5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Coffee lover please come in

wadthehellz
post Dec 11 2014, 12:27 AM

152 posts

Bought single origin Ethiopia beans just now to tahan while waiting my beans to arrived and use it to pull espresso, the taste was like wtf? vmad.gif

This post has been edited by wadthehellz: Dec 11 2014, 12:28 AM
wadthehellz
post Dec 11 2014, 02:38 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Dec 11 2014, 12:58 AM)
can describe the taste? blink.gif

AFAIK, Ethiopia beans has quite a body, i bought a bag of Dallmayr Ethopian Crown last year, pretty good just that it was a bit sourish when it got home...
my mistake for bringing it back in grounded form doh.gif
I'm not sure about the taste cause first time I grind for french press I think i grind too coarse and it come out with weak coffee taste and color looks like teh haha. And I second try it with espresso machine it taste sourish and this time I think is underextracted. LOLL so later I going to try again haha. Can anyone tell me what is the bean and water ratio for french press? I just making 1 cup to taste blink.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 12 2014, 09:31 PM

152 posts

Just got my arabica beans and grind 12g to fine and tamp it hard and it does come out 2 ounces of espresso for 22seconds but why the taste is sour? zzz
wadthehellz
post Dec 12 2014, 10:00 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 12 2014, 09:55 PM)
Haha.. espresso has sourness.. but 12g for 2oz? Are you aiming for double? Cuz 12g is still around single shot area.. unless you're going for Italian doppio which is 14g. If you want more body, let the blonding go a bit longer.. that will add some bitterness to it.
yea im doing double shot. but I tot i saw somewhere that state double is 12g for 2oz haha. I know got sourish but macam too sour for me but the ethoupia is more sour than this LOL. hmm what is blonding means? unsure.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 12 2014, 10:23 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 12 2014, 10:14 PM)
Some machines will recognize 12g as double.. but for most, 12g is too little for a double.
Blonding is the end part of the extraction.. whereby the thick and syrup like crema has turned yellowish or towards translucent. This will carry bitterness.. beginning of the shot will have more acidity, then middle is more on sweetness..
I see I see, what is your ratio for double shot? Hmmm. I see, willll PPF affect the taste? cause I feel that the shot come out very fast even if I tamp shocking.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 12 2014, 10:54 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 12 2014, 10:48 PM)
I'm using a 58mm PF and I weigh my beans.. for my double, I normally use 18g. For some blends, with only arabica beans.. I will use 20g because it's sweet.. so I prefer to have more body by up-dosing..
As for pressurized PF, the only thing it works good is the pressured crema  brows.gif
So far, I tamp around 20kg of force.. but I've tried light tamping and still get the right extraction.. Now I normally just level the coffee by tamping and polish..
Hmm I see will try to up my dose on next brew. Yea I got nice "fake" crema but the taste yucks rclxub.gif Hope the Non Pressurized basket I ordered can fit my portafilter thumbup.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 13 2014, 10:09 AM

152 posts

walao tried 18g and tamp it, when i switch on wait 5 sec the espresso still haven't come out and I quickly turn off cause scare the machine burst LOLL. when I throw the puck the bottom part still quite dry. Hmmm
wadthehellz
post Dec 13 2014, 10:27 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Dec 13 2014, 06:10 PM)
Hi, for my machine the espresso flows out at around 8-10 seconds. 15-16g per dose , output 45-55ml of espresso at 27-29 seconds.

So I guess you could wait for awhile more to see whether the espresso flows out and time the whole extraction then adjust your grind or dose.
hmm i see. I scare the portafilter there willl burst so i quickly turn off shakehead.gif hahaha. will try next time

P/S: my basket is pressurized sweat.gif

This post has been edited by wadthehellz: Dec 13 2014, 11:56 PM
wadthehellz
post Dec 13 2014, 11:57 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Dec 13 2014, 11:19 PM)
Pressurized portafilter cannot use the 25-30 seconds rule
Can only go by taste
Hmm that makes sense, if wait 30 sec I think will fill the whole cup already sweat.gif sweat.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 14 2014, 12:26 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(skitZo` @ Dec 14 2014, 12:10 AM)
My bad, as far as I remembered before I depressurized my portafilter on the poemia , I had espresso extraction at 15-17 seconds for 50-70ml at 14g of coffee.

