129 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V17, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

rajatetra
post Dec 31 2012, 11:51 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 31 2012, 11:40 PM)
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-U-V-...p/823985#M60920
I suggest you read this starting from post no. 259 smile.gif

If you are lazy, I will cut the long story short.
There seems to be multiple causes for the wireless problem in U series. Hardware and drivers.
According to Lenovo (as per the forum), all U series manufactured after 23July2012 should not have hardware issue since the fix was implemented in factory from that date onwards. The problem is how could you be sure the unit that you buy is manufactured after this date? Resellers / Lenovo Malaysia may have some really old (crappy) stocks lying around laugh.gif
On the driver side, apparently Lenovo W8 driver is crap (not only the wireless, but also the power management). If you read the forum, you will find the solution.

Good luck in your adventure laugh.gif
thanks for the opinion.. huhu.. some says we can check manufactured date on the box or lappy but still not sure how malaysia reseller practice.. doh.gif

thank again for opinion...may need to opted another cheap ultra book like..huhu cry.gif
nexus2238
post Dec 31 2012, 11:54 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(wanttobuylaptop @ Dec 31 2012, 11:44 PM)
Eyeing for lenovo z480 too, that's y I ask about the look.lenovo looks very nice.
@nexus, my gf said alienware is sexy though, lucky she's no gamer.
Your gf has good taste brows.gif
dyobin
post Dec 31 2012, 11:57 PM

25 posts

Just a quick question.

Are there any laptops with GT640m (DDr5) that are available in Malaysia?

--

Happy New Year guys! biggrin.gif
nexus2238
post Jan 1 2013, 12:27 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(dyobin @ Dec 31 2012, 11:57 PM)
Just a quick question.

Are there any laptops with GT640m (DDr5) that are available in Malaysia?
--

Happy New Year guys! biggrin.gif
Official channel? Don't think so.
Want to overclock? GT650M DDR5 is easier lah smile.gif (to get to GTX660M level I mean ... )
Unlike US, where most brands is customisable, Malaysia most brands have fixed specs (and also a lot less models), so the chances to find amazing cheap gem is a lot less ....

wanttobuylaptop
post Jan 1 2013, 01:05 AM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Dec 31 2012, 11:54 PM)
Your gf has good taste  brows.gif
Of course. Haha
Harfan
post Jan 1 2013, 08:28 AM

210 posts

Hello there, all sifus.

Basically, I will be leaving to Australia next february to continue my studies. And I need a good laptop, with international warranty and good capabilities.

1. Preferred Brand = 1. Dell, 2. Asus, 3. any except (acer & apple)
2. Budget = around Rm3000
3. Usage = Assignment, Engineering projects, multimedia, video chat, online & offline gaming (not hardcore gaming like Diablo 3, etc.)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size = 13.3-14 and also light weight as I may have to carry them to classes, etc.

Any suggestion?
raymondtong94
post Jan 1 2013, 08:49 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Jan 1 2013, 08:28 AM)
Hello there, all sifus.

Basically, I will be leaving to Australia next february to continue my studies. And I need a good laptop, with international warranty and good capabilities.

1. Preferred Brand = 1. Dell, 2. Asus, 3. any except (acer & apple)
2. Budget = around Rm3000
3. Usage = Assignment, Engineering projects, multimedia, video chat, online & offline gaming (not hardcore gaming like Diablo 3, etc.)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size = 13.3-14 and also light weight as I may have to carry them to classes, etc.

Any suggestion?
Lenovo Y480(5934-1372), i7-3610QM + Nvidia GT650(GDDR5)@RM2699[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), backlit keyboard, W7HB

Dell Inspiron 14R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + Nvidia GT640M(28nm Kepler)@RM2799[2.38kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm); backlit keyboard optional

ASUS A45VS-VX028H, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT640M@RM2899[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8

14" notebooks arent very heavy with the power brick brought along. they will be around 3kg. are those above ok for you?
abangzayn
post Jan 1 2013, 10:42 AM

50 posts

Can I get recommendations for tablet here?
raymondtong94
post Jan 1 2013, 01:47 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(abangzayn @ Jan 1 2013, 10:42 AM)
Can I get recommendations for tablet here?
for tablet recommendations, please go here.
archidkin
post Jan 1 2013, 03:00 PM

Hi, im going to get a lappy and need some recommendations

1. Preferred Brand - no
2. Budget - Around <3k
3. Usage - photo editing photoshop cs6, video editing sony vegas,after effect
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14-15" +-

Would prefer if the spec is abit future proof.

