133 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Primitive Fish V2, Fish that survived Milleniums

antzz
post Dec 27 2012, 11:32 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 27 2012, 11:09 PM)
So biggg. Small poly cn eat arrr?
I feed them to my arowana. The small poly eats the leftovers / torn parts. The big one can even eat a whole worm smile.gif
xeratos_85
post Dec 27 2012, 11:34 PM

1,369 posts

QUOTE(awansakti @ Dec 27 2012, 11:32 PM)
Was going to say 'great photo!' and then noticed your awesome equipment in siggy and went 'oo patut la'  thumbup.gif
i photograph this using only Iphone 4S, not DSLR laugh.gif
awansakti
post Dec 28 2012, 12:00 AM

50 posts

QUOTE(xeratos_85 @ Dec 27 2012, 11:34 PM)
i photograph this using only Iphone 4S, not DSLR  laugh.gif
Pffftttt -..- haha err nice poly n tank rclxms.gif
Mamat_Lisham
post Dec 28 2012, 04:13 AM

Anybody here owns a south american lungfish?

This post has been edited by Mamat_Lisham: Dec 28 2012, 04:17 AM
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 28 2012, 12:31 PM

~Dont settle for good. Demand great~
5,907 posts

Anybody here knows wat to feed baby ornate(5 cm only)??? Helpppp.
kakarocht
post Dec 28 2012, 02:17 PM

Hibernate Time.............
3,254 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 28 2012, 12:31 PM)
feed frozen bloodworms, dahpnia or micro worms will do..
awansakti
post Dec 28 2012, 02:31 PM

50 posts

Can try with sinking pellets too nod.gif
rickyfan8888
post Dec 28 2012, 02:41 PM

blood rules!!
1,245 posts

can try with
1)feeder shrimp(ghost shrimp), if you only have 1 ornate, then dont put too many ghost shrimp as they will attack the fins of your ornate, keep those shrimp at another tank and feed some to your ornate everyday.
2)market prawn(cut to very small pieces)
3)small feeder fish(better quarantine first or get from reliable source)
4)cut those pellet to small size, provided your ornate eat pellets or maybe is the time to train them if you want

I used to feed these to my 2 inch ornates.
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 28 2012, 03:08 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(rickyfan8888 @ Dec 28 2012, 02:41 PM)
can try with
1)feeder shrimp(ghost shrimp), if you only have 1 ornate, then dont put too many ghost shrimp as they will attack the fins of your ornate, keep those shrimp at another tank and feed some to your ornate everyday.
2)market prawn(cut to very small pieces) 
3)small feeder fish(better quarantine first or get from reliable source)
4)cut those pellet to small size, provided your ornate eat pellets or maybe is the time to train them if you want

I used to feed these to my 2 inch ornates.
I want to train thm eating pellets though. I break massivore into pieces n feed thm cn? I hav 2 endli, 1 ansorgii and 1 albono senegal in the same tank.
My new ornate kip swimming against the aquarium wall lk trying to find a way out. Swt. Why?
Wat clour lighting do u use for ur ornate?

TSgenielee_83
post Dec 28 2012, 04:10 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 27 2012, 11:09 PM)
So biggg. Small poly cn eat arrr?
Get the smaller worm. Called mealworm.
SW too big. We also need to wait for them to shed their shell, so it'll be soft for tummy.

TSgenielee_83
post Dec 28 2012, 04:14 PM

120 posts

Or bloodworm

Or pellets
Saki Hikari Growth
Quality Pellets are more expensive but cleaner and safer.
This Saki is 20kg.
LFS usually selling rm44/500g if not mistaken. Better buy 20kg. Cheaper.
rickyfan8888
post Dec 28 2012, 04:43 PM

blood rules!!
1,245 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 28 2012, 03:08 PM)
I want to train thm eating pellets though. I break massivore into pieces n feed thm cn? I hav 2 endli, 1 ansorgii and 1 albono senegal in the same tank.
My new ornate kip swimming against the aquarium wall lk trying to find a way out. Swt. Why?
Wat clour lighting do u use for ur ornate?
If you want to train them to eat pellets, then feed only pellet until they take pellets. I just break the massivore pellets into small pieces and feed them, after around 15-20 minutes, will scoop up those uneaten pellets. It is not hard to train them to take pellets, especially when they are young.

The ornate is like that, more active if compare with the endli/ansorgii..the senegal should be quite active to swim around also.

I just use white color lighting for viewing purpose as myself prefer white light, just a personal choice. Some others prefer puprle/red lighting.

Added on December 28, 2012, 4:52 pmby the way, if you feel that hikari massivore is too expensive, you can try hikari cichlid gold sinking pellets, smaller in size and cheaper. My bichirs like them too and easier for me to feed those medium size bichir as I no need to break the massivore. However, for those tiny bichirs like 2 ~ 4 inches, you have to break them too.

This post has been edited by rickyfan8888: Dec 28 2012, 04:52 PM
antzz
post Dec 28 2012, 11:05 PM

115 posts

Selling @ Arare Fish (from left to right) Ornatipinnis, Congicus, Ansorgii, Endlicheri, Lapradei.

