126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Bottom

THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

insanenuisance
post Nov 29 2006, 12:24 AM

already try reset...still not working....
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 08:27 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(DeLarafi @ Nov 28 2006, 07:37 PM)
RM210 for GL... this is is a price i got from Stygyx Melaka.
i think bulk can give better price than that.

My DDWRT are working well.. ermm let me see
this 1 is just 6 days up.

still kicking and keep on BT more than 5.

the most stable i ever had.
wow, that cheap? i quote from some forumers here, around RM225-235. I read the compuzone pricelist around RM260 for GL version

WRT54G version only RM198. Since my budget limited, worst come to worst, i'll get the G version, but can the G version performed as good as the GL after flash to DD-WRT?

And the procedures to flash the G version is more complicated than GL right?
karhoe
post Nov 29 2006, 02:44 PM

6,238 posts

I just bought ( just bought, half an hour ) ago, a brand new WRT54G, happily set it up and the first website I went is to ddwrt.com . And to my horror, im using version 7 which is NOT SUPPORTED AT ALL, damn, if WRT54GL is just a couple of bux away, should have bought it, now im stuck with a normal wifi modem, which perfoms nothing better than a cheap dlink wifi router
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 03:00 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Nov 29 2006, 02:44 PM)
I just bought ( just bought, half an hour ) ago, a brand new WRT54G, happily set it up and the first website I went is to ddwrt.com . And to my horror, im using version 7 which is NOT SUPPORTED AT ALL, damn, if WRT54GL is just a couple of bux away, should have bought it, now im stuck with a normal wifi modem, which perfoms nothing better than a cheap dlink wifi router
how much u bought it? why the version 7 not supported?
karhoe
post Nov 29 2006, 03:23 PM

6,238 posts

Because it uses other chipset, if i have the choice, I would definitely get a GL, argh !!!

The WRT54Gv7 uses an Atheros chip, runs VxWorks, and has 2MB ROM/8MB RAM. It is not supported by DD-WRT.
honkit
post Nov 29 2006, 04:05 PM

Airbus-er.
1,048 posts

me using v3 for almost half a yr.. now my router having problem.. cant enter setup.. anyone know where is there service center for linksys?
karhoe
post Nov 29 2006, 05:20 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(honkit @ Nov 29 2006, 04:05 PM)
me using v3 for almost half a yr.. now my router having problem.. cant enter setup.. anyone know where is there service center for linksys?

now that the latest version is v7, perhaps after repairing, they will give u a v7 which is not broadcom and no ddwrt

cyberic
post Nov 29 2006, 05:51 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Nov 29 2006, 02:44 PM)
Aiya!! should do some research 1st b4 buying...I bought a WRT54GS v4 and i thought that it come with 32MB RAM but i am wrong bcos oni v3 and below come with 32MB RAM (I should have bring the serial number list to verify that) Still, it is a good router and come with 3yrs limited warranty. Hmm...but then i realize that if the router spoilt, they will replace with a newer version only...haiii...should have buy the GL version... hahaha
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 06:16 PM

3,589 posts

this sat, i gonna buy 1. so to be safe, shud i buy the GL? the GL itself got few versions or not?
karhoe
post Nov 29 2006, 06:23 PM

6,238 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 29 2006, 06:16 PM)
this sat, i gonna buy 1. so to be safe, shud i buy the GL? the GL itself got few versions or not?
F*** linksys

The WRT54G wireless router is probably one of Linksys' top five most popular products, with sales volumes in the "hundreds of thousands per month" according to this LinuxDevices article. It is Linux-based and also is probably the #1 "hacked" consumer networking product, with numerous alternative firmware distros available including Sveasoft, HyperWRT, Ewrt, DD-WRT, and OpenWrt. Although loading any of them voids the product warranty, enough users have found the risk worth it due to the features they provide. Some simply provide access to transmit power settings, while others add features not available with Linksys' code.

For whatever reason, with the V5, Linksys decided to remove the hackability "feature", switching to the proprietary VxWorks embedded operating system that is used in other consumer networking products. The V5 also halves the amount of both RAM and flash memory to 8 and 2 MB respectively, which according to the LinuxDevices article lets Linksys come out ahead in cost reduction even with the additional cost of the VxWorks license fee. The reduced memory also serves as a deterrent for hackers who might want to find a way around the new bootloader.