TS[PF] T.J.
post Jan 1 2013, 04:37 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(archidkin @ Jan 1 2013, 03:00 PM)
Hi, im going to get a lappy and need some recommendations

1. Preferred Brand - no
2. Budget - Around <3k
3. Usage - photo editing photoshop cs6, video editing sony vegas,after effect

Would prefer if the spec is abit future proof.

Pretty much the Lenovo y580 brows.gif
Ideapad Y580, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GTX660M + 1920x1080 @RM2999[JBL], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W7HB/W8, backlit keyboard, 2 yrs warranty
skyliner66
post Jan 1 2013, 08:47 PM

726 posts

Hi all sifu, wan to ask something here...is the Acer Timeline Ultrabook M3-581TG-53316G5 a good and reliable laptop for normal usage and light gaming? is there any hardware or software issues with this ultrabook?

thanks in advance and happy new year to all~~~ rclxms.gif
raymondtong94
post Jan 1 2013, 09:06 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(skyliner66 @ Jan 1 2013, 08:47 PM)
Hi all sifu, wan to ask something here...is the Acer Timeline Ultrabook M3-581TG-53316G5 a good and reliable laptop for normal usage and light gaming? is there any hardware or software issues with this ultrabook?

thanks in advance and happy new year to all~~~ rclxms.gif
in my experience, acer build quite good laptops, but they will die in a prematured age, like after 2 years. for hardware and software issues, let the warranty deal with it.

my recommendation is that buy acer laptops with extended warranty to overcome unwanted further problems. and yes, its good for normal usage and light gaming.
Shyuejer
post Jan 2 2013, 12:01 AM

347 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Asus , Acer , Sony
2. Budget - max 2.5k
3. Usage - Moderate Gaming (MOBA, fps)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14'

Would like a stylish laptop (light , thin and can choose other than dull black color)
nexus2238
post Jan 2 2013, 12:32 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Shyuejer @ Jan 2 2013, 12:01 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - Asus , Acer , Sony
2. Budget - max 2.5k
3. Usage - Moderate Gaming (MOBA, fps)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 14'

Would like a stylish laptop (light , thin and can choose other than dull black color)
Acer
V5-471PG, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT620M + (1366x768; touch)@RM2299, 4GB, 500GB, W8
Aspire V3-471G-53212G75d, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W8

Asus
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8
K46CM-WX090H, i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8, OD

Sony
Vaio SVE14126CV, i5-3210M + AMD HD7550M@RM2299[2.4kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8; colors: black/pink/white;Vaio backpack

In terms of raw power, Asus is your best bet.
SoulRex
post Jan 2 2013, 04:11 AM

258 posts

how's lenovo y400???

p.s. duno how to use quote...haha....if dun mind teach me =D

This post has been edited by SoulRex: Jan 2 2013, 04:12 AM
nadnurul
post Jan 2 2013, 08:54 AM

Hello all,

I purchased a Dell Inspiron 14 (N4050) with very good specs at its price of RM1,999 last year, but it was disastrous. I had to get the motherboard changed TWICE within the span of 6 months. I ended giving the laptop to my little sis.

So I'm a bit traumatized here. I am a very poor student and I need recommendations for a new laptop.

1. Preferred Brand - Acer maybe? Not Dell or HP.
2. Budget - around 2k
3. Usage - I run bioinfomatics programs locally, so I need something that runs reasonably well.