Jay Chua CC
post Dec 29 2012, 12:21 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(rickyfan8888 @ Dec 28 2012, 04:43 PM)
If you want to train them to eat pellets, then feed only pellet until they take pellets. I just break the massivore pellets into small pieces and feed them, after around 15-20 minutes, will scoop up those uneaten pellets. It is not hard to train them to take pellets, especially when they are young.

The ornate is like that, more active if compare with the endli/ansorgii..the senegal should be quite active to swim around also.

I just use white color lighting for viewing purpose as myself prefer white light, just a personal choice. Some others prefer puprle/red lighting.

Added on December 28, 2012, 4:52 pmby the way, if you feel that hikari massivore is too expensive, you can try hikari cichlid gold sinking pellets, smaller in size and cheaper. My bichirs like pthem too and easier for me to feed those medium size bichir as I no need to break the massivore. However, for those tiny bichirs like 2 ~ 4 inches, you have to break them too.
My ansorgii, endli n senegal eating pellets. Bt my ornatr is nt eating! Emo at a corner thr. (jz gt him today). Swt.
The uneaten pellets mz be removed ot can be left thr???? Cz everytime i wan remove the uneaten pellets, all my bichirs wil get sked n swim lk mad. == i hate tis. Any way to make thm nt sked?
Yeaaa, massivore is damn expensiv! U bought for hw much?? U tried tetra monster pellet before? I cant get it anywhr here. Wic pellets cn make the bichir grow fastest?
antzz
post Dec 29 2012, 12:33 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 29 2012, 12:21 AM)
My ansorgii, endli n senegal eating pellets. Bt my ornatr is nt eating! Emo at a corner thr. (jz gt him today). Swt.
The uneaten pellets mz be removed ot can be left thr???? Cz everytime i wan remove the uneaten pellets, all my bichirs wil get sked n swim lk mad. == i hate tis. Any way to make thm nt sked?
Its normal for polyps to refuse eating when moving to new place. Reported that some had starved for few days, to few weeks and even a month!

I think it depends on individuals. Both my endli and ornate fed on their first day though. But my ornate remains shy even to this day, keeps hiding and running away from my sight..
rickyfan8888
post Dec 29 2012, 01:27 AM

blood rules!!
1,245 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 29 2012, 12:21 AM)
Yeaaa, massivore is damn expensiv! U bought for hw much?? U tried tetra monster pellet before? I cant get it anywhr here. Wic pellets cn make the bichir grow fastest?
ur ornate is still new to environment..give it some times to settle down..sooner or later it will take pellets..dont worry..the uneaten pellets better remove if possible as they are the source of ammonia also..which will effect your water parameters.

Normally if there is one bichir start to go frenzy and move here and there, others bichirs will act so also. Just give them so times, they will become more stable after they settle down. My bichirs sometimes will go frenzy mode also, but less frequent if compare with the time I first keeping them.

I cant remember I bought for how much for the massivore as I long time din buy it already. Curretly I using cichlid gold sinking pellets to feed them. I did not try before on the tetra monster pellet. You can feed more variety food to pump them up, market prawn/super worm/ frog are some food that can bulk them up. Just feed more variety food to them will do.

By the way, different species of bichir has different grow rate and max length. Even the same species of bichir, the grow rate also depends on individual. In your case, the endli should be grow the fastest if you feed them well.
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 29 2012, 02:43 AM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(rickyfan8888 @ Dec 29 2012, 01:27 AM)
ur ornate is still new to environment..give it some times to settle down..sooner or later it will take pellets..dont worry..the uneaten pellets better remove if possible as they are the source of ammonia also..which will effect your water parameters.

Normally if there is one bichir start to go frenzy and move here and there, others bichirs will act so also. Just give them so times, they will become more stable after they settle down. My bichirs sometimes will go frenzy mode also, but less frequent if compare with the time I first keeping them.

I cant remember I bought for how much for the massivore as I long time din buy it already. Curretly I using cichlid gold sinking pellets to feed them. I did not try before on the tetra monster pellet. You can feed more variety food to pump them up, market prawn/super worm/ frog are some food that can bulk them up. Just feed more variety food to them will do.

By the way, different species of bichir has different grow rate and max length. Even the same species of bichir, the grow rate also depends on individual. In your case, the endli should be grow the fastest if you feed them well.
Kk. Thn u buy the chchilid gold for hw mucH? Anyways, you saw before whr gt sell tetra monster pellet?
U gt use air pump for ur tank? Using wat filter? Hang on? The fish watse mz sucked out ma? Or leave it innthe tank? Lol.
Whr u buy ur bichirs? Wanna add my collections.
And wil my senegal n endli eat my ornate? Cz ornate jz 5cm.swt.

Added on December 29, 2012, 2:44 amU gt any way to eliminate the smelly of the stinky water? Cz everytime after i feed massivore, sure the smell very strong d. @@

Added on December 29, 2012, 12:35 pm
QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Dec 28 2012, 04:14 PM)
Or bloodworm

Or pellets
Saki Hikari Growth
Quality Pellets are more expensive but cleaner and safer.
This Saki is 20kg.
LFS usually selling rm44/500g if not mistaken. Better buy 20kg. Cheaper.
The saki hikari for koi or bichir wor? Whr to get 1? I dun see any in my lfs.

