37 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Bottom

Hobbies The Bleeding Edge, Discussion on all genres of knife

wandyhee
post May 17 2016, 03:00 PM

lets pray together...hahahaha.

anyway, I did request the seller to declare the package as CAMPING/OUTDOOR TOOL, hope that words will convince kastam guy to release my package
marcuswong
post May 23 2016, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(wandyhee @ May 17 2016, 02:31 PM)
Well, it's good to see this thread is still alive. Anyway, I'm not really a knife collector, but I do have some interest in knife as I'm often going for outdoor activities such as camping, fishing (casting) and bowhunting (compound bow).

I do have bowie knife that I bought from local shop with 6-7 inches blade length but I'm not really fancy about that blade as I found out it's not really practical at some situation. So for the last few days I started to lurk around Ebay and Aliexpress to look for good and affordable EDC neck knife. I also watch some review in Youtube to decide which is the best for my use.

my first choice is ESEE IZULA neck knife, but the price is quite stiff for my wallet. There are also fake version of ESEE IZULA in aliexpress at the price of usd8 but youtube review say it's low quality finishing.

So I keep lurking around and found this SCHRADE SCHF16, at about usd15. I did search the company background, it's USA origin and manufacturing their product in China, so chance for me to get fake version is slim as it's cheap and widely available. Good review in Youtube as well biggrin.gif

Checked in Mudah.my and the price they sale is way more than I get from Aliexpress, so I place my order from Aliexpress and hoping my rm61 will not burnt (pray for kastam to release my package..huhu). I am Ebay & Aliexpress regular customer, usually I ordered compound bow, broadhead, arrows, fishing rod & reel, camping equipments, motorcycle parts & apparels, electronic stuffs.... and this is my 1st time ordering/purchasing knife from abroad.

below is the picture from seller page, package should be here within 2-3 weeks if everything goes smooth.

Schrade makes okay stuff. only issue is taht they tend to be a bit heavy. maybe consider removing scales and milling out some of the handles if you want to reduce the weight (even moreso if you are looking at this to be a neck knife)
wandyhee
post Jun 7 2016, 11:38 PM

received my schrade on May 31st, I like it as the blade is thick and solid. sharp out of the box. Knife weight just felt right when I hung on my neck. also come with walley knife as free gift

video
https://youtu.be/wwFSUszjzqc

This post has been edited by wandyhee: Jun 7 2016, 11:49 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
widget
post Jun 14 2016, 04:46 PM

1,156 posts

My first Continental knife biggrin.gif
Just received the TRE Ti with blue accent this morning.

The first thing that I checked on my new knife is the flipping action, and I have to say mine has maybe a medium to strong detent and it can flip without any wrist action.

While it doesn't flip open like a rocket, like my ZT 0900 or ZT 0562CF that run on KVT bearings, I consider the flipping action on mine to be quite good, as I've read many complaints by TRE users on their weak flipping action.

After that I installed the thumb disc and while I can open it slowly using the thumb disc, I can't flick it open with my thumb, like I can easily do with my Benchmade Nakamura CF.

So maybe the newer release of the TRE are adjusted at the factory to have stronger detent? Or maybe just sample variations?

So far, after just few hours of ownership, I like the size, weight and the build quality.

It has almost the same form factor and weight as my BM Nakamura CF, but very contrasting look as the TRE is full titanium handle while the BM has 3D CF handle.

Everdying
post Jun 14 2016, 05:12 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

i think im going to go back to my first true love, the butterfly knife...seeing as some models now come with pocket clip.
KajumaO2
post Jun 15 2016, 09:57 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(wandyhee @ Jun 7 2016, 11:38 PM)
received my schrade on May 31st, I like it as the blade is thick and solid. sharp out of the box. Knife weight just felt right when I hung on my neck. also come  with walley knife as free gift

video
https://youtu.be/wwFSUszjzqc
Everything ok with Malaysia Custom?
SUStescogot
post Jun 15 2016, 09:58 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(KajumaO2 @ Jun 15 2016, 09:57 AM)
Everything ok with Malaysia Custom?
i'd bought 2 folders from us and 2 more on the way

so far everything is fine
KajumaO2
post Jun 15 2016, 10:01 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Jun 15 2016, 09:58 AM)
i'd bought 2 folders from us and 2 more on the way

so far everything is fine
thats good news to know, I shall get some sypderco in myself instead of getting my throat slit my our local seller
SUStescogot
post Jun 15 2016, 10:06 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(KajumaO2 @ Jun 15 2016, 10:01 AM)
thats good news to know, I shall get some sypderco in myself instead of getting my throat slit my our local seller
ooohh spydie