I'm thinking of getting Lenovo G480 as seen here: http://i45.tinypic.com/2qp8z.jpg @RM1.999. I might get extended warranty. Any thoughts? I would love more recommendations. Thanks!!

EDIT: Two posts before me recommended ASUS A45VS-VX026H and that has a better GPU than Lenovo G480 with the same CPU. So this is definitely going in my list.

This post has been edited by nadnurul: Jan 2 2013, 09:04 AM
raymondtong94
post Jan 2 2013, 08:58 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(SoulRex @ Jan 2 2013, 04:11 AM)
how's lenovo y400???
p.s. duno how to use quote...haha....if dun mind teach me =D
to use quote, press the "Quote+" or "Reply" button at each bottom right of the posts. the "Quote+" is to add quote (do this for multiple quotes, and add "Add Reply" at the most bottom), while the "Reply" is to add reply with the replies that you only wanted to quote.
ayiesz
post Jan 2 2013, 09:22 AM

Selamat Hari Raya
2,778 posts

1. Preferred Brand - toshiba / asus
2. Budget - below rm2.5k
3. Usage - work usage.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15"

had in mind currently is L850-1007xw
nexus2238
post Jan 2 2013, 09:31 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(ayiesz @ Jan 2 2013, 09:22 AM)
1. Preferred Brand - toshiba / asus
2. Budget - below rm2.5k
3. Usage - work usage.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - 15"

had in mind currently is L850-1007xw
Asus
A55VJ-SX093H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM2499[2.52kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; color: black
S56CM-XX090H i5-3317U + Nvidia GT635M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB@RM2199[2.3kg], 2GB, W8; color: black

Toshiba
Satellite L850-1007X/XW, i5-3210M + AMD HD7670M@RM2299[2.41kg], 4GB, 640GB, W7HP, 3 years warranty

Added on January 2, 2013, 9:38 am
QUOTE(nadnurul @ Jan 2 2013, 08:54 AM)
Hello all,

I purchased a Dell Inspiron 14 (N4050) with very good specs at its price of RM1,999 last year, but it was disastrous. I had to get the motherboard changed TWICE within the span of 6 months. I ended giving the laptop to my little sis.

So I'm a bit traumatized here. I am a very poor student and I need recommendations for a new laptop.

1. Preferred Brand - Acer maybe? Not Dell or HP.
2. Budget - around 2k
3. Usage - I run bioinfomatics programs locally, so I need something that runs reasonably well.

I'm thinking of getting Lenovo G480 as seen here: http://i45.tinypic.com/2qp8z.jpg @RM1.999. I might get extended warranty.  Any thoughts? I would love more recommendations. Thanks!!

EDIT: Two posts before me recommended ASUS A45VS-VX026H and that has a better GPU than Lenovo G480 with the same CPU. So this is definitely going in my list.
sweat.gif
Acer 14"
Aspire V3-471G-53212G75d, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1899[2.3kg], 2GB, 750GB W8
15"
V3-571G-53212G50, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1999, 2GB, 500GB

Asus 14"
A45VS-VX026H, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT645M@RM2199[2.4kg], 2GB, 500GB, W8

Lenovo 14" (the catalog in your link is very old I think smile.gif )
G480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT635M@RM1899, 4GB, 1TB (5400rpm), W8, 2 yrs warranty
Z480, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 1TB(5400rpm) W7HB, colors: grey/red/blue
15"
Ideapad G580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT630M@RM1699, 2GB, 500GB, freeDOS, 1 yr warranty
Ideapad Z580, i5-3210M + Nvidia GT640M@RM2299, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W7HB, white

Yes, if you go for Lenovo, extend warranty to 3 years on site.

Added on January 2, 2013, 9:46 am
QUOTE(SoulRex @ Jan 2 2013, 04:11 AM)
how's lenovo y400???
I remember you want FHD, and portable, and light.
Well, Y400 is none of the above laugh.gif

But it is a very capable entry level gaming laptop.

Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT650M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Jan 2 2013, 09:49 AM

129 Pages « < 120 121 122 123 124 > » Top

0.0378sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:54 AM