3,940 posts

any grinder or a electric grinder?
what are you currently using?
patryn33
post Dec 5 2014, 08:46 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(faiz293 @ Dec 5 2014, 07:28 AM)
Any grinder that is good within that budget. Currently ask the barista to grind for me.
The famous hario!!
http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B001802PIQ/r...X110_SY165_QL70
patryn33
post Dec 5 2014, 09:39 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Dec 5 2014, 12:28 PM)
i plan to get another new grinder for my home use, i will keep krups in office
i read alot article about the importance of grinder.
i do plan to get a better grinder
too bad malaysia grinder prince is sky high, barazta encore is selling 699 here @ pulp , its selling 129usd @ amazon now rclxub.gif
anyone know where to buy barazta grinder @ lower price?
my budget for new grinder is around 500
barazta encore isn't that good of a grinder for espresso using unpressurized portafilters.
according to reviews it great for pressurized portafilters.

buying on amazon means u have to get a power transformer 3X the wattage of the grinder.
do factor in the cost. or hunt for used

patryn33
post Dec 6 2014, 08:39 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Dec 6 2014, 01:14 AM)
i saw taobao is selling encore for 800rmb which is around rm450
its 220v unit , i think still able to save 200bucks compare to buying locally
just pray the grinder is fine and working well for the rest of its life biggrin.gif
i wish i could fork out extra cash for grinder , but 500 is the max im able to fork out for a grinder
Shipping from taobao include?
Warranty?? Usually big crack down of parallel importer in the region unless u know how to fix it yourself. Parts they don't sell to u have to source overseas...

200 rm isn't big savings to me
My pal get me buy irobot ship to China savings is a few thousand RMB. Then again local dealer refuse to sell parts or filter.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 6 2014, 08:41 AM
patryn33
post Dec 6 2014, 11:33 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Dec 6 2014, 02:39 PM)
of course included shipping
there must be some risk if you import the stuff
im fine with it , its almost 50% of saving , worth the risk smile.gif
Well there will be risk just greater or lesser.
So long u are comfortable with risk go ahead

Iirc some Italian online store sells stuff and they provide warranty. But I don't recall they carry low end grinders.
Ie
http://www.aboutespresso.com/coffee_grinde...=2&sort_dir=asc
https://www.espressocoffeeshop.com

Just received my China iPhone case, damage. If seller refuse to ship me replacement it's just 21rm gone. That risk I am ok.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 6 2014, 11:38 PM
patryn33
post Dec 6 2014, 11:45 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 6 2014, 02:40 PM)
Yeah, those are pressurized baskets.. for the PF, is the diameter 49mm? I think you can just replace the baskets with non-pressurized ones. As for the steam wand, has it got a removable nozzle? I think it's one of those that you just steam the milk without having to let air in.. if not, try to let air in slowly till you get a muffled noise instead of a high pitched one while steaming the milk.
I read ppl switching out to non pressurized ones then it's more sensitive to grind and freshness of beans.
I felt a play until one get those hx and nicer grinder.
Results wise the pressurize ones maybe better. If one cannot good results from pressurized harder to get good results from non that's my feeling
patryn33
post Dec 7 2014, 09:27 PM

3,940 posts

Prefect coffee != espresso
Prefect coffee can be brew thru different methods
Like art, perfect art can be done with clay, crayons, pencils etc.

Yes the learning curve is steep but without the right tools how to achieve? Baby steps 1st. Walk before u learn to run esp when one has a machine that is build for walking.

Perfect espresso shot depends on other factors temperature of water, stable pressure etc. that machine isn't capable of doing that. So switching is more playing.
A krups to encore grinder to many they ain't the grinder to produce the prefect shot

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 7 2014, 09:32 PM
patryn33
post Dec 8 2014, 12:30 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 7 2014, 11:23 PM)
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....ucket=15#detail

This ah? price seems attractive  drool.gif  drool.gif
Found a review here
http://www.kapihan.ph/forum/index.php?f=6&...&rb_v=viewtopic

http://www.coffeeco.com.au/articles/sunbeamgrinder.html

A lot of reviews on Australian forum
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1959709
http://coffeesnobs.com.au/grinders/30043-sunbeam-emo480.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 8 2014, 12:42 AM
patryn33
post Dec 8 2014, 12:46 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 7 2014, 09:45 PM)
So far everything I ordered from China is ok even coffee machine  icon_rolleyes.gif
I met ppl who pretty much bought the entire house Reno products on taobao. From toilet, floors, table, chairs, cabinets eye.. All ok

I order many stuff but mostly small stuff there, delivery times long. Branded high end quality good states still cheaper than taobao.
patryn33
post Dec 11 2014, 01:44 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 10 2014, 06:09 PM)
Aiyo.. Don't use single origins with espresso.. They're more suited for filter, pour over, syphon because they have distinct notes and clarity, with acidity.. Very wasted if you put those beans through the high pressure extraction. Try using blends instead.. Arabica with robusta
Well those world barista competitions almost always use single origin or those video I watched

I agree normally blends are used
patryn33
post Dec 12 2014, 02:06 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 11 2014, 11:32 AM)
For WBC, the baristas bring their specially sourced beans.. They worked closely with the coffee roaster which suits the extraction they're meant for..
then U cannot say single source beans not suited for espresso.
so long u can get the extraction they meant for right.. room for error narrow.

patryn33
post Dec 12 2014, 08:57 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 12 2014, 01:56 PM)
Jeng jeng jeng... A whole bag to try..
That's a lot of coffee!
patryn33
post Dec 13 2014, 11:19 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 13 2014, 10:09 AM)
walao tried 18g and tamp it, when i switch on wait 5 sec the espresso still haven't come out and I quickly turn off cause scare the machine burst LOLL. when I throw the puck the bottom part still quite dry. Hmmm
Pressurized portafilter cannot use the 25-30 seconds rule
Can only go by taste
patryn33
post Dec 15 2014, 12:49 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(wadthehellz @ Dec 15 2014, 12:20 PM)
I think there is something wrong with my machine. Feels like the water pressure become low where the coffee cant even flow out even i just tamp the surface. Or my grind is too fine zzz
Did u adjust your grind?
If u grind it coarser will u get extraction?
patryn33
post Dec 16 2014, 12:55 AM

3,940 posts

if you not using a Heat exchanger E61 unit, you don't back flash.

with krups/delonghi those single boilers you don't do any back flash.
U need to descale. U can check for water hardness level and see how frequently u need to descale.

patryn33
post Dec 16 2014, 11:43 PM

3,940 posts

didn't know the cheap Gaggia Classic is build with a 3 way release valve and the Rancilio Silvia too. most cheap ones don't have it.
my HX requires no descaling but I was recommended not to use tap water.

I stand correctly HX one may have to do both!

This post has been edited by patryn33: Dec 16 2014, 11:45 PM
patryn33
post Dec 17 2014, 11:52 PM

3,940 posts

Drove all way to get some klatch house blend.
http://www.klatchroasting.com/House_Espres...kla_hou_esp.htm
patryn33
post Dec 27 2014, 06:21 AM

3,940 posts

new year coffee!!
patryn33
post Jan 1 2015, 02:48 AM

3,940 posts

what I see on taobao are those lower end products are cheaper, highend goods I find them cheaper in states, little risk on fake too.

Here is a good hand grinder need some work
http://www.madebyknock.com/feldgrind.html
patryn33
post Jan 1 2015, 09:40 AM

3,940 posts

great reviews here on these babies
http://www.home-barista.com/grinders/coman...der-t33463.html

Looks like nothing come close to my fav HG ONE!

14 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0533sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:49 PM