what do you have in mind

one of the knives that is on the way is a spyderco byrd tern i ordered 2 days ago
KajumaO2
post Jun 15 2016, 10:42 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Jun 15 2016, 10:06 AM)
ooohh spydie

what do you have in mind

one of the knives that is on the way is a spyderco byrd tern i ordered 2 days ago
My EDC is a CS Recon Tanto San Mai, its time to put it a home as it to big to carry around in a bag

wanting the dragonfly 2, can pick one up on ebay for around 50 usd with shipping

This post has been edited by KajumaO2: Jun 15 2016, 10:43 AM
SUStescogot
post Jun 15 2016, 10:45 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(KajumaO2 @ Jun 15 2016, 10:42 AM)
My EDC is a CS Recon Tanto San Mai, its time to put it a home as it to big to carry around in a bag

wanting the dragonfly 2, can pick one up on ebay for around 50 usd with shipping
buy the one with free postage from outfittercountry

i bought all my knives from them
Everdying
post Jun 15 2016, 11:29 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Jun 15 2016, 10:06 AM)
ooohh spydie

what do you have in mind

next time do bulk order la.
i feel like wanting to get 1 or 2 of the spyderco bugs without having to also paying rm200++ from ogm here.
KajumaO2
post Jun 15 2016, 11:42 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 15 2016, 11:29 AM)
next time do bulk order la.
i feel like wanting to get 1 or 2 of the spyderco bugs without having to also paying rm200++ from ogm here.
getting bulk is an issue, the custom always will tax over 500 ringgit. thats y sometimes i rather pay more at ogm
Everdying
post Jun 15 2016, 11:46 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(KajumaO2 @ Jun 15 2016, 11:42 AM)
getting bulk is an issue, the custom always will tax over 500 ringgit. thats y sometimes i rather pay more at ogm
just GST only right?
considering ogm marks up around 30-40%...i say that 6% is ok.

widget
post Jun 15 2016, 01:14 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jun 15 2016, 11:46 AM)
just GST only right?
considering ogm marks up around 30-40%...i say that 6% is ok.
Someone told me for knives, it should be 20-25% tax + 6% GST, as he ever kena from Kastam before.
That's why it is safer to buy 1 folder at a time, instead of bulk.

As someone suggested, for Spydy, can try Outfitter from eBay.
Ever since Spyderco enforces the 40% MAP beginning of this year, prices are generally the same in the US, only savings to be made is from shipping.
Received this Chaparral from them a few weeks ago.

This post has been edited by widget: Jun 15 2016, 01:19 PM
epsilon_chinwk86
post Jun 16 2016, 09:51 AM

603 posts

Anyone know where else can we get ESEE locally other than OGM?
SUStescogot
post Jun 16 2016, 10:17 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Jun 16 2016, 09:51 AM)
i think ghost recon outdoor tactical carry them

google their fb
KajumaO2
post Jun 16 2016, 10:24 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Jun 16 2016, 09:51 AM)
I am a frequent customer of OGM. Ever since they shifted, their price has dramatically increase maybe due to the currency exchange rate. IMO they are way over price even when the tax is implemented into the price compare to other sources out there. Sometimes I despise the business practice in Malaysia, just because u carry a certain goods, it doesn't give you the right to price item at your own desire. Malaysian Boleh

Sorry rant, to your question. IF you can try to obtain one yourself you would save alot on ur end. You can try http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_odkw=es...w=esee&_sacat=0

This post has been edited by KajumaO2: Jun 16 2016, 10:27 AM
SUStescogot
post Jun 16 2016, 10:26 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(KajumaO2 @ Jun 16 2016, 10:24 AM)
I am a frequent customer of OGM. Ever since they shifted, their price has dramatically increase maybe due to the currency exchange rate. IMO they are way over price even when the tax is implemented into the price compare to other sources out there. Sometimes I despise the business practice in Malaysia, just because u carry a certain goods, it doesn't give you the right to price item at your own desire. Malaysian Boleh
i kinda agree that their price are higher now

but have you seen skl diy

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy overpriced
KajumaO2
post Jun 16 2016, 10:30 AM

526 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Jun 16 2016, 10:26 AM)
i kinda agree that their price are higher now

but have you seen skl diy

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyy overpriced
They have the import license, and they know that the public cannot just obtain certain knife or accessories, Thats why they jack up the price. Like a saying "you want you pay, you don't piss off" those kind of attitude.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SUdAggBp1yo

This post has been edited by KajumaO2: Jun 16 2016, 10:32 AM

37 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:49 AM