The change didn't sit well with enough of Linksys' customers that the company responded to the outcry and created the WRT54GL (L for "Linux"), which is still loadable with alternative firmware. At the time of announcement, Linksys said it wouldn't guarantee how long the "L" would be available. But apparently it's popular enough that it has progressed to a "V1.1" version.

http://www.tomsnetworking.com/2006/06/08/l...a_lousy_router/

This post has been edited by karhoe: Nov 29 2006, 06:32 PM
vivre
post Nov 29 2006, 07:36 PM

No need to look at these stars ....
826 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 29 2006, 06:16 PM)
yeap... GL is better than risking yourself with the normal G, since GL is already confirmed can be loaded with other firmware... though GL is slighly more expensive than normal G

TSMX510
post Nov 29 2006, 07:45 PM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

You're statement is referring to newer version Of WRT54G / GS series i'm and some of the people are the pioneer using the good old days version of WRT54G and GS version which have bigger RAM of course with newer version 2MB nothing much can be done. I'm sure you're quite jeolous hehehe go get WRT54GL still have 16MB ram inside it can flash to DD-WRT anytime smile.gif
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 08:25 PM

3,589 posts

a lil out topic here, if i wan to get wireless adapter or my desktop, which u would recommend? and usb or pci?
karhoe
post Nov 29 2006, 10:37 PM

6,238 posts

forget it, got a 3com immediately, forget DDWRT at the moment, my next router will be WRT54GS
mikelanding
post Nov 30 2006, 12:49 AM

2,865 posts

Dun save some money and choose G version....coz latest G version 7 cannot be flash to DD-WRT. Even if U buy a lower version than version 7 now.. In future if anything happen, send to RMA and return with version 7....it will be doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
To be sure can use DD-WRT, GL is yr best choice...Get it from Mika or Stingy Mlk( if U around Mlk or had friends there).
By the way, I got my WRT54-GL from Lowyat 3rd floor cost me Rm250. Shopkeeper said he offered 3 years shop warranty, if anything happen send back to shop rather than to linksys SC. It worth every RM...My cousin and I brought the same unit together and he very happy with it and ditch his 3Com WIFI router away....hahaha. He used Netgear, 3Com, D-link so far....this the best he said...smile.gif

Ohh...by the way, C-zone no stock for WRT54GL

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 29 2006, 08:25 PM)
a lil out topic here, if i wan to get wireless adapter or my desktop, which u would recommend? and usb or pci?
USB will be better since in future if U got lappy U still can use it...although USB cost a little bit more...

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Nov 30 2006, 12:58 AM
harrychoo
post Nov 30 2006, 01:41 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 30 2006, 12:49 AM)
Dun save some money and choose G version....coz latest G version 7 cannot be flash to DD-WRT. Even if U buy a lower version than version 7 now.. In future if anything happen, send to RMA and return with version 7....it will be  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
To be sure can use DD-WRT, GL is yr best choice...Get it from Mika or Stingy Mlk( if U around Mlk or had friends there).
By the way, I got my WRT54-GL from Lowyat 3rd floor cost me Rm250. Shopkeeper said he offered 3 years shop warranty, if anything happen send back to shop rather than to linksys SC. It worth every RM...My cousin and I brought the same unit together and he very happy with it and ditch his 3Com WIFI router away....hahaha. He used Netgear, 3Com, D-link so far....this the best he said...smile.gif

Ohh...by the way, C-zone no stock for WRT54GL
USB will be better since in future if U got lappy U still can use it...although USB cost a little bit more...
actually oledi pm mika asking about the GL, but he is from johor, i hope to cod. RM250 quite high for lowyat also..

USB adapter which brand and model u recommend?
mikelanding
post Nov 30 2006, 02:08 AM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Nov 30 2006, 01:41 AM)
actually oledi pm mika asking about the GL, but he is from johor, i hope to cod. RM250 quite high for lowyat also..

USB adapter which brand and model u recommend?
Not sure on which brand..but lot recommend using the same brand as yr router. Less compatibility problem.....But linksys USB wifi card is bit costly compare to other. For me, i would choose linksys coz i using linksys router..smile.gif
rebel without a cause
post Nov 30 2006, 07:13 AM

Validating
297 posts

wrt54gl in lowyat is selling for rm240. if you able, can bargain for less. if you can find a very particular and unique shop in lowyat, you can actually get for rm210-220. sorry i can't be more specific on the last one cause the fellow scare mobbed. here's a tip though: you'll 9/10 not hit this particular shop even when you're searching from top to bottom. that's why i mention unique smile.gif

This post has been edited by rebel without a cause: Nov 30 2006, 07:20 AM
karhoe
post Nov 30 2006, 10:13 AM

6,238 posts

Why didn't I EVER CHECK out this THREAD before buying a WRT54G, damn it !!!

I brought 400 there the other day, readying to spend all on modem and router, ended up spending RM318 for modem and wrt54g, I could always afford a GL but I didn't bother cause I thought G would do !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif

Now I can't get a RM250 router that work like RM3000 router
cywings
post Nov 30 2006, 04:00 PM

415 posts

i went lowyat last weekend to get the GL version...most of the shops not selling GL, coz out of stock.... the only shop having it is the shop which sells linksys products only...

selling it for RM250 while G version going for RM200 - RM210..

no choice...i bit my tougue and bought it for RM250... mad.gif
felt like kena cut throat after i bought it..

but nonetheless flashed it to dd-wrt last night with not much of a problem.. smile.gif

if anyone would like to try your luck you could go to a shop which sells linksys product in the curve... no doubt a bit pricey but i guess u could get it there since GL is low on stock anywhere else...

psst: try other computer shops in thecurve too..u might get lucky.

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:17 PM