Coffee lover please come in

ahsham
post Jan 17 2013, 08:49 PM

235 posts

Coffee freshness Rule of 15:

Green (un-roasted) coffee beans should be used in 15 months.
Roasted coffee beans should be used in 15 days.
Ground coffee should be used in 15 minutes.
Extracted/brewed coffee should be served in 15 seconds.
TSadriankhoo153
post Jan 17 2013, 10:03 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

I miss those days in Melbourne where I pick up my coffee bean and the roasting date is the day itself. Now that is what I call freshly roasted bean. Damn, I miss Proud Mary, Seven Seeds, Manchester Press and BBB!!
TSadriankhoo153
post Jan 17 2013, 10:24 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(kvct @ Dec 31 2012, 09:30 PM)
try try try and tell tell tell ... lol  rclxm9.gif

Tested finally. Darkly roasted with a strong coffee aromas.

Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 17 2013, 11:49 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

QUOTE(ahsham @ Jan 17 2013, 08:17 PM)
I usually finish my coffee beans within 2 weeks from the roast date (not the same as expiry date).

Standard coffee package is 250gm, it's hard to finish if you only drink 1 cup a day.
That's why I like to buy beans from cafes that offer small batch package, such as Departure Lounge (100gm) and Coffee Famille (150gm).

If the original "one-way-valve" package is not opened, coffee beans can be kept fresh up to 1~1.5 months.
But once the package is opened, the coffee beans will become stale within 10~14 days due to oxidation and aroma dissipation.
Putting them in vacuum container will help extend their freshness.

I don't buy coffee beans from supermarket as most of them don't state the "Roast Date" on the package.
The "Expiry Date" or "Best Use Before" date tells you nothing about its freshness.
Good info! Thanks smile.gif

How much are the 100gm and 150gm packages?
ahsham
post Jan 18 2013, 08:22 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Jan 17 2013, 11:49 PM)
Good info! Thanks smile.gif

How much are the 100gm and 150gm packages?
It's more expensive than those sell on supermarket/Tesco...
but I think it's worth it in terms of quality and freshness.

Departure Lounge (5 Senses from Australia):
100gm - RM20
250gm - RM48
500gm - RM92.50

Coffee Famille:
150gm - from RM25 to RM32
Price is different based on regions and farms. Eg: Panama Lerida Estate (RM28); Ethiopian Yirgacheffe (RM30); Guatemala Antigua (RM32)... etc.

I'm sipping my coffee now as I typed smile.gif

TSadriankhoo153
post Jan 18 2013, 08:43 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

i am also sipping single origin, Nicaragua Javanica while i type too. Lol, btw, normally what is the roasting date of the 5 senses bean they carried?
ahsham
post Jan 18 2013, 01:59 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 18 2013, 08:43 AM)
i am also sipping single origin, Nicaragua Javanica while i type too. Lol, btw, normally what is the roasting date of the 5 senses bean they carried?
haha, i've just finished my 3rd cup of coffee... (from espressoLAB eCurve)

After 5 Senses roasted the coffee, they will FedEx to Departure lounge.
So it depends on how fast FedEx delivers...

I switch my coffee beans very often, but so far the freshest coffee I've bought from Departure Lounge is 4 days after the roasting date.
You can call them up to check,
or just drop by their cafes, they usually write the roast date on their grinder hopper.

TSadriankhoo153
post Jan 18 2013, 02:55 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(ahsham @ Jan 18 2013, 01:59 PM)
haha, i've just finished my 3rd cup of coffee... (from espressoLAB eCurve)

After 5 Senses roasted the coffee, they will FedEx to Departure lounge.
So it depends on how fast FedEx delivers...

I switch my coffee beans very often, but so far the freshest coffee I've bought from Departure Lounge is 4 days after the roasting date.
You can call them up to check,
or just drop by their cafes, they usually write the roast date on their grinder hopper.
U win... i am only on my second cup. laugh.gif
Will pay them a visit soon. Coffee Ritual in the otherhand doesnt indicate the roasting date on their bean.
Hence ask, he told me that it'a bout 2 weeks or so...
Zephyr_Mage
post Jan 18 2013, 03:37 PM

Validating
5,444 posts

Perhaps it's not profitable enough for them to roast more often.
How many people do you know personally who buys whole beans?
ahsham
post Jan 18 2013, 11:29 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(Zephyr_Mage @ Jan 18 2013, 03:37 PM)
Perhaps it's not profitable enough for them to roast more often.
How many people do you know personally who buys whole beans?
True~ almost all my friends drink 3-in-1 instant coffee.
The demand for fresh whole beans in Malaysia is still very low.
But it's been increasing rapidly for the past year, 'cuz two years ago you can't even find any cafe selling fresh roasted beans.

icemanfx
post Jan 19 2013, 10:29 AM

21,453 posts

Traditional kopitium coffee powder suppliers roast daily; on delivery, the coffee powder was roasted no longer than a week ago.

Like wine, many people drink label rather than coffee itself.

This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jan 19 2013, 10:30 AM
ahsham
post Jan 19 2013, 02:02 PM

235 posts

I think coffee is an acquired taste.

If you drink instant coffee / stale / bad coffee everyday and never tasted freshly ground and brewed coffee before, then you will probably think all coffee taste the same as instant coffee / stale / bad coffee.

