THE DD-WRT V1, For Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS Fans -ONLY-

cyberic
post Nov 29 2006, 05:51 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Nov 29 2006, 02:44 PM)
I just bought ( just bought, half an hour ) ago, a brand new WRT54G, happily set it up and the first website I went is to ddwrt.com . And to my horror, im using version 7 which is NOT SUPPORTED AT ALL, damn, if WRT54GL is just a couple of bux away, should have bought it, now im stuck with a normal wifi modem, which perfoms nothing better than a cheap dlink wifi router
Aiya!! should do some research 1st b4 buying...I bought a WRT54GS v4 and i thought that it come with 32MB RAM but i am wrong bcos oni v3 and below come with 32MB RAM (I should have bring the serial number list to verify that) Still, it is a good router and come with 3yrs limited warranty. Hmm...but then i realize that if the router spoilt, they will replace with a newer version only...haiii...should have buy the GL version... hahaha
cyberic
post Dec 9 2006, 11:29 PM

1,130 posts

hey guys, i face some problem here..i got a wrt54gs v4 that i flash to ddwrt v23 sp2 mini. I'm using utorrent client to download stuff. I oredi set the 4096 and 120 configuration for BT usage.

I even try QOS after i discover still got problem with surfing. I can't surf net after few hours or next morning..get the time out error. I was starting 3 torrent at that time. Today i oni start 1 torrent and so far so good.

1. Is that important to have a good modem even though it is set to bridge? I pair the wrt54gs with AM300 and Dlink D500G also face problem.

2. Should i re-flash my router?

any more solution for this?
cyberic
post Dec 9 2006, 11:49 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Dec 9 2006, 11:35 PM)
So if it is direct connection (without any router), the connection with torrent would be fine ?
Well, i din try that but when I face the same problem if use the AM300 in router mode.
cyberic
post Dec 9 2006, 11:58 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 9 2006, 11:50 PM)
Had U open window halp_open port? if not, do so.
patch that long time oredi lor. i oredi check still set at 50.
cyberic
post Dec 10 2006, 12:13 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 10 2006, 12:04 AM)
try to open more then..I set to 150...smile.gif and also TCP and UDP Timeout (in seconds) set to 300
Wah..u open so many ar? laugh.gif I don't think is related TCP half open limit Hmm...anyway, i oredi bought a speedtouch 536 from singapore. Later, i will test whether it is modem related becase i face time out error also with AM300 modem alone after long or heavy BT period.
cyberic
post Dec 10 2006, 12:34 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Dec 10 2006, 12:26 AM)
I used to facing time out from my modem before ( Alcatel ST-510 running modem/router mode) But after add linksys WRT54GL@DD-WRT, set modem to bridge mode, do all teh router tweaking...Now all smooth. Very seldom had browser time out even few days or weeks of 24/7 BT...So i dun think yr is modem problem.
Maybe U should try reflash...but I hate the risk of reflashing...anythin wrong...router become ubi....lol
Well, I use Thomson ST510 v4 b4...24/7 BT also no problem..no error..super fast and stable leh..to bad it is dead oredi....haha..i abuse it until it died!! tongue.gif My current modem AM300 i tested is too weak and lousy compare to ST510. Thats the thing lor..i scare if i refresh the router again will face some unexpected problem later sad.gif

can anyone confirm that wireless router performance/stability will not affect by a lousy modem (bridge mode)?

This post has been edited by cyberic: Dec 10 2006, 12:43 AM
cyberic
post Dec 10 2006, 02:10 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Dec 10 2006, 01:50 AM)
i also face that http timeout problem using utorrent. but in my case its only happened to a wireless connection (im using a wireless pci card). whenever i stop/exit utorrent, surfing will be back to normal. so i changed the torrent client to azereus (now using bitlord) n the problem solved.
interesting, I did notice the same thing if I stop/exit utorrent (AM300 + WRT54GS) and i'm oni use the LAN not wireless. So, utorrent maybe 1 of the cause for this http timeout error beside the lousy AM300. I will try to use another BT client to further test the problem. Actually, if i remember correctly i read b4 on utorrent site that they recommend to use hyperwrt instead of ddwrt for wrt54g router rolleyes.gif
cyberic
post Dec 11 2006, 03:32 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(karhoe @ Dec 10 2006, 10:07 PM)
is WRT300N hackable ? Based on broadcom chipset ?
remember to buy version 1 which is based on Broadcom chipset not the ver. 2... I think DD-WRT oni work on ver 1 only.

cyberic
post Dec 27 2006, 01:47 AM

1,130 posts

perhaps u can try add pfsense box for ur hotspot? I think it got a lot useful features to implement hotspot:

1. PPPoE server
2. traffic shaping
3. Dual WAN fail over
4. captive portal

I have a old PIII box running pfsense now. I don't have enough equipment to test it all though..hehe
cyberic
post Jan 14 2007, 02:08 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(hardyboyz888 @ Jan 12 2007, 07:54 PM)
No difference just a change of the LED colour.
No...with DD-WRT v23 SP2, u can turn off the wireless with SES button. This feature can be disable...goto Administration-->services

0.0466sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:31 AM