network activity led still got blink ???

what to do now ? ping to 192.168.1.2 or 192.168.1.1 all failed
wilson88
post Oct 10 2006, 06:01 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

I WRT54G v5 is back !!! Back from RMA because I screwed the DD-WRT firmware rclxub.gif

Again !! I flashed to DD-WRT whistling.gif MUAHAHHAHA DD-WRT rox
wilson88
post Oct 10 2006, 10:42 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

I am having phobia to update the firmware again sad.gif
wilson88
post Oct 10 2006, 11:38 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(blaxez @ Oct 10 2006, 11:11 PM)
Approx how long they'll take for the RMA process? My AC adaptor is not functoning now, guess I'll bring it to RMA soon.
I waited for 5 days only smile.gif

Anyway , hardyboyz

That day I asked here to reconfirm the firmware I going to flashed. I am curious what goes wrong that day I want to update my firmware

I downloaded the micro generic from here

I went to the admin tab , and I just browse the micro generic firmware I downloaded , then I press flash. I didnt reset the router before I do any flashing.

After a few seconds , "Failed" appear on the screen. I reboot , my router isn't working anymore.

Mind to explain which step I am wrong ??

I think I downloaded the wrong firmware , I should get from the untested alpha firmware right ??

Please guide me smile.gif

This post has been edited by wilson88: Oct 10 2006, 11:39 PM
wilson88
post Oct 11 2006, 10:50 AM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Oct 11 2006, 12:23 AM)
sweat.gif u should use dd-wrt.v23_micro_wrt54g.bin to flash v5 router...
i hv 1 wrt54g v5 had been flashed sp2 firmware..so far so good..rock stable since now  icon_rolleyes.gif
Download [DD-WRT micro generic]. You may want to check [DD-WRT] to make sure there isn't a newer version than v23 SP2 beta 08/03/06. Do not use the one labelled 'WRT54G' or 'WRT54GS', use the 'generic' version.

I quote this from http://www.bitsum.com/openwiking/owbase/ow.asp?WRT54G5%5FCFE

The question is , this page told me to download the Micro Generic version , not those were labelled as WRT54G rclxub.gif

please clear my confusion.
wilson88
post Oct 11 2006, 12:08 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Oct 11 2006, 12:04 PM)
DDNS features is still disable on this micro firmware.
i mainly use QoS which is not bad  thumbup.gif
P2P/BT seems more stable than previous version.

i advise to u to buy GL instead of GS router.
i flashed more than 10 sets for my customers without any issues occured... thumbup.gif

if u doing 1st time on V5 router (linksys ori firmware). it should be use micro "generic" firmware as the link mentioned.

after confirmed dd-wrt micro firmware been flashed. select dd-wrt.v23_micro_wrt54g.bin to flash V5 in the next future. b4 doing this, it is advice to reset ur router 1st...
Damn vmad.gif why this isn't mention on that page vmad.gif So next time I should get my firmware from SP2 or untested alpha ??? I am still confuse over this

Thanks for your reply smile.gif
wilson88
post Oct 11 2006, 02:12 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

I m having problem to add the 4th QoS port rclxub.gif

Each time I press add , it somehow don't appear on the screen.

Any idea why ? I think this is a bug

0.0457sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:17 AM