However, the best coffee in the world is the coffee you love, not the best coffee beans.

icemanfx
post Jan 20 2013, 12:00 PM

21,453 posts

Same type/source of beans can be fermented and roasted to different aroma, flavours, finish, etc. The technique/method of coffee roaster determine the coffee aroma, flavour, finish, etc hardly the origin (for the same bean variety).

ahsham
post Jan 20 2013, 02:18 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 20 2013, 12:00 PM)
Same type/source of beans can be fermented and roasted to different aroma, flavours, finish, etc. The technique/method of coffee roaster determine the coffee aroma, flavour, finish, etc hardly the origin (for the same bean variety).
I went to a coffee workshop at RAW cafe few months ago,
the owner Michael Wilson showed us how he can adjust the acidity, sweetness, and bitterness of his coffee beans by changing the roasting temperature and timing (of reaching 1st and 2nd crack).
It's true that roasting can determine the final taste of the coffee.

(image from Lighthouse website)

But the origin of the bean (same variety) still contributes quite a bit on the flavor.
According to "Coffeeology"'s author, this is because different soil and climate condition will affect the concentration of acids, proteins, and lipids present in the coffee beans.
Those difference in coffee chemistry will in turn affect the final taste and flavor of the coffee.
For example, both Sumatra Mandheling coffee in Lake Toba region and Aceh's Lake Tawar region will taste slightly different due to different soil condition, even though they belong to the same coffee varietal.

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 18 2013, 02:55 PM)
U win... i am only on my second cup.  laugh.gif
Will pay them a visit soon. Coffee Ritual in the otherhand doesnt indicate the roasting date on their bean.
Hence ask, he told me that it'a bout 2 weeks or so...
Departure Lounge is now serving Ethiopia Yirgacheffe Gelena Abaya (5 Senses), roast date: 14th Jan.
I'm gonna go re-stock my coffee later today smile.gif

This post has been edited by ahsham: Jan 20 2013, 02:20 PM
kvct
post Jan 20 2013, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 17 2013, 10:03 PM)
I miss those days in Melbourne where I pick up my coffee bean and the roasting date is the day itself. Now that is what I call freshly roasted bean. Damn, I miss Proud Mary, Seven Seeds, Manchester Press and BBB!!
i feel you, totally.
I was in Melb strolling along the streets few years ago around Frizroy...and even if you dont drink coffee... smelling and 'indulging' the aroma along the stress is a very happy thing.. ^^ cool2.gif rclxm9.gif
kvct
post Jan 20 2013, 04:40 PM

QUOTE(ahsham @ Jan 20 2013, 02:18 PM)
the owner Michael Wilson showed us how he can adjust the acidity, sweetness, and bitterness of his coffee beans by changing the roasting temperature and timing (of reaching 1st and 2nd crack).

But the origin of the bean (same variety) still contributes quite a bit on the flavor.
According to "Coffeeology"'s author, this is because different soil and climate condition will affect the concentration of acids, proteins, and lipids present in the coffee beans.
Those difference in coffee chemistry will in turn affect the final taste and flavor of the coffee.
For example, both Sumatra Mandheling coffee in Lake Toba region and Aceh's Lake Tawar region will taste slightly different due to different soil condition, even though they belong to the same coffee varietal.
Departure Lounge is now serving Ethiopia Yirgacheffe Gelena Abaya (5 Senses), roast date: 14th Jan.
awesome stuff!! thanks for sharing ahsham! thumbup.gif
btw, do u know that there is chart call wheel of coffee taste or something that help u to differentiate the taste.
i think they might be using this as guide for coffee cupping but i find it kinda useful to differentiate the coffee taste. rolleyes.gif
kvct
post Jan 20 2013, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jan 19 2013, 10:29 AM)
Traditional kopitium coffee powder suppliers roast daily; on delivery, the coffee powder was roasted no longer than a week ago.

Like wine, many people drink label rather than coffee itself.
hehehe.. tell me about it.. i was sitting in a kopitiam next to the store today and the auntie went into the store to scoop her kopi powder stash using a smaller container...
i was like.. heaven.. what on earth smells so good? that's som FRESH COFFEEE wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif laugh.gif drool.gif drool.gif
kvct
post Jan 20 2013, 04:59 PM

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Jan 18 2013, 08:43 AM)
adrian, did u by any chance venture into overseas roaster?
i was very fortunate to have had the Yellow Bird C.o.e-ed el salvardo from Whisk, Outpost in One U.
The flavour just ....burst in ur mouth and dances around, teasing ur every single taste bud.. it was awesome, unforgettable rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif wub.gif wub.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
but unfortunately it is "for a limited time only serving"...
aw... i miss that.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by kvct: Jan 20 2013, 05:00 PM
ahsham
post Jan 20 2013, 05:20 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(kvct @ Jan 20 2013, 04:40 PM)
awesome stuff!! thanks for sharing ahsham! thumbup.gif
btw, do u know that there is chart call wheel of coffee taste or something that help u to differentiate the taste.
i think they might be using this as guide for coffee cupping but i find it kinda useful to differentiate the coffee taste. rolleyes.gif
yeah, i know about that coffee flavor wheel,
but i have absolutely no idea how cineolic / camphoric / piney taste like tongue.gif

Leong from espressoLAB told me he's going to create a different coffee flavor wheel that's more useful for Asian people,
using tropical food such as longan, rambutan, mango... etc to describe coffee taste...

cablesguy
post Jan 20 2013, 08:50 PM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(ahsham @ Jan 20 2013, 02:18 PM)

Wow..I learnt quite abit just reading from you and others posting here...thx biggrin.gif

Been drinking drip brewed coffee bought fr Jin Yi lately, from some farm in Indonesia, i forgot the name but really enjoying it..and without sugar or anything added too, a good alternative from the 3 in 1's. I could get used to this thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cablesguy: Jan 20 2013, 08:51 PM

132 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:40 PM