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Dec 29 2012, 12:35 PM
rickyfan8888
post Dec 29 2012, 02:27 PM

blood rules!!
1,245 posts

QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Dec 29 2012, 02:43 AM)
Kk. Thn u buy the chchilid gold for hw mucH? Anyways, you saw before whr gt sell tetra monster pellet?
U gt use air pump for ur tank? Using wat filter? Hang on? The fish watse mz sucked out ma? Or leave it innthe tank? Lol.
Whr u buy ur bichirs? Wanna add my collections.
And wil my senegal n endli eat my ornate? Cz ornate jz 5cm.swt.

Added on December 29, 2012, 2:44 amU gt any way to eliminate the smelly of the stinky water? Cz everytime after i feed massivore, sure the smell very strong d. @@

Added on December 29, 2012, 12:35 pm
The saki hikari for koi or bichir wor?  Whr to get 1? I dun see any in my lfs.
The cichlid gold I bought for RM26 for big packet(if not mistaken is 342gram)..price might vary for different locations. I not sure where got sell tetra monster pellet as I didnt intent to find for it. I using sump tank for my 5ft tank while another 3ft&2.5ft tank I using top filter. The fish waste suppose to go into ur filter and will stuck at those filter sponge(mechanical filtration), where you need to wash/change the filter sponge every certain periods. If the fish waste is not suck into filter, that means your tank might got some dead spot where the fish waste is stuck at those dead spot or maybe your filter not providing good/enough flows or some other reasons. In such conditions, you can just manually remove those fish waste. The main purpose to remove those fish waste or uneaten food, is to minimize the ammonia produced by them. As long as your tank has a very good biological filtration, then everything is fine.

How big is your senegal/endli? There will has a risk that the ornate eaten by tankmates if the tankmates is much larger than the ornate. Just make sure they all are well feed.

The massivore indeed produce very strong smell(one of the reason I stop using it), normally after feeding, the smells will be there for a period then only disappear, just make sure you dont over feed and your biological filtration is good. The cichlid gold got some smell also but not as strong as massivore. Normally the smell disappear in short period.

I bought my bichirs from lfs at my place. You can find bichirs easily in our local lfs for those common type, for those rare type, you might need to find some online fish seller as sometimes they do carry in some rare bichirs.
Jay Chua CC
post Dec 29 2012, 03:16 PM

5,907 posts

QUOTE(rickyfan8888 @ Dec 29 2012, 02:27 PM)
The cichlid gold I bought for RM26 for big packet(if not mistaken is 342gram)..price might vary for different locations. I not sure where got sell tetra monster pellet as I didnt intent to find for it. I using sump tank for my 5ft tank while another 3ft&2.5ft tank I using top filter. The fish waste suppose to go into ur filter and will stuck at those filter sponge(mechanical filtration), where you need to wash/change the filter sponge every certain periods. If the fish waste is not suck into filter, that means your tank might got some dead spot where the fish waste is stuck at those dead spot or maybe your filter not providing good/enough flows or some other reasons. In such conditions, you can just manually remove those fish waste. The main purpose to remove those fish waste or uneaten food, is to minimize the ammonia produced by them. As long as your tank has a very good biological filtration, then everything is fine.

How big is your senegal/endli? There will has a risk that the ornate eaten by tankmates if the tankmates is much larger than the ornate. Just make sure they all are well feed.

The massivore indeed produce very strong smell(one of the reason I stop using it), normally after feeding, the smells will be there for a period then only disappear, just make sure you dont over feed and your biological filtration is good. The cichlid gold got some smell also but not as strong as massivore. Normally the smell disappear in short period.

I bought my bichirs from lfs at my place. You can find bichirs easily in our local lfs for those common type, for those rare type, you might need to find some online fish seller as sometimes they do carry in some rare bichirs.
Wat is sump filter? Me newbie. Haha. Massivore n cichilid gold provide same growth rate to fish arr?
Hang on filter provide biological filter or nt? @@
My senegal/endli is 15 cm. 0.0
Eh, ur lfs thr gt sell war type of bichirs? And do you mind tell the price? Hehe.

Added on December 29, 2012, 3:17 pmAny1 here know whr to get tetra monster pellets???

This post has been edited by Jay Chua CC: Dec 29 2012, 03:17 PM
beer8bottles
post Dec 29 2012, 06:34 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(antzz @ Dec 28 2012, 11:05 PM)
Selling @ Arare Fish (from left to right) Ornatipinnis, Congicus, Ansorgii, Endlicheri, Lapradei.

Would you know how much the lapradei is going for?

In other news, I'm going to go fishing with my brothers tomorrow to catch more bronze featherback knifefish. biggrin.gif Tried feeding one to my aba-aba and the fellow just snapped it in half and chomped it down. It seems to like the featherback more than feeder catfish. It becomes more aggressive and it is also more interesting to watch.

133 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:05 PM