THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

harrychoo
post Nov 28 2006, 08:09 AM

3,589 posts

Should i get the G or GL model for this router?

I need it for my home usage.

What version the router have to be in order to be able to flash this firmware?
harrychoo
post Nov 28 2006, 10:28 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Nov 28 2006, 09:00 AM)
Every version is made possible to be flashed to this firmware but I think choosing the GL version should be better as it has more RAM memory compared to the others.
What is the current market price for GL? Coz i saw Mika sell in bulk thread for RM225. I check compuzone pricelist around RM260 but not sure whether they got update or not.

Is the router easy to configure and to flash the firmware? If I on it 24 hours continuously, will it got heat problem?

I never been to wireless networking so not sure what need to do.

thanks ya
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 08:27 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(DeLarafi @ Nov 28 2006, 07:37 PM)
RM210 for GL... this is is a price i got from Stygyx Melaka.
i think bulk can give better price than that.

My DDWRT are working well.. ermm let me see
this 1 is just 6 days up.

still kicking and keep on BT more than 5.

the most stable i ever had.
wow, that cheap? i quote from some forumers here, around RM225-235. I read the compuzone pricelist around RM260 for GL version

WRT54G version only RM198. Since my budget limited, worst come to worst, i'll get the G version, but can the G version performed as good as the GL after flash to DD-WRT?

And the procedures to flash the G version is more complicated than GL right?
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 03:00 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Nov 29 2006, 02:44 PM)
I just bought ( just bought, half an hour ) ago, a brand new WRT54G, happily set it up and the first website I went is to ddwrt.com . And to my horror, im using version 7 which is NOT SUPPORTED AT ALL, damn, if WRT54GL is just a couple of bux away, should have bought it, now im stuck with a normal wifi modem, which perfoms nothing better than a cheap dlink wifi router
how much u bought it? why the version 7 not supported?
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 06:16 PM

3,589 posts

this sat, i gonna buy 1. so to be safe, shud i buy the GL? the GL itself got few versions or not?
harrychoo
post Nov 29 2006, 08:25 PM

3,589 posts

a lil out topic here, if i wan to get wireless adapter or my desktop, which u would recommend? and usb or pci?
harrychoo
post Nov 30 2006, 01:41 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Nov 30 2006, 12:49 AM)
Dun save some money and choose G version....coz latest G version 7 cannot be flash to DD-WRT. Even if U buy a lower version than version 7 now.. In future if anything happen, send to RMA and return with version 7....it will be  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
To be sure can use DD-WRT, GL is yr best choice...Get it from Mika or Stingy Mlk( if U around Mlk or had friends there).
By the way, I got my WRT54-GL from Lowyat 3rd floor cost me Rm250. Shopkeeper said he offered 3 years shop warranty, if anything happen send back to shop rather than to linksys SC. It worth every RM...My cousin and I brought the same unit together and he very happy with it and ditch his 3Com WIFI router away....hahaha. He used Netgear, 3Com, D-link so far....this the best he said...smile.gif

Ohh...by the way, C-zone no stock for WRT54GL
USB will be better since in future if U got lappy U still can use it...although USB cost a little bit more...
actually oledi pm mika asking about the GL, but he is from johor, i hope to cod. RM250 quite high for lowyat also..

USB adapter which brand and model u recommend?
harrychoo
post Dec 4 2006, 02:07 AM

3,589 posts

Just got my WRT54GL at LYP. thumbup.gif

Can't find any GL version at PC Fair and PC Fair promoters know nuts about GL or G version 5.

Even LYP also left Compuzone and the shop i bought got this model. Get it for RM230 which quite cheap.

Now waiting got free time to flash the router
harrychoo
post Dec 5 2006, 02:32 AM

3,589 posts

i just finish flash my WRT54GL to DDWRT v23 SP2 Standard after flashing the mini.

now i dunno what kind of setting i need to do, for examples those basic settings and screamyx settings..

anybody kind enough to guide me? i using this router with my old Aztech DSL305E modem
harrychoo
post Dec 5 2006, 08:46 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Dec 5 2006, 08:43 AM)
You can raise the max TCP connections to 4096 and play around with the QoS settings also to give priority to a certain program.
last night after i finish flash my router, i can't get it connect to the internet.

Is it i need to set to PPPoE, then username and password for screamyx?

any other basic settings that i need to done to get connected to internet in the 1st place before playing with advance features? smile.gif
harrychoo
post Dec 5 2006, 09:14 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Dec 5 2006, 08:52 AM)
Yes you need to set it to PPPoE and enter all your Streamyx login details and you should be connected.
I had set it but somehow it din work sad.gif

Any link or guide to guide me which details in the DDWRT web page i need to set?

harrychoo
post Dec 5 2006, 01:09 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(cywings @ Dec 5 2006, 12:17 PM)
harrychoo: your adsl modem has to be in bridge mode as well.
that's the problem, i dunno what is the IP for my modem to enter the setup page sweat.gif
harrychoo
post Dec 6 2006, 12:55 AM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Dec 5 2006, 10:46 PM)
You can try to press and hold the reset button located at your modem. Most modems will be back to bridge mode by default after resetting it.
Ok, i successfully connected to internet, forget to chg the gateway of my PC network card to the new gateway

Is it correct i need to set the Advanced Routing if i set my PC to static IP?
harrychoo
post Jan 6 2007, 07:10 PM

3,589 posts

Want to ask about the 'best' configuration for my DDWRT.

Basically i use both wired and wireless thru the router, mainly for BT and internet. I got 1 PC access using wired, another PC access thru wireless and 1 to 2 laptops thru wireless..Both PCs will normally BTing.

Let say i set static IP for my both PC but not my laptops (coz office use), what things shud i set?

Do i need to set Advanced Routing for my both PC?

Do i need to set port forwarding for BitComet software? I try add port forward but can't manage it, after click Save, it won't come out.

Do i need to set QoS? What settings if yes?

What else i need to set basically to maximise the performance? Sometimes i feel BT quite slow.

harrychoo
post Jan 14 2007, 04:30 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Jan 6 2007, 07:10 PM)
Want to ask about the 'best' configuration for my DDWRT.

Basically i use both wired and wireless thru the router, mainly for BT and internet. I got 1 PC access using wired, another PC access thru wireless and 1 to 2 laptops thru wireless..Both PCs will normally BTing.

Let say i set static IP for my both PC but not my laptops (coz office use), what things shud i set?

Do i need to set Advanced Routing for my both PC?

Do i need to set port forwarding for BitComet software? I try add port forward but can't manage it, after click Save, it won't come out.

Do i need to set QoS? What settings if yes?

What else i need to set basically to maximise the performance? Sometimes i feel BT quite slow.

anyone? bt and dota is indeed slower no matter using cabled or wireless compared to my previous cable router

0.0397sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:15 AM