Hobbies The Bleeding Edge, Discussion on all genres of knife

Everdying
post Mar 23 2016, 10:26 AM

Two is One and One is None.
30,730 posts

this vintage fixed blade has been in my house forever...lots of gunk on it tongue.gif

Everdying
post Mar 26 2016, 06:43 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(shook @ Mar 24 2016, 06:49 PM)
hi all. any opinion about sanrenmu knive?
i got 2.

good and cheap to edc with.
Everdying
post Apr 14 2016, 05:19 PM

30,730 posts

good luck finding low strength loctite here.
i looked before also couldnt find.
medium and high strength got, but those later if u want to undo it needs heat.

there are some other similar ones like v-tech or permatex available in ace hardware that comes in low strength...but i cheapskate so i just used nailpolish as a temporary thread locker.

Everdying
post Jun 14 2016, 05:12 PM

30,730 posts

i think im going to go back to my first true love, the butterfly knife...seeing as some models now come with pocket clip.
Everdying
post Jun 15 2016, 11:29 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Jun 15 2016, 10:06 AM)
ooohh spydie

what do you have in mind

one of the knives that is on the way is a spyderco byrd tern i ordered 2 days ago
next time do bulk order la.
i feel like wanting to get 1 or 2 of the spyderco bugs without having to also paying rm200++ from ogm here.
Everdying
post Jun 15 2016, 11:46 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(KajumaO2 @ Jun 15 2016, 11:42 AM)
getting bulk is an issue, the custom always will tax over 500 ringgit. thats y sometimes i rather pay more at ogm
just GST only right?
considering ogm marks up around 30-40%...i say that 6% is ok.

Everdying
post Jun 16 2016, 11:35 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(KajumaO2 @ Jun 16 2016, 10:24 AM)
I am a frequent customer of OGM. Ever since they shifted, their price has dramatically increase maybe due to the currency exchange rate. IMO they are way over price even when the tax is implemented into the price compare to other sources out there. Sometimes I despise the business practice in Malaysia, just because u carry a certain goods, it doesn't give you the right to price item at your own desire. Malaysian Boleh

Sorry rant, to your question. IF you can try to obtain one yourself you would save alot on ur end. You can try http://www.ebay.com.my/sch/i.html?_odkw=es...w=esee&_sacat=0
nah doubt due to currency rate, as its been 4+ even before they moved to shah alam.
some items are like 10% more which is zzz...
u would think that shah alam would offer cheaper rent as its a dead place...hence cheaper abit... but guess not.
Everdying
post Sep 7 2016, 09:17 PM

30,730 posts

zombie knife so easy to find la... but prices of cos more expensive than online.
locally im looking at a victorinox muela hunting knife for rm200+.

Everdying
post Sep 8 2016, 01:42 PM

30,730 posts

ya buy sanrenmu.
but if dont need blade, just buy rescue tool.
https://resqme.com/EN/
Everdying
post Sep 8 2016, 04:09 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Sep 8 2016, 02:14 PM)
not exactly that model but sanrenmu is available at gadgetworld2u @ lelong
that model is available here...just grey / black color scale.
i have one also.

eh wait, that one on gearbest has liner lock...and SAW...
hmm time to upgrade tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Everdying: Sep 8 2016, 04:12 PM
Everdying
post Sep 26 2016, 04:02 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Sep 26 2016, 03:34 PM)
Bought a hammock from ebay US for Rm650 (North Carolina state). Didnt get any tax as far as I know.

Probably It had been factored in to the delivery which cost me Rm170 (USPS First Class Package International Service)
probably u got lucky.
afaik usps fee is pretty standard for 1st class...and definitely does not factor in gst.
gst is only supposed to be charged once reach here... not from there.
Everdying
post Apr 28 2017, 07:20 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(TimesOfTrouble @ Apr 28 2017, 07:02 PM)
I see that this is a thread specialized in knives, I'm planning to back this project on kickstarter of which is a petite design for small pocket knife. Check out the link below.
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/bomber...kni/description

I'm just wondering if this would pass custom, can anyone advice me on this?
dont see why it wont pass customs.
guys here have ordered blades online also.

but that kickstarter blade is kinda not so useful...they should have made it without the serrated edge...now both edges are like too short to be much use.
Everdying
post Jun 13 2017, 10:32 PM

30,730 posts

well i just got a ganzo firebird aka byrd meadowlark / spyderco delica copy.
for the price, its not bad...made in diff colors so i bought the day glo orange just for fun.
compared to the byrd which is of cos made by sanrenmu...the byrd has a more firmer snap to the lock...
and like all of them...u can move the clip anywhere...up down...left right...so can carry it anyway u like.

Everdying
post Dec 17 2018, 10:49 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Oct 23 2018, 11:26 AM)
just gotten my Mora Companion recently so here's my hiking setup currently.

thats like a rm200 parang...

Everdying
post Dec 18 2018, 09:59 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Dec 18 2018, 09:16 AM)
I got it for 160, 180 around that
eh not bad... i see the prices now around rm260.
Everdying
post Dec 18 2018, 10:34 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Dec 18 2018, 10:08 AM)
would have bought the ones from myparang if its around 200+ biggrin.gif
oh its not a myparang? just the sheath only? zzz tongue.gif
Everdying
post Feb 16 2019, 07:38 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(jlhw111 @ Feb 15 2019, 11:49 AM)
I share your sentiments, although I'm still young

BTW, does anyone here know where to find custom SAK scales locally?
none that I'm aware of, or at least none that the international community talks about.
Everdying
post May 17 2020, 11:03 PM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Watta?? @ May 17 2020, 06:06 PM)
Only 2pcs 😅 basically found the perfect one to bring along while Travelling to cut fruit. But can't seem to find any agent that is willing to help bring it in
what's this 'perfect one'? nothing similar u can find locally?
Everdying
post May 18 2020, 09:28 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Watta?? @ May 18 2020, 05:26 AM)
Hahaha been scouring the internet for a few weeks and only nothing similar I can find in Malaysia though.
well got pic of what it looks like?
Everdying
post May 18 2020, 11:08 AM

30,730 posts

QUOTE(Watta?? @ May 18 2020, 09:44 AM)
Really? Let me try looking for another seller that ships then. Thanks!  rclxms.gif
nothing really that great to shout about, it's literally a fruit knife small and easy to carry for travelling  sweat.gif
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=610422..._u=t2dmg8j26111

Just getting one to cut fruits, after using my SAK to cut other stuff, don't really want to put that blade anywhere near food so just looking for a small, cheap and compact one to throw in the luggage everywhere i go  sweat.gif

didn't realise my simple question could have sparked so many replies in this thread  rclxm9.gif
those kind of blades can easily buy here tho... just depends how long a blade u want.

0.0345sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 05:28 PM