You can updose with presurrized filter just don't tamp too hard just flatten the surface of the coffee in the portafilter.

What machine are you using?

Cheers!
Yea I'm getting that volume about that duration too. I think sometimes I tamped too hard LOL. I'm using a China brand machine biggrin.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 15 2014, 12:20 PM

152 posts

I think there is something wrong with my machine. Feels like the water pressure become low where the coffee cant even flow out even i just tamp the surface. Or my grind is too fine zzz
wadthehellz
post Dec 15 2014, 02:10 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 15 2014, 01:25 PM)
Seems like your machine's choking.. your grind is still too fine.
hmmm I see. will there be any side effect for my machine if it keeps get choking? sad.gif

wadthehellz
post Dec 15 2014, 09:38 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Dec 15 2014, 03:11 PM)
I doubt there would be any side effects.. but don't always choke it tongue.gif
Finding the right grind size might choke your machine once in a while.. but for home machines, not that sure if long term will hurt it.. for my machine, we need to backflush everyday so.. that is for 10 seconds.
haha I won't choke it anymore. I'm not sure my machine is 3 way valve or not cause I saw a hole connected to drip tray there I doubt it is 3 way valve LOL. How can I backflush it if I dont have blind basket? hmm.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 18 2014, 10:55 AM

152 posts

I just found something, I saw Jura Cappresso EC50 and it look very familiar to me on the first glance, and when I look in detail and I can confirm that my china brand machine 90% match with this Jura Machine LOL

Here goes Jura

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/711A...JTL._SY355_.jpg

and there goes my China brand machine

Can I conclude that my machine is ciplak of Jura Capresso Ec50? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

wadthehellz
post Dec 26 2014, 06:21 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Dec 26 2014, 05:50 PM)
where did you buy the maker? biggrin.gif
cant find any china brand machine..
mind to share?  biggrin.gif
I bought from taobao. there are alot of machine out there from low to high price. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
wadthehellz
post Dec 31 2014, 05:40 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(sunami @ Dec 31 2014, 02:27 PM)
ok..thanks for the info...
let me go search for it.
No problem. but if you really want to buy from taobao you must see the user's comment or review first if not you will be disapointed when the thing arrives haha.
That time when i get my machine for RM420 include shipping fees,Senheng is doing a Promotion for the delonghi ec155 only for RM450. I was like wtf that time if I know there is promotion earlier I will buy the EC155 already sweat.gif sweat.gif nod.gif
wadthehellz
post Jan 1 2015, 10:19 AM

152 posts

Yup agree. biggrin.gif I found out that water will leak from the portafilter of my machine when it's extracting, is the grind too fine problem or gasket problem? hmm.gif hmm.gif btw Happy new year everyone biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
wadthehellz
post Jan 1 2015, 11:28 AM

152 posts

QUOTE(mel5582 @ Jan 1 2015, 10:58 AM)
Did you lock the PF tightly in place? It shouldn't leak from the sides unless it's loose or gasket not fitting properly.. If the grind size is too fine.. at most you'll be choking the machine with nothing coming out..
I did lock the PF tightly, the leakage already occurs since the first week I get the machine. That time I'm using the stock pressurized basket and it did leak some if I tamp too hard. Now I'm using the other brand non pressurized basket and it will leak more than the pressurized basket sometimes when I grind too fine and tamp too hard although the basket size is the same hmm.gif hmm.gif
wadthehellz
post Jan 1 2015, 05:37 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(Kclee2002 @ Jan 1 2015, 01:29 PM)
After testing out a couple of milk for steaming, found that no milk is the same.

GOD TIER
- Farmhouse fresh milk[pink package](*Most expensive milk, best microfoam)

BEST VALUE TIER
- Magnolia fresh milk (*Good amount of microfoam, decently priced)
- First Choice fresh milk (*Good microfoam consistency, decently priced)

SHIT TIER
- Happy Farm Fresh Milk [2L bottle with pink cover] (*Cannot get microfoam no matter how you steam it)
- Dutch Lady Full Cream Milk [blue packaging] (*Steaming this milk will result in gigantic bubbles appearing after steaming)
GoodDay also not bad for steaming icon_rolleyes.gif
wadthehellz
post Jan 4 2015, 10:15 PM

152 posts

still got no luck with my pressurized basket, keep leak from lock there zz. guess I'll just stick back with stock pressurized basket that I can get fake crema rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